reviews for: listing #3151 - Santa Monica, California Apartment rental

Wonderful Beach Apartment~ Great Location near Beach!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Main Street
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $3,200 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

We had A Wonderful Stay, Five Stars!

Review submitted: July 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 3, 2014

We wanted to thank you for the attention to detail during our stay at the apartment. We both enjoyed the quiet, private and comfortable space, especially having the roof garden and hot tub all to ourselves! It was like having a 'home of our own' with everything that we needed. The short walk to the beach, restaurants, markets, coffee shops, etc was so welcome - such a nice neighborhood and great location. Thank you also for providing information on places to eat, visit, and the local 'happenings'.
We will return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Four Women in Santa Monica !

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

We all came in from different countries to meet in Santa Monica.This apartment is in a great location, was sunny and very comfortable.
Ideal especially for 2 to 4 people . Although the reserved parking space was a great benefit, the prime location made it so easy to walk to the beach and all the great restaurants Santa Monica and Venice. The full kitchen was great!! we used it a lot, and it was nice to have the private
outdoor space with the garden and hot tub. Would definitely stay there again, hope to do so!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gloomy/Dank

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

I agree with Jim C review. This place was a fire trap and very dangerous to people over 55 years old & young childred as the stairs were way to steep and narrow. It had a terrible smell when entering and I did ask her as she was showing us around if people smoke in there as it smelled heavily of cigarette smoke. She said no but had all the french doors (with now screens) open leading out to the decks as if trying to air it out.
The towels and sheets were so worn and sheets so thread bare and old moldy pillows that had a fowl odor. We turned on the oven to heat food and it had not been cleaned and started smoking and we opened it up and there was dried up meat product on the bottom of the oven that cause the whole apt to stink of rotting meat. When we opened the windows to air it out and opened up the french doors to the deck up pops squirrels trying run into the living room (not cute). The roof top Jacuzzi was a bit of a mess and the stairs leading up were covered in a plastic and nailed down with old rusty nails. I commented to her as she was showing us up to the top deck that the nails looked dangerous and if you cut your foot it would be a problem. I also asked her why they don't update the property calenders on the site and she gave no good response.
I would never recommend this place to anyone and do think that Home Away should be made aware of this as it does not meet the good quality of property they are renowned for as my family has stayed at many many properties for many years now and have never run into this situation before :(

Owners response: This reviewer seemed to struggle from the start with the reservation, very confused about who was calling her and who was e-mailing her; could not use PayPal for payment, mailed personal checks; had to mail contracts. On arrival at the apartment seemed to be in a generally bad mood, made several negative statements and comments that were absolutely untrue.
*The issue from the oven had to be due to her food, no food was left in the oven! The apartment had been fully cleaned and was vacant for some time.

*In good weather, we always open windows for the ocean air and the views. There is no mold on the pillows, and they are covered with new zippered pillow case covers. This is a non-smoking apartment building and we do not allow smoking on the property

*There was ONE loose nail on the far left underside of one step (it is a dark metal, not rusty) nowhere near the footpath) leading to the roof deck. These stairs are carpeted with a cream colored Berber and have a clear plastic runner which covers the carpeting - the nail was on the underside of a stair tread where no foot could land, it holds down the clear plastic runner.

*The jacuzzi is not “a bit of a mess” - it is regularly maintained by a spa service and is thoroughly pristine.

*Sheets/ towels are not “threadbare “ and there were many additional towels and sheets in the linen chest.

*There is a tree near the balcony and rarely a squirrel runs across the branch (note: none have never tried to enter the building - we have a permanent tenant living in this building for the last 7 years who can vouch for this - and for the light, bright stairway that accommodates width of two people, has double glass french doors leading to it, has a large glass window half way up the stairs at the entrance to this apartment, for the light, bright, airy apartment and the lack of ‘any odor” in the building.

*We have had guests ranging from their 70’s to infants, couples, families with children with no complaints about anything, in fact the majority of reviews completely contradict this one.

