reviews for: listing #31352 - Port St Joe, Florida House rental

Crab shack
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $145 - $200 /nt
    $900 - $1,350 /wk
    $2,900 - $3,700 /mth

sort by:

Great place!

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 16, 2014

My family and I recently spent 5 nights at this house. We shared it with 3 other extended family members, as we were all there for an 80th birthday party, and it fit all 8 of us very comfortably. The owner is very friendly and keeps the house very nice, clean and well stocked. We have two children under the age of 4 and it was great for them too. Lots of space to run around, games and movies, etc. There is a park that is walking distance and it's very conveniently located to the grocery store. We had many family members who visited us at the house while we were there and they are all interested in renting the house the next time everyone gets together. This was our first vrbo experience and it couldn't have been better!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Crab Shack

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Great home -- everything that is described and even more. Location is great, home is spacious and cozy. Within walking distance to several places including the Thirsty Goat and Haughty Heron. Definitely plan on returning here in the future! Plenty of parking for vehicles and most importantly boat space!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy Cottage Get Away

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

Old Florida Cottage Charm for sure! This cottage was a perfect get away for a much needed beach fix! Very roomy, cozy, clean and great views across the street from the bay. Sunsets were AMAZING! Quaint downtown Port St Joe in walking distance with several different restaurants to choose from. Jo Mamma's pizza...highly recommend...pizza is incredibly delicious!! Indian Pass Raw Bar...great oysters. Went to Cape San Blas for the the day and the beach and weather was perfect! Ted was great to work with and very helpful. We will definitely be returning for another "beach fix"! :)

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation!

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

This as an amazing cottage. It has everything you could possible wish for in a vacation home. It is very tastfully decorated,it has the most comfortable furniture, it has a fully stocked kitchen, beautiful front porch with a sing and a large back deck.The bay is across the street, there is a sweet park complete with a pirate ship just down the street, resturants within walking distance and public beach access is just a few minutes away! Ted is a wonderful owner that is a pleasure to work with. I would definatly recommend this home to anyone and will definatly return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything you want or need to enjoy Port St. Joe!

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

This was the second time we stayed at this awesome house and we could not have had a better time. The house is comfortable and has everything you need to enjoy the "Forgotten Coast." It's across the street from the bay and you can walk to local restaurants and the charming downtown shops on Reid Street. Bring a bike and cruise around this special little town. We love Port St. Joe and the Crab Shack took our experience to whole new level. The owners are great and very helpful. Hope you have a much fun as we did.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Crab Shack. It was very comfortable and well-stocked. We loved the location--close to restaurants and downtown Port Saint Joe, close to the marinas, and close to the bay and bike paths.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hoosier

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

The Crab Shack could not have been nicer for a couple of Grandparents to show the kids and grandkids what Florida is supposed to be like. The setting is superb, a five minute walk to the flats where you can wade out for a quarter mile and see all sorts of fish and other critters. Our granddaughters had a blast catching Pinfish, which tasted like Bluegills when fried up. The house is fully equipped with everything one would have in their own home, even condiments in the kitchen. Our only regret is we only stayed a week.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: November 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 9, 2011

Great place! ya! i went there and i fished..... Alot! go there!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Week on the Gulf

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

We had a wonderful week at Bay View Cottage (previously called Crab Shack). The accommodations are well cared for and just what we were looking for to enjoy a relaxing week. There was plenty of room to spread out and be comfortable. The front porch has a swing that is an ideal way to lazily watch the world go by. In the back there is a large deck with comfortable chairs and we used the gas grill several times to prepare outdoor meals. TV service was good with plenty of selection, but we don't watch much TV anyway. There is no Internet or wifi or house phone. So for calls and Internet, you'll need to rely on your cell phone or one of the restaurants nearby.

It is a less than five minute walk to the bay across US 98. The shore is somewhat marshy and not ideal for walking, but the view was fantastic.

