reviews for: listing #31464 - Deep Creek Lake, Maryland Cabin rental

The Bears Den/Quiet & Secluded/Hot Tub Over Looking Pond
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $172 - $172 /nt
    $800 - $800 /wk

sort by:

Perfect little cabin in the woods

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

The Bears Den is the perfect place to truly get away from it all. The trickling of water that meanders into the pond is such a soothing background, and the only "neighbor" we could see or hear was an industrious little bird on the other side of the pond who was busy arranging his bower. Other friendly birds would occasionally perch on the bushes near the back deck to watch us drink coffee or lounge in the hot tub. Inside, my husband and I had everything we needed -- a cozy sleeping loft (which overlooks the trickling spring), comfortable furnishings and all the pots, pans and utensils we could want to support our cooking and grilling endeavors. Laura was warm and welcoming and had provided a variety of menus, guides and printed directions to town so we could navigate the area. The photos and online descriptions did accurately depict the location and cabin, which was clean and well maintained. The upstairs linens -- faux-suede coverlets over soft chocolate-brown sheets -- reinforce the idea of snuggling down into a soft, comfy den. The trails up the mountain behind the cabin were easy to follow, and we passed several cool rock formations on the climb to the top. All in all, a wonderful cabin in magical surroundings that we already have recommended to friends!

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Weekend Hideaway

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

We had a great time! We didn't have to bring anything but food and drink. It was just right for a romatic getaway. Secluded and peaceful. I would love to go back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

We had an absolutely fantastic time at the Bear's Den. It was beautiful and peaceful. No one else around. We cannot wait to come back to it! The place was clean and tastefully decorated. Due to the location, make sure you double check that you have everything on your shopping list so you don't have to run into town as it takes away from the time you'll want to use for relaxing. Thank you so much! It was exactly what we were hoping for!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

An amazing, peaceful retreat!

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

This home is a dream! I have rented cabins throughout the eastern US and this one is now my favorite. The location is serene with abundant wildlife. The home itself is incredible. Comfy beds, quality linens, towels, etc.. The list of things to do is endless, without even getting in your car. Yet it is near many shops, arcades, restaurants, Deep Creek Lake, state parks, etc..The list goes on. We came to The Bears Den looking for some much needed quiet, alone time. Thanks to a major east coast snow storm, we got it. Enjoyed the selection of movies on hand and the large hot tub. Before leaving, the sun made an appearance and we even spent some quality time on the porch swing. Hated to leave, but looking forward to my next visit! And the next, and the next, etc..... Thank You!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

We had a great time

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

We absolutely enjoyed it. My husband keeps reminding me and our son has made some great memories here. We will certainly be back soon. Home is clean, comfortable, we liked everything about it.

Owners response: So glad you had a great time. Hope to see you soon. Laura

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Wonderful Christmas at the Bear's Den!!

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2010

The photos on the website do not do justice to the beauty of this setting. We arrived on a very snowy Christmas day and the cabin was warm and welcoming with the gas fireplace blazing and the hot tub heated. The cabin is very clean, cozy and well stocked with everything you need--fresh linens, towels, soaps, etc. But what makes the Bear's Den so exceptional (besides the extraordinary beauty and peacefulness of the location) are its owners, Rob and Laura. I have rented places in Deep Creek Lake before but have never known such gracious and accommodating owners as this couple. Laura checked on us Christmas night to make sure we had everything we needed. When she learned we did not have cell phone service, she contacted my family and friends to let them know we arrived safely! She checked in everyday and her husband made sure the roadways were plowed. Renters in their other cabin got stuck in the snow and they spent hours digging them out. Laura also followed us down the snowy roads to make sure we got to the Interstate safely. While Laura and Rob are accommodating, they were not intrusive and very respectful of our privacy. We loved our 4-day stay and will return there again. I highly recommend any of the cabin rentals offered by Laura & Rob (Cranesville Country Rentals).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Simply Amazing

Review submitted: November 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 30, 2009

"Rating5 out of 5

Glen Burnie, MD

This is the perfect spot for a romantic get-away, or simply a weekend to get away from it all. This cabin was just perfect for us, secluded, quiet, clean, beautiful. A completely wooden interior (floors, walls, ceiling) was warmed up with throw rugs, comfy furniture, and appropriate decorations. The owner greeted us and explained how things work (hot tub, etc), gave us directions to local attractions and was on her way. The little extras, such as extra-plush towels, books and magazines for reading material, and luxurious soaps made it all the more special. It was only minutes away from Deep Creek Lake, yet was tucked away in its own special corner of the world. I would highly recommend this vacation spot to anyone!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
"

