reviews for: listing #31475vb - Holualoa, Hawaii rental

A Ka Hale Laukaha "House of Enjoyment and Pleasure"
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 350 - $ 425 / night
    $ 2,450 - $ 4,025 / week
    $ 10,500 - $ 12,750 / month
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Fantastic Place

Review submitted: April 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 5, 2014

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The only thing about the whole stay (three weeks) was the pool was not maintained up to par. The pool person that came three times during our stay did not get the pool and its features corrected until the last day we were there, even though I sent e mails to the maintenance personnel.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Had a blast at your home! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The property would have been given 5* if the ...

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: April 17, 2007

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The property would have been given 5* if the pool would have been heated. Such a beautiful addition was not useable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 9, 2014

Beautiful property, spectacular mountain and ocean views. Well appointed with kitchen tools. Two full fridges and half fridge downstairs. A few signs of wear and tear, but nicely decorated; roomy, light and airy. But apart from sleeping, most of the time we spent at the house was on the spacious, covered lanais with both featuring comfortable, cushioned patio furniture and table sets. One oddity is the inability to access the downstairs portion of the home from the upstairs without going outside. Not a big deal really, just odd. Main floor includes a large, open kitchen, dining and living area, plus a master bed/baths as well as an additional half bath. The downstairs includes an additional master bedroom with an ensuite bath, a third bedroom, a separate full bath, a kitchenette and sitting room with large screen TV. Third bedroom is standard; traveling as 3 couples, it was a bummer for the loser of the coin toss, but only as compared to the nicer bedrooms.

Sunsets can be enjoyed from both the top lanai and pool area. Grounds are beautiful, biggest drawback was the icy pool temperature and the fact that fountains and hot tub are only available for a minimal amount of time daily. Would have added greatly to the experience to have been able to enjoy the pool at sunset and in the evening after days spent on the beach or hiking. It would be nice to have the option to pay the additional utility charges to take better advantage of those amenities. Otherwise, we enjoyed the home very much and would return again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our little piece of paradise in paradise.

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 29, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This house was truly our little piece of paradise in paradise. The house and property are beautiful and very well maintained. We had a party of 6 and it was so much better than if we had stayed in a hotel. For the price of the house we could have only gotten 2 hotel rooms at a decent hotel, It would have been much more cramped and we would have had to eat out all the time, which is terribly expensive in Hawaii. We feel that it saved us a great deal of money by staying there. The view of the ocean and it's beautiful nightly sunsets was just the icing on the cake. We will be renting there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Picture Perfect

Review submitted: December 27, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Our 40th Wedding Anniversary was celebrated in beautiful style. Six adults and two children enjoyed this lovely home. Beautiful views from every possible angle. The home is truly perfect for a crowd with a well stocked kitchen & BBQ, that my son and myself prepared many memorable meals. Large enough space that all had plenty of seating for group discussion or quiet space. The pool, hot tub and outdoor living added to our experience. One day we simply stayed 'home' and truly relaxed. Looking forward to return visits to our Hawaiian home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beyond our expectations.

Review submitted: December 19, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The home is a tropical paradise. The views of Kona, the ocean, and the sunsets were spectacular. There were 3 couples who enjoyed every moment exploring the Big Island by day and coming back to enjoy dinner and a quiet evening in this special home. I would highly recommend it to families or several couples to enjoy this special paradise.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding destination stay

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
I came to Kona to have a destination wedding on the beach. This home accommodated my entire family, and gave my new husband and I our own privacy. It was a beautiful home, very clean, and had everything we could need to make our stay enjoyable. The only thing that we found not to be in working condition (or maybe we just needed instructions) were the water and lighting features in the pool area. Other than that, the hot tub was warm and relaxing, the view was beautiful, the home was a lovely place to stay. I did have some trouble receiving correspondence before check in due to email filters, but finally received the information over the phone. Overall, we had a beautiful experience, and hope to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pilau Hale