Our stay was during the first week of October and the weather was perfect all week. Some highlights:

- we brought our bikes and each evening my wife and I rode to the marina and another nearby boat launch to see spectacular sunsets. There were other bike trails nearby as well and these were enjoyable to ride as well.
- we visited Apalachicola and enjoyed lunch with our daughter and son-in-law. Apalachicola is old time Florida with many interesting shops and a picturesque waterfront. Dining is rather pricey however.
- another day we visited St Joe State Park and walked along the pristine beach. Not many in the water that day as it was a little cool for swimming. It was perfect for a picnic however.
- we toured Florida Caverns near Marianna, a little more than an hour north of St Joe. The caverns are relatively small and the tour takes about an hour. The State has done a nice job with lighting and the tour was interesting. We hiked a bit afterwards as well.
- we drove north of St Joe to the Dead Lake area near Wewahitchka. The lake is very unusual with cypress tree stumps giving an eerie graveyard like appearance.
- we took our bikes to Apalachicola National Forest one day (45 minutes) and rode some interesting off road trails. We saw a 4 1/2 rattlesnake and were glad he was scooting along and not ready to strike.
- we also visited Panama City one day to tour the downtown area and eat lunch. The downtown area has a limited number of shops and seems to be suffering from the economic time like so many other locations.

In all our week was relaxing and just what we needed to unwind from several months of intense days at work.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Scallops were THICK

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

This property is great, close to town and access to Port St. Joe Bay. Scalloping was awesome this year.

Only negative comment, contrary to published features, there is no in house Wi-Fi....... it is a connection from down the street somewhere.... so I was not able to do work I brought with me but then that wasn't all bad.....

The owner was late in contacting me with house code and instructions and with car packed I almost booked another place at the last minute, so if you want to stay here..... keep after him.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Its important that all our guests keep our ohone number handy as provided to avoid any lapse in communication. We travel too, and dont always have access to email a response to a question or need.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to Stay!!

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

We had a great vacation in Port St Joe! I want to thank Mr Sparling for allowing us to stay at the Crab Shack during our visit. We really appreciate it..and hope to do it again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to Stay!!

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

We had a great vacation in Port St Joe! I want to thank Mr Sparling for allowing us to stay at the Crab Shack during our visit. We really appreciate it..and hope to do it again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation Rental May 2011

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

The cottage was just wonderful. Very spacious and comfortable along with a very peaceful, serene setting. We used the back porch to watch the sunset most evenings and often read on the front porch swing. We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to Stay!!

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

We had a great time at this rental in Port St. Joe. There really is a bay view from everywhere in this house, front porch, back deck, bedrooms, you name it! The location was awesome as we were traveling with two young teens, it was a safe town and everything was within walking distance for them. We brought the dogs who loved the fenced in front yard and I loved the shower on the deck after a day at the local pet friendly beaches to wash the sand off dogs and kids! The house was super clean, beds were extremely comfortable, kitchen fully stocked, the yard is huge. We will definately be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Looking For the Perfect Spot

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

Everything you told us about the CrabShack, and The Forgotten Coast is better than your description. We will visit again, but for longer than ten days next time. The house is wonderful, and you have offered so much more than a rental. Thank you! Four wonderful bedrooms, warm and cozy, the living area is spacious, and the kitchen, greatly stocked, in case the spirit moves you. Your restaurant suggestions were great. Port St. Joe is a clean, safe, friendly town. The ocean breezes that blow over the front porch, and back deck, and sunsets here are the !!! Bob and Nancy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Cozy House

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed here with our four children and we had such a wonderful time. I grew up in the area and we were there for a family reunion. We cannot wait to go back. The house was clean, decorated beautifully, and comfortable. The beds and furniture are very comfortable as well. Our kids had plenty of room to play inside and out without being underfoot. The only grocery store for many, many miles is just about a mile down the street. You are close to Windmark, Mexico Beach, the state park, Apalachicola. It is a great centralized location. Several places to fish nearby. The owners are very friendly. You can't beat it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great fun

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

If you really want to feel the character of a community, then this house is for you... We shucked oysters from the back deck looking out at incredible sunsets, rode our bikes downtown, and wished we had more time to spend just enjoying the outdoors. We needed a place to rent for an auction we had in the area, found out about the PoJo Music festival and this cottage (great size house) and rearranged our plans to enjoy and loved every moment of our stay. We comfortably slept 6 and no problem with parking. The owner was great working with us and we would love to go back again. The home was comfortable and had everrything we needed .. we have allready shared this great experience with lots of others. Thanks again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming and VERY comfortable!!

