reviews for: listing #31539 - Dana Point, California Townhome rental

Lovely Ocean View Condo is Steps from the Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Niguel Beach Terrace
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $165 - $195 /nt
    $975 - $1,175 /wk
    $3,000 - $3,800 /mth

sort by:

We loved The Lighthouse

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

Our young family loved it at the Lighthouse. We brought the kids scooters and they had endless fun along the walkways that overlook Dana Strand beach. Beach was awesome. Pool was nice. Condo was fantastic. Clean, well appointed and enough room for our family of 5. Dana Point is wonderful and very convenient to both Disney and Legoland. Also enjoyed a Whale Watch right out of Dana Point. The owners definitely have their act together. Highly, highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couldn't be nicer - perfect location!

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: January 21, 2014

We love staying in private homes over hotels and were not disappointed for one minute. This great home is everything and more than the owners represent. The location is superior, views are stunning, it's well maintained and very clean. I would highly recommend this unit t if you plan a vacation get-away to Dana Point. There are lots of choices, but this one won't disappoint - it's definitely the best unit in the complex. Just steps from one of the best swimming beaches, near great walking trails, a beautiful park, a real paradise and the perfect spot to enjoy your vacation. The owners could not be more welcoming and helpful. This is definitely a 5-star!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Could Be Better

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: November 19, 2013

Positive - Bedrooms and living room were good. Neighbourhood is decent. Beach is beautiful - however seniors and physically handicapped should be cautious as it takes a lot of steps to go the beach. Climbing the steps back home could be very challenging. The tram to the beach is closed during winters.

Negatives - Bathrooms were very old and dingy. Toilets took forever to flush. Blinds: guests were required not to turn on the window blinds in all the rooms. In spite of that, they still kept falling. It was frustrating.
Cleaning fee: we were charged extra cleaning fee providing a reason that it took more time to clean.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time at Dana Point Lighthouse

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We had a wonderful family vacation at the Lighthouse condo in July. We are a family of five and really enjoyed the location and access to the beach. It was just how the owner described it. It was clean and had everything we needed. We have stayed at several places over the years and Tom and Vonne are by far the most friedly, accommodating, and helpful owners we have ever rented from. We will defiantly return and recommend this rental. Thank you for a memorable time Vonne and Tom.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceeded expectations, we even swam with Dolphins!

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

My family (kids 4 & 7) and I spent a week at the Lighthouse and found every accomodation we could think of ready and waiting! We felt right at home and loved spending time at the pool and especially the beach. We actually spent most of our time at the beach that is located right down the stairs from the unit. On our last day we spotted Dolphins right off the shore and swam right next to them for a few minutes. It was truly incredible and an experience we will never forget!

We usually spend our beach trips in Newport beach but, this time we decided to try Dana Point and found it to be a really good choice. It was so fun and easy to explore the Strands Beaches and surrounding areas thanks to the owners helpful lists and maps of things to do in the area. We loved cooking and eating at the Lighthouse without having to pack a single pan from home. In fact, we only brought our clothes with us. The lighthouse had beach towels, sand castle supplies, boogie boards, coolers, kitchen supplies, even step-by-step instructions for how to navagate between cable and playing the DVD's (saved us so much time). It really is a home away from home!

Thanks to the wonderful owners and their thoughtful preparation, that was one of the very most memorable family vacations we've had yet! We can't wait to plan the next visit to the Lighthouse. Thank you Tom and Vonne -

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Lighthouse in Dana Point, CA

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

The owners' caring and attention to detail is reflected in this updated, pristine condo. The location is great, with an ocean view, and close to activities, restaurants and shopping in Dana Point, Dana Harbor and Laguna Beach. It is within walking distance of Strands Beach, with three stairway options and a cable car which runs daily in season and on weekends off season. I plan to return to The Lighthouse Condo for another wonderful, relaxing vacation!! Thank you Tom and Vonne for providing such a beautiful "home away from home".
Eileen

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location! Great condo!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Our family of 4 (kids 6 & 8yrs) had a fabulous 4 night stay at this very quiet condo. It was a nice break from spending 7 nights prior in Anaheim/Disneyland. Lots of room for everyone. Huge bedrooms, each with patio doors. The description of the condo was exactly how we found it. It was clean and well stocked with everything litte thing we needed - from a blender, to scissors, spices, beach towels & toys. The cooler and beach chairs were very handy to have.

