reviews for: listing #31174 - Franklin, North Carolina House rental

Like New Log Cabin with Great Views of the Smoky Mountains
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $85 - $125 /nt
    $425 - $695 /wk

sort by:

We loved this cabin!

Review submitted: November 19, 2009   Date of arrival: November 7, 2009

We loved this cabin! Number one it was easy accessible from the main roads and just a few minutes away from town, but it was still in the mountains. The large log cabin looked new and was fresh and clean with all the modern conveniences of home. The nights were cool and the remote control gas log fireplace was a treat for my husband who loves anything with a remote control! We made several day trips around the area; going to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge to Dillsboro, to Dillard, etc. We loved all the antique shops in Franklin. We have stayed in Franklin many times and this was another great vacation thanks to this welcoming cabin.
November 7-14, 2009

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

North Carolina Beauty!

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

We loved this cabin! We have been to NC many times and this cabin had great location and was very nice. Clean and had everything needed to cook and bake. It had comfortable and large beds. All around great place. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beautiful

Review submitted: June 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

This cabin is very beautiful. The bedrooms are large and beds are very comfortable. There are three porches, one is off the first floor bedroom and is screened in. My sisters and our spouses spent lots of evenings on the front porch. My husband and I have been to this area on several occasions but my sisters had not and they were amazed by the views at this cabin. This cabin is close to good restaurants and lots of sights.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ms

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: April 9, 2014

My family spent three days in this lovely cabin during my son's spring break. We all loved the place and enjoyed the stay. The cabin has a large, wrap-around, deck with beautiful views, and is located in a quiet, nice, neighborhood with easy access to town, shopping areas and restaurants. We went gem mining, horse-back riding and went hiking and had a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice home.

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

This is a very nice home with a nice view. It is quiet and the home is equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. My husband and I did end up snowed in for 2 days as the paved road up to the home is VERY steep and has a sharp turn as you approach the house. So if you are going in the winter be prepared to have a relaxed vacation if it snows... :) We would go there again and are considering the FALL not Winter...

Owners response: While I will admit there is a steep, paved, incline at the entrance of the subdivision, but it is only 40 or so yards long. If we get snow in Franklin, luckily it only lasts a day or two so it does not "usually" affect your travel plans. If there is snow on the subdivision road, there is probably snow on all county roads, so it would probably be hard to travel anyways.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Monty & Lisa

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: November 30, 2013

Very nice newer well maintained house. Very affordable! Try to arrive in daylight. Good paved road but typical NC climbs and curves. Overall very pleased. Would highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Cabin Rental

Review submitted: November 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

We have rented cabins in Franklin several times and this one is a keeper! While other cabins may have a better view and higher up, this cabin has it all! Close to town, very clean, awesome amenities, friendly neighbors, close to all the sites, towns and waterfalls. We love being in the woods, surrounded by silence!
The house is perfect!

Thank you for sharing your home with us! We will see you again, hopefully soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Perfect Cabin

Review submitted: October 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

This home was our ideal vacation cabin. It was very clean homey., and lovely. It met all our must haves in amenities - comfortable king bed in the master bedroom, dishwasher, washer and dryer, wifi, microwave, large TV with recorder, AC. When we go on vacation we don't want to do without our home comforts. We go to relax and not have to do extra work. This home met all our expectations.

While there, we celebrated our 54th anniversary and had a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Cabin, Great Value

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

We too visit Franklin often and own property there with the intent to build in the near future. We have rented several cabins in the area and we liked everything about this one. It's floor plan is perfect. It's quaint, yet modern. Some rentals have better views, some have better TV's and some allow pets. But this one for us has better amenities such as a great cell signal, wifi, Directv, king size beds, a better location and an adequately supplied kitchen for cooking. Plus, for the money it's the best value out there. The owner, Bill, spells out the occupancy policies and directions in an easy to understand manner. The cabin is really clean and well maintained and we would highly recommend this nice place to everyone. By the way, Franklin is a shorter drive from Florida to locate in the mountains and all the good attractions are close from there. We always visit Cafe REL for a fantastic meal. Thanks, Bill, for making your cabin available. We're looking forward to our next visit in July!

