reviews for: listing #31208 - Half Moon Bay, California House rental

Romantic Ocean Cottage
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $450 /nt
    $2,450 - $2,800 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful New Years trip

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

We enjoyed 5 terrific nights at the Moss Beach house. The location locally was perfect with amazing views of the ocean, short walk to the north and you are at the Lighthouse, short walk south and marine preserve tide-pools. My family of 5 (including 3 teenagers) had plenty of room to watch movies together. We ventured into San Francisco on two of the days to take in some of the popular SF destinations but were very happy to have the nice quiet home to come back to. I would highly recommend this rental, Allan was wonderful to work with and very accommodating to us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location, Responsive Owners, Views to Die For, Very Comfortable Home - Can't Ask for Much More

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

My family just finished up a week renting this fantastic home in Half Moon Bay and it was spectacular. We've rented over a half dozen homes via VRBO over the last 3 years and this one had it all. Half Moon Bay was the perfect spot for days at the beach, driving up to San Francisco for events in the city and a jaw dropping drive along Highway 1 to Santa Cruz for great exploration. We found the owners incredibly responsive and reasonable in our requests leading up to our rental that made coordinating the logistics very easy. The home itself is set on a bluff overlooking the Pacific and I was able to get through two books during the week sitting in a comfortable chair with a view worth a million bucks. The house is beautifully appointed. The piano, library of DVDs, impressive bookshelf, puzzles, well stocked kitchen, comfortable linens....this rental is surely a home. We've stayed in VBRO rentals all along the coast, including Seal Beach, Paso Robles, Cayucos, Monterey & Pajaro Dunes...and our stay in Half Moon Bay exceeds all of them in offering an unbeatable location, an exquisite home and owners who show great joy in sharing their rental with good people.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful Cottage on the Ocean

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Our party of four stayed here for about 10 days and enjoyed every minute of it. The house is very comfortable for 2-4 people, with great ocean views. You can walk to the water very quickly, and there are beachside walking paths nearby. The property is not only clean and well maintained but has wonderful flowers, a nice patio, and a great collection of books. The owner greeted us at arrival and was very helpful in orienting us to the area. While a few miles from Half Moon Bay, there are groceries and restaurants very nearby. Be sure to visit Nebbia Winery, Half Moon Bay Brew Pub, and Davenport Road House nearby. You can get to the redwoods in just a few minutes, and we hiked in several different parks - with wine-tasting available along the way. I'd definitely recommend the Romantic Cottage to friends or relatives and hope to return myself soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cozy! Comfortable! A real home away from home.

Review submitted: May 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

This is our second stay at Allen and Carol's property, and really felt like it was our very own little vacation home. The owners are very accommodating and have gone out of their way to welcome us and give wonderful advise on how to enjoy Halfmoon Bay to the fullest. And, we certainly did! Allen gave us a free 8th night stay and never required any deposits which was reassuring. They are a truly trusting couple and only require that you treat their home like it was yours. Which we did. The ocean sunset views are spectacular right from the living and dining. We have 4 daughters and they slept comfortably in the second bedroom below which was fairly large with extra beds and their own bath. We hope to go a third time soon!

The photos of the property shown were accurate. We appreciate that the home was only 35 minute drive to downtown SF too. Yet, enjoyed the quiet relaxed atmosphere of the Moss Beach area. Lots of great places to eat, and our girls enjoyed rising horses at the Moss Beach Ranch 2 min drive away.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Location, Location, Location

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

Allen was a most gracious host. Our family of 5 really enjoyed this most comfortable home just minutes away from Half Moon Bay and a short drive up US 1 to SF. The house was really clean and evrything was in working order. The trips to the lighthouse and the rocks beyond will be family memories forever. We highly recommend staying here if you plan a coastal visit or want to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. We did see the fox!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect weekend getaway!