*This seemed to be a person who is exaggerating in an over-obvious fashion,and was perhaps unhappy with other things. She was unfriendly and appeared to dislike “everyone and everything”. NOTE: did not sign name to the ‘review’, did not call the manager or comment or complain during the stay.
*It is very inappropriate when people slander another's business. We invite Homeaway to verify the property.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Delightful Stay !

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 5, 2013

Hello!

We wanted to thank you so much for your hospitality and
care during our stay at the beach apartment.

We loved this property, it was so close to everything!
We could walk to the beach, to Main Street, and that was
a big plus.

The kids were delighted with the little neighborhood market
and park - yet the neighborhood was very quiet, safe and
secure - with friendly people walking their dogs and kids
:-)

We would definitely book here again - the apartment was light,
bright, quiet, had all that we needed to be our 'home away from
home".
The roof garden and hot tub was a real gift, giving us lots
of privacy to get some sun and hang out !

Thank you again,

Sarah and Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Disappointing!!!

Review submitted: November 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

Not sure what apartment the reviews are describing but it certainly isn't the one that we booked but did not stay in Nov. 1-4th. We were given instructions (after we had paid in full) to park behind the house in an alleyway with many many large garbage cans and enter through a gate (which was falling off its hinges) and then into a courtyard which was by no means lush, up two flights of narrow stairs with carpet that I suspect has been there since the home was built. The smell going up those staircases was enough to turn your stomach, along with the insects that cluttered the window ledges, we couldn't imagine coming home in the dark back to this place. The apartment was bright, the furniture and linens dated and the bathroom with the shower and sink was not big enough to turn around in. Now we know why there are no pictures of the bathroom even though we asked for them. There were four of us and it took us 30 seconds to decide there is no way we could sleep in this unit so we called Kathleen to advise her of this, deposited the keys where we found them and left. We rent many homes through VRBO and HOMEAWAY and usually have good luck but there is a first time for everything. All we expect when we rent is that the owner portray the unit as it really is, give pictures that depict the size of the place or close to it and it be clean and well cared for, we did not get any of this renting this unit. The owner/property manager did not even offer to refund the cleaning fee which says alot.

Owners response: We were shocked to receive this review and can only
guess that the renter wrote this to cover his own embarrassment.

These complaints/ claims were outright lies.

He was met at the apartment by one of the property managers and complained that he 'couldn't turn around in the bathroom'.

Before arriving, he was concerned about the bathrooms
and wanted bathroom photos (which were not available)
(one is a 3/4 bath, the other a full bath - they are standard sizes)
We had asked him several times if he had any "special
needs", but none were indicated.”

In the many years that we have rented this apartment, we
have NEVER had a complaint about the size of the bathrooms,
the stairs, the carpeting, etc.

He also stated that “the advertised bedding was 2 King beds'
which it clearly was not!!  we advertise a Full bed and a Queen bed with two full fold-out futon couches.

We can only guess as to his harsh comments, NONE
of which are accurate and which are contrary to ALL
other reviews!!!  The last review from previous guest was FIVE STARS.

He probably did not wish to 'look bad' in front of his
companions because he erroneously booked an apartment without king -size beds.  He most likely was embarrassed to admit to the other travelers that he did not book exactly what they wished.

We have no problem attending to any issues that might arise
for any traveler, but we cannot comprehend these comments
and feel they have unfairly maligned the property.

His deposit and cleaning fee were refunded promptly.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

FIVE STARS

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

We rented the apartment for four weeks in August 2013.

Firstly, it is in a very safe neighbouhood and comes with a reserved parking space at the back. It is ideally located to explore Main Street (about 5 minutes walk) and the beach (about 8 minutes walk), the freeways are also close by and there are loads of restaurants and bars within easy walking distance.

The apartment is very comfortable and easily accommodated four adults. It is spacious and roomy, has free laundry and all the amenities you could wish for including Wifi and lots of information on the surrounding area.

The property manager, Kathleen, could not have been more friendly or helpful and let us check out late without any hassle.