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very dirty.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Upon arriving, we discovered dead insects all over the house (including a rather large cane spider.) The sheets on the master bed had pubic hair, stains, and live bugs. Therefore, we began our "vacation" cleaning. We felt dirty, so we wanted to take showers; unfortunately, the solar water heater had been shut off, so that idea went out the window! The dishwasher eventually broke midway through our week, so we spent a lot of time hand-washing dishes. Some appliances work, and some don't. Bulbs need to be replaced, a new housecleaner is in order, and someone really needs to consider spending a bit more time making that property what it should be. It's sad, because that house could be special if someone actually cared.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

the house is beautiful

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
the house is beautiful except of a few things we had to endure 1. the microwave never worked 2.the beddings were not clean 3. the pool and the outdoor hot tub were like ice water hard to enjoy 4. not enough instructions left for appliances 5. the yard people came early in the morning constant noise 6. pool people came while we were trying to swim turned off water features 7. and though we were told that we would not be bothered during our visit the management came.8.screen doors hard to slide. i guess all around the visit was ok and would probably rent again in the future only do to the beauty of the house itself. would i recommend it im still not sure wouldnt want people i know to go through the things we did. also we left a few items in the house told management and still have not got a call back on those items. thank you

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect sunsets!!!

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Overall a good stay and with just a little more cleaning and a little more info could have been great. Should be a list inn the house with information about visits by service providers like pool,lawn care and pond care so you dont wake up to surprises. We had 5 days and 3 of them we found service personal outside the window,I understand they need to come but there should be some notice.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Really a fantastic house

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great location, beautiful view. Spent most of my time at the house on the back Lanai enjoying the breeze and view. Even got the hot tub to work!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

4th of July Holiday Stay

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The house is really nice, and the grounds were pretty. We just wished that it was a bit cleaner upon arrival. It would have been nice if the lanais were hosed off and given a good scrubbing. We had to buy a few cleaning supplies to clean things up. The view from the house was great! We could see the fireworks from Kona on the 4th. The kitchen was a great size and accomodated the 9 of us with no problem. However, a small supply of staples like salt and pepper, etc. would have also been nice.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome place.

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great experience. except for the one day of no water the experience was awesome and the vrbo representative was very responsive and attentive. highly recoomend and will use this company for my next vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bang for your Buck

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
During our stay we felt as if we were rich and famous. The view is gorgeous, Lovely ambiance, tons of space. Would highly recommend this home, would love to return in the near future! We never did figure out the telescope, pool was very invigorating! Too bad the hot tub didn't work tho, but with the price its no biggy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

House is a vacation unto itself

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Owner obviously cares a great deal about this terrific property. even the light switches are labelled! Beautiful sunset views...Jamie from Prince Properties could not have been more welcoming or helpful as we found and booked and occupied this property in a matter of days. Look forward to returning soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The house is beautiful, but there were a few ...

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The house is beautiful, but there were a few glitches.

When we arrived after dark we couldn't find the second entrance for quite a while as it was dark at the second door. Our guests had to search quite a while to find the door and then get the key into it. The toaster was broken as was our sound sytem and volume controls on the television in the main bedroom. The hair dryer was also broken. The toaster and hair dryer were looked after quickly. But never got the sound system working etc. Also the hot tub never heated up and the pool was quite cool as a result, so we never swam. We enjoyed the huge expanse of the property, the glorious views, and the beautiful fountains and Koi fish. Had some fun playing the piano too, (needs a tuning?) All in all, it suited 6 adults very well. Just wish the other details had been taken care of.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
a Ka hale Laukaha home was fantastic. My wife sat on the steps to the entree way and enjoyed the koi every morning. The pool was cold, but we all swam in it everyday. The spa got luke warm and it felt warm duing the cool nights. The only negatives was their was no buitain for the bbq pit, and their was very little paper supplies. If you rent this house you will have to go to the store no spices or cooking supplies. The view is outstanding. We had a wide range of ages and everyone was impressed with this home. I want to thank Prince Properties for all their help.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

very clean

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2011

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The physical condition of the place was phenomonal. Very Clean and attention to detail was great. Loved the garage. On the down side, the coqui frog population is a huge problem. We couldn't sleep at night and left a day early. If the house had ac we could have turned it on at night to drowned out the noise. Also the pool temp and unheated spa were a drag. We would have gladly payed more to have at least the spa tempuature at 100 degrees. It would have been nice to have a radio or cd player in the main kitchen. The outdoor shower was great. We won't visit this property again, however we'll probably use Prince Properties in the future, as we live in Kona and have family visit annually. Mahalo nui loa

Manager responded on 10/24/2011:
So sorry about the coquie frogs.We hope you come back and we will compensate you for y15% our dissatisfaction.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Beautiful house, dryer broken for majority of our stay. Had a great time in the pool even though it was cold. Hot tub never worked. Overall the house was in good condition. The house never got as cool as we would have liked. The barbeque was in terrible condition, unusable I would say. Would definitely plan on staying there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exaggerated Descriptions