Owners response: Thanks

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great Cabin

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Great cabin. The weather changed our plans, but the cabin is fully equiped and modern so we enjoyed our time there just as much. Great location and a beautiful. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great find

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

We are building a home in Franklin and spend a lot of time in the area--will continue to do so over the next few years. We've tried five or six other properties, looking for a place to hang out during the building process. This is the first one we will consider staying in again. Great location; easily accessible. Clean. They have everything you would need for a nice stay.

Very much appreciated that no pets and no smoking is permitted.

You do have to jump through quite a few hoops for this (check-in, check-out lists, deposit, mail back key instead of leaving it for the maid, etc.), but I guess it helps to make sure guests aren't tearing things up.

Good find!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great find

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

We are building a home in Franklin and spend a lot of time in the area--will continue to do so over the next few years. We've tried five or six other properties, looking for a place to hang out during the building process. This is the first one we will consider staying in again. Great location; easily accessible. Clean. They have everything you would need for a nice stay.

Very much appreciated that no pets and no smoking is permitted.

You do have to jump through quite a few hoops for this (check-in, check-out lists, deposit, mail back key instead of leaving it for the maid, etc.), but I guess it helps to make sure guests aren't tearing things up.

Good find!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Mountain Cabin rental

Review submitted: December 22, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2012

What a perfect base of operations for me & my family. Every year we try to come up to the mountains from Florida to get away from the heat and flat lands.

This year we were able to visit Clayton, Dillard, Franklin, Highlands, Cherokee, Dillsboro, Sylva and Cashier's and still be back at the cabin in time to have a nice family dinner together.

The home was perfect. Easy to get to and from, and for myself my favorite part was a nice kitchen to cook in and to walk into a vacation home that is Immaculate

We were all sad to leave.

Thank you again for a wonderful vacation

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Cabin

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

We stayed during our son's school spring break and we loved the cabin. It's spacious and very comfortable. Bill was very helpful and prompt to answer our questions. We were able to do some gem diggings which was the reason we chose to spend the spring break in NC. I would recommend this property to any vacationers who wish to have a relaxing break.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice clean cabin

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

We have stayed at this great cabin several times now, simply because it is great! It is nicely furnished and the location is fine. Easy to get to shopping and hikes.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Cabin!

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

We stayed for a week - March 3rd through the 10th. The cabin is well stocked and is really beautiful. Everything you could possibly need for a week of exploring Western NC. The cabin is easy to find as well. Close enough to town to get supplies, but far enough away to not feel like you are staying in a real populated area. There is really good trout fishing to be enjoyed in Dillsboro. Overall, we had a great time and would definitely recommend to others. Overall my wife and I agreed that the pictures do not really do the cabin justice. Thanks Bill!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Cabin

Review submitted: February 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

This cabin was beautiful,clean and well maintained. It is everything it says it is on the description. Their is plenty of room inside and we had a very relaxing stay while we were there. It is just minutes from Franklin and restaurants and stores. We did not want to leave when it came time to go. I would have loved to stayed a few weeks longer. Their are a lot of things to do around the Franklin area and some beautiful sights to see. We go their almost every year and this is the best place that we have stayed at by far. We will rent this cabin again if it is available. We want to thank Bill for working with us and allowing us to stay in his beautiful cabin. We sure do envy him and his family and wish we had a place like this ourselves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very nice!

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

Finely appointed and comfortable 'cabin' (home) in the mountains of Franklin. The house was tucked away nicely and had plenty of privacy without sacrificing the comforts of home. The house was very spacious and included everything we needed for a quiet mountain get-away. It was conveniently located 5 minutes from the town of Franklin and 20 minutes from Highlands. If you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy the mountains, this is the place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Cabin

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

05/28/2011
This cabin is beutiful. My two adult sons and I stayed for a week. Kitchen cookware was excellent. Beds were comfortable. Most important was that the cabin was clean, and centrally located for our white water trips on the Chattooga River and Nantahala. We hiked the smokies and fished the nearby rivers. Bill and Theresa have a lovely cabin and we thank them for the oppurtunity to rent it.
Donna, Eric and Albert

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the feedback.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Outstanding

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

Our stay at this cabin was like being home, it has everything that you need and then some. It was very cozy on the cool nights during December. The views are great and it is easy access. This is a great place to stay for a week or longer and we will definitely be coming back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the feedback

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

PCOLA BILL

Review submitted: November 23, 2010   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