A big plus was the huge rooftop garden with hot tub which you have all to yourself We will definitely be back and would definitely recommend this place!!

*****FIVE STARS *****

Mark and family,
England

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quiet - Relaxing - Convenient !

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

This apartment rental was the best 5 week investment ever!
We loved the apartment, and especially the ability to walk to the
beach, Main Street, cafes, yoga studios, and markets.

The kids were out every day seeing the beach and nearby
Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, Santa Monica and Venice, etc.

We loved the roof garden with the hot tub - what a great
place to relax at the end of the day, unwinding with a cocktail and a
hot tub soak!

Thanks again! *****

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Terrific - A Wonderful Place to Stay!""

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

I rented the property for a month+ in May 2013 and could not have been happier with it. My 18-year old daughter and I booked at the last minute and the location was great, just off Main and close to vibrant Venice, with little interesting pockets and communities waiting to be discovered in nearby roads. And Downtown Santa Monica was only a walk away (30 minutes or a bus if your legs are tired). The house had everything we needed, comfortably decorated with some decadent touches and the roof terrace was a little gem for the days when it was a bit too windy or chilly to hit the beach (which was only a 7 minute walk). Our property manager, Kathleen, could not have been more friendly or helpful and she contributed hugely to making sure everything ran smoothly. And her tips on good places to shop or just hang out were exactly what we needed. The house gave us a chance to feel really like a "local" and we would happily come back ...tomorrow !!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sunny Santa Monica

Review submitted: December 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We rented the Santa Monica Apartment while the kids
were enrolled in special classes in summer school.

I found the apartment to be quite a peaceful place
to live. It was so well located for me and my two
children. We could easily walk to the beach and
cafes, and it was only a short drive to downtown Santa Monica,
the Pier, Third Street Promenade (and the fantastic
Farmer's Market there !) shopping, movies, parks

The manager was very helpful in guiding us to
restaurants, tourist attractions, and even found me
yoga classes nearby.

I would highly recommend this apartment - it is
in a safe and quiet neighborhood and I felt very comfortable
there with my two children.

Diane

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Of Four

Review submitted: December 27, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

We stayed at this fantastic apartment for 4.5 weeks.

It had everything that we needed, fully stocked kitchen, linens,
laundry facility, etc.
We loved the location, a short walk to the beach,
Main Street, and really near markets, cafes,
coffee shops, parks. We love to walk and the area
was beautiful and safe.
The area is lovely - a quiet residential neighborhood
but close to everything that you would need.
Best of all we had a roof garden and hot tub
which made us feel like we were in our own little
resort!

We can't wait to come back again!

James and Karen and kids
Denver, CO

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

Great location – walk to Santa Monica Pier and Venice Beach, close to airport
Well equipped apartment, with clear instructions of expectations and use of facilities.
Beds very comfortable. Free use of modern laundry equipment
Overall – enjoyable stay, quiet and comfortable!

Margaret and Brendan
Australia
29/05/2011

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Family Holiday

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

We recently spent 6 nights at this vacation property. We were a party of 4 adults and 2 children.
We found the Apartment to be spacious and clean. It had all the amenities to make it a comfortable stay.
We were walking distance to great cafes, supermarket, beaches and the promenade. The area in which the apartment is located is a lovely and quiet neighborhood, we found everyone friendly when we walked around the area. There was also a play ground a block and a half away, a bonus for children.
We would definitely stay here again, as Kathleen was such a pleasure to deal with.
Thanks for a lovely relaxing Holiday....
P.S - The roof top is an added bonus, its was lovely to eat dinner alfresco.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great Family Holiday...

