reviews for: listing #31392 - Gulf Shores, Alabama House rental

Quiet Beach Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $150 /nt
    $350 - $750 /wk
    $1,000 - $2,000 /mth

sort by:

Third Time's The Charm!

Review submitted: May 11, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

Yes, this was our THIRD visit to the 'Quiet Beach Cottage' in Gulf Shores, AL. What can we say - we LOVE staying here! If you want to be in the center of everything around, then this is the place to stay. The neighborhood is quiet and friendly. One evening, we walked to Meyer Park, and there was a band from Texas playing great music! Parks & Recreation was hosting another concert a few later. Restaurants, shopping, attractions are all within short driving distance from this property. All amenities are provided, including extra towels, toilet paper, paper towels - and the kitchen cabinets are stocked with coffee filters, dish soap, etc. in addition to glassware, plates, silverware, pots/pans, etc. Comfortable beds, adequate closet & 'drawer' spaces. Nice fenced backyard for your pets. I have recommended this property to a local friend, who plans on a visit in the Fall.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Nice quiet and convenient place

Review submitted: March 1, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

I took my retired parents and their dog to Gulf Shores for an escape from the winter blahs. The place was true to the photos and was a nice break from a busy, noisy hotel. We were able to enjoy the backyard and deck with our dog with no worries. The location was super convenient to the beach, restaurants, and shopping in Foley. I enjoyed stolling in the park with the dog which was only a couple of blocks away. The house was complete with everything we needed for our short stay. My mother really enjoyed the cottage and commented that they would love to come back for another stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Repeat Visit to Colin's Beach Cottage

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

We spent the first week of March 2013 at the Beach Cottage and thoroughly enjoyed it (see previous review)! We wanted to return in September 2013 & thought about trying another rental further east, but was unsuccessful in finding a place that took large dogs without charging so much extra just because the dog weighs over 25 lbs. My husband suggested contacting Colin to see if we could stay at his cottage again. He had the first week in Sept. available and we returned for another great stay at the cottage. Love that there is a full-sized stove & refrigerator and the kitchen is stocked with all the amenities you would need. Although a coffeemaker is provided, we are avid coffee drinkers and brought our own coffeemaker & grinder. The convenience of being so close to restaurants, shops & the beach is hard to beat. The quiet neighborhood & nearby park are a plus. Look forward to a repeat visit in the future!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

A perfect sized place!

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 young kids and 2 small dogs. This house and yard were perfect for us. The size of the yard was surprising and our 2 dogs were perfectly comfortable and the kids were able to run around and enjoy themselves when we weren't on the beach. We loved the back covered patio for our breakfasts. The distance to public beach access is not too far, the next door neighbors were very nice and the neighborhood was peaceful. The only thing I wasn't completely satisfied with was the fact that there was no washer and dryer, but we knew that before we got there so we came prepared with extra towels and clothes. We will definitely come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great place!!!!

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

Great little cottage....close to everything....nice quiet neighborhood....perfect for this couple of oldsters and their little dog....we can't wait to come back to Gulf Shores....Thank You, Colin.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Our vacation at Colins

Review submitted: June 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this rental for three weeks,we very much enjoyed our stay..It was convenient to shopping, beach, and restaurants. Our two little dogs enjoyed the fenced yard & there were nice places to walk them..We are looking forward to another stay there very soon. Only there isnt a folding table & chairs, had we known, we would have brought our own!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Cozy Retreat

Review submitted: March 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Colin's Cottage for a week. We brought along our dog & cat, as this is a pet-friendly rental. The pictures shown are exactly the way the cottage looks, as well as the amenities listed in the description. It was cozy and warm, comfortable bed, quiet neighborhood, ample yard for our border collie. It had all the amenities we needed. We thoroughly enjoyed this vacation, and the cottage was the perfect spot because it was in the center of all the locations we went to! Thanks, Colin, for making this cottage available to us!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

This place was perfect! We loved everything about it. The house was very clean and had everything we needed. The neighbor next door was very nice as well. We have 2 dogs and the big back yard was perfect for them! The house is in a nice little neighborhood and close enough to the beach. When we arrived the tv wasn't working but the owner was able to get one there the very next day! We will be staying here again for sure! Probably before the end of the year.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Great place for a small family

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2011

We LOVED our stay here at this house. It was just my husband and I, and we really enjoyed the small comfort of the home, as well as how close we were to everything in Gulf Shores. This isn't a home for a larger group of people, but perfect for a couple or small family. If we ever come back to Gulf Shores area...we will be sure to rent with Colin again.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Quaint

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

My family and I just arrived home after a week in Gulf shores. The house was very clean, and the neighborhood was very quiet. We had no problems with the house, even with 2 adults & 2 children under the age of 12. The house was well decorated for a small home of its age. I only have a couple of suggestions. 1. Move the picnic table to the back porch so as to provide a place to eat meals and drink coffee in the morning. 2. The front porch needs a porch light to help when coming and going at night.
We found the location very convenient to everything. Our drive to the beach each morning was less than 5 minutes. Restaurants and Groceries were also very convenient.
Thanks for the hospitality, we will probably do this again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

Quiet, Convenient, Comfortable

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

The house is small, but comfortable, the beds are very comfy! The kitchen is full-size, but eating meals is a bit of a challenge if you have more than two people because there really isn't room for seating; but the large covered back porch makes up for it. Bring a few extra towels if you plan on going to the beach or using the hot tub; there isn't a washer or dryer. There is a laundry-mat close by, however, and they will accept drop-offs. The owner was very polite, provided excellent service, and was available any time. I already have recommended this property to some friends, and will probably use it again. It's convenient to the activities and restaurants, and the beach is just a quick drive away... the part I liked was that the street was quiet! Not much traffic at all, no late-night parties going on to keep us awake. The only drawback I saw was that the photos were taken much earlier when the property was newer. Can't wait to go back! We loved hearing the frogs and crickets at night. :)

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Rose,

thank you for your review of the rental. It helps me know what need to be worked on.

I put a small table in the living room were the small couch was so there will be a place to eat for bigger groups.

Have replaced furniture with NEW FURNITURE! NEW LEATHER COUCH, SMALL TABLE IN LIVINGROOM WITH 4 FOLDUP CHAIRS TO CONSERVE SPACE, NEW PICNIC TABLE ON BACK PORCH FOR EATING OR JUST SITTING AND HAVING A COLD BEVERAGE!


my favorite thing to do at the rental is listen to the crickets ,too!

For doing a review i will be happy to give you ONE NIGHT FREE on your next stay at the rental.

Helpful votes: 16 / 17

 

Quiet, cozy & convenient!

Review submitted: June 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

Our stay was exceptional! Off the beaten path, so it was quiet with low traffic, but still very convenient to everything! Nice neighbors, great fenced back yard for pets or kids. Our bed was wonderful. We wanted to take it home. Close to Lulu's and the Wharf.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 35 / 35

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review