The pool area was wonderful - just a bit of a walk across the parking lot. It was well maintained and quiet.

We loved being directly across the street from the stairs/Funicular down to the beaches. You can walk all over and enjoy amazing scenery/views. The kids spent hours building sandcastles, collecting shells and watching the surfers. Sunsets were perfect every night.

Tom and Vonne were great to deal with. Very prompt answers to all questions. Tom gave us helpful hints over the phone before leaving Calgary for visiting Sea World. Vonne was kind of enough to call us when we arrived to make sure we had everything we needed. She even sent us information on the whales in the area. The welcome book of information was very helpful.

The kids attempted to count all the lighthouses in the condo, but eventually had to give up - too many to find!

We would recommend this condo as a great place to stay if you want to do day trips to some of the other beaches along the PCH, or just relax!

Next visit needs to be longer than 4 nights!

Thank you Tom & Vonne.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean Get Away

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

We landed at the Lighthouse at Dana Point last minute when our previous plans changed just prior to our trip to SoCal. We found the owners responsive and helpful and found the Lighthouse to be as described in our discussions and on line information. Place was welcoming, clean, spacious (loved the two patios, lots of windows, & mirrors), a very bright and cheery place. Comfortable and well stocked.

We stayed with our two adult kids and enjoyed the big screens (3!!!), use of computer and wifi, space to spread out or hang together. Very close access to beach and walking paths. The hot tub was amazing as were the sunsets to the west! Free laundry facility was a plus after being on the road a week.

The kitchen had everything you might need for cooking in but other than breakfast and lots of coffee (with wonderfully large coffee mugs!!!) we opted to eat out. We enjoyed the restaurants up by Trader Joes: Chipolte, ZPizza, Golden Spoon Yogurt and Peets Coffee. We also splurged and spent an evening at Chart House above the harbor. Don't miss this if your budget allows...it was amazing!

We would recommend The Lighthouse at Dana Point to anyone looking to stay in this area. Thanks for a great time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

College roommates vacation at Dana Point

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

My college roommate (in the 70s) and I ventured out to California from Massachusetts and Texas, respectively, to "run and play" in the California sun and visit my daughter who's at UCIrvine doing reseach in a post-doc position. The location of "The Lighthouse" was perfect for all our day trips to Irvine, Long Beach, Torrey Pines, Palm Springs, and Mission at Capistrano. The condo was sparkling with all the emenities. The owners were a joy to work with---very welcoming, hospitable, and remembered every detail to make our stay perfect. The view from the west deck of the sun setting over Catalina Island was amazing and memorable. Loved everything about our stay!! Many thanks to Tom and Vonne!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved the Lighthouse

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

We loved the Lighthouse!! The description by owner was completely accurate. Making arrangements was done promptly, with ease and in a friendly manner. We were thrilled with the location, just across from the ocean while being one unit away from the street noise. We were so pleased with the amazing cleanliness and the layout was just great. It was exceptionally well-equipped with modern, first class kitchen and laundry appliances and the king mattress was superior. The instruction book provided by the owners gave us the answers to every possible question. Thoughtful, extra touches we enjoyed: CD's, movies, games, books, all kitchen dishes and cooking equipment, dry condiments, as well as bathroom shampoos, soaps, kleenex, etc. There were many beach toys for children so we were wishing we had grandchildren with us! The front-facing patio offered us the view of magnificent sunsets every night and the other patio offered a quiet, sunny spot for morning coffee. The cheery Lighthouse decorative theme was present throughout - even the shower curtain and bed quilts. We would definitely recommend this extremely clean, comfortable and restful home which is provided by the owners with much thoughtfulness.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lighthouse Dana Point

