reviews for: listing #31225 - Whidbey Island, Washington Cottage rental

Penn Cove Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Coupeville
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $85 - $120 /nt
    $510 - $720 /wk

sort by:

Loved it here!

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 9, 2014

As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the friendliest lady I've ever met! She was so excited to have us stay in their cottage and gave us sight seeing tips that helped alot since we didn't know anything around. The place was very clean and stocked with everything we needed and more. I would absolutely return here and hope to! The owners replyed to our emails very quickly and were amazing hosts!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We'd return to Penn Cove Cottage in a heartbeat!

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

My husband and I spent a post-Thanksgiving weekend away with our friends and could not have asked for a better place to stay! The warmth of the cottage beckoned rest and relaxation, and has a beautiful view of the Cove from the front window. It's perfectly situated near all things Whidbey Island -- Deception Pass, Ebey's Landing, Coupeville's little town shops with great local restaurants and markets, and so much more. The cottage was clean and cozy. The owners were extremely kind and quick to respond to any questions we had for them. This place offered the perfect getaway for the weekend. Without a doubt, the four of us loved our stay at Penn Cove Cottage and would return with no hesitations!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great getaway for rest and relaxation

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

Great cottage and location! We had everything we needed to survive and relax. Watched the water from the front room, shook hands with the resident deer, saw eagles soaring overhead, and had plenty of time for walking and poking around Coupeville. Only thing I would recommend is have a couple of bikes to explore on -- impossible to find a place to rent bikes on the island!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Penn Cove Cottage

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Great little place. Great view, but not really a walking beach. Easy walk to town. Wonderful cinnamon rolls at the Knead and Feed in town. Cute and cozy. Great rates!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Penn Cove Cottage

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We stayed at the cottage for a sister in law weekend. Cute, cozy little cottage. Was just as we pictured it from their website. Great price and will recommend to anyone! Easy walk to town. Water just across the street. Not a beach to really walk on, but great view!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Whidbey getaway

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 3, 2012

Great Getaway, had no rain for the 3 days we stayed in December.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Place to Stay

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

Penn Cove Cottage turned out to be everything we were hoping for and more. It is conveniently located within walking distance of downtown Coupeville and all of its quaint shops and restaurants. The owners are gracious and helpful and the cottage was clean and cozy. We especially appreciated the washer and dryer and the readily available fire. This is the perfect place for exploring all that Whidbey Island has to offer! I highly recommend the marionberry bear claw at the Knead & Feed in Coupeville and a tour of Meerkirk Gardens. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

This was my second stay at the Penn Cove Cottage. It feels like my home away from home. It is such a cozy and comfortable place to stay and the views from the large picture windows are amazing! The owners are so generous and kind and made my stay so easy. I will be back again and again! Thank you so much!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cozy, Comfortable and what a view!

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

We had a wonderful week at the Penn Cove Cottage. Looking out over Penn Cove at the mussel beds was great fun. Nearby is the wonderful town of Coupeville with a plethora of wonderful eateries. We had everything we needed and the experience was great. Thank you so much!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect stay!

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

We so enjoyed our time at this gem. Like many others posted, you almost hate to give away this "secret". The house was perfect for our family of 3. The view was exactly what we wanted and the amenities (fireplace, wifi, cable, dvd) were perfect in case of rainy days. It's a bit of a bummer that it doesn't have a dishwasher, but we chose to eat many meals out so it didn't matter much to us. It was a perfect home-base for us to explore the forts, Deception Pass, Coupeville, and take the ferry to Port Townsend. We would return in a second!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

All you need!!!

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

Cottage was just as described in listing, we will be going back. Perfect get away place and was not bothered the whole time there. Owners recommendation for places to eat was well used. If you are going for whale watching contact tour groups to ensure it is a good time to watch.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely cottage, lovely view

Review submitted: November 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

I don't often write reviews but we had such a nice stay I was compelled .......it's a small, clean, cozy, cottage perfectly represented by the pictures. There were staples in the cupboards, but no other cluttery knickknacks except useful info for the island. This is a wonderful value with alot of charm, and very nice owners.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Linda,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We would love for you to comeback next year. So glad you had a nice stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Strategic Serenity

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

The location was such a great place to jump off and explore the whole island. Quality of life, natural beauty, peaceful, historic great feel from all the locals. Enjoyed the property , deer, quail in the back yard, peaceful setting and every ammenity that one couldask for. Just loved it...in fact we want to move there !! Several great restuarants on the island, saw the Prowlers and f-18s from NAS Whidbey....Great experience, many thanks for shring this hidden gem...dont tell anyone!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: May 28, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

This little cabin was a wonderful place to enjoy Whidbey Island. It sits out of town just far enough you feel relaxed and can enjoy the beautiful surroundings, waking up to deer right outside your bedroom window, but also close enough to walk to Coupville or a short drive to Oak Harbour. Just a few miles to the boat launch, it was a cozy place to come home to after a long day of fishing and has all the supplies to enjoy your catch on the bbq. The cabin is just as the Tacketts described and I cant wait to come back and enjoy more of the island sites. Be sure to try some of the Penn Cove Mussells served at the local restaurants they are Amazing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Visit

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

We stayed at this cottage while visiting family for Christmas. It was perfect for our needs, comfortable, cozy, affordable, and conveniently close to town and the family that we were visiting. The photos depict the cottage exactly as is. The fact the bathroom is located off one of the bedrooms was a non-issue with us (two couples). With a little planning and communication everything went well. Love the view! Thank you. We had a wonderful visit with the family members that stayed at the cottage with us as well as the others we drove up to share the holiday with. Happy 2011!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Love this Cottage!

