reviews for: listing #31244 - Crescent City, California House rental

Sunset House Vacation Rental
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $150 /nt
    $800 - $800 /wk
    $2,600 - $2,600 /mth

sort by:

Great place Great view Great price Great people!!

Review submitted: July 23, 2014   Date of arrival: July 17, 2014

We are a family of 6 (3 teenagers). The Sunset House was perfect for our family. SO much room! The view was amazing, the yard was gorgeous, the accomodations excellent, the price unbelievable! But what made this stay the best one on our 3 week vacation around the western United States, was the people. Mary from Bayside Realty especially, but also the owners...all three, some truly wonderful people. They are the kind of people that make you believe again in humanity!

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. The owners take pride in their property and are glad you enjoyed it. We hope you will come stay with us again. Sincerely, Mary

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing place on the cheap!

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

I stayed here with my family for 2 weeks in 2011 (7-10-11 to 7-24-11). It was the best vacation I've ever had! Crescent City is a beautiful place and this vacation home gave us the chance to enjoy every bit of our time on the West Coast. The home was clean, cozy, and comfortable. We didn't run into any problems with appliances, the rooms, or the backyard. The view is spectacular, especially in the mornings and the evenings.

It's about a quarter of a mile walk to the shore of the bay from the little field off the side of the house. Ocean World, a little aquarium + sea lion show, is also right around the corner. This home is near every great thing to do in Crescent City. It's close to the numerous beaches, Battery Point Lighthouse, the aquarium, nice restaurants, the community park and pool, the bowling alley, the movie theater, and the airport. It's only a short drive to visit the Redwoods along the Jed Smith River and close enough to many natural wonders, like Fern Canyon, Harris Beach, Crissey Fields Park, China Beach, and Gold Bluffs beach, that the drive is worth it.

I would definitely stay here again!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come again! Mary

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Three Generations

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

When we visited our family consisted of a Grandfather, Mom, Dad and three teens 15, 16 and 17. The house was clean and orderly with enough room for all to find a place to relax. All our needs were met and found the community very helpful. The only suggestion that I would make is that the Library allow out of town guest (with their own library cards) to use books and films, even if we left a deposit or our DMV #, we are big fans of the resources that libraries can offer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing View, Relaxing Peaceful Retreat!

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: August 24, 2011

This is my first time to write a review, but I just had to say what an amazing rental this place is! I agree with the other reviewer - you HAVE to rent this place. It is spacious - perfect for our family of five. Make sure you note that it is a SECOND Floor apartment, so yes, there are stairs - don't pick this one if you have trouble with stairs. The location is a little odd - behind a hotel - but this turned out to be the best part. The isolation made it feel very peaceful and quiet. We drove everywhere in town. It was close enough that you could walk, but it's not the best walk for small children. The backyard is beautifully landscaped, and fenced in, so you can let your three-year old play in it without worries. The back wall in the family room/kitchen is almost all windows, and I spent most of the time looking out. Everything in the house is in excellent condition, and there were plenty of linens/towels. I can not say enough about what a great rental this was for us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect place and location

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

The home was neat, clean and comfortable. It had cable and wifi as well. The location is across from the Pacific with gorgeous sunsets and the coastal trail to walk right there if you are hikers. A great choice of a place to stay.
We would hike during the day (Boy Scout Trail, Hatton trail, must see Stout grove which is a short loop, coastal trail parts) and return to a lovely warm 3 season room in the front of the house to watch the sunset, or sit on the patio to do the same. Another must see is the ChartHouse restaurant on Anchor's way. It is the hang out for about 20 sea lions! Food is good and you can just go on the pier to see the sea lions if you don't want to eat there. Good Harvest on 101 was another good restaurant where you could get salmon too.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Excellent Rental Home

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

I can not say enough about this rental--you will absolutely not be sorry that you rented this home! The home is so beautifully decorated, has everything you'll need except for food & clothes. It is so quiet ALL the time, we really appreciated this especially at night time. The beds are so comfortable, the views are fantastic! If you have trouble with stair's, this will be a problem as there are quiet a few to go up to get into the home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review