reviews for: listing #31593 - Puerto Morelos, Yucatan Condo rental

Peaceful Oceanfront Paradise--100 Feet from Caribbean!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Caribbean Reef Villa
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $120 - $160 /nt
    $750 - $995 /wk

sort by:

A really nice stay at Caribbean Reef

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

First, I apologize for all the mistakes as English is not my langage.

With my husband and daughter, we were there for 3 weeks and we really enjoy the place and the condo. It was exactly what we need.

The bed was confortable, we appreciate the big water bottles and it was really clean. Enough room for us 3, probably ok for 4 too. Cooking ustensils were minimum but ok.

The staff, specially Marlene and Fernando, were very kind and helpful.

We found the ocean not so beautiful for swimming (but beautiful to watch it by our balcony), much rocks and not clear for snorkeling while we where there, not to much to see anyway. But, it was ok for shorts swims and we passed all our days just on the beach at the palapa that we enjoy to don’t have to « fight » to get one! We went some time in town, just in front of the hotel "Ojo de Agua" to do snorkeling and we take a tour to the reef one time.

Pool is wonderful.

The walking to the town was about 20 min, we walked to get there but we always took a cab for coming back at night as it's not really a nice walk and it is dark. My husband rent a bike in town so he was able to do the shopping in town every day. There is one grocery, a fruit and vegetables strores (they make delicious juices), the fishermen's coop, and on the third street, a man that we call him "mister freeze" as he sold all frozen (fish, meat).

Generaly, we enjoy everything, , the place is really beautiful and quiet.


Jocelyne Parent, Val-David, Québec

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words Jocelyne. We hope you can come back soon. And, by the way, your English is great!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great time in Puerto Morelos

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this charming condo for about a week. The property is beautiful and well maintained. The unit is spacious especially for just the two of us. Would be comfortable with four or five people for sure. The only downside to the unit was the mattress in the master bedroom. it was as hard as a rock. We switched to the Murphy bed in the living room and it was actually pretty comfortable. If there were not the option of a different bed, I may be writing a slightly different review. My suggestion to the owners would be to update that mattress and the condo would be perfect.

The pool was wonderful, the view was great as well. We watched pelicans diving for fish in the ocean. The ocean beach itself is pretty rocky. We did not swim in the ocean, rather we went scuba diving and explored other beaches. For me this was not a problem at all, but may be an issue for others.

The condo is in a pretty secluded area. very quiet and not many people around at all. Great for people seeking to get away from the huge tourist traps and noise of Cancun or Playa. This feature was probably the most important to me as I've stayed previously in Cancun and really hate obnoxious tourists. with that said, you really should have a car or bicycle if you want to enjoy the town of Puerto Morelos. The town is walkable, but it can get very hot and you probably don't want to walk this stretch every day. We rented a car and had a great time. I believe you can rent bikes in town for farely cheap as another option.

The town itself is very charming with many great restaurants. Our favorites: Chimichuris, Los Gauchos, and a great BBQ chicken and ribs shack down the street from Wet Set Scuba (hotel de Ojos).

The staff on hand were excellent. Armando, the night watchman was very helpful and pleasant especially when we had to check in late at night.

Overall I would give this place 4 stars. If the bed was better it would be five stars. If I stay in puerto again I would definitely consider this condo again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Deb and I are glad you enjoyed our condo and the Puerto Morelos area. We know the mattress is firm and it should have had a mattress pad on it. We will be replacing the mattress soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great time, beautiful location

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 4, 2011

we absolutely LOVED pureto morelos...a jewel is an apt description of the town, it's people, restaurants and services. the condo is well maintained with acceptable appointments and equipment...the beach is nice, rocky in the water...nicer swimming at town beaches and the all inclusive down the road! had a wonderful, relaxing time...property manager extremely helpful

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Tranquility and beauty

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

The condo is perfect! VERY roomy, updated, well-kept and peaceful. If you want to get away from it all and have tranquility, this is the place for you. Quiet and peaceful.
The pool is gorgeous and the view amazing. We did not venture in the ocean too much as the oceanbed is a bit rocky here and there but a dip in the infinity pool with the ocean just feet away is all you need.
Puerto Morelos is a perfect little town. Very friendly locals, fantastic food at unbelievable prices. We had absolutely no concerns about safety and walked through town and on the beach at night with no worries. A hidden gem.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 29, 2011

Thank you for sharing your beautiful condo. We had an absolute perfect week. We felt like we had our own private paradise, the pool and beach are so quite and relaxing. The residents in the other units were so friendly and gave great tips on things to do and great places to eat. We loved Puerto Morelos and the wonderful low key vibe. Our 17 year old daughter loved the hammock on the patio, she spent a lot of time out there "chilling". Thanks again, it was a great break from Minnesota winter. Todd, Deb and Kenzie

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Going Next Year Again.

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 23, 2011

We have stayed in this particular unit two years in a row, and we'll be back again in 2012. Condo is clean, spacious, and the management and staff are excellent. Definitely feels like your home away from home...very relaxing, no hub-bub like the Hotel Zone in Cancun. This is the place to go for a nice pool, snorkeling, walks along the beach and into town. Plus, it is a good jumping off point if you want to travel further south for a day at Xel Ha, Xplore, Playa del Carmen, etc.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank your for your nice comments, Tom. Please come back to Puerto Morelos and enjoy the area anytime.
Regards,
Mike & Deb

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect for a quiet getaway

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

We stayed here for almost a week in March and loved this place. The condo was clean and well-equipped - books, games, linens, fresh water, community information, and more. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, and the other residents were also friendly (but not in any way intrusive). The hot tub did not work, and apparently hasn't for some time, but we did not miss it. The ocean is so close and so beautiful that it didn't matter.

We did not do any touristy things, although we understood that Tulum was close. Our goal was to relax and enjoy the break, and Puerto Morelos was perfect for that.

The walk to town is quick and enjoyable and we felt very safe walking to and from at all times of day. There are more food options than you will know what to do with in town, and everyone is kind and helpful. Do not miss Tio's, despite its outward appearance. They had the best fish tacos I have ever had in my life - and also the hottest salsa :)

It really was a delight to visit Puerto Morelos. We can't say enough nice things about the condo itself or our time there.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Brian and Becca for your nice comments! Please come back and enjoy anytime.
Mike & Deb

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review