The cabin was as exactly as it was described on the website.The furnishings were great and we had everything we needed. The mountain view was breathtaking and the cabin had easy excess and as always the Walmart was convenient and handy. Be sure to take a little trip to Sylva and visit the Coffee Shop Resturant for a outstanding breakfest,the prices were very resonable and the food was excellent. Also close at hand was the Hungry Bear resturant next to the Stitch In Time quilt shop and for great BBQ visit Fat Buddies in the shopping center behind Lowes. We visited several waterfalls on 64 East around the towns of Cashiers and Highlands. The most impressive was the one on 107 out of Cashiers called the Whitewater Falls in the National park.The scenery and fall leaves were beyond description.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the input.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful cabin in the mountains !

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

The cabin is absoulutely beautiful, and has all the ammenities of home. It is spacious, nicely furnished, and clean.

It is close to many restaurants, and shopping. A great place to vacation, peaceful and quiet, and still close enough to participate in gem mining, tubing,et., and secenery is great for photography..

This was our first trip to N.C., but if we go there again, we will certainly check to see if this cabin is available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the feedback.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Thanks

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Had a great time in Franklin and the cabin was fantastic. The casino paid ALL the bills. See ya next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the feedback

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Best!

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

I've been renting cabins for over forty years and this is absolutely the best in terms of location, amenities, and price. We like it so much this is our second visit in less than a year. Unlike many cabins that didn't live up to the advertising, this one far surpasses it. You'll be shocked when you first enter the cabin and wonder how you got so much for your money. Oh, I'd better not say that, Bill might raise the prices. Seriously, this is a great place at a very reasonable rate. My only complaint is that it's so popular it's hard to get a booking.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the feedback.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2010

My daughter's family and I have stayed in your beautiful cabin two years in a row. We love everything about it and expect to make more visits in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Mountain View

Review submitted: August 29, 2009   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

We came for just a little while but left with so many memories of the quite and dark nights, bluebird at our breakfast window, the splendor of the Smokey Mtn's. from the deck, scenic waterfalls close by, finding real gems, Cherokee history "Unto These Hills", Biltmore estate, Bryson railroad, Blue Ridge Pkwy.,to the tales of Jutaculla Rock.
After a day of sightseeing it was of so nice to come home to our cabin (well at least for the week) in the mountains. Where we found comfy clean beds and bathrooms and a well equipped kitchen. The owners really do have a gem of a cabin in Franklin N.C. and if you want the "real gems" check the Rose Creek Mine where you can dig your own.. You will find real rubies, garnets and so much more.
I have already passed this gem of a a cabin on to friends.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 29, 2009   Date of arrival: June 29, 2009

This was a beautiful cabin in a great location near Franklin, NC. We enjoyed our stay hiking many of the waterfall trails in the area. The cabin is very clean and comfortable. We would not hesitate recommending it to others.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 3, 2009   Date of arrival: June 3, 2009

recently stayed at this homey cabin with a great view. everything was just perfect.As this was our second visit. We can't wait to do it again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 2, 2009   Date of arrival: June 2, 2009

The Corkill cabin ranks up there among the Who's Who in log cabins. The cabin is not only beautiful but also comes fully loaded with all the amenities of home and much more. The cabin is located in the heart of all there is to do in Frankin and close by everything else. Can't wait to book the next trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 1, 2009   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

My wife and I have been renting mountain cabins for over thirty years and this cabin surpasses them all. In many instances it felt like we were roughing it in order to get a good view or location, not so with the Corkill cabin. We never felt so immediately at home as we did on this trip. We couldn't have asked for anything nicer as this is truly a luxurious cabin. I would be proud to call it my home. I must also commend the excellent depiction on the internet for so accurately showing what a great place this is.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 1, 2009   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

Great location, had snow which was great. Nice house. Best place I've stayed. Walmart 4 minutes away, with food, so it doesn't matter what you forget. RC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

winter vacation

Review submitted: January 30, 2009   Date of arrival: January 17, 2009

Very clean, excellent location, snowed for three or four days(melted fast) If your coming from the south its hard to beat the location and food is realy close and also Walmart which is hard to believe. If you want to go to differant places in N.C.,S.C., or nth Ga. it cant be beat. You have houses around, but not close like the City (perfect for my wife who would be scared of a place in the middle of the woods). Remote control gas fire place which looks like roaring wood fire will run you out, plus central A.C.&heat. Had a great time. (46yr old, 25 yr vet firefighter)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 12, 2009   Date of arrival: January 12, 2009

