reviews for: listing #31458 - Mazatlan, Pacific Coast House rental

Restored Historic Home in Centro near Ocean
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Centro Historico
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $350 - $700 /wk
    $800 - $1,800 /mth

sort by:

Home away from home.......

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

We felt at home the minute we walked in the house. Great location, close to beach and center of town. Everything described in the house was accurate. Jeff was excellent to deal with, return all mails and deposit promptly. Loved Esther the housekeeper. Our only complaint was that we only had two weeks to spend there. Would love to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Month!

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

This house was really wonderful. It is perfectly located and we enjoyed every day there. It was exactly as described. Gloria was there to meet us and gave us a tour of the property. She answered our questions and offered suggestions as to where we should go and what we might like to do. Fortunately, we were there during Carnival and OH MY! We were a block and a half from all the activities BUT heard very little noise at our house. We watched the fireworks from the Old Mazatlan Inn which were amazing! Thanks to O"Neil for the gracious invite. On fat Tuesday we went to the Shrimp Bucket and got an outdoor table and watched the parade up close and comfortable. I highly recommend Mazatlan, especially the historical part. You can't find a better house to rent than Jeff's. PS We were there for a month and walked the streets day and night and always felt comfortable. All the people we met, both native and visitors, were extremely helpful and very nice. Our favorite restaurants were the Shrimp Bucket, Puerto Azul, Panera, El Faro, and Terrazo. Don't miss going to Stone Island but do it on you own by taking the water taxi over and back. You can either walk to the water taxi or take a Pulmonia for a nominal fee. Busses are also available and very easy to navigate. I would definately recommend this property to anyone desiring a true Mazatlan experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

living in a neighborhood . . .

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 13, 2010

This year was our 3rd Christmas in Mazatlan, our second to Pedregosa. It is a perfect home to experience and enjoy all that Mazatlan has to offer. It is in a neighborhood just two blocks from the malecon (beach walk) at Olas Altas and 5 or 6 blocks to Plazuela Machaudo and the more traditional zocolo in front of the cathedral as well as the main market... friendly neighbors greet you daily and a corner market convenient for incidentals.
The house has been totally redone with its original facade: kitchen, living room, half bath and laundry on the first floor, 2 spacious bedrooms and bathroom on the second floor and a large patio on the top with sweeping views of the water and the city. Sunny and happy! Clean and well maintained.
We walked the city, its various neighborhoods and the malecon for hours everyday. Learned the bus system which is so easy to get out to the beaches and of course used the pulmonias too!
The market (Juarez) was so irresistable we shopped daily for fresh fruits, veggies, cheese, tortillas and cooked quite a bit!
If you are looking to get away from the touristy Mazatlan to enjoy the rich flavor of a moderate size Mexican city with an incredible malecon and access to the beaches, this is your kind of place! And we felt very safe in the neighborhood and where we wandered in the city and at the beaches! We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Mazatlan Centro Historico

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

This house is even better than pictured and described. The roof deck has a 270 degree view over the city and gets the winter sun all day. The kitchen is efficiently designed and very well equipped. It was a joy to cook two meals a day using the fresh fruits, veggies, fish, shellfish and poultry we bought every morning from the mercado. The Tienda Hidalgo at the end of the street has fresh, warm pastries every morning at 7. They're mostly gone by 8. Two hidden goodies of the house: the owners have collected a large and marvelous library of books and DVDs. The two months we're here will not be long enough.

El Centro Historico is an area about 15 blocks N-S and 20 blocks from the ocean East. Just about all of it is a very doable walk from the house. There are 3 routes to the beach, malecon and restaurants of Olas Altas and none take more than 8-10 minutes. The Mercado just behind the Cathedral is a 10 minute walk on the flat. The Plazuela Machado, the main plaza surrounded by restaurants and cafes, is also a 10 minute walk and each time you can take a slightly different route peeking behind the facades of the beautifully restored houses. Nearby is the Plazuela de Leones, a great place to walk the dog and the location of the municipal library. On the south side of the plaza on Angel Flores you can flag the Sabalo Centro bus for 9 Pesos (90 cents) and ride it for miles along the oceanfront Malecon all the way up to the Gold Zone. At any time you can flag a pulmonia, golf cart affairs that are everywhere.
The house is cleaned every Thursday. The property managers are very helpful, informative and always on call. Once you get to the house there is a brown comments book you may find helpful. Pacific Pearl Magazine's Guide to Mazatlan is also very helpful. The Tourist Office is at the North (near) end of the Olas Altas malecon. Stop there for a very informative map and other info.
BTW. So far we have never felt in jeopardy of any kind while walking even late at night.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great House & Great Location

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2010

The house was great. It is a new renovation so everything is updated. Lots of space. Large living room and good size kitchen. There is a big patio area with table/chairs, grill and outdoor shower. (Washer/dryer out there as well.) Two nice size bedrooms upstairs along with an updated bathroom. The roof deck is very cool... great views from there. All and all it was very comfortable. (One side note if visiting in the summer... We were there for one week in August, so the height of the heat, and there was a big temperature difference between the upstairs and downstairs, but not really a problem since its just the upstairs hallway area that is affected... as there are A/C units in each of the bedrooms.) It was very convenient that the water was filtered so you could drink the water from the tap. (Each night we just filled a pitcher and put in the fridge before going to bed.)

We loved the location. Very close (short walk) to the Malecon and to restaurants and shops. Also a short walk to the main plaza with nice restaurants. Just down the street was a convenience store. The regular grocery store (& mercado) were a longer walk away but still convenient.

Jeff was always responsive and very nice. Rental process easy and painless. Gloria, the property manager, was also nice and very professional and customer service oriented. She made sure that we knew it was ok to call her anytime for any information and assistance during our stay. Since she lives in Mazatlan full-time she is very informative. I would recommend this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring 2008 in Mazatlan

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2008

We were really impressed by the wonderful restoration of the house - so lovely and liveable. Most appreciated the plentiful towels, good beds, appliances, etc.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 9, 2010

This was the perfect house for my husband and my vacation. The house was perfect in every way. The location was even better. Jeff was excellent to deal with and returned our deposit quickly! Can't wait to stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review