reviews for: listing #31247 - Orleans, Massachusetts House rental

Breathtaking Orleans Marshfront and Ocean View Estate
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mallard Lane
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $600 - $700 /nt
    $4,200 - $4,900 /wk

sort by:

Magical Oasis

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

We will be all be returning to Mallard View next year after spending our family re-union there in October.I finally got my pictures printed for everyone and realized how many beautiful photogenic scenes there are around this gorgeous estate by the sea.It was magical for us all. Everything was very clean and showed that it was well cared for .The kitchen looked like it was newly stocked with dishes and bath rooms all sparkled. We especially loved all the delicious apples, persimmons and pears that were ripe from the large orchard, which we used almost every day. Beds all were comfortable, but one the best amenities was the expansive deck that overlooked the ocean and marsh which was a delight to have dinners on, especially when those beautiful sunsets occurred directly over Cape Cod Bay in our own back yard.






This was a very quite and serene location,with the pleasant exception of all the birds and deer that were everywhere, it was more like being in a sanctuary then a rental conventional property.


We found we were in walking distance of Rock Harbour, down town, and some great restaurants, the bike Path,and Skaket beach. Orleans needs to have better protection for bikers in the center of town, you had to be careful with young children on bikes, but we all enjoyed this very private oasis with it's proximity to some many attractions.


The owner gave us some great advice about where to go around town and when I called her about something , she always got back to me quickly. That made me really happy after our last rental experience in Colorado. We told our friends about this retreat sanctuary, I'm sure some of them will call about it. In this case ,the photos did not do this place justice,it had many more amenities then the photos showed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family get together

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

My extended family and some friends travel each Columbus Day to celebrate my birthday. It is always challenging to find a place to stay that meets all our needs. Mallard View did. It has lots of bedrooms, we used them all but there was room for more with sofa beds. We cooked in one night and really appreciated the big dining room table. But the best thing is the view! We arrived on Friday night in time to see the sunset. We enjoyed the ever changing view of the marsh from the big picture windows. Trudy and Joe were very helpful and suggested Ocean House for my birthday dinner which we all enjoyed. I can just imagine how nice it would be there in the summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful views from front and back yards

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

This place had it all !!! Loved the gardens and fruit trees,but that was greatly exceeded by the ocean views right in your back yard.. Place was clean and all of the beds seemed to be newish.The owners were very agreeable and had some great tips where to eat . We all swam out in the back yard ocean rivers and did lots of kayaking from the high tide that hit the back yard..The discription fit the reallity and then some ,so we would tell our friends that this is the place to have a peaceful ,quiet , family retreat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

nightly gorgeous sunsets over cape cod bay

Review submitted: April 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

Nightly gorgeous sunsets over Cape Cod Bay

We had a wonderful time at this hidden, quite,seaside retreat.The grounds and the property were very clean . The kitchen was well stocked ,the two barbeques were new and gave us nice daily views from the very large Deck.All rooms had a very nice Ocean view, plus the house had a extra small kitchen on the bottom floor; which was nice when my teenage daughters came in late at night for snacking and watching TV.

The accurate description the owner sent us of the property was very detailed and complete as far as the beds and living arrangements went ,and he had some good recommendations as to were to eat.I think they should show more pictures of the very large yard, where our family had fun playing Volley ball .Additionally,the beautiful gazebo was perfect for having evening coctails along with the seaside patio or they also had a pergola that covered another patio in the fruit orchard.This place had lots of old world charm- a very unique setting.

The owner was a funny guy who gave us lots of useful tips on where to go and find the hidden"Cape". I going to recommend this property to my brother who has 4 small children and a small dog ,which I understand they accept here. We will be back next year to this gem on the ocean.

Nightly gorgeous sunsets over Cape Cod Bay

We had a wonderful time at this hidden, quite,seaside retreat.The grounds and the property were very clean . The kitchen was well stocked ,the two barbeques were new and gave us nice daily views from the very large Deck.All rooms had a very nice Ocean view, plus the house had a extra small kitchen on the bottom floor; which was nice when my teenage daughters came in late at night for snacking and watching TV.

The accurate description the owner sent us of the property was very detailed and complete as far as the beds and living arrangements went ,and he had some good recommendations as to were to eat.I think they should show more pictures of the very large yard, where our family had fun playing Volley ball .Additionally,the beautiful gazebo was perfect for having evening coctails along with the seaside patio or they also had a pergola that covered another patio in the fruit orchard.This place had lots of old world charm- a very unique setting.

The owner was a funny guy who gave us lots of useful tips on where to go and find the hidden"Cape". I going to recommend this property to my brother who has 4 small child

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wow ,what a heavenly View

Review submitted: March 3, 2010   Date of arrival: February 3, 2010

This place has the most amusing and gorgous view we have seen in years.We saw seals, otters, deer ,coyote,and tons of birds ,{some of which were vey rare}.Each day the changing of the tide brought another panorama of colors and new wild life.

The house was very comfortable ,we loved the beds and views from the two master bed room. The ground level floor had just been retiled and had large handicap friendly doors, which worked out really nice for my wheel -chair bound father in law.Kitchen was great, all rooms pretty much had ocean views.The office was well stocked ,but the internet went out a few times.It was all very clean and the front grounds with the pergola and gazebo made for some very nice family pictures.Owner's service was very quick ,as he fixed a clogged toilet within hours.. I would definitly recommend this property to my friends.We had a great time and look forward to coming back next year with a even better camera.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Not worth the $$

Review submitted: September 11, 2009   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

This was a wonderful house with a breath-taking view. Although the listing states that there is air-conditioning, there are only two units in the upstairs bedroom and not even a fan to cool the rest of the house if needed. The oppressive days were unbearable in the house.

The place was pretty dirty - dog hair on steps - cob webs and collected dust under furniture. It was clear that it had been surface-cleaned, but we had people who had allergy attacks from the filth. I spoke to the owner who said he'd be by to see the problem and never showed. We were very disappointed by this.

Also, the basement apartment would have been wonderful though the dehumidifier was broken and the musty smell travelled upstairs and made the downstairs uninhabitable for anyone with breathing issues. I also spoke to the owner about this and he said the problem would be fixed which it wasn't during our stay there. Some of our company (for whom we rented the house so we could be together) had to stay in a hotel up the street because breathing was an issue.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: We have addressed all the problems this renter stated, the cleaners have been replaced by a new company who do a immaculate job. The basement has tile floors now, a brand new refrigerator and dehumidifier. The bedrooms are air conditioned and we have fans if needed. We are always working to give our vacationers a pleasant stay and want to come back to our home.

Helpful votes: 6 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review