reviews for: listing #315562vb - Playa Grande, Costa Rica rental

Outdoor Living in Absolute Privacy Steps from the Water's Edge
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  15
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Awesome Private House right on the Beach!!

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

Our group of 15 stayed here for 8 nights and absolutely loved it. It is certainly off the beaten path and we loved the seclusion, yet it was a short walk to Tamarindo with all the amenities. the house was well equipped for everyone and the rooms were a good size all with a/c. We had Ana cook our suppers and she was simply amazing. She doesn't speak any English, but we used Google Translate and managed just fine. It was so nice to come home and have an awesome meal prepared that fed our whole group.

the pool was very refreshing and large. It was kept very clean. We loved the outdoor eating area(we ate outside every night). The wifi was excellent. We used Donny with Get Lost in Costa Rica for our excursions and he was excellent. Monkeys right on the property several times.

All in all, it was an amazing vacation and we would love to go back to Casa Velas. It was rustic, authentic Costa Rican, which we loved.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It is a Gem

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2013

Casa Velas is a Costa Rica gem in Playa Grande. We were a group of 15 from ages 6-80 and we just got back from two weeks in Costa Rica. We stayed in three different houses and Casa Velas was our favorite. The house easily fit our group and we did not feel cramped. We loved the outdoor spaces to eat and relax. Being on the ocean and having a lovely pool was delightful. We played in the ocean and enjoyed the quiet beach area. Everyone tried to ride the waves with surf boards and boogie boads rented from Frijoles Locos Surf Shop- www.playagrandesurfshop.com. On the first day there we were lucky to see Howler Monkeys, a Raccoon and a coatimundi all in the same tree on the property. The kids had plenty of crabs and iguanas to keep them busy. We hired Ana to help us with cooking and cleaning and everyone loved her meals and help. We did one tour with Javier Vargas from www.lovingcostarica.com and this is one of the highlights of our entire trip. Javier was prompt, considerate and very personable. He kept us entertained and informed the whole trip to and from Palo Verde. He and the boat driver Luis made sure we saw tons of wildlife and we got up close and personal with Monkeys, Crocodiles and iguanas. We would highly recommend Casa Velas as a place to stay while in Playa Grande and Javier Vargas as a tour guide.

The dirt road to Casa Velas is a little long and bumpy. Tamarindo, a bustling surfing town, is an easy walk through forest path or down the beach but you must either hire a boat ($1 per person) or swim to get across the estuary and our group did both. The hotel Bula Bula and a small market are about a 10 minute walk if you need some supplies or a bar restaurant near by. There are a couple of other beaches just north of Playa Grande that we drove to where the surf was a little calmer but it is best to go near low tide. We had the power go out on us twice thanks to storms so make sure you have flashlights with you. Wifi was inconsistent due to the Internet provider. Hot water was nonexistent in the kitchen.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

My family of 4 and my brother-in-law and his family of 5 stayed here for 10 wonderful days. Ana was an amazing cook and Nova was a huge help with the logistics. We spent most of the time playing on the beach and in the pool, taking runs on the beach (which is a 10k out to the end and back), going into Tamarindo which is so close, yet so far away, which kept the beach in front of the home quiet. I would highly recommend!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Surfing Paradise

Review submitted: May 12, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

A group of friends on a surfing expedition chose Casa Velas because of it's location on Playa Grande. Our stay was fantastic. Ana, the owner, was very helpful, gracious and accommodating in helping us coordinate the trip. Nova, the property manager, was great and Ana, our housekeeper and cook, took very good care of us. She is a fabulous cook. The setting and location were perfect - right on the beach with the surf at our back door, lots of outdoor living space for relaxing and dining, a great pool and comfortable bedrooms. We were a short walk from the ferry to Tamarindo and a beautiful walk along the beach to a good restaurant and bar. We didn't want to leave. Thank you Ana for making your wonderful beach home available to us. Many memories are made here.

Wes

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best vacation spot imaginable

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

We came to Playa Grande with the hopes of seeing Costa Rica and maybe surfing some. My in-laws, and sister-in-law's family came with us - there were 13 of us in total - age ranging from 70 to age 1. We all ADORED casa velas. The house is perfect - open, simple and well designed for all kinds of family time - both together and in smaller groups. there aren't a lot of TVs, which we preferred. It is very clean all the time and all the comforts that you'd want in a high-end hotel in a much more private and serene environment. The outdoor eating areas are sublime. We ate every meal outside and played a lot of cards together when we weren't playing at the beach, surfing or visiting Arenal (4 hours) or Rincon de la Vieja (1.5 hours), which were both amazing.