Review submitted: December 14, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed for a week at the beginning of December and had a great stay. This property is better than advertised, totally equipped and has a fantastic location. Have stayed in the area twice before but overall this was the best property we have rented. Well done to the friendly owners who put a lot of effort in to making sure every stay is one to remember.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our stay from Sept 13 to Sept 19 2011

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 13, 2011

I am a little late in writing this review but would like to share our experience vacationing at the Lighthouse. Our family of three including our nine month old baby had a lot of fun living in the condo.We appreciated the little things that the hosts have done like providing a high chair,a pack n play and also the baby monitor which made life a lot easier for us during our stay there. Our baby was super happy cruising around the condo but for parents with older kids the children's books and DVDs provided for in the condo are a great touch. We also came across interesting nd fun boardgames which larger groups could enjoy. All in all, a clean,cozy and modern home away from home for people to enjoy while on vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Traumlage

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Aus Deutschland via Internet gebucht und wirklich alles hat gepasst. Top- Ausstattung, tolle Lage zu Strand und Swimming-Pool und Jakuzi. Nach San Diego und LA nur 1 Stunde Fahrzeit. Vielfältige Ausflugmöglichkeiten.
Die Vermieter sind sehr freundlich und haben an alles gedacht: Bettwäsche,Hand- und Strandtücher, Seife, Shampoo,Lotion und und und!
Jeder Familie mit bis max. 5 Personen zu empfehlen. wir hatten einen tollen Urlaub ( Eltern und 20,17,13 Jahre alte Jungen ).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

July 2011 Trip

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We spent the 4th of July at the Lighthouse and really enjoyed our stay. The area is just absolutely beautiful and hte people/neighbors we met were very friendly and helpful in pointing out things to do around town - especially where to watch the July 4 fireworks. It was a short trip from John Wayne airport and Disney and Sea World was only about an hour or so away. It was a perfect location w/o being too over-crowded. The house was clean and Tom was available to answer all the questions I had about getting to/from some local attractions (e.g. Capt Dave's Dophin Safari (WOW) and getting up to Dodger stadium). The condo has easy access (well, 165 stairs) to the beach and also has a lovely pool and spa. The kids also loved that the condo came supplied with all the beach toys they could use. If you're going to SoCal, put this place at the top of your list.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful condo near the beach

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

We spent a beautiful 9 days in Dana Point. The condo had everything we needed and the owners did everything they could to make us have a fantastic time in a very clean and well maintained home. The coffee machine broke down the first day, but already after a couple of hours Tom and Vonne came with a brand new. What a service!!
The location is very convenient with easy access to everything.
Thank you to Tom & Vonne for making our vacation so pleasant!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice place

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much. Everything was as described. The condo had everything we needed and was spotless. Everything was in working order. Landscaping is beautiful. The owners provided us with plenty of information prior to the stay, which helped with planning. Spent most of our trip sightseeing in Orange County - Huntington Beach (surfers, volleyball, paint-ball tourney, nightlife - fun town), Laguna Beach, Newport Beach, Dana Point (beach, shops, restaurants and whale-watching), San Diego (followed Scenic Drive), Hollywood. Beautiful area. Husband is a runner (wife not so much!); he enjoyed his daily runs on the beach (easy access from the condo). Great spot to relax, would recommend to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Highly Recommend

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 15, 2011

Wonderful place, nothing negative whatsoever, everything as described by the owners, neat/clean/comfortable, very nice complex. Would return without hesitation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My Vacation Getaway From The Snow and Cold!!!