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

Beautiful does not even begin to describe this lovely cottage with spectacular views of the Pacific! The attractive decor, thoughtful details, and helpful tips from the friendly owners really helped us relax and enjoy our stay and breathtaking sunsets made every evening magical. We loved walking along the cliffs, and exploring nearby beaches with our teenage kids. It was a weekend in paradise!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Christmas

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 18, 2011

We had much-needed relaxing week at Vallamar House. There were five of us -- all adults -- gathered for family Christmas. Owners of this exceptionally lovely, clean cottage had prepared it for Christmas, with decorations and a few "extras". They provided all that was described, we expected and more, and were available to us as needed. Easy to access from SFO, great location with most beautiful views we had seen of Pacific, sound of ocean all day and night, private beach within walking distance, restaurants and groceries nearby. We have already recommended this to our friends, and we would definately stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girls Weekend

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

Amazing home, amazing views, amazing weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful and Relaxing

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

My wife and I were met by Allen on arrival and he made sure we had all the information needed for our 3 day stay. After a stressfull week at work for both my wife and I we were ready for the relaxing atmosphere and beautiful views of this property. There are shops and groceries in Half Moon Bay and we stocked up to enjoy self cooked meals in the cozy cottage with great ocean views. Fire pit on the patio and wood stove inside provided additional warmth and serenity. I highly recommend a stay here.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful view

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

we spent spring break here and had a wonderful time. We loved being out away from the city, but still close enough to drive in for sight seeing. Allen and carol are wonderful hosts and have the house supplied with everything you could need. We would love to come back and stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great way to get away!

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

My family and I stayed here this past weekend and really enjoyed this cozy little home. We were well provided for with quality items throughout the house (nice dishes, silverware, towels, etc...) and best of all was the insane sunsets over the ocean that we watched in the evenings. There are some really great walking areas (cliffs and paths) if one is inclined to explore close by. I would recommend this property for a family seeking relaxation, beauty, reflection and spending time together. There are some really cute restaurants close by that we enjoyed and the market across the street prevents endless runs to Safeway plus they have a pretty big selection of wine, which I liked. I still have the image of the ocean from the back windows floating around in my head!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Easily One of the Best Anywhere

Review submitted: September 24, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

Nothing I say here can fully describe the peace and beauty of this wonderful home. Everything is designed with the view in mind, from the up-to-date kitchen (imagine stirring fresh California vegetables and turning around to see and smell the sea!), to the cozy outdoor fireplace under the giant palm. And it's so easy to get to...45 minutes or less to downtown SF. Best of all...the amazingly considerate and welcoming hosts. Allen even took the time to call and tell us to stay past our checkout if we wanted, because no one was coming in that day. Our daughter couldn't believe that courtesy! Only one minor quibble. If, like us, you have someone additional in the second bed, the house's only bathroom is in the main bedroom. But this is easily one of the best vacation rentals we've ever experienced. And if I could be there again this moment, I would be.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gonzales family vacation

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

This is one of the best vacation our family had ever had! Allen and Carol are the most gracious hosts-- making us feel so welcome. The ocean house is more than what we expected it to be, immaculately clean and the owners provided amenities that make one's stay comfortable. The view from the house is truly awesome. I sincerely recommend this place, especially to people who needs a place to unwind and relax. It is conveniently located for sightseeing along the coast, as it is just a few miles away from Monterey to the South,and San Francisco to the North.

Perhaps in the near future, the owners could add a small bathroom on the lower floor to accommodate more guests.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach House Beauty

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2010

Allen could not have been more hospitable or gracious in his dealings with us. He offered to help in any way he could. We held a small reception after our wedding in Half Moon Bay. Everyone had the best time. I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a quiet house, with breath-taking views of the ocean.

Delightful!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Choice

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 19, 2010

We've stayed at the Vallemar house twice. After a long flight it really felt like a gift to come into this home. When we returned to Half Moon Bay this year, we decided to rent elsewhere as there were only two of us this time. It was a mistake. We were trying to save some money, but in the end it wasn't worth it.

You get true value for money here. The view is amazing and you can gaze at it from every window. All the amenities are there. It's clean and well managed. What you see is what you get! It's a great place to come home to after a busy day of sightseeing, hiking or shopping, but it's also wonderful to stay in all day!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tears & Laughter

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

"Our stay here was just incredible. This was a perfect way for 4 sisters to be together to enjoy each other's company, stories, tears, and laughter. This gave us a chance to enjoy a little bit of heaven right here on this beautiful earth."
25 Jul 09 - Mary Ellen Trice & 3 sisters, Pasadena, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Moment We Walked In...