I cannot say enough good things about Ana and Luis. They were so helpful and Ana's cooking is delicious. She was so flexible and so sweet. We offered to fly her to Boston with us so she could keep cooking for us, and she said yes, but I think Costa Rica is too pretty to leave. Make sure you take advantage of all the great things she can make (the shrimp she made, the lasagna/tortilla dish and the burritos were our favorites). Nova and Chaka were also very helpful - they shopped for us and made sure we had everything we needed.

The house set-up was perfect for us too. It was hard for me to really grasp the fact that 3 bedrooms are in one house and two in the other. The structures are super close to one another and they are both beautiful. And the bathrooms and big and great too. The two house option gave the older kids (13 and 11-yr olds) the chance to have a little bit of independence, but we really all shared the space and it was incredibly comfortable. And we had one crib that we could easily have fit in any of the bedrooms.

I can't say enough good things about the beach and how close you are. I would recommend Casa Velas to almost any combination of travelers - i would go with my girlfriends in a heartbeat, the kids are all dying to go back and my in-laws raved about it too. Casa Velas is somewhat secluded, but if you wanted to get to Tamarindo, you can drive or walk the beach and take a water taxi.

To everyone involved in Casa Velas - I hope you will continue to offer this great property to families and travelers. And most importantly, we hope we can come back and see you all soon! Thank you so much for making our vacation even better than we could have imagined.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

9 happy campers

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

What a wonderful experience from the time we got there to the time we left. The view is awesome! Casa Velas offers the vacationer a great secluded location but close to Tamarindo and with in walking distance to another 3 restaurants. (The great Waltinis in Bula Bula and the pizza place close by for free refills, also a small grocery store. One can swim in the pool, play in the ocean, hang out under the many outdoor shaded areas, or sleep in the hammock. Their are lots to do from touring the estuary, hanging out in Tamarindo, kayaking, playing in the surf, going on a sunset sail ( with the Marlin Del Ray tour- best trip because of their attentivness to the costomer, always their to make your experience enjoyable) ,doing a canopy tour, or just relaxing by the pool or the ocean. And at the end of the day do not miss the great sunsets. The caretakers Ana and Luis were more then helpful. They were always there to meet your needs. Ana is a great cook so have her cook a meal or two for the group. Our group of nine had such a wonderful experience with our travels to Costa Rica, that we hope to come back again. One suggestion is to have your driver from the airport stop by the liquer store and grocery store before getting to the house. This enabled us to have Ana cook the first night and then we had breakfast food for the next day. That way we could enjoy our first night without having to find a restaurant.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Paradise.....

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

It is the second time we rented this paradise. Casa Velas is a bit of heaven. The house is incredibly comfortable to share with family including children. Our kids enjoyed the pool every day, like the sea, which is just steps from the house. And adults spend incredible days because the house has several areas to be relaxed the whole day. Ana the owner is very friendly and attentive making the rental process is really nice. And Ana and Luis, the people caring home, they are incredibly helpful and friendly, always attentive to whatever the guest needs. The delicious food prepared by Ana and her dedication to always have the house clean makes of casa Velas as a five star hotel. It is really a paradise, had a wonderful time and hope to return soon. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

SPECTACULAR!!

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

WOW! This Playa Grande property will not disappoint. Everything was as indicated and the caretakers (Luis and Anna) were wonderful hosts who take great pride in keeping everything ship shape and making sure guest needs are met. The property owner was extremely helpful in advance of our trip and even called on our first evening to make sure all was OK.

The fresh water pool is a real benefit! And it truly is only a few short steps to the beach - we enjoyed long walks in the the morning, playing in the surf and beach combing in the afternoon and watching spectacular sunsets every evening. Having multiple living and eating areas is a treat and we put them to good use; very comfortable for four couples. Tamarindo is a short walk down the beach to the estuary and the water taxis that only cost $1/person. We even hired one to wait for us after a sunset cruise and he patiently waited for a few extra colones!

Finally, we hired Anna as our chef and it made our stay just that much more delightful. She is a tremendous cook, pleasant and flexible. We sure wanted to take her home with us! Bula Bula on Playa Grande has wonderful Pina Colodas!

