reviews for: listing #313396vb - Carlsbad, California rental

Located in Carlsbad Village Walk to Village Walk to Beach
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 129 - $ 185 / night
    $ 799 - $ 1,300 / week
    $ 2,600 - $ 4,197 / month
  • sleeps  4
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Beach Retreat

Review submitted: June 1, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

Loved it all, quiet street,
front patio, close to the beach, great restaurants,
all within walking distance.
Thanks Michael!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location

Review submitted: May 24, 2014   Date of arrival: May 4, 2014

Amazing location to the ocean! Owner very friendly and great to work with! So nice to use washer and dryer (for free) !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family vacation!

Review submitted: May 17, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

Owner is very nice and excellent to work with. Plenty of beach stuff to use at the rental kept us busy playing on carlsbad beach during our stay. Hide-a-bed in couch was very comfortable for our 20year old son. Would stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family vacation!

Review submitted: May 17, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

Owner is very nice and excellent to work with. Plenty of beach stuff to use at the rental kept us busy playing on carlsbad beach during our stay. Hide-a-bed in couch was very comfortable for our 20year old son. Would stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring break

Review submitted: April 16, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

Good location in heart of a village, which has lots to offer. Plenty of great bars, coffee shops and restaurants. Stones throw from the beach and beach equipment was available at the cottage which was great. Pretty garden at the front which gets sun most of the day with BBQ. Only downside was that the cottage could have done with an update and or a deep clean. We needed to clean out and wash draws and equipment before we could use them. The rug in the kitchen was filthy. There is also no dishwasher. Parking right outside made things easy. Probably would rate at 3.5. The owner was very helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great little cottage - Awesome location

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

We had a wonderful time in this amazingly located cottage. Everything we very clean - the unit and grounds are spotless. Michael was friendly and helpful. They obviously take very good care of the property and have a lot of pride in it. It shows. One of the most comfortable beds ever in a VRBO to - we slept great! It is so close to everything. We even walked to the train station and easily took the train into San Diego. We will stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 25, 2014

This little cottage was great for our girls getaway. The location is premium - walking distance to everything in Carlsbad Village and only two short blocks from the beach. The house is well stocked and we appreciated having beach chairs and umbrellas available for our use as well. Our only complaint was the noise level. There are several cottages in this area and this unit shares walls with one next door. We had very noisy neighbors who left their front door and windows open. The master bedroom is right next to the front door of the other unit - so it felt like they were in the room with us. Also, I personally love the sound of the train - but it is definitely loud from the front of the house - just be aware. My advice to you - bring earplugs to be prepared.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Affordable, immaculate condo

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

My husband and I who are in our 60's spent 2 weeks during the 2013 holidays in this condo. As we began planning another trip to visit family I realized I'd never posted a review. This condo was immaculate and well equipped. The location was terrific, within walking distance to beach and restaurants in town. Our only issue was the unit was not completely soundproof and our neighbors at the time had 2 small children who were up very early. Despite this we will definitely look to rent this condo again as it was very comfortable. It is a little dated, but had good character and really met all our needs.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: You can't hear through the walls, but the floors are connected between the 2 units so you can feel/hear the vibrations. I've actually never had this complaint before in any of he cottages. Please respect your neighbors.
Thank you for reserving again, see you in a couple of weeks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great beach cottage

Review submitted: March 9, 2014   Date of arrival: February 24, 2014

This is the perfect beach cottage...great location, very clean. The only improvement I would recommend is better security. The dead lock on the back door was broken and the chain lock for the front door had no receptacle and there was no dead lock on the front door.
Would recommend to couples and families with small children!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ok so I fixed the Dead bolt on the back door so now thee is a Deadbolt, chain and regular door lock on the back door and a regular lock and chain on the front door. They are all new locks. I always appreciate helpful hints.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Accomodations & Perfectly located!!

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

Our family of two adults and two teenagers loved our stay here. We were able to relax; completely relax. You have pretty much everything you might need. We used the outdoor barbeque, the oven, the microwave -- ate in except for our required visits to In N Out and Super Donuts ;-). Everything was clean and made us feel at home. The location was great and while located a few houses away from the train tracks, the trains weren't bothersome; loud in the beginning, but those sounds faded into the background. My husband and I took a number of walks while our kids stayed back at the cottage watching movies and sports on the great DirecTV channel selection. The beach chairs which Michael had left added a special touch to our beach time -- easy to carry backpack style. There was a pull-cart available and a couple of boogie boards, too. Everything was as the pictures represent and the previous reviews seemed to be pretty much on. Michael is very straightforward and it was a pleasure to have done business with him. We arrived very late and left very early -- both of which did not present a problem to him. It made our trip even more relaxing. We will be happy to be repeat visitors!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2013