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2009

"We loved the house from the moment we walked in. Thanks for a wonderful holiday."
8 Jul 09 - Kurt & Jane Manteuffel, & kids, Belgium

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Second Year

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2009

"This is our second year here & we have so enjoyed it each time. It's the perfect way to start our summer. The houses fits our family well, the location is grat for where we want to go and the view is amazing. ... We all feel so comfortable and relaxed here.
10 Jun 09 - John & Andrea Brandon Family, West Sacramento, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Working Mom

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2009

"I want to express my thanks for letting us stay in your stunning home.
I'm a single mom so I work pretty hard, but this expense is so worth it to me & my children. Our time here will never forget!!"
29 May 09 - Teri Sandoval, Redwood City, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Lovely Sonya

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2009

"It was great chance to get away and celebrate Sonya's next step into marriage, and to look back and celebrate all that had come before. A perfect location for such a special weekend, making memories that will last a lifetime."
15 May 09 - Marlene & Anthony Revelo, family of the lovely Sonya, Pasadena, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beds are what?

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2009

"Your beds are ridiculously comfortable."
23 Apr 09 - Professional photographer, London

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spa for the Soul

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2008

"This week was such a stress reliever and your home is like a spa for the soul."
11 Nov 08 - Joel & Sharon Hicks, Joliet, IL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fog Came and Stayed

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 31, 2008

"You have gone to great lengths to see to our every want or need. The fog came and stayed so we didn't get as much of the CA sunshine as we would have liked, but it didn't matter. The views are great in all weather."
31 Oct 08 - Joanne & Bill Howard, Woodbridge, VA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Sound of the Ocean

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2008

"What a charming and cozy place you have here. We enjoyed ourselves so very much. The sound of the ocean, the breeze off the ocean, and the wildlife too.
The guests we had for our son's rehearsal dinner totally loved your place. What a perfect week we had. Absolutely perfect! We were sad to go."
8 Oct 08

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Home of Our Own

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: September 8, 2008

"We had such a great vacation. Your home was so comfortable. We just loved the location, sunsets, and enjoyed the bonus of watching a whale put on a show for us!
"We appreciate your generosity. You made your home feel like it was our own.
8 Sep 08

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Au Revior

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2008

"Our stay will be unforgettable. Everybody loved your house, so lovely and comfortable. Au revior."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Six-Year Old

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2008

"My six year-old loved the circular staircase. He made sure I wrote that down!"
20 Aug 08 - David & Brenda Bess & family, Wilton, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sharing Your Library

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2008

"We have rented many a vacation home, but NONE with the many personal, thoughtful little details - coins for newspapers and sharing your wonderful library. It was like visiting a friend.
"And I have said nothing about the view. Amazing! The last 2 days of our visit wow'd us with bright blue skies, gentle sunshine, and a gorgeous sunset. We can hardly bear to leave."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

View from the Netherlands

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2008

"You have a house with a magnificent view! A perfect outlook for spotting whales and seabirds. We experienced the real beauty of house after the foggy days when the sun came through."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 15, 2009   Date of arrival: April 15, 2009

"I want to express my thanks for letting us stay in you stunning home.
I am a single mom so I work pretty hard, but this expense was so worth it to me & my children. Our time here we will never forget!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dancing in the Kitchen

Review submitted: March 27, 2009   Date of arrival: March 27, 2009

"Staying here was magical. I have never been on vacation and felt so rested. We spent days reading books from your library, watching the waves with your binoculars, and dancing in the kitchen."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Healing Spa so close to San Francisco

Review submitted: January 1, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

"Thank you so much for providing such a lovely home for travelers to enjoy on the coast. The views are stupendous and the amenities are just plain wonderful. You have done a wonderful job providing a healing spa so close to San Francisco."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Watching Winter Storms

Review submitted: December 25, 2008   Date of arrival: December 25, 2008

"The winter storms were awesome and we saw the sea change color many times. It was spectacular to sit and watch the sea rage with the wind and storm, and then clear blue sky, only to return to grey skies and pounding rain!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Friend Reunion

Review submitted: July 1, 2008   Date of arrival: June 23, 2008

I live in Denver- my best friend of 40 years in California. We met here for three days of talking, reading, talking, eating, talking, walking.....One bed upstairs and one bed down also provided privacy and alone-time. (My friend is scheduled to have knee replacement surgery so she could not navigate the circular stairs to the downstairs bedroom area.) The furnishings, the view(s), the incredibly well equipped kitchen all contributed to a lovely stay. We hope to return here on a regular basis!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review