reviews for: listing #31485 - Woodstock, New York House rental

Sunset Cottage: featured in New York Magazine
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $290 - $330 /nt

sort by:

What a find!!

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

We love exploring the countryside and getting out of the city. Woodstock is such a charming town with lots of atmosphere and cultural activities. We always used to day trip as we could never find the right kind of accommodations. There are no Hotels in the town and the B&B's are not exactly the right fit for our style and taste.
We then found Sunset Cottage ....a stunning property located on ten acres with Mountain Views in one of the most prestigious areas of Woodstock. . Just the perfect balance of nature, luxury, refinement, and the hosts are just amazing at customizing your stay.

We felt "at home" at Sunset Cottage, the MOST comfortable queen size beds, and there is even a separate studio (additional cost) if you have a large party. Their are other houses that we mapped that said "Woodstock" but were actually miles away. We have already booked another visit and will just return here time and time again. Cant wait for the heated in-ground pool...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing..What a find!

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

My family and I had a great time staying at Sunset Cottage . The home was very clean, comfortable and the loved the view and location. It's totally private yet only a minute or two from Woodstock Village. My family looked longingly at the pool and we made return plans for June to swim..

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ike & Carol Are Tops

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Thoroughly enjoy staying at both the Studio and the Cabin. Ike and Carol are wonderful hosts, attentive but not intrusive. The view is unbeatable. The early morning vibe is uplifting. I love staying here, especially the studio, and never miss a chance to stay here when a slot is open.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Location

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We had a wonderful four day weekend in Woodstock. We found the home to be spacious and very clean. The kitchen was well stocked with the essentials, the bathrooms was clean in excellent condition stocked with plenty of towels. We enjoyed the large great room and spent our evenings catching up as we were on our 17th girls weekend. . I enjoyed my morning coffee sitting in the yard looking at the mountains and appreciating the peaceful environment. Town was a five minute car trip and had many cute shops to visit and a wide variety of restaurants.. We are considering returning next year for the girls weekend because we had such a lovely stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

T. Watson

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

We rented this lovely home for the month of 8/13. The house was exactly as the owners described it. Filled with all the amenities one could want the house is new, light, airy and spacious. It is private up a lovely mountain. The owners live on the property but give you all the consideration needed for a private vacation. They are considerate and very responsive and helpful. It is a 5 minute ride down the mountain to the town of Woodstock where there are good restaurants and stores and near many sights. We hope to return there soon. And the private, inground pool can't be beat!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect House

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

Sunset Cottage is amazing! New, clean and beautiful. Amazing mountain views, ten acres of privacy yet only a minute from the shops, galleries restaurants and entertainment of Woodstock Village. the bedrooms had two queen size beds that were really comfortable. the Kitchen is fully equipped with new stainless steel appliances, and everything you'll need..right down to salt and pepper.The wifi is perfect. We will come back this summer and look forward to the heated in ground pool. reviewers note: The last time we were in the area we rented a house that said it was in "Woodstock"..but turned out to be in Saugerties, 12 miles from Woodstock. Very inconvenient and misleading so read carefully. or better yet just book your stay at Sunset Cottage..you won't be sorry.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

rented this for a family gathering during xmas

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

we return to this ( our) wonderful cottage year after year whenever possible ....it's got it all and the charm of the beautfiul
mountaintop estate on ten peaceful acres. The views and sunsets are magnificent....the wildlife is gorgeous,
and the cottage is cozy and complete with everything that one would need for their stay. Also Ike and Carole are available for anythng that you need and are always willing to work with you on anything you need help with.
We used to travel all the way from Calif to stay at Sunset Cottage. We recently moved to Conn. and we still come to spend time here ...it's a very special place. You will love it and want to return. Woodstock is a fantastic destinaton with lots of great restaurants and shops. In summer the pool is great and the town is really alive. In winter it's a skiers delight.
We love it. The house is only about 3 minute drive from the center of town.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