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My wife and I recently stayed here with two friends and overall we are disappointed with the condition of the house and all of the "exaggerated descriptions" on the listing. The main thing that caught our interest was all the water features! Turns out that only about half work.... The fountain and down stairs Jacuzzi are broken. The spa only works from 5pm to 7pm (not enough time to even warm it up!) the pool is colder than the ocean water and there was never any "Volcanic" light show as described on VRBO. Inside, we were disappointed to find the oven falling out of the wall, the only thing stainless is the fridge (not appliances as stated on the web) and no stairs connecting the up stairs to the down stairs.... Upon notifing the company of the problems, we felt blown off until a 3rd call was made making it known that we were quite disappointed with thier response and service. Overall, the house was not worth the money paid and wish we had gone another route. Unfortunately, since you have to pay everything up front, what can you really do? Future note to self, as you read a listing make sure you keep in mind that everything has a dual meaning and the truth is probably the lesser of the two....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Hidden Jem

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We stayed in this property for the Christmas Holiday, and had such a perfect vacation! The house was beautiful, well appointed with amenities (towels, trash bags, kitchen utensils, dishes, pots/pans, laundry detergent, dish soap, cleaning supplies, etc.) and had lots of space for everyone to relax. But needed to buy toilet paper and paper towels because there wasn't enough. The putting green, koi pond, swimming pool and spa were all gorgeous. The two large master bedrooms were very comfortable and the bathrooms were huge and pampering conducive. The third bedroom downstairs was a queen bed and smaller day bed in one room, which would be fine for kids, but for another pair of adults was a bit of a let down after seeing the other two bedrooms. Although it didn't have its own bathroom the one just around the corner was very nice. A small wet bar/kitchenette was downstairs, perfect for morning coffee. Beautiful stonework throughout the house! And a nice indoor/outdoor living vibe.

Overall we would definitely stay here again!! It was so much cheaper to stay here than in a hotel when split between three couples. And you get to cook your own meals together, which is cheaper than eating out every time and was more enjoyable for us. We still went down to Kailua-Kona on the water and ate at a few places though, because it's close enough.

Traffic could be bad sometimes on the main highway, and the property is way up on the hillside with a few steep roads and twists and turns.

But all in all, this property was an excellent hidden jem for us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 12, 2010

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The house was amazingly beautiful, but we did have a few problems. The day after we arrived the frig. stopped working, a repairman was promptly called, but the repair was only temparary, so we had to keep a close eye on it the entire time. The pool was beautiful, but... it was way, way colder than the frig. which was a huge dissapointment.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home.

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2010

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Beautiful home. We enjoyed our stay very much. Very clean and roomy.

Wonderful property. We could not get the hot tub to heat up. We followed the directions but no real heat. That was the only bummer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Ka Hale Laukaha - better value for families

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2010

Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The home was not as up kept as we had envisioned, being an immaculately designed property. Some light bulbs were burnt out, the stove wasn't working propery (pilot light for the ranges would remain on at times), one of the sinks in the master bathroom was clogged, a window screen was missing (a big deal when you want a breeze, but want to keep the critters out, which there are more than one might be used to coming from a non-tropical location), the outside rock shower remained unused during our stay due to spider webs, nested with an albeit beautiful, large spider, on the palm leaves along the stairwell path/enclosing the shower and leaves/debris/dirt in the shower itself, and the hottub/spa did not get above lukewarm (and lukewarm only in comparison to the pool water). The property was advertised with the Jacuzzi, but when we arrived, there was a note that stated the property was not advertised with (can't remember the exact words), but basically it conveyed if the jacuzzi didn't heat up, no refunds would be offered since the heating of the jacuzzi was not advertised. That being said, if ten young adults or several families were staying, it would be more than sufficient.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The house was lovely! The only downside was the Spa only worked one night out of the 14 days we stayed at the property. Also the outdoor shower had draining problems that need to be repaired, so we were unable to enjoy this feature after the first two days. I would also suggest taking out the verbage about the light show, the one night the lights worked it was very disappointing compared to the write up.

We would have happily given the house a five star rating, but it was super disappointing that the Spa did not work. The staff at Prince Properties made a small attempt to get the Spa fixed, but it did not seem to be a priority and she even mentioned that it was not part of the facility, which considering the write up on the website seemed like she was trying hard to get out of fixing the problem.