I stayed at the Corkill Cabin the week of Christmas with my daughters and two grandchildren. The cabin was perfect and they had even decorated it with lights and stockings on the mantel for the holidays. Everything that you could have wanted or needed was supplied. The location was very convenient to everything. It was a wonderful holiday and would love to stay at the cabin in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 11, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We truly enjoyed our stay in Franklin and your cabin was very comfortable with all the conveniences of home and perfectly located within 5 minutes of the grocery store and restaurants. When we go back to Franklin we would love to stay there again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 8, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We had a memorable time in Franklin, we will certainly
return! There is so much to see and do; and such a
beautiful part of the country. Thank you, for allowing
us to spend this time in your cabin. It was more than
we could have expected! Just like home...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 6, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We had a wonderful experience at the Corkill Cabin! We researched many, many, properties; and by far this cabin was superior! Everything was centered around the comfort of the quests; for which we appreciate immensely! Their are 5 Star Hotels; well our family consider this cabin to be a 5 Star Cabin. We surely plan a return visit next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 6, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

A beautiful home. It's a wonderful vacation retreat and we just didn't want to leave. We look forward to staying there again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 19, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

Beautiful!! Very spacious and well-equipped. Welcome book very informative and helpful. Exceptional rental rate. Wouldn't change a thing!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 20, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

GREAT HOUSE! Thanks for sharing your beautiful vacation home. From the moment we walked through the front door, we knew we had found our "gem" in the mountains. Beautiful decor, comfy bed, great location,and ever so peaceful!! We did gem mining and sightseeing in the Smokey Mountains. We saw lots of wildlife, including a bear.
Thanks Again. We hope to return next year.

God Bless!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 27, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

My husband, our grandchildren, and I stayed in your beautiful cabin in September 2007. We usually spend a week somewhere with them during the month of September--this was definitely one of the most enjoyable places we have rented. A beautiful home, beautifully furnished, and in a beautiful setting. We loved the deck and screened-in porch. Hope we can enjoy another visit to the cabin in the winter season--would love to use the fireplace in the spacious living room. This home is definitely one of our favorites.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 19, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Worried now that I will never find a place as nice as
this to rent. I am truly spoiled now.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 3, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

To anyone looking into this cabin for you vacation stay,LOOK NO MORE!
You have found the perfect place!
My husband and I loved it!
It was everything it said PLUS so much more.
If we ever go back to that area again,we will be staying right there in that beautiful cabin.
It was like home away from home.
So relaxing and so comfortable..........
Thank you Corkill family for opening your home to us.

Ray & Carol Green

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 19, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

We had a wonderful stay at your beautiful home. Our grandchildren have memories they will never forget. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

Hope to see you next year.

Nelson & Patricia Echevarria

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 4, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

My daughter and I stayed at this cabin and found it to be more than just a vacation rental; it was home away from home. You have more than what you could ever want; serenity, peace, beauty, comfort, and spaciousness. This place is absolutely wonderful and better than any 5-star hotel. Just another plus is the fact that the owners were the best. Nothing hidden about this property and expectations are definitely reasonable. Take care of it as though it were your own and enjoy the area. This is a place that hopefully I will have the chance to experience again in the near future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 2, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

The accomadations were 1 st Class. The view was astounding. Defintitely would stay again and reccomend it to everyone.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 25, 2007   Date of arrival: April 25, 2007

There were two families (8 people) with us during our Spring Break visit the first week of April 2007. We had a marvelous time! This facility was spacious enough for the eight of us. The comfort of being in the mountains plus the comfort of this house (exceptionally nice), I will say that we would possibly return in the future. We had plenty to do in the surrounding area and enjoyed all the amenities that were available. The Corkill’s were very hospitable and just plain nice. The Monroe Family2007

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 25, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

There were two families (8 people) with us during our Spring Break visit the first week of April 2007. We had a marvelous time! This facility was spacious enough for the eight of us. The comfort of being in the mountains plus the comfort of this house (exceptionally nice), I will say that we would possibly return in the future. We had plenty to do in the surrounding area and enjoyed all the amenities that were available. The Corkill’s were very hospitable and just plain nice.

The Monroe Family
2007

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review