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

I recently spent 5 nights at this vacation property. We were a party of 4 adults and 2 children.
We found the Apartment to be spacious and clean. It had all the amenities to make it a comfortable stay. We were walking distance to great cafes, supermarket, beaches and the promenade. The area in which the apartment is located is a lovely and quiet neighborhood, we found everyone friendly when we walked around the area. There was also a play ground a few blocks away from the house, A bonus for children.
We would definitely stay here again as Kathleen was such a pleasure to deal with.
Thanks for a lovely relaxing Holiday....
P.S - The roof top is a added bonus, its was lovely to eat dinner alfresco.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

A neat apartment, well located for access to Santa Monica and Venice Beach in a quiet neighbourhood. It had everything we needed for a family of four adults, with convenient driving access to many LA points of interest. The manager was very helpful and waiting for us on arrival.

Family of 4 – Western Australia.

Thanks again for helping us to have an enjoyable holiday!

Kind regards
Wayne and Margaret

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Neat Apartment !

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

“A neat apartment well located for access to Santa Monica and Venice Beach, in a quiet neighbourhood.
It had everything we needed for a family of four adults with convenient driving access to many LA points
of interest. The manager was very helpful and waiting for us on arrival.”

Family of 4 – Western Australia.

Thanks again for helping us to have an enjoyable holiday!

Kind regards,

Wayne and Margaret

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous !

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2010

We had a wonderful time staying in this lovely, smartly appointed, roomy apartment.
Our family loved the hot tub on the roof and the location - quiet yet close to Whole Foods
and a nice short walk to the beach.
Everything was clean and fresh and the video of the
apartment from the web was wonderful. Fabulous!

Again thanks for all you help with this booking - you were great to work with!
Beverly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 29, 2010

We had a wonderful time staying in this lovely, smartly appointed, roomy apartment.
Our family loved the hot tub on the roof and the location - quiet yet close to Whole Foods
and a nice short walk to the beach. Everything was clean and fresh and the video of the
apartment from the web was wonderful. Fabulous.

Again thanks for all you help with this booking - you were great to work with!
Beverly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Place To Call Home

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

We enjoyed our time there, especially as having the hot tub upstairs was a nice touch.
The unit was very clean and it was lovely to have our own place to call home for a little while.
Your communication with us was great and location was good, close to fantastic supermarket and
short drive to shopping centre.
We appreciated your concern for our daughter (hospitalization) and the quick visit to see that everything was okay was appreciated.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

The unit was very clean and it was lovely to have our own place to call home for a little while. Your communication with us was great, and location was good, close to fantastic supermarket and short drive to shopping centre. We enjoyed our time there, especially as having the hot tub upstairs was a nice touch.
We appreciated your concern for our daughter (hospitalization) and the quick visit to see that everything was okay was appreciated.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Homey apartment in great location!

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

Just finished a lovely stay in SM. Had a fantastic time. The apartment was brilliant! Also I Would like to say the property manager was very friendly and accesible.

The location was perfect for us as we had no car. The beach is less than 10 minutes walk. We enjoyed walks along Venice Beach with all the craft markets and lively atmosphere(A must see). Santa Monica pier is also very accesible on foot or there is a bus that comes every 10 mins which goes through 3rd street shopping. Main street is a five minute walk with some good bars and restaurants.

The apartment itself is perfect we stayed for 19 nights and there were no problems as its very well equipped and safe. The roof top is a huge bonus especially in the evenings with the jacuzzi!

We all really enjoyed our stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We loved having you as our guests and hope to see you again some time!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

homey apartment in great location!

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

Just finished a lovely stay in SM. Had a fantastic time. The apartment was brilliant! Also I Would like to say the property manager was very friendly and accesible.

The location was perfect for us as we had no car. The beach is less than 10 minutes walk. We enjoyed walks along Venice Beach with all the craft markets and lively atmosphere(A must see). Santa Monica pier is also very accesible on foot or there is a bus that comes every 10 mins which goes through 3rd street shopping. Main street is a five minute walk with some good bars and restaurants.

The apartment itself is perfect we stayed for 19 nights and there were no problems as its very well equipped and safe. The roof top is a huge bonus especially in the evenings with the jacuzzi!