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderfully Quiet and Relaxing

Review submitted: November 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

Rating 5 out of 5

boopedvue Pittsburgh, PA

This cabin is absolutely beautiful. The pictures do not do it justice. Laura was prompt in her replies, the cabin was spotless and the setting as peaceful as it gets. A wonderful and truly affordable way to get away from it all. We will definately go back !!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
"

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"New Year's Eve Fun at the Bear's Den "

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: December 29, 2008

Rating 5 out of 5

We are a family of five with kids aged 20, 16 and 12. We were looking for an economical get-away for the family near water and a ski area. The Bear's Den suited the bill perfectly. We arrived on New Year's Eve at 8:30 and were greeted by a very inviting, toasty cabin with a roaring fire, made beds, stocked kitchen, etc. We spent the first night under the snow fall in the hot tub. It was 13 degrees outside, but we didn't care. We were very comfortable. It feels remote (no other lights in sight!) and I would really recommend four-wheel drive in winter, but is within 15 minutes of Swallow Falls State Park, Wisp Ski Resort and the Deep Creek Resort area. The place was immaculately clean and cuter even than the pictures might lead you to believe. We stayed in for most meals and cooked, but it added to the charm. The owners are very helpful, answering our questions, etc. and live close to the property so they are available if you need anything. I think it would be a fun summer get-away place as well. The pond is crystal clear and very close to the "cabin" so that would be fun to watch from the deck.
We REALLY loved the place, the wild life, the location, and the entire four days. I had a vision of a lot of family bonding, playing games, and hanging out, and that's exactly what this place is great for - getting away from it all and enjoying each other's company in a very cozy atmosphere.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
"

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing!!

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2008

"Rating 5 out of 5

redhed123 Westchester County, NY

Absolutely awesome. A long drive for us (almost 7 hours) but worth it. The first night was spent in the jacuzzi in the pitch black chill of the night, watching thousands of stars above. The nearby trails were spectacular, as well as the brewery in town. Skiing is close by, though we didn't hit the slopes this time. Laura was friendly and provided little amenities that helped out such as popcorn, apple cider, and extra towels. The place was spotless and had spectacular wood floors. I only wish the upstairs was two bedrooms instead of just one, so I could enjoy this place with friends and still have privacy. Definitely worth it, and will definitely go back again.
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing!!

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2008

Rating 5 out of 5

redhed123 Westchester County, NY

Absolutely awesome. A long drive for us (almost 7 hours) but worth it. The first night was spent in the jacuzzi in the pitch black chill of the night, watching thousands of stars above. The nearby trails were spectacular, as well as the brewery in town. Skiing is close by, though we didn't hit the slopes this time. Laura was friendly and provided little amenities that helped out such as popcorn, apple cider, and extra towels. The place was spotless and had spectacular wood floors. I only wish the upstairs was two bedrooms instead of just one, so I could enjoy this place with friends and still have privacy. Definitely worth it, and will definitely go back again.
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

New Year's Eve Fun at the Bear's Den

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: December 29, 2008

Rating 5 out of 5

We are a family of five with kids aged 20, 16 and 12. We were looking for an economical get-away for the family near water and a ski area. The Bear's Den suited the bill perfectly. We arrived on New Year's Eve at 8:30 and were greeted by a very inviting, toasty cabin with a roaring fire, made beds, stocked kitchen, etc. We spent the first night under the snow fall in the hot tub. It was 13 degrees outside, but we didn't care. We were very comfortable. It feels remote (no other lights in sight!) and I would really recommend four-wheel drive in winter, but is within 15 minutes of Swallow Falls State Park, Wisp Ski Resort and the Deep Creek Resort area. The place was immaculately clean and cuter even than the pictures might lead you to believe. We stayed in for most meals and cooked, but it added to the charm. The owners are very helpful, answering our questions, etc. and live close to the property so they are available if you need anything. I think it would be a fun summer get-away place as well. The pond is crystal clear and very close to the "cabin" so that would be fun to watch from the deck.
We REALLY loved the place, the wild life, the location, and the entire four days. I had a vision of a lot of family bonding, playing games, and hanging out, and that's exactly what this place is great for - getting away from it all and enjoying each other's company in a very cozy atmosphere.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderfully Quiet and Relaxing

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

Rating 5 out of 5

boopedvue Pittsburgh, PA

This cabin is absolutely beautiful. The pictures do not do it justice. Laura was prompt in her replies, the cabin was spotless and the setting as peaceful as it gets. A wonderful and truly affordable way to get away from it all. We will definately go back !!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Simply Amazing