Review submitted: February 26, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

I was very happy with the "Lighthouse" and the nice owner that rented it to me. Their description of the condo and what it had to offer was correct in every way. The location is very convenient with easy access to everything. The views of the ocean with the walkways along Strand Beach is so special. I am hoping to return and escape the Sierra Mountain snows and cold again next season. I feel that I was lucky in chosing the "Lighthouse".

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Easy-peasy lemon squeezy

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

My friends, husband, and I needed to find lodging fast for a New Year's Eve wedding we were attending over the holiday. We knew hotel prices would be extremely expensive and limited so I was a little worried I'd find the right place.
Thank GOD for homeaway.com and Tom & Vonne. Not only were they the sweetest couple alive, incredibly helpful, accommodating and knowledgeable, their vacation home was absolutely perfect for the 5 of us. It was incredibly comfortable and , literally across the street from the shore. With all the information and advice they sent me ahead of our arrival, I never once felt lost in their neighborhood, and knew where all the best places to go shopping and eating were. They help you feel like a local! Their home was very clean and well maintained. All towels and linens were provided. The beds were extremely comfortable and you couldn't wait to get back and plop on them after a long night of partying. A BIG thank you to Tom & Vonne for making our new years so pleasant.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Condo, Beautiful Location

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

The Lighthouse is in and excellent location and beautiful view of the ocean.... The owners have taken pride in this condo, by providing all of the amenities you expect in your own home. We have stayed at many locations around the globe and this is one of the best...
We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love the Lighthouse!

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2010

The Lighthouse has EXCELLENT accommodations with fantastic location. We were able to visit Sea World, Dana Point, Laguna Beach, Balboa Island, and Disneyland in the 10 days we were there. Not to mention the amazing beach just steps away. You can sit on the patio and see the ocean! We even relaxed in the community hot tub at night it was great!!! We can't wait to return-will stay again and again-thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Spot

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

My husband, 3 year old daughter, and myself I have just spent a wonderful 8 days at The Lighthouse. It has beautiful views, amazing location both to the beach and the surrounding area. We now need to come home to rest having hit all the tourist spots. Even though we were there during the hottest temperatures on record we still managed to keep cool. We are hoping to get back again next year and would recommend this hideaway to anyone. Make sure you check out the whale/dolphin watching from Dana Wharf as that is definitely a must see.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2010

G'day. My family and I found the Lighthouse fantastic. Better than described! A lot of little touches that makes it feel like home - like DVD's, videos, books, CD's, flat screen in every room, boogie boards - you name it mate. Location is gorgeous, something for everyone from deep sea fishing to surfing, to lazy by the pool to Disney. I would and am recommending this to everyone of all ages. Bloody great time, thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Joanna's and Sunny's Lighthouse review 09-14-10

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2010

My fiance and I had a wonderful stay at the Lighthouse in Dana Point from 9/5/10 - 9/11/10. The 2 bdrm, 2 bathroom condo with W/D, ceiling fans, etc. all worked well, comfortable and very accommodating. The living room and dining room also made us feel as is we were at home, and we spent 2 nights after beach days, kayaking, jogging, visiting family, heated pool/jacuzzi, just relaxing at the Lighthouse watching favorite show and movies on TV. We were really able to "CHILLAX" from out jobs in Philadelphia. But when we needed to work a little, the WiFi worked well. The Lighthouse is in a quiet, friendly, condo community and offers a spectacular view of the ocean and palm trees from the guest bedroom and living room windows! We will recommend the Lighthouse to friends and family, and we will be back since we visit this area at least once a year! Thank you Tom and Vohnn! P.S. We had a car, but if you don't, Buses, train, taxi and pedestrian walks and trails to attractions, recreational rentals, restaurants, etc. are plentiful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review of the Lighthouse Condo, Dana Point

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The property was clean, well-maintained and in a great spot - just across the road and down a flight of steps, is the beach. Shops and places to eat just minutes away. Pluses: computer, internet, undercover car space, location (other beaches easy drives away and we did an easy drive to Disneyland for the day), ample wardrobe spaces, two bathrooms, cute patio. Minuses: not a huge amount of living room but hardly matters.