Our group of 8 all agree, we look forward to returning in a couple years down the line! Thanks for sharing your home with us.

PS: One piece of advice to renters - be sure to get there when it is still light as it is a bit difficult to locate the first time. :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A great family vacation

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

It was our first time in Costa Rica and we were thrilled with our accommodations. It was just what we were looking for - a comfortable home, enough room to disappear if you want to, the perfect location and the most beautiful sunsets. The owner Ana was quite helpful as were Nova and Heinz who helped us with anything we needed. The other Ana, the caretaker of the property also cooked us the most wonderful, fresh and delicious meals. The loaction of the home is a short walk/ bikeride from the local market making a car unnecessary, and if you want to go into town, you are a short water taxi to Tamirindo. We would recommend Casa Velas to all our friends looking for a laid back beach vacation. And we hope to return soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Jane/Granbury Tx

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

Exceptional space, comfortable, open, private and perfect location on Playa Grande. I am so glad we were here with family to enjoy "the something for everyone" space. Beautifully laid out to supply community areas and bedrooms with personal privacy. My sister's comment on the last day reflects the mood of the group...her only regret for the week was that she had not spent more time in the tiki area. We were cool and comfortable at night and sleeping was, well, an altered state, completely restful. Anna provided lovely meals and tended to our towel needs and kept the place clean and orderly. We even had entertainment provided, the Halloween crabs were on the move from the forest to the shore to lay eggs. What a privilege to watch this process!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolute Paradise!!

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

Having never been to Costa Rica before we were unsure of what to expect. Casa Velas was the most amazing experience for our family and relatives. Ana, the owner, was so extremely helpful and put us in touch with all the right people. And Ana and Luis, who take care of the property, were simply amazing. We had Ana make breakfast and dinner for us each day and life was simply relaxing to the fullest. We had to return to Texas but we for sure left our hearts in Playa Grande and can not wait to return!!! The house was kept so clean and organized it was just a dream. Thank you so much Ana, Ana and Luis! We miss you already.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

We had an absolute great time while staying at Casa Velas, we had 2 families with 11 people, the house, pool and beach were fabulous. Anna and Louis kept the place clean and made us feel safe, Anna cooked very good meals. The weather was great and waves good for beginner surfing. We had surfing instructors from the PGSC (Playa Grande Surf Camp) and they were great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Bedbugs and roaches

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

We left after three nights of a week's stay when my wife found two HUGE cockroaches scurrying out of her makeup kit in the bathroom. This, after fighting biting insects outside, and ants, scorpions,and roaches inside-- plus finding bedbugs in our bed-- prompted us to move to a hotel up the road that also has beach access. House has no screens and the A/C in the bedrooms only--you freeze at night (no blankets provided)--while living room area is hot and stifling. Kitchen is difficult and dated--no dishwasher, no storage space, refrigerator is many steps away in the dining area--plus the resident ants and roaches. It is an hour roundtrip to the nearest supermarket, very inconvenient. We were disappointed, would not recommend this property....

Owners response: Rob:
I don't understand why you are saying this. You know it is not true.
I have the note you signed the day you left, upon receiving the $500 security deposit, (which should have been used to pay for the 6 extra people that stayed at no extra cost), where you express your complete satisfaction regarding your stay at Casa Velas.
Not only did you stay the whole of the 6 days, but you had friends, that were staying at a nearby hotel, come over and spend every single day at the villa, only leaving in the evenings to sleep at their hotel. When I asked you why you said, and I quote: " because you have the best place in all of Playa Grande".
The maximum capacity for Casa Velas is 15 people. Our rental agreement was for 10 or 12 max. Your group upon arrival was 24 !!!!!! Of course there was not enough room for all, so some went to a hotel the next day. Nevertheless, six extra people stayed and when I called you, at Casa Velas' keeper's request ( I was away at my son's graduation in Boston), you denied that there were so many people.
I thought you were happy since I allowed the extra 6 people to stay at no extra cost plus the visitors that arrived during the day because of your difficult attitude and in my desire to avoid conflict.
The only reason I can think of for your continuous attack is that maybe your family and other guests that accompanied you on your vacation were misinformed about what to expect regarding accommodations and you are saving face . . . otherwise I am totally baffled.
I am attaching the note to this e mail for VRBO as proof .
I really do wish you the best,
Ana
Casa Velas

Helpful votes: 7 / 11

 

Exceeded Expectations!