Review submitted: November 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

I loved my stay at Penn Cove Cottage! I stayed for a week during the beautiful fall season with the leaves turning and the cool fall weather. The fireplace was the best part...all I had to do was turn on the thermostat and had an instant, warm and cozy fire. Jack and Mary Tackett were wonderful! They answered all my questions prior to my visit and made me feel so welcome. The cottage was very clean and I so appreciated all the all the nice touches the Tackett's provided that made the cottage feel like home. The picture window facing Penn Cove offered amazing views and the setting was idyllic. The location was perfect for day trips to Port Townsend, the Olympic National Forest, Deception Pass and Bellingham. On the island I enjoyed Greenbank Farms wine tasting room, cheese shop and the Whidbey Pie shop. Knead and Feed in Coupeville had great soup and a great location on the waterfront. Whidbey Island Vineyard was lovely and had amazingly good wines! All the state parks were fantastic and had great hiking trails. I hope to come back again and again to stay at the Penn Cove cottage.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Review submitted: September 30, 2009   Date of arrival: September 30, 2009

The cottage was wonderful! Its close to town and other things.The view was nice also! My son loved to take the trails and go down by the beach!We even checked out Fort Casey and the lighthouse! It was a nice getaway.. Even if it was only for the weekend! We do have to make another trip.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 10, 2009   Date of arrival: September 10, 2009

Cottage is great; a beautiful view from inside and the cozy deck. We were very happy with all amenities provided - plenty of linens, well equipped kitchen, good beds and great sleeping in the quiet woods across from the ocean. They are actually farming mussels in the cove! I definitely recommend the cottage to potential renters, but I don't want to tell too many people so it will be available for us next year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: September 6, 2009   Date of arrival: September 6, 2009

We stayed on August 13-16 and had a great time at the cottage. Great view of the cove and great sunsets, deers peacefully grazing on the yard by the living room window. Having high speed internet was also a great plus!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 4, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

I spent six days at this cottage for a wedding to attend.

The owners were very attentive to my needs, from reservations and payment to my arrival, they were very flexible.

The cottage is absolutely charming, with an old-island feel. Linens and appliances are in excellent condition and the property is very clean and well-kept. This little house is very quiet and has a great view of the bay from the living room. I would absolutely stay here again without reservation. It made my trip back home to WA the best I have had in many years.

Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 1, 2009   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

We had a pleasant stay the first week of August. It is a very clean and cozy cottage with a view of the cove. Great location to reach each end of the island. Very quiet.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

We stayed in this cottage recently and it was a great
stay. The cottage was so clean and cozy. Very
personable. The view of the cove is wonderful. What
a beautiful place to vacation. Thank You

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 30, 2009   Date of arrival: August 30, 2009

My daughter and granddaughter from McKinney, TX stayed a week with me in the cottage. We have gone to Whidbey Island many times, but the cottage made this our best trip ever. It was very clean and quiet. It has everything we needed. We love the location near Coupeville. I can't wait to return and stay in Penn Cove Cottage again next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 6, 2009   Date of arrival: August 6, 2009

What a great cottage, we loved our 3 day 2 night stay! Would spend the days exploring the area and had a cozy cottage to arrive to each night. We are a family of 4 and Penn Cove Cottage was a perfect size for us. Thank you and we look forward to visiting again soon! Rod, Susie, Allison and Mac Brown

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: August 4, 2009

My 17 year old son and I stayed at your cottage for a week and had such a relaxing time. We lived on the island for 10 years and it was wonderful to be able to come back and visit with friends and family while enjoying the serenity of your cottage. My favorite part was waking up in the morning opening up the curtains and have my coffee with the wonderful view of Penn Cove right outside. Thank you so much for having such a magical place to stay..I still say you all should just up and pack and move to the island...lol...We will be returning again next summer...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 31, 2009   Date of arrival: July 31, 2009

I was a bit skeptical because this cottage seemed to be such a bargain. When I arrived - my skepticism was put to rest. What a charming, cute little place this is. There is so much about it that I loved - it's hard to pic a favorite. I loved starting the BBQ coals and having a couple glasses of wine on the deck surrounded by beautiful trees - viewing Penn Cove while waiting to cook a different fresh fish each night. It is also so perfectly located for walking with nature trails all around - and about 3/4 mi stroll along the water to Front St restaurants. The cottage is very comfortable with every amenity that I needed - even a washer/dryer. I am so happy to have found such a cozy little place at such a great price. Can't wait til my next visit.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: July 31, 2009   Date of arrival: July 31, 2009

Hi,

My family and I stayed in your cottage for a week. We had a wonderful time. The amenities were great. We had a very comfortable and relaxing vacation. We do plan on coming back and staying your cozy cottage again. Thank you very much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review