I heartily recommend the Lighthouse!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Most amazing place ever!!

Review submitted: May 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

My daughter and I had our vacation at the Lighthouse and it was just awesome!! The condo had everything we needed and more. The owners came to welcome us on the first day and communicated with us regularly via email throughout our stay to make sure everything was okay. The unit is a lower level unit which I prefer. The interior is very stylishly decorated and we truly felt at home and at ease. Best of all, the ocean really was a minute away! There are trails to walk on, run on, whatever you choose. I will definitely be planning future vacations at the Lighthouse.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay at the Lighthouse

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 25, 2010

We really enjoyed staying at the Lighthouse, where the ocean is just a few steps away. Great place, nicely decorated, well equiped and very clean. A recommendable place! Thank you from Gina and Thorsten!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Home Away From Home!

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: February 21, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at the Lighthouse for 5 weeks and truly relaxed every single day! The condo is clean, comfortable, and convenient to the beach. We especially enjoyed the walks along the beach and the gorgeous sunsets. Tom and Vonne are great hosts and make sure your needs are met without hesitation. The only negative I can think of is having to leave this lovely area and returning to snow country!
We look forward to returning next year. Thank you Tom and Vonne!!
Ciao! Carol and Jim

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Vacation Rental Experience

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 29, 2010

Our family of four thoroughly enjoyed the 9-day stay at the sunny and very comfortable Lighthouse. The property and location are just as described - clean, well maintained and very close to the incredible beach. It was a pleasure to sleep in the king size bed. Both bedrooms are very spacious, the bathrooms are stocked with creams, soaps and shampoos, and there were reference material available for the surrounding area and attractions . There was access to internet (great for trip planning), homey supplies such as books, games, kids movies and beach toys. The hosts went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable, were always quick to respond to queries (before and during our stay) and supplied us with info. regarding directions and surrounding attractions. There were many days we didn't feel a need to leave the property as there was so much to do just at the condo.
We hope to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic location clean well furnished Excellent!

Review submitted: August 27, 2009   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

Wow what a lovely place! Clean well maintained and a location to die for! The best bit was the extra touches like shower Gel and coffee etc, nothing was left out! a real home from home! Close to a most excellent beach with sunsets across the Pacific! We went Whale watching and had a "BBQ" every night on the patio under the stars. No problems for us but if we had, then i am certain that Tom & Vonne would have quickly fixed them! Cant recommend this place highly enough! Martin & Family Cheshire UK

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation July 2009

Review submitted: July 23, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

We had a nice vacation time in the lighthouse condo in July 2009. The condo is very nice and Tom and Vonne has the place very well organized. The Condo is very recommendable.

alex Denmark

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A+

Review submitted: June 20, 2009   Date of arrival: June 10, 2009

What a great vacation home! Description was accurate,property was clean and well maintained. Tom and Vonne provided exceptional customer service. Nice quite area highly recommended for families, and those with children. Everything you could want or need was provided. The master bed is incredibly comfortable!! Thanks for a great experience at Dana Point.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Piecefull but close to active beach life

Review submitted: May 9, 2009   Date of arrival: April 17, 2009

Lighthouse is furnished perfectly for elderly as well as small young families. You seldom see European quality TV-picture in N-A but here it is as well as the selection of entertainment. The beds are very good to sleep and kitchen is well equipped; even teflon pans are unscratched (usually crap in rental properties). Location is piesfully ideal but only a few miles from selection of vacation services at vamous beaches.
The resort swimming pool was under repair and we lost our usual wakeup swim. Tom and Vonne match this by a temporary membership in the near-by tennis club and did their best keep us satisfied in all respects.
For golfers: avoid Rancho San Joaquin Golf Course; it is crap in all respects. Play Tijeras Creek, nice and interting course with good and friendly service. Of course Monarch Beach Golf Links is classy but affortable only at twilight. Try also Redhawk in Temecula.
All in all we felt ourselves very much at home in frienly Lighthouse.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A home from home