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 30, 2009

Rating5 out of 5

Glen Burnie, MD

This is the perfect spot for a romantic get-away, or simply a weekend to get away from it all. This cabin was just perfect for us, secluded, quiet, clean, beautiful. A completely wooden interior (floors, walls, ceiling) was warmed up with throw rugs, comfy furniture, and appropriate decorations. The owner greeted us and explained how things work (hot tub, etc), gave us directions to local attractions and was on her way. The little extras, such as extra-plush towels, books and magazines for reading material, and luxurious soaps made it all the more special. It was only minutes away from Deep Creek Lake, yet was tucked away in its own special corner of the world. I would highly recommend this vacation spot to anyone!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Birthday Getaway

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: January 20, 2009

Rating 5 out of 5


This cabin, teamed with the Frazee's hospitality, can not be beat! The setting is perfect for a romantic winter getaway. It seems so far away from everything but it's really not that far from Wisp resort. I can't wait to go back this year for some skiing fun and nice relaxing nights in front of the wonderful fireplace. I recommend to everyone!!
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Birthday Getaway

Review submitted: December 8, 2009   Date of arrival: January 16, 2009

This cabin, teamed with the Frazee's hospitality, can not be beat! The setting is perfect for a romantic winter getaway. It seems so far away from everything but it's really not that far from Wisp resort. I can't wait to go back this year for some skiing fun and nice relaxing nights in front of the wonderful fireplace. I recommend to everyone!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Simply Amazing

Review submitted: June 30, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

This is the perfect spot for a romantic get-away, or simply a weekend to get away from it all. This cabin was just perfect for us, secluded, quiet, clean, beautiful. A completely wooden interior (floors, walls, ceiling) was warmed up with throw rugs, comfy furniture, and appropriate decorations. The owner greeted us and explained how things work (hot tub, etc), gave us directions to local attractions and was on her way. The little extras, such as extra-plush towels, books and magazines for reading material, and luxurious soaps made it all the more special. It was only minutes away from Deep Creek Lake, yet was tucked away in its own special corner of the world. I would highly recommend this vacation spot to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderfully quiet and relaxing

Review submitted: June 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

This cabin is absolutely beautiful. The pictures do not do it justice. Laura was prompt in her replies, the cabin was spotless and the setting as peaceful as it gets. A wonderful and truly affordable way to get away from it all. We will definately go back !!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

New Year's Eve Fun at the Bear's Den

Review submitted: January 7, 2009   Date of arrival: December 31, 2008

We are a family of five with kids aged 20, 16 and 12. We were looking for an economical get-away for the family near water and a ski area. The Bear's Den suited the bill perfectly. We arrived on New Year's Eve at 8:30 and were greeted by a very inviting, toasty cabin with a roaring fire, made beds, stocked kitchen, etc. We spent the first night under the snow fall in the hot tub. It was 13 degrees outside, but we didn't care. We were very comfortable. It feels remote (no other lights in sight!) and I would really recommend four-wheel drive in winter, but is within 15 minutes of Swallow Falls State Park, Wisp Ski Resort and the Deep Creek Resort area. The place was immaculately clean and cuter even than the pictures might lead you to believe. The kitchen appliances were a little dated (we stayed in for most meals and cooked), but it added to the charm. The owners are very helpful, answering our questions, etc. and live close to the property so they are available if you need anything. I think it would be a fun summer get-away place as well. The pond is crystal clear and very close to the "cabin" so that would be fun to watch from the deck.
We REALLY loved the place, the wild life, the location, and the entire four days. I had a vision of a lot of family bonding, playing games, and hanging out, and that's exactly what this place is great for - getting away from it all and enjoying each other's company in a very cozy atmosphere.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Relaxing!!

Review submitted: January 3, 2009   Date of arrival: December 29, 2008

Absolutely awesome. A long drive for us (almost 7 hours) but worth it. The first night was spent in the jacuzzi in the pitch black chill of the night, watching thousands of stars above. The nearby trails were spectacular, as well as the brewery in town. Skiing is close by, though we didn't hit the slopes this time. Laura was friendly and provided little amenities that helped out such as popcorn, apple cider, and extra towels. The place was spotless and had spectacular wood floors. I only wish the upstairs was two bedrooms instead of just one, so I could enjoy this place with friends and still have privacy. Definitely worth it, and will definitely go back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: September 28, 2008   Date of arrival: September 26, 2008

The Bear's Den was exactly what we were looking for, for a weekend away. The cabin was exceptionally clean and well maintained around the property. Be prepared to functions without internet, telephone, or cable service for this getaway. There was a TV with the option of VHS or DVD movies. Although there was a variety of movies available, I recommend taking a few more recent movies. Seven sleeping places are available, however I would not recommend more than 2 couples or a family a four, since there is only one bathroom. Interactions with the owner were positive and she maintained prompt communications via internet and telephone. Attention to detail added to the weekend. She provided ample clean linen, towels, condiments in the fridge, and wine bottle opener...a good one..not one of the cheap ones that will break the second time its used. Overall, I would highly recommend this to a friend looking for a getaway.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review