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

After the nine of us had arrived, deposited suitcases, dipped our toes in the pool, and walked 20 yards to the beach, one of us said, "Well, I can see that I'm not going to need to go anywhere for the next week!" Casa Velas is a lovely home that has everything anyone would need to enjoy the beautiful country of Costa Rica. The groundskeeper, Luis, ensured our safety and the cook, Ana, provided excellent meals. The owner was more than willing to answer all of our questions and help us to prepare for our vacation. In addition, she connected us with Randy, who arranged a canopy tour and catamaran cruise for us. I would recommend this property and the guidance of these people to anyone who is planning to visit Costa Rica!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic house and location right on the beach!!

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

We couldn't ask for better accomodation. The house is beautiful and the layout perfect with the beach right out back, a relaxing and well placed cabana area and private pool. We all had a brilliant time staying at Casa Velas and hope to return soon. We highly recommend staying here!!! Thank you Ana!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Oasis!!!

Review submitted: April 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 27, 2011

We have had a wonderful time at beachfront Casa Velas! Here for three nights and all wish we could stay longer. The pics don't do the pool areas and grounds justice. Beautiful and serene, perfect for surfers who want to have easy access to check the surf.

The house is excellent. Everything you could possibly need and more to make it a relaxing stay. Lots of bathrooms which is ideal when travelling with a large group. Very clean. Ana and Luis, the caretakers, were always available onsite if we needed anything, anytime. Ana kindly prepared some meals for us and it was fantastic!

Ana the owner is wonderful and helped us with transport and anything we needed as well. What more can I say...you have access to Tamarindo via the estuary if you need it but if not, the quiet and unpopulated Playa Grande is a place where you can truly relax and enjoy the sunshine :) I would recommend to family and friends in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Semana Santa de Pelicula

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

La casa está de Película.. pasamos super bien.. teníamos la playa a 3 pasos, la piscina a 2 pasos, las habitaciones muy buenas con aire acondicionado..

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Translation:
Casa Velas is tops! We had a great time. Three steps and you're at the beach , two and you're in the pool. Beautiful bedrooms fully airconditionned.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect sun, beach and relax vacation place

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

We could not have expected a better vacation than we had in Casa Velas. An amazing twenty-step far beach from the front house door location makes it a perfect spot for those who want to relax and enjoy a beautiful sunset, a few steps from the comfort of a perfect vacation place. People in charge of the house are very nice too. Strongly recommend it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excelente ubicación, muy limpio, la casa está totalmente equipada con todo lo necesario para pasar u

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

La casa fue un sueño hecho realidad, disfrutamos muchísimo, la recomiendo 100 %. Logramos descansar, desconectarnos de la rutina diaria y divertirnos con la hermosa playa que tiene a unos pocos pasos, particularmente yo surfeo y es tremendo spot para surfear, las olas son increíbles y lo mejor de todo es que los bañistas que no practican el deporte también se pueden bañar!!! Cerca está Tamarindo donde se puede ir de compras o a comer una rica langosta, pescado o lo que gustes, como también hay lugares para darse una buena fiesta playera. Me encantó la casa y sin duda alguna la volvería a rentar con los ojos cerrados!!!!! Felicitaciones a la dueña por mantenerla tan linda como la tiene!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Translation of review:
Casa Velas was a dream come true . We enjoyed it sooo much. I recommend it 100%.
We got to relax, get away from our daily routine and have fun with an amazing beach just steps away. I am a surfer and it's a tremendous spot for surfing. The waves are increadible and the to top it all non surfers can also swim safely!!! Tamarindo is really close by so you can go shopping , dine on a delicious lobster, fish or whatever you please. There are also great places for a beach party. I loved the house and definately rent it again without a doubt.Congratulations to the owners for keeping such a beautiful place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excelente ubicación

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

La casa se encuentra a diez metros de la playa y tiene cerca una tienda para hacer compras, la ubicación de la casa es fantástica.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEAUTIFUL BEACH-HOUSE

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

I spend an amazing vacation at Casa Vela, it´s very close to the beach so you can either enjoy the pool or the ocean within 10 steps!

The house is gorgeous and so comfortable. The property was clean all the time and there were always someone ready to help with anything we needed.

Totally recommended!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so very please that all our guests at CasaVelas always leave with beautiful memories of a great experience . Love life and enjoy it !!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review