Review submitted: April 6, 2009   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

The Lighthouse was an excellent Condo which was extremely clean and well maintained in a pleasant location with a very short and pleasant walk to a delightful beach. It was very well and sympathetically stocked with all modern day equipment all in spotless and working order. The entertainment systems in all rooms were much better than had been expected and there was the added touch of games, books and DVD’s available which goes to show the thoughtfulness of the owners in their efforts to cater for all ages and needs. There were many unexpected and appreciated extras such as soap, shampoo, washing powders etc all little additions which helped towards a stress and hassle free vacation. The LightHouse exceeded our high expectations and although compact met our needs perfectly. It is an ideal location and base for exploring or just for chilling at the beach. The owners have provided excellent services and communications before during and after our stay, they were friendly and reliable and I can only highly recommend The Lighhouse.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay at the Lighthouse

Review submitted: March 19, 2009   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

My wife and I spent the last 2 weeks of February at the Lighthouse...wish it could have been longer. We had a wonderful time, the condo location is great and everything you could possibly need is provided. We hope to return next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

lighthouse review

Review submitted: November 7, 2008   Date of arrival: October 29, 2008

We had a very good time at the lighthouse it was like a home from home.

Tom and Vonne could not have been more helpful.

the location was perfect for us. The swimming pool was lovely.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent quality accomodation

Review submitted: October 30, 2008   Date of arrival: October 12, 2008

Very high level of furnishing.
Many extra thoughtful touches.
Excellently provisioned and maintained.
Very good location - near enough to get to Los Angeles easily but far enough away not to be in the city.
Eexcellent communication from owners and care that we had a good time, with no problems.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great time

Review submitted: September 1, 2008   Date of arrival: August 23, 2008

We (2 = 3 kids) spent a wonderful week at the Lighthouse. It was beautifully located.
I was so impressed that it had EVERYTHING any family member - old or young - needed. From beach chairs for us (parents) to board games for all age levels, nice movie selection and a big bag of sand toys. Everything was there! We loved it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Lighthouse - home from home

Review submitted: August 26, 2008   Date of arrival: August 2, 2008

We spent two fabulous and far too short weeks in SoCal staying at the Lighthouse as a family of four. Our children are 19 and 15 and they really enjoyed their stay. The beaches are fantastic, especially Salt Creek just across the road. The condo is easliy accessible from the main roads up to LA and down to San Diego, though whenever possible we used the Pacific Highway with its glorious views. The condo is superbly equipped and was very clean when we arrived. We'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: August 25, 2008   Date of arrival: August 23, 2008

Our stay at the Lighthouse was wonderful. Vonne and Tom provided everything that we could ever ask for in a unit. Boogieboards, beach towels, games etc all added to the enjoyment of staying in this wonderful condo. We felt like we were right at home. We loved the extra care that we received when we heard from Vonne who wanted to make sure that we were comfortable and happy. The kitchen had everything that you needed to dine in and the beach was wonderful. The property was clean and well maintained. I would definitely recommend this to others who are looking for a relaxing place to stay. We look forward to staying there again on our next Southern California visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Lighthouse

Review submitted: June 26, 2008   Date of arrival: June 14, 2008

We spent an outstanding week at the Lighthouse in Dana Point. Hosts Tom and Vonne provided a clean, convenient, comfortable, generously appointed condo. They pretty much thought of everything! It was perfect for my husband and me and our two daughters. It was nice to NOT have to go out for breakfast and be able to cook whenever we chose (which wasn't often, since we spent every day touring!). They also made themselves very available to us via email and phone and provided us with helpful tourism suggestions as well. The condo was even ready for us to occupy earlier than stated! THANK YOU!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great OC Vacation Headquarters!