We all really enjoyed our stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

Thanks for a great stay and all your help dealing with Greyhound bus lines regarding our
missing suitcase.
We all had a lovely time here at your apartment and it is everything that you advertise
and more. Hope to see you again soon and thanks!
Carol, Ken, Sue and George
Yorkshire, England

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cute little 3rd floor apartment

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2010

This was a great place for us. It was in a resdiential neighborhood about 1 1/2 miles from the beach (we never walked it). We did walk to Whole Foods which was about a 10-15 minute walk. It was close, but made us be aware of our surroundings when we saw two security guards at the store. (we felt very safe at the unit)

The roof top deck was a great place for my husband and I to relax. We were bummed to see a 10pm curfew for the hot tub. Often we would get back at 11 or 12 from seeing the sights and would have used the hot tub.

The property manager lives on site but we only saw her when we checked in, other than that it was very private, we could come and go as we pleased, it was nice.

Finally pack light, unless, stairs are your thing, you are on the 3rd floor, so have to do several sets of stairs each time you come and go.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2010

We had the most amazing time staying here! I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to travel to Santa Monica. Beautiful and Easy. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: February 26, 2010   Date of arrival: February 11, 2010

My friends and I stayed here for a long-weekend trip to Santa Monica and it was perfect! It offers great location--right near great shops and restaurants on Main Street, and just a few minutes away from the Beach and boardwalk. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for affordable and comfortable accomodations in Santa Monica, especially for a group of friends or a family!

The property manager was great; very helpful and accomodating. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We enjoyed having you here !

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great apartment!

Review submitted: February 19, 2010   Date of arrival: February 11, 2010

This apartment was perfect! The location is awesome--a short walk away from restaurants, shops, and the beach! The apartment was clean, comfortable, and the renter was a delight to work with--very accessible, helfpul and accomodating. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a beautiful and convenient apartment for a weekend or extended stay in Santa Monica.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you !

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

a charming stay!!!

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

Myself and my 2 sisters and my little 1 year old daughter, all from Ireland, stayed in Catherine's apartment in September 09 and we all agree that it was a fantastic choice. We felt very comfortable and at home while we were there. It was a very cosy place and my little daughter loved to just potter around on the very nice soft carpet with the lovely open living space. The roof top garden with the hot tub was an added bonus. It was so private and safe also for a toddler. The apartment had everything we needed for our stay including wifi and we were a short walk from the main street and the beach. We would definitely recommened this place to people and hope to stay there the next time we are in LA.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Note: this review is for our 2 bedroom apartment, located on the same property :-)

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 13, 2008   Date of arrival: October 13, 2008

Gosh, Super cool I really like it. Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 13, 2008   Date of arrival: October 13, 2008

I just wanted to thank you for your help organizing our stay in Santa Monica.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 13, 2008   Date of arrival: October 13, 2008

We had a lovely week

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 13, 2008   Date of arrival: October 13, 2008

Beautiful apartment. Everything was there. Bright with fresh air, and relaxing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 12, 2008   Date of arrival: October 12, 2008

ApartmentI just wanted to thank you for your help organizing our stay in Santa Monica.The apartment was absolutely wonderful and everybody loved it. Sabrina Oufella Sept 18thGosh, Super cool I really like it. Thank you. Senne DehandschutterWe had a lovely week Dan KBeautiful apartment. Everything was there. Bright with fresh air, and relaxing. Yvonne Lawson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 8, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

I have a big family & had to find a place big enough to accommodate us all. This home of Catherine's did that beautifully albeit some of the kids had to sleep in double beds. We found the house very cute and well appointed. It is in a fairly nice area & close to great restaurants & interesting shops. When there were problems a phonecall was all it needed to rectify. Would stay again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 26, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Aloha Catherine,

Mahalo for providing such a wonderful home for our Family. We loved the spaciousness and lightness of the house. Having your original art work hung through out the house added beauty and the perfect energy for a Spiritual gathering.

The Kitchen was perfect as were the various bedrooms and sleeping areas. It worked perfectly for us.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Harvest

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review