reviews for: listing #311883ha - Alajuela, Costa Rica rental

Tropical Rainforest Mountain House Near Volcano Arenal. Private and Safe.
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 100 / night
    $ 500 / week
    $ 1,500 / month
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Amazing Rainforest Escape

Review submitted: July 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2014

We spent four days and three nights at this amazing property. Everything is as advertised in the listing and photos: secluded, beautiful, access to a first class hotel/resort, hiking trails, birds, animals, and much more. Our family of four (2 adults, 2 kids ages 7 + 11) had ample room to live, sleep, cook, and relax on the deck and hammocks. The house was clean, and stocked with all needed kitchen equipment. Towels provided and a shower with hot water. We were there during the rainy season, and believe it or not it rains quite often during the rainy season. With that being said, we were not denied the beauty and activities of the area: hikes, hanging bridges, waterfalls, hot springs, bird watching and animal preserves all less than an hours drive, and we only scratched the surface. The hotel close by offered suggestions, directions, guided tours, access to their natural spring water pool and a full service restaurant.

Understand that you are in a secluded rainforest retreat, there are bugs of all shapes and sizes (just like anywhere in Costa Rica). But if you are looking to stay in a home that is away from the hustle of tourism this is your place, it was a truly peaceful escape. I would recommend this property to friends, family and anyone looking to experience a quiet retreat. The owner answered all inquiries in a timely fashion and was helpful with directions and information.

Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Recently stayed on our honeymoon

Review submitted: January 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

We recently spent a week at this beautiful rental home. Jan 2 - Jan 9. The owner is honest - property was well described and all transactions went smoothly.. The home is very nice. It is equipped with all you will need for your stay. FYI it doesn't have tv or internet but there is so much to see and do, you won't need it. If you want to check your email/internet or watch tv, it is easily available at the hotel located within walking distance of the house. The Chachagua hotel/resort was an awesome amenity to the house. They have a swimming pool, restaurant - serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, bar, and friendly staff for any questions or to schedule tours. Tours such as Arenal volcano, hot springs, hanging bridges, waterfalls, river rafting ect.

There are many things to do on the grounds of the home or hotel as well at no cost. Such as the 2 ponds are stocked with fish. 1 has Talapia and the other has Guapote. The hotel will provide the bait. I was able to catch about 10 talapia in less than 30 minutes. Take them to the grill. Yum. They have trails through the rainforest. The natural landscape is full of interesting plants, trees, fruit, birds. It's truly amazing how fertile the land is. The home is very quaint and relaxing. It is set in the trees with the birds. You can cut some fruit and leave it on the feeders off the balcony and many colorful birds will come up for you to take pictures of the various species. As far as seeing La Fortuna area, it's about a 30 minute drive. It's reasonably close when you take into consideration the privacy this home offers. This home allows you to feel like you are living as the Ticos do but also allows for amenities that the tourist enjoy. It's an awesome place to visit. Our stay was absolutely perfect. I would certainly recommend this vacation home and we can't wait to go back. Pura Vida!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the detailed review, I just wish to add that the internet from the hotel works at the house as well, they allow us to use their password.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Toucans on the patio

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

Well equiped house in a beautiful location. Good service from the owner. That's exactly what a chalet in the mountains should be. We saw 2 Toucans coming to the patio while we were playing cards! I would recommend this property to my friends. Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This house was the best!

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

The location, the house itself, the view, the access to the restaurant and the pool of the hotel were absolutely amazing. The best stay of our 3 weeks vacations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful remote getaway

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay (two adults, two children) at this beautiful house in the jungle. Waking up in the morning to the birds and (early!) rooster crowing, then having coffee on the deck overlooking the mountains,jungle and stream was a relaxing way to start the day. My kids loved looking for birds in the a.m. and lizards at nightfall and the house was cozy and comfortable for our family of four. You should know that the road to get here is definitely an adventure with many rocks and steep curvy climbs. Having the hotel right there was very nice - we enjoyed several good meals there and a swim in the pool - but bring a flashlight and the right shoes for crossing the stream en route to get there. Overall we had a wonderful time using this as our base for our adventures in the La Fortuna/Arenal area. Thanks for the wonderful memories!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Birding in the trees

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 29, 2012

This is an excellent location for birders, nature lovers and those looking for a quiet retreat. The road into Chachagua Rainforest Hotel ( the grounds and access road of which the house property uses) is pretty rough - to be expected in Costa Rica. But the effort is worth it. The house is basic and I would suggest you come prepared with all the necessities - little sugar packets, salt packets and any spices you need along with your grocery supplies, preferably purchased in a large store maybe in San Ramon. You will especially enjoy the porch which is perched on a hill and provides excellent views into the trees. We identified 38 species just from the porch. There is a cooler for picnics. The hotel staff were very accommodating and we enjoyed the pool and restaurant. Saturday nights the do a special meal that is fun to attend. I would certainly recommend anyone visiting the Fortuna area to consider this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Location To Enjoy Costa Rica's Jungle!

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 7, 2012

My family and I truly enjoyed this home.We enjoyed falling asleep to the jungle at night. We experienced one of Costa Rica's Rainforests at it's best! I encourage anyone to have 4 wheel drive when they come to Costa Rica, but definitely worth the drive to this home!
It is so peaceful and beautiful there. We saw many beautiful birds and creatures. The Chachagua Rainforest Hotel Guide taught us much about saving the rainforest and we planted many trees. The pool was beautiful and the restaurant makes everything Great! The staff there were so warm and helpful. We hope to return one day in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Jungle Retreat

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 4, 2012

This house is a great place to stay if you are looking to get off the beaten path. It is on the edge of the Jungle and full of wildlife with birds everywhere. It was cloudy and rainy for our entire stay, but it was during the end of the rainy season, so that was to be expected. The house is interesting to find the first time, but its remoteness is certainly a benefit. The close proximity to Arenal and Fortuna is also a benefit.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review