Review submitted: May 18, 2008   Date of arrival: May 10, 2008

Wonderful South Orange County location, situated perfectly between Laguna/Newport Beach and South OC/North SD County. This is a comfortable, spacious condo with amenities to spare. The beautiful Salt Creek/Ritz Carlton beach is right across the street with fairly easy access. This ground-floor condo is very kid-friendly, and also great for an adult vacation; not a problem for seniors (no stairs to climb w/luggage). Neighbors are friendly and quiet. Parking was very convenient. Vonne and Tom are wonderful, personable hosts! We're looking forward to staying here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Lighthouse

Review submitted: April 23, 2008   Date of arrival: April 12, 2008

We had a great time at the Lighthouse. It has a great location with easy driving to Disney, Los Angeles, and San Diego. Also has a beautiful beach where you can watch the sun set every night. The Lighthouse was very clean and well maintained. The Lighthouse had everything you needed for a stay at the beach, like beach towels, coolers and even boggie boards to ride the waves. We had the pleasure of meeting the owners who are very nice and accommodating . I hope we have the oppertunity to stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Lighthouse

Review submitted: March 25, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

The Lighthouse was perfect for 5 adults. Very clean, relaxing, had all those special touches.

Lots to do in the area. Sights and shopping were all convenient to get to.

My Marine son had a hard time getting out of bed. He said it was way too comfortable :)

Thank you Tom and Vonne !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent condo

Review submitted: March 4, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

I can only say that words won't describe the wonderful experience we had during our month stay in February at the Lighthouse.

Everything we could possibly need in the condo was provided. The kitchen, bathrooms, bedrooms and living areas were well stocked and lovely. The online descriptions were comprehensive.

The views and location, however, were superb. It was truly only a minute walk to the steps to the beach. You DO get your workout coming back up them!! The proximity to the harbor with it's restaurants and shops was delightful, not to mention the neighboring towns of Laguna, San Juan Capistrano and Laguna Niguel. It was also a great starting point for visiting towns further away.

We wouldn't hesitate to return to our "home away from home" for another winter get away. We miss it already!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 7, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

My sister-in-law and I spent a wonderful week at the Lighthouse in January 2008. Tom and Vonne had thought of everything to make our stay cofortable from the fully-stocked kitchen to the complementary bathroom soaps and shampoos. And these little touches were in addition to the beautiful flat-screened televisions and the warm down comforters. We felt pampered in every way. Best of all, the ocean was just down the hill from the condo and the view from the beach was magnificient. The Lighthouse is a perfect vacation home in a perfect location, and we can't wait to go back again. We can only give this property our most sincere and enthusuastic recommendation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 1, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

The condo was great for the two of us. It was very well equipped for all our needs. Parking was convenient, we enjoyed the view, loved walking on the beach, and we found driving to San Diego and many L.A. area places was easy. Computer use was a very nice bonus.....and the flat screen tv's were super. Not one complaint!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

The Lighthouse was great! Nicely updated and well provisioned. The location was great, convenient to the beach and all the other attractions from San Diego to Los Angeles. Tom and Vonne have thought of just about everything to make for an enjoyable stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 24, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

The condo was really good. Perfect for a good sized family. Well equipped with the necessities. Clean and quiet comfortable. Can not imagine what else you could add!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 4, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

We had the best time! The condo was clean and equipped with everything we could possibly need or want. The location was perfect and we spent a lot of time at the beach. We would definitely recommend the Lighthouse and hope to stay again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 1, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

A perfect base for exploring southern California - comfortable, clean and well equipped - with Vonne and Tom providing great service for a hassle free vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 8, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

We had a wonderful time while staying at the Lighthouse. The place was beautiful and very well equipped. Vonne and Tom thought of absolutely everything. Dana Point was a wonderful location to stay. I would recommend renting the Lighthouse to everyone!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 16, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