The beds were super comfortable, the kitchen was great, the huge surrounding deck awesome, the views stunning. The house is easy to keep clean, spacious and we will be back to Kona next year and requesting to rent it again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had the most wonderful time there. The only problems we had was I kept leaving messages with the office to notify them when we found something wrong but no one would call me back. The refrigerator didn't work good the whole time we were there and I tried to contact someone, but no one would return my calls. It was a good things they had a mini fridge downstairs and a mini fridge up stairs for us to put things in. The freezer never kept anything frozen. The house wasn't clean when we got in, there was rubbish all on the floors down stairs and spider webs all over the house, so I'm not sure when was the last time that someone stayed there or when was the last time it got cleaned. But other than that it was an awesome place to stay and we would highly recommend it to everyone. We made sure we cleaned up the entire house and washed all the beddings and towels before we left. The only thing the cleaners had to do was put the beddings back on the beds.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We had a fantastic time on the Big Island!

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2010

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had a fantastic time on the Big Island!! The house was big and beautiful. Very

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2010

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We loved this house!The only thing we would suggest is that they leave you a few extra items.. such as toilet paper, paper towels soap etc. We assumed the house would be stocked with those items.
The location was perfect, close to everything you need. The deck and the pool were incredible. This is the perfect vacation home to rent!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Lovely home and location. Kitchen well stocked with cooking utensils. There were some maintenance issues which we felt the cleaning staff should have noticed and reported. Dryer switch was not working properly and finally broke. Three of the deck chaise lounge chairs were broken and we needed to fuss with them before we could use them. 4th was not repairable. Smoke detector in the dining room kept going off so we replaced with the new one which was on the kitchen counter.
Shower in master bath was partially broken. Cleaning folks would have noticed had they turned the shower on.
One of the downstairs sliding doors would not open, close and lock easily. With a few maintenance fixes the house is a great place to vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2009

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Had a wonderful trip, house is in a very convenient location. Sheri was very responsive to our feedback and provided excellent service.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Manager responded on 9/9/2009:
Thank you for your review. We hope to have you back with us again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Vog Vacation

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2009

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We rented this house as a special vacation for our 30th anniversary so we spent more than we usually would. The house was advertised as one with a great view and being at 800 ft, on the side of a volcano one would expect so. Well day 1 & 2 beautiful, then the next 10 days vog. Think thick smoke fog mix, blocking sun and view. This is common in this area, we came to find out from the locals, but of course our property manager said she had "no idea" what was going on. Then the kitchen faucet rotted off, plumber came, repaired it. Had to call him back the next night due to a flooded kitchen floor. Cockroaches, big. Oh and no where does it say that you can't get to the downstairs where most of the bedrooms are without going to an Outside stairs! Weird. For such an expensive house, I expected better information and no cockroaches and better upkeep. Maybe a discount or disclaimer about the vog. But to act like you didn't have any idea what it was...come on.

Manager responded on 9/24/2009:
Aloha. We do thank you for your time and review of the home. We are sorry the Vog made your Hawaii stay not the best. It is part of Nature that we all deal with as residents and it has been better this year than the past few due to a reduction in a plume. We were so greatful to the plumber for fixing the problem so quickly and we are sorry agaain this did interupt the stay somewhat. We hope to have you back with us again soon. There are websites that will tell you the vog levels at the National Park also.

Aloha Nui

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

March 26-April 6, 2009

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 26, 2009

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
All in all, the home was well-equipped, very comfortable and we enjoyed staying there. We were surprised that there is no internal stairway to the lower level living area and no method (intercom or working phone downstairs) to contact anyone down there except to go outside, down the stairs and back in. That fact should be in the home description!

Manager responded on 9/9/2009:
Thank you for your review. We will add that to the discription to better inform visitors.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ok but not as thrilling as it looks

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 25, 2009

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We were disapponted that the pool was not heated given how cold it was in the area and the hot tub was heated only for a limited time. The internet did not work and the property manager did not help in getting it working again. The jacuzzi in the bathroom downstairs was not working. Other than that we had a lot of fun and liked the property

Manager responded on 9/9/2009:
Aloha and thank you for your reviews. We have found the internet to be in working order as of departure and all has tested well. The pool system is all on timers as outlined in the discription and is there for better service of the pool workings and opperation. If you heat the hot tub before the cut off of 9pm it should stay warm for another hour or better. We found that the Jacuzzi had flipped the breaker in the lower section of the home. A quick flip and we are working!

Thank you again!