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

The Crab Shack is anything but a shack- the pictures do not do this charming house justice! This property is very roomy and well maintained. Highly recommend for anyone especially a large family. Owner was very helpful with giving info on local places to eat. We will not hesitate to return! Thank you so much!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

First Timers

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

This was our first time visiting the Panhandle. The house is in a great location for exploring the area. It is extremely roomy & comfortable. Plenty of parking for multiple cars/boats & the fenced in area was great for the dog. The kitchen has everything you need & then some! Beds were comfortable & well "dressed." We walked to the Sunset Coastal Grill for lunch, and to the boat ramp/park next to the restaurant. We would recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stayed here several times...and looking forward to the next!

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

My husband is originally from PSJ and we rent this place at least once a year when we are down visiting. I almost hate to advertise it, as I feel like it is such a little treasure!!! Cannot resist though... Go ahead, experience it. You will be glad you did.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 27, 2010

Ted,
My family had a great time and your home is wonderful, the accomodations you provided, exceeded all of our expectations. We will come again and stay later this year. If I were sure when, I would go ahead and reserve it Thank you very much
Robert Brown

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 9, 2010   Date of arrival: January 9, 2010

Ted, your house was SO perfect for our family! We ended up not taking our dog, but for certain we will next time - the fenced area is great! You've attended to so many small comforts - an abundance of towels & extra blankets; comfy beds, pillows & smooth, soft sheets; a view of the bay from every bedroom; everything we needed in the kitchen was right there, and we actually "ate in" multiple times! ( I even cooked the traditional New Years dinner: pork, collard greens, hoppin' john, & cornbread!)
I LOVED that there were plenty of shelves in both bathrooms and lots of hooks for hanging towels. My husband and son-in-laws were excited to have the ESPN channels for the ballgames. We worked jigsaw puzzles on the big coffee table. (It REALLY saved our backs when Bob determined it raised to dining level!)
One of my MAJOR criteria in looking for a vacation home was LARGE, COMFORTABLE, furniture with enough places for six adults to be all together. Many of the places shown online simply do not have that. My husband is 6'3" and Andy, my son-in-law, is 6'5" & I just couldn't see them "perched" on the edge of a cute, beachy, wicker settee for an entire week! So the living space was comfortable, roomy, peaceful in decor, and warm and cozy with the fireplace going.
We sipped wine and watched the sunset on the bay from the front porch and enjoyed bringing the outdoors in through ALL the WINDOWS!!
Thank you again for being such a thoughtful host and for allowing us to renew, reflect and begin the new year in your wonderful home.
Gloria & Richard Strout

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 3, 2009   Date of arrival: August 3, 2009

Absolutely loved it! My first visit this weekend, but certainly not the last. We had a group of 7 adults, and there was plenty of room for all to be comfortable. Very convenient location to local attractions, boat ramp, stores, etc...The furnishing were not only attractive but very inviting and comfortable. We really had a very relaxing weekend, plus we got our limit on scallops! We'll be in touch again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 26, 2009   Date of arrival: May 26, 2009

Our stay at the cottage was absolutly wonderful. The house is very inviting and is wonderful for fisherman. It has adequate space for the boat and vehicles, and enough play space for the little ones. I will return here every year for our yearly fishing trip. Thanks for a lovely stay!!
The Locke Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 1, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Hi Ted-
Just wanted to let you know that we enjoyed our weekend so very much! We were so comfortable and well, just really had a great weekend that we needed very badly.
The pictures don't do it justice!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 24, 2008   Date of arrival: July 24, 2008

Our family has had two visits to the cottage and we found it to be so comfortable with a "homey" feeling. Everything we needed was available and it is in driving distance to many of our favorite locations. The neighborhood is quiet and friendly as we enjoyed some morning walks. I highly recommend this cottage for your family, as we all decided we would certainly be back as soon as possible!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 18, 2008   Date of arrival: July 18, 2008

What a wonderful home. It is perfect for those who love the bay. We were able to walk down to the city park for the July 4th. fireworks. It was a perfect weekend. Great time; thank you for sharing your home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review