Super location, totally as advertised, nice personal service with all needs met! Would recommend this unit to anyone wanting the beach/village experience.in Carlsbad.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice cottage

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this cottage. It is a duplex so you can hear noise from the neighbors. The train noise was not too bad even though it is super close to the cottage. We loved the fact we were 5 min away from Lego Land and that we could walk to all the restaurants from the cottage and the beach as well. Carlsbad is a cute little town and the beach is incredibly long and nice. The one thing that would be nice is a screen door for the kitchen so the mosquitos don't come in. We were blessed with 85 degree weather and needed all the ventilation in the cottage, especially at night and couldn't leave that door open. Otherwise it was a clean and nice cottage.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place for children and grandma

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

Everything was as expected, plus some! From the informative book on the cottage to the beach gear we were very happy with the accommodations and location. Proximity to LEGOLAND was a bonus!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 29, 2013

We spent one week at this property and would give it 5 stars! We arrived very late at night and Michael had left all the lights on for us and all the information we needed to get settled in. The house was clean, neat and so convenient as we arrived by train and had no car. Easy walking distance to the beach, restaurants, shops and grocery store. Everything we needed was there...the best stocked property we have ever stayed in. We loved the front patio for grilling and cocktail time. The shared laundry facilty was helpful and also stocked with needed supplies. We plan to stay for a month on our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

We choose the vacation rental, because we have two small children and the enclosed yard was a plus. The rental is two blocks from a very nice beach. The location was nice for us as we traveled to legoland and Sea World. There are so many fun shops and dining within walking distance. Michael was wonderful. If we go back to Carlsbad Michael's vacation rental will be our first choice. Some people report about the train, but it didn't bother us at all. Thanks Michael we appreciate your hospitality more than you will ever know.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here. So close to the beach and everything else you want to be near. Enjoyed the yard tremendously. Was very clean and Michael was there if we had any questions. Will be coming back to stay for sure!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Legoland and Sea World Getaway

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 26, 2013

We really enjoyed this cottage- plenty of room for our family of 4. Very clean and equipped with everything I could have ever wanted or needed and then some. The kids were thrilled to have access to the boogie boards and sand toys that were available for the beach as well as the comfortable beach chairs. Made packing for the trip a lot easier with so much already available on site. Just a couple exits from Lego Land and less than 30 minutes from Sea World, we found this to be a great location at an excellent value. The only drawback to note was the train tracks nearby. Commuter and cargo trains run pretty frequently but we seemed to get used to them quickly with no problems.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Feb. stay

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

The cottage was as presented in the listing.
It could use a dusting of blinds and other surfaces.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Stay in Carlsbad

Review submitted: November 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2012

This was our second visit and we were able to stay in the same cottage. It's very clean and comfortable, as well as very well stocked. Great location - walking distance to LOTS of shops and restaurants. We'd do it over and over again!!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanks Michael Excellent

Review submitted: October 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2012

Great experience would not hesitate to recommend Michael and this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great place

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

clean,very comfortable and excellently maintained...as advertized...owner takes pride in his property

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Walk to Village, Walk to Beach

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 8, 2012

Stay was great. The pictures accurately represented cottage. Property was clean. Owner, Michael, was extremely helpful with the questions we had. We would definitely recommend this property to friends, and have already done so.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

lovely stay

Review submitted: December 14, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

I have stayed with Mike before and this time was no different. Everything is as it should be, clean, well kept and well appointed. Mike is always updating his places which is nice. The location couldn't be better you are only a block from the beach. This time we went to the San Diego Zoo and it was the least crowded I've ever seen it. I highly recommend staying with Mike.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Clean and Cozy accomodation

Review submitted: November 24, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

We stayed at this rental property for 5 nights. It was a comfortable stay, with the beaches, cafe's, Carlsbad village city center, etc all a few minute walk. The unit was well equipped with daily use items like extra blankets, towels, and fully equipped kitchen, which was a big plus for us, as we cooked through out our stay. Michael was very helpful and easy to get in touch with if we needed anything anytime.
The cost of stay was very affordable.
I would definitely stay there again, if we visit Carlsbad

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Laid Back cottage in just the right location

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

This Place is a Great deal and has all the comforts of home, we will be back next year and would recomend the "cottages" to anyone looking for comfort and covenience, Michael is a great host !

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review