Brad
Mgr

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jan 2009

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 30, 2009

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We very much liked the house and the property mgmt group was pleasant and helpful. Everything was as advertised. The two issues that we were dissappointed with were the glass see thru doors on the 2 master suites and the hot tub not available to use in the morning.

Manager responded on 9/9/2009:
Aloha! Thank you for your time and review. The glass has never been mentioned to me, so I will let the owner know and see if there is a lace we can add there. Yes the hot tub is on a tight schedule. There are 2 large Jacuzzi tubs in the home on the flip side. We thank you again and hope to have you back with us again soon.

Brad Lusk
Mgr

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It was a very comfortable home for our 9 ...

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2008

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
It was a very comfortable home for our 9 family members. It wa in a good location - very quiet with beautiful landscaping. The kitchem was well equipped. The lanai was fantastatic. The koi pond added to the beauty -the kids loved feeding the fish

Manager responded on 9/9/2009:
Thank you for your reviews and stay with us. We hope to have you back with us again soon! The Koi have been a wonderful sight for the home! I love feeding them myself!

Brad Lusk
Mgr

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hawaii 50

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2008

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was a perfect place for 8 girlfriends to celebrate our Five0. When we give the cleanliness ony a 4 it was prefectly fine, just some of the area rugs could use a cleaning. Nothing to really worry about.

Manager responded on 9/9/2009:
Thank you for your review. We ahree the home was due for a good carpet cleaning and it has been done. We hope to have you back with us soon. The Vog is back to 2006 levels... Nice views are here again!

Brad Lusk
Mgr

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our family dream vacation

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2008

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The home was everything we expected from the photographs we saw online. It was spacious, well maintained, and clean. The neighborhood was very quiet and relaxing.

Manager responded on 9/9/2009:
Thank you for your time and review. We hope to have you back with us soon.

Brad Lusk
Mgr

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beautiful house & landscape

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2008

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
house needs some time to come back together. (1)2nd floor bathroom shower don't work (2) house needs to be sprayed for spiders, etc. (3)telscope there don't work (old) it advertize to look at ship come in.(4)some lights don't work in & out (5)pool cleaner needs to know when guest is there (6)coffee maker was not clean by last guest & also water leak out. this is a beautiful house but?

Manager responded on 9/9/2009:
Aloha,
We thank you for your time and reviews. Thank you also for letting us know about the shower, we will look into that. We have taken many steps since your stay and the home looks great. We look forward to your revisit. The telescope is there as decor, but you can see the ships come in without it. I saw it the other day. What a great home. We sometimes use the home for our office gatherings due to its location and views.

Aloha
Brad Lusk
Mgr

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a ka hale laukaha review

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2008

Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The downstairs smelled musty and damp - was not a pleasant place to spend time, so I'd recommend only counting on the upstairs.

Several things did not work or worked improperly - the garbage disposal didn't work, and the stove top had malfunctioning knobs on the heat. Worse, the kitchen was equipped with pots/pans/knives that were near worthless. Every non-stick pan was scraped up, every knife was dangerously dull. The master shower knobs were extremely difficult to turn/use. The pool was too cold for us to use, the hot tub was only OK. Workers came by to maintain the property 2 days in a row - which was less private than we hoped. The pictures on the website are somewhat deceiving about the view - vegetation obscures much of the view except if you're standing on the corner of the upper lanai.

Overall - the house was not worth nearly $4700 for one week - way overpriced for what we got.

On the upside - when workers weren't there, it's a very private location and the koi pond was cool. It was fun to have the small geckos running about the place too.

Manager responded on 7/24/2008:
At 800+ elevations more rain can cause more odors in Hawaii. Steps have been taken and the downstairs is a wonderful area to entertain. New knives have been placed in the home. The Pool is NOT heated but has blue tile, so the sun assists. New garbage disposal was installed as the old rusted out (That’s Hawaii). We hope the next experience will be much better. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Brad

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

MUCH Better than Expected!

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2008

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Small issues that the property manager probably didn't know: The garbage disposal did not work and the jets on the lower level Jacuzzi did not work. The VOG was bad during our stay but even then the view was GREAT. This is a VERY nice house and well kept. Thanks for a wonderful place to call "home" during our stay in Hawaii.

Manager responded on 9/9/2009:
Aloha and thank you for thr review, we were able to get the jacuzzi tub to work after a flip of the breaker. The Vog is a natural part of Hawaii and as of 2009 it has gone down greatly. The garbage disposal has als been replaced. Thank you for letting us know.

We cant wait to have you back again soon!