We are a family of four from NYC that has returned to this lovely home for four years in a row. I had not planned on posting a review because the house, pool, grounds, location and owners, Ike and Carole were perfect, but when I read the one negative review posted by an obviously unhappy man, I felt compelled to write. I stayed at Sunset Cottage for two weeks. Never ran out of hot water. The a/c was more than adequate, we were quite comfortable with it on during the day and it was 90 degrees. The nights are always cool and beautiful. The beds are most definately queen size and comfy, and, no mice the four times we were there. The NEW sleep sofa in front of the flat screen was very comfortable. We did see beautiful deer grazing near the yard at dawn, but that was it for wildlife. I suggest any potential renters igmore the one negative review, and book a stay at Sunset Cottage for yourself. You will NOT be disspointed

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

disappointed

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

If you are looking for a place with limited hot water, pull out couches with springs popping, threadbare towels and one of the two bedrooms with no air-conditioning, this is the perfect place for you!
If you are not sold yet, you will love the family of mice that visit you at night!

Helpful votes: 1 / 5

 

Paradise in Woodstock

Review submitted: May 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

Stayed here in May 2012. The photos do NOT do this house justice. One of the few places we've rented that is better in person. Great views. Excellent location on a private road yet only a mile from the center of Woodstock. Last time we rented in Woodstock, the house turned out to be a 20 minute car ride from town. Beware, some people say Woodstock when the property is actually in Phonecia, Saugerties or elsewhere because Woodstock is the buzz word. This house is IN Woodstock..not Nearby. Furnishings are great. We grilled on the new BBQ one night, ate in town the others. We hiked biked, strolled through town, saw good music at The Bearsville Theater. Sunset Cottage is near everything. Highly recommnded..

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rambled in Woodstock for a three night mini break

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

An amazing house on an even more amazing spot. totally private yet only a mile for the center of town. The house looked brand new and super clean. Owners were available to help and the stay was perfect. Will we return? YES!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Weekend Getaway from NYC!

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

We came up to Woodstock with a couple friends to celebrate my husband's 30th birthday and go to the Levon Helms Midnight Ramble. This was the perfect place to stay! I had looked up a few local B&Bs initially, but they seemed more expensive and less flexible. Ike's cottage is quiant and cozy, feels brand new, has an amazing view and is only 1 mile from the town of Woodstock and the Ramble. I would highly recommend staying here anytime you need a little break from NYC. It's delightful - we will certainly be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing!

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

Picutures don't do this lovely home justice. Fully furnished, imaculate house with amazing views. Every detail is perfect. Can't wait to come back in June when pool is open.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great getaway.

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

What a great place to get away from it all but still be near activities. Our family spent a long summer weekend here and loved every minute of it. Great house with wonderful and thoughtful amenities,details. Got to enjoy all that Woodstock and nearby Saugerties has to offer but were able to disconnect in the lovely house, gardens, barbecued and relaxed in pool. Wonderful time and memories!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review and for being our guests at Sunset Cottage.
Please stay with us again the next time you are in Woodstock, New York 12498.
vrbo.com/41448 .

Ike

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing. the house, the view, the pool the locatin

Review submitted: July 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

This was perfect. totally secluded, yet only one mile to Woodstock Village. The view pool and grounds were park-like..
The house was immaculate. furnishings were perfect. we used the wifi and BBQ. Owners are close enough to help and far enough to give us privacy. Perfect house in a great location. We will be back...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2009

fantastic cottage with everything you need in a great location.
perfect for a couple or small family/ or for 2 couples to share.
we loved it for going to the Levon Helm Ramble and also
enjoyed the heated pool and privavcy.
The hosts are awesome folks.

we'll be back again soon. thanks for a great time in
a fabulous town and cottage.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

amazing

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

This is our home in the country. amazing that its for rent. so beautiful and clean. We stayed (two couples) in March 2010..it is really beautiful..

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review and for being our guests at Sunset Cottage.
Please stay with us again the next time you are in Woodstock, New York 12498.
vrbo.com/41448 .

Ike

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review