reviews for: listing #31279 - Traverse City, Michigan Cottage rental

10 min. to Traverse City, sandy beach, modern homes
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $700 - $2,900 /wk

sort by:

Best value in TC

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

The cottage exceeded our expectations! As we walked in we were impressed with the updated kitchen, bathroom and comfortable living room. The 2 bedroom cottage is very cozy and very welcoming. The deck allowed us to sit outside right on the water, and take in the natural beauty of this spot. Fantastic value!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Vacation!!!

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Just returned a few days ago one of our top vacations ever! The cottage was excellent, only complaint was no washer and dryer, but everything else was great. We loved the beach, the lake, and the cottage. There is so much to do within a short drive. Our must see is Sleeping "Bear Dunes, can't stop showing all our pictures of this amazing place. The owners were great to us every step of the way. We rented a boat for 3 days and our oldest one learned how to water ski, a vacation he will never forget. We are considering a return trip next summer and several of our friends are interesting in visiting Michigan after hearing how much we enjoyed our trip. Michigan is beautiful, we will never forget this great vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words about your cottage experience. We try to make your visit to this great area as comfortable and as pleasant as possible. Thanks again Marian and Tom Brady

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice clean cottage

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

This is a nice cottage. We rented the smaller cottage and found it to be perfect for our family of 4. A great place to stay, very quiet and yet a short 15 minute drive to downtown Traverse City or the mall. The best of both worlds, all that Traverse City has to offer and yet then we could go back to the quiet, peaceful lake. Great yard, lots of lawn chairs, picnic table and we really liked having a fire pit right in front of our cottage. Our only complaint was that the smaller cottage does not get WIFI. You could get it if you sat on the back porch. Nice vacation we will always remember.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We were very happy the family thought our cottage was perfect for their family. We found out that the WIFI wasn't working once we read the review. I am sure limited WIFI had an impact on the enjoyment for the teens. We fixed the problem as soon as we found out. WIFI reception is great in the Willow Cottage now.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice and spacious, a great time!!

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2010

We rented the cabin/house for a long weekend in early May for my daughter's State Gymnastic Meet in Traverse City. My husband and I have 4 girls ages 11, 10, 6, and 5. We all just loved the cabin! The girls loved the bedroom with the bunkbed. The cabin was nice and spacious, very clean. It had a very welcoming feeling to it. The girls had fun playing in the sand on the beach, and on the swingset and hammock. Unfortunately it was cold while we were there and we did not get to go swimming or use the outdoor firepit. Traverse City was just minutes away which was nice. We arrived late at night and the cabin was very hard to find in the dark. The owner was very congenial and greeted us when we got there. Our only complaint was that the furnace was very loud, and the cabin was situated very close to the other properties, not much privacy, though we were gone a lot and it didn't really matter. The yard was big and we all still loved it and had a great time! We would definitely go back again given the chance. Thank you for a wonderful, memorable weekend!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank your for the positive review. I wanted to comment on the review though as it has raised some questions from our potential guests. We too were glad the family could find us. They came after midnight and we knew it would be difficult to find as it is dark out in the lake area at night. The driveway is long and The family didn't have a GPS, so that made it more difficult. We stayed up waiting for them with a flashlight out on the driveway hoping that would help them find the cottage. The comment about the furnace was helpful as the furnace doesn't get used in the summer and we didn't know it was an issue. We remember the weekend and it was a cold, rainy one. The furnace issue was resolved. The concern that the cottages are very close to the other properties: The cottages are on fifty foot lots, we live next door. The cottages are off set from each other so they are not lined up next to each other. The family was here in mid-May and were the only family at our resort. I don't know if they were projecting what they thought it would be like with 2 families sharing 100ft. of private frontage and a large lot, not sure. I find out what people are looking for and I do tell them if it sounds like they are looking for a cottage in a remote area, that this is not our place. Silver Lake is community of lake side homes that are mostly year round residences with a few rental cottages scattered in amongst the year round folk. It is close to Traverse City and all that it has to offer. Again, i am glad they enjoyed their stay, but some of the comments have caused potential guests to email me and ask for clarification. I decided it would be best to post my comments here to clarify the issues. Thanks for looking. Marian Brady

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice Cottage

Review submitted: February 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2009

Nice cottage, clean, all the comforts of home, with an up-North feel.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice cottage

Review submitted: February 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2008

We headed up to Northern Michigan with another couple and just had a nice long weekend in Traverse City in the Fall . The property was pristine and well cared for and while we did not get a chance to take advantage of the lake much, the location is fabulous. We would definitely stay again and have already recommended this property to friends.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice cottage

Review submitted: June 10, 2009   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

Nice cottage, clean, all the comforts of home, with an up-North feel.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review