Brad Lusk
Mgr

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice property with awesome view and very ...

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2008

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Very nice property with awesome view and very open, great for a party house and entertaining and guest stay below with access to the pool and hot tub. Nice ammenites included.

had a very hard time getting the hot tub working and it never worked when we wanted it to. I love to take hot tub in the am, but could not. It was cold the majority of the time, but propety management was nice enough to visit the property and fixed it for one day, then next day it was too hot to get in and when we were ready to take a hot tub itwas too cold. At my place you turn on the hot tub and within 1/2 hr it is at the desired temp you want and ready to enjoy. We had to deal with mongoose in glue trap which was not fun and the mommy was chasing us around as we were trying to get the baby out and then the next day we caught the mommy. something we should not have had to deal with. A live trap is nice to have. I have two at my place. The master bedroom downstairs has a door that is falling apart and was stuck shut. We had to get our saw from my work truck and fix it so it could open. Now don't get me wrong we had a wonderful time and really enjoyed, but when you have to pay that kind of funds, you should get first class treatment and not have to chase mongoose and or fix doors and or water fawcet in bathroom and there was not place to watch tv upstairs except in the bedroom. But still had a great time. You just asked for additional comments. Remember experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.



Manager responded on 9/9/2009:
Aloha and thank you for your review. We have fixed the hot tub as of Feb of this year. We had to wait for inisurance on the hot tub and parts to come in. This was a great inconvienance and we were happy to offer the discount we did. Thank you for the suggestions and comments. ALOHA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2008

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous Vacation Rental

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2008

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
A Ka Hale Laukaha very much lived up to our expectations.The house was every bit as lovely as the website depicted and the poolside and surrounding grounds were truly captivating.Our family loved our stay at this beautiful vacation was a beautiful property that was a wonderful retreat after spending time exploring a stunning island. The property is well managed and has included numerous amenities. We would most highly recommend this lovely home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rat

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 4, 2008

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had problems during the last two weeks (of 4) with rats! YUK Prince Prop. responded just couldn't catch them.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2008

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

House of comfort

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2008

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The home is located a couple of miles from the ocean but has great views and is in a very quiet neighborhood. We loved our stay the last two years during the month of January and would come back to this home again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The location was great!

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 17, 2007

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The location was great! The home was beautiful! We enjoyed the home very must, we decided to return in November, 2008.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Dream stay for our 25th Anniversary

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2007

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We found A Ka Hale Laukaha to be a fantastic place for our 25th. The house was a retreat, the view lovely, the neighborhood quiet, the information before we arrived was accurate, and the management helped with problems immediately. Only negative was the that the pool was too cold to enjoy for more than a minute or two, probably would be OK for kids.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2007

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The house was beautiful. We were surprised though that there was no air conditioning. We had a great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It really looks like the photos!

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2007

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
A night drive from the airport in the rain. Three generations of apprehension as we drove up the hill to the home. Will it be as nice as the photos? Will it really have all the 'stuff' we need for a wonderful vacation. Yes!!! A beautiful home in an area of beautiful homes. Paradise.
We'd like to say a 4.75 for general condition. Upper level tattered ceiling fans and soiled carpet were reported to the Manager and surely have been replaced by now since any items referred to the Manager were quickly repaired or replaced. The outdoor gas grill was not functioning....did they send a repair man? No, the Manager personally delivered and set up a brand new one the same day! He even brought a new set of tools for the grill. The landscape and pool men were efficient and unobstrusive. Home was very clean upon our arrival and easy to maintain while we were there.
We'd all love to stay there again as it is a wonderful place for a family vacation....lots of privacy if any of the six wanted to be alone, yet wonderful places to be together if you wished.
We had all been to Kona before and stayed in commercial properties. This was definitely superior.
The Kona Costco has prices comparable to Tucson...$1.50 for a hot dog and a Kona!!!! It would be worth a membership just to shop there for the great steaks, pineapples, produce and souvenirs.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Ka Hale Laukaha

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2007

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very dirty.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Overall the house was very very nice. It was a great experience except for the cleanliness of the property. Very dirty....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2007

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best House to rent for your buck.

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2006

This really is the best house to rent on the Big Island We stayed here for 2 and a half weeks and was absolutely perfect. I searched 1,000 of houses and condos in hawaii, this was by far the best for the price. Other houses in comparison are well over $1,000 a night.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! We try hard to make everything perfect. We hope you come back and remember we always offer repeat guest 10% discount. We love you and appreciate you!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review