I rented the Lighthouse for 1 week for my in-laws who live nearby and were transitioning to their new home. They wanted to stay close by and I was delighted to find this condo for them. Tom & Vonne are splendid hosts. They checked in on them periodically and took great care to make sure my in-laws were well taken care of. Although I did not see the condo personally, I know my in-laws enjoyed the place which seemed quite luxurious with 3 TVs and 2 balaconies, one overlooking the ocean. They needed this little mini vacation to regenerate and Tom & Vonne were the perfect hosts to make this happen. They are great communicators, respond quickly and go the extra mile for their guests. Would highly recommend their place to anyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 2, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

My family and I had an absolutely dreamy vacation in this charming setting. The Lighthouse is so perfectly appointed it is hard to imagine a reason to stay anywhere else when at the beach, especially with kids. The beautiful beach is quintessentially southern California at its best!! We can't wait till next summer!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 21, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

We had a wonderful week at the lighthouse,it is very
comfortable and clean, the owners Tom and Vonne
have taken great care in providing all you need for
a great holiday-its close to the beach which our
boys loved plus we used the community pool a few
times and had it all to ourselves-very nice.We
highly recommend the lighthouse

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 20, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

The lighthouse was is a lovely place to stay,very
well appointed,comfortable and clean.we had a
great holiday our children enjoyed surfing-the
beach is so close and very beautiful.We also
enjoyed the pool ,infact we had it all to
ourselves.Great location-and extra thoughtful
touches added by Tom and Von,make this a v.good
holiday rental.thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 11, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

This is an extremely clean and well appointed beach condo. Everything one needs (and more) has been provided and it is obviously a very well thought out rental. The location is excellent and the owners were very easy to work with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 6, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

We had a really wonderful time at the Lighthouse. The condo is furnished with every convenience, it is really lovely. It is located very centrally, right across the street from a great beach. It was a great week-thanks Tom and Vonnie, we will be back !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 22, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We reserved this condo when someone else had to cancel, and what a find! We thoroughly enjoyed our week-long stay. The neighborhood is gorgeous, safe and quiet, the beach is absolutely lovely and the owners are so sweet! They had everything we needed and more!

Would definitely love to visit again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 13, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

A great find. Stayed for 12 nights in June 2007 and loved the luxurious comfort, all the facilities, the fantastic location so close to the beautiful beach and the feeling of being in a place you can call home. Forget hotels etc. you need to stay here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 2, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

Without a doubt a clean, beautiful, and well equipped Condo. To add to that, the owners are extremely lovely people to work with. It was obvious that they want their guests to be comfortable and enjoy their stay. Attention was give to every nook and cranny in this condo. We had a fabulous time and suggest you try Tom and Vonne's place, you'll be glad you did. You can count on it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 23, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

Great place, they thought of everything, we had a wonderful time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 13, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

My family and I found The Lighthouse to be as described on the website. The accomodation itself was very comfortable, well equipped and well situated for visiting a number of Southern California's main tourist attractions. Communication with Tom & Vonne was handled in a timely and efficient manner.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 31, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

We stayed for 5 weeks at the Lighthouse and we enjoyed everyday of it. It is not only so close to the beach and the 2 patios are having the sunshine either in the morning or throughout the afternoon,the view on the ocean is just great. We were so positive surprised and pleased about the great careing and hospitallity of the owners, they just were great hosts to to us and it will make us coming again. The condo is equipped with everything you may possibly need and it is brandnew. From the first contact until we left we felt treated like friends.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 2, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

Our stay at the Lighthouse was wonderful. It was fresh and clean, there was plenty of space, and we had everything we needed. The owners really went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. They thought of everything as far as equipping the place was concerned and they were a pleasure to rent from. To top it all off, you could eat on the patio with a view of the ocean and walk down to the beach every day!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review