reviews for: listing #31185 - Alligator Point, Florida House rental

Blue Marlin
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $225 - $275 /nt
    $1,150 - $1,750 /wk
    $3,800 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

Relaxing!

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

Nice place. Everything we needed was there. It is very secluded. We saw a bald eagle the first morning we were there. Sitting on the deck was very peaceful. I can not give it 5 stars because, though it was beachside, there is a home in front of it that partially blocks the beach view. Regardless, we really enjoyed ourselves.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Peaceful Get-Away

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

We stayed for a weekend with some friends at the Blue Marlin and loved every minute of it! The house was clean and in excellent condition. The four bedrooms are split up on two ends of the house which gives you plenty of room for a large group. The center living area is spacious, with a large kitchen, breakfast bar, dining room and living room. The house is well decorated and all the furniture is comfortable and fairly new. The back deck goes completely from one end of the house to the other with several lounging chairs. A portion is screened in and a portion is open. This gives a great opportunity to get some sun or grill out. The view is amazing, you are literally steps away from the beach. This is the perfect place if you are looking for a peaceful get-away!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Blue Marlin was a family treat (and retreat)!

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

Our vacation to the Blue Marlin in Alligator Point was better than I could have imagined. First of all, there was no one around! We pretty much had the entire beach strip to ourselves, which was amazing. We have a 2 yr old and 5 yr old and being close to the beach house was imperative (so I didn't have to constantly walk miles to retrieve kid items). The house is large enough for 2 families (left/right sides with their own bathrooms) and sits high with plenty of room for parking and unloading our kayaks. The front door faces the road, while the back screened in porch faces the ocean - we spent lots of time at night on the back porch looking at the stars and listening to the waves. The porch side overlooks (because it is so high) a shorter home in front of it so we had a clear view of the river that ran to the left the house (which was full of blue crabs) and still could see the ocean lapping onto the beach beyond that shorter home (which was empty).

We experienced dolphins 3 out of the 7 days, swimming east at 9am and west at 6pm (same routine each time). The kids chased crabs every night trying to catch them in nets (so fun!) We saw some little noses poking up and kayaked out to see a few manatees. The last day we kayaked out to explore and saw hoards of sting rays swimming amongst the waves.

A huge plus is the state park a half mile down the road for nice walks and more beach exploring, and Wakulla Springs is 30 min away in which the $5 boat tour is worth every penny. At Wakulla Springs, the kids got to see alligators and manatees from the boat.

Also if you have kids, the beach by the house stays shallow for a long way out, giving your children the freedom to run, swim and jump without fear of them going out too far. All in all, the kids didn't want to leave and we as parents relaxing in peace didn't want to leave. Gary and his cleaning lady Rachel were exceptionally nice and accommodating. We will definitely be returning!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great house and location

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We've enjoyed the Blue Marlin both times we've stayed there. The house is clean and spacious, the views are great in every direction, and the beach is just a few steps away...a great place for families.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a great time at The Blue Marlin

Review submitted: June 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

We had a great time at The Blue Marlin. We walked on the beach, played on the beach, fished on the beach and caught Red Fish, Trout, some sting rays, and even a shark. We had a great day trip to Cape San Blas, Saint Joe, and Saint George Island. Great food was found at the Tropical Trader. It was great to be at the end of the "point". The state park was great for morning runs, bike riding, and walking. The water was calm enough to put in the kayaks and they were used frequently. The house was great and the perfect size for all of us (8 total). Everyone had pleanty of room and the size of the kitchen and dining room was perfect for watching movies and playing games. Thanks for letting us stay, what a great week.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

relaxation

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

What a wonderful, restful, relaxing weekend it was. The scenery is breathtaking, there isnt a better view anywhere on the Point. The accommodations were perfect, all I needed to bring were my clothes and food.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

March 2013

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Layout of home was great. Plenty of room and loved the kitchen. Short walk to the beach. No crowd at all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

March 2013

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

The layout of the house was great. Plenty of room and everything was in good condition. Short walk to the beach and good view of the gulf. I would recommend without hesitation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ultimate Peace and Quiet

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

This was our fourth trip to the Alligator Point area and our stay at the Blue Marlin was by far our best experience. The view of the gulf as well as the beauty of the surrounding state park with all of its wildlife was truly remarkable. The house was very well built with all of the conveniences of home and was very well maintained.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ultimate peace and quiet describes staying at the "Blue Marlin" on Alligator Point, in North Florida. As owners, we are always trying to do as much as we can for our rental house. This house is used only as a rental house, we do not live there. The house was built by myself six years as a spec house, however, I could not sell it and decided after two years of waiting for a buyer to furnish the house and use it as a rental until the market came back. It has really made me feel good since I have been renting that everyone seems to love the house. I have had at least a dozen people who have come every summer. The response that I have gotten is very encouraging as I didn't know when I first started renting how people were going to feel about spending their vacations there. The results in my guest book have been so reinforcing and positive, at least ninety percent love the house and the surroundings. I have had very few people who were not happy with everything. I feel very blessed to own and manage this house.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Ultimate Peace

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

This is our fourth trip to the Alligator Point area and without question, our stay at the Blue Marlin has been our most enjoyable. The view of the gulf and surrounding beauty of the state park with all of the wildlife is remarkable. The spacious home is well built and equipped with all of the conveniences of home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Experience

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

My family loved our time at the Blue Marlin! The beach house was spacious and comfortable with a gorgeous view of the Gulf. The location was peaceful and perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Experience

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

My family loved our time at the Blue Marlin! The beach house was spacious and comfortable with a gorgeous view of the Gulf. The location was peaceful and perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful week at the Blue Marlin

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

It was a wonderful week in a beatiful house. Wether chasing crabs, fishing, sunbathing on the decks, or reading on the screen porch, we had a great time. The "forgotten coast" is a geat reminder of Gods beatiful creation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great vacation

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

Had a great time,fishing,shelling and just relaxing. Super quite, hardly anyone on
the beach.One week was not enough.Third time on the forgotten coast,first at this house,loved it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

awesome place!

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

this was our 4th time in 3 years of coming here! lots of wildlife all around. alligator in the canal otters in the canal lots of ghost crabs on the beach at night. the house is awesome lots of space very clean. love the set up. excellent sun rises. will be back next year!! thank you gary for sharing your house with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review