reviews for: listing #3163 - Lake Murray, South Carolina House rental

Lake Murray Vacation Cottage with 500 Feet of Waterfront
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $350 - $950 /wk

sort by:

Excellent get away!

Review submitted: May 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

My husband and I are locals and were looking for a place that allowed us to get away from it all while still staying close to work. This cottage was perfect! The lot is huge and it's almost like having your very own lake. The cottage is rustic yet clean and still pet friendly. All of the appliances were in working order and the beds were super comfortable. The dock is amazing! I am an absolute novice at fishing but still managed to catch a good number of fish. There is a built in picnic table mid-dock with an umbrella that offers much needed shade. After an evening of fun on the lake we grilled out on the gas grill and then roasted marshmallows over the fire-pit. I hope you enjoy the cottage as much as we did!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Enjoyed the stay

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

The picture of the land is very accurate. It is a really nice place with a nice view. We really enjoyed our stay here. My mother & 2 daughters travelled with us this trip. Rick was very responsive to any of our needs. he provided extra gas cans so that we could keep our jet skis fueled witout having to take them out of the water to refill.

We would definetly visit again. However, the futons are not in very good shape and no one could really sleep on them so we wont be able to come with the extended family. (I have 2 sons also) Also, the ramp into the water is breaking up and hard on the feet.

Overall , I thik this is a great place for a vacation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Third Time's a Charm

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

This is the 3nd visit we have made to Rick's place and it was great. We brought our boat up again and had a blast. We went out 4-5 hours every day. After a few days our 2 Labs finally got worn out from jumping of the dock and swimming back to the yard. When our stay was over Rick was nice enough to drive my truck to the boat landing and helped me load up the boat. We hope to come back again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Jim & Abby,

I look forward to your visit each year. I especially enjoy your "girls", since I also own a Lab. I am sure they had a great vacation, and probably slept all the way home!

I hope you will come back and visit with us again next year.

Rick

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Great lakeside vacation spot.

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

The property is large, quiet and well maintained. The owner went out of his way to see that our stay was enjoyable. If you want to go Striper fishing, he is the man to call. My Grandkids said this vacation was the best and are ready to go back. I took my own boat and we spent a lot of time on the water. Lake Murry is beautiful. We will try to return again in the near future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: I really enjoyed your visit, and your Grandson is a "quick study" as far as teaching him to land a good fish. I hope his leg heals properly, and he does not have future problems with it.

I hope you will come back and visit with us next year.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Once again, we had a great time. The kids, dog, friends, and me. Fishing is always excellent and secluded area made it great for the kids with the tube and jet ski's. We always look forward to going back.
Rick is always a great host, and extremely helpful.

Rick

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Jtodd's Review

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 8, 2011

I have stayed here twice and have enjoyed my stay each time. The description is right on and the property is clean. Customer service is the best you will find anywhere. This place has more lake front shore than you could possibly use. I think you will find a game called corn whole on the porch. This will occupy allot of your time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: J Todd,

Emily is a "keeper"!! Congratulations on your marriage! I wish your Dad and Mother had been able to come. They are "special people" and I value their friendship.

I hope you will come back and visit with us again the next time you have a tournament at Lake Murray.

Rick

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

won't be back

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Immediately upon arrival we could see the pictures were inaccurate. The place is poorly maintained, overgrown and the kitchen amenities were downright nasty! There were cobwebs and dead bugs all over the main door entrance to the cabin and outside porch. The covered carport had junk everywhere. The owner showed up several times unannounced and drove right across the property while we were outside drinking our morning coffee. The kitchen was the worst. We had to wash everything before we used it and the cooking implements were disgusting. I would not recommend staying there to anyone.

Owners response: In the past 10 years we have had over 350 guests visit our property, and this is the first negative response we have received. All of the inside photos were taken earlier this year. The dock photo is not current as we have replaced most of the treated lumber, upgraded the hand rails, and added a 12 foot market umbrella in place of the previous awning. We remove spider webs and blow off the carport and deck prior to each guest’s arrival. We try to touch base with our guests on a daily basis to see if they need anything. This guest said everything was fine, each time we checked with them. The carport has a grill, trash/recycle containers, spare propane tanks, 6 chairs, and a fishing rod rack. We also keep a spare boat battery, an extension cord, and spare life jackets on the carport. I did drive across the property one morning in my golf cart to check the trash can on the dock. We check all of the dishes, flatware, cooking utensils, and most of the pots & pans every week. Please read the rest of our Guest’s comments. We really strive to make all of our guests feel at home.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

We spent 2 1/2 months in SC coldest winter in decades at Rick's cottage. We loved the gas fireplace and Rick was right there with warm bedding and clothes for our dad to go fishing. For as cold as it was the fishing was great! We loved the area and are looking forward to returning next winter. We have never had such attention at a rental place. Each day Rick checked in on us and asked if we needed anything. Our springer was right at home in the large yard and loved Rick as well. Great guy and great place! You'll love it!
We did!
Dennis and Reeta, Hartford WI

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: November 17, 2009   Date of arrival: November 17, 2009

We really enjoyed staying at this cottage. The accomodations were very nice & efficient. Rick was an excellent guide. We definatley highly recommend this place for your visit to the lake.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 28, 2009   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

Great weekend and great rental. I would highly recommend and look forward to a return trip.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 21, 2009   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

My wife and I surely enjoyed our stay at Ricks. The AC was on and the TV was tuned to the football game. I knew I was going to have a great week. Before I knew it Rick was there to answer all of our questions. After we got settled in he also took me to the boat ramp and drove my truck back to the house while I drove the boat back to our dock. I'm you other wives know what a marriage saver that can be. The rest of the was just more of the same.We could not have been happier and we will return.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 21, 2009   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

Hello Rick,

Thanks so much for our wonderful stay in the cottage at Lake Murray. Never have we had accommodations so complete. Not knowing what to expect for our first visit, we packed everything. We never unpacked anything but the food we brought. It seemed someone had left the cottage for perhaps a trip to town and we just moved in.

You were the greatest host- providing fishing information and giving us hints about where on the lake to fish. Since this was our first time on the lake, the information and maps you shared with us were invaluable. We were sure to find fish. While the weather was not the best, we had a blast. We fished day and night and in the rain; but, what's a little rain? The striper fishing trip with you was awesome even in 4-foot waves and 15 mph winds. You made every effort to ensure we caught fish --- and we certainly did.

You were so considerate to leave the cart for us to drive. It was such a help. Thanks also for allowing our dog Ginger to stay with us. She had a great time and loved being on the dock.

Rick, we are so looking forward to returning soon. Our trip to your cottage was one of the best vacations we have ever taken and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to visit.

Regards,
Joe and Jean
Edgemoor, SC

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 4, 2009   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

Rick & Randy,

We have had a wonderful week! Your lake house has been perfect for our families. The boys and Callie have LOVED the dock, which they fished from EVERY day! We adults have enjoyed the rest and relaxation (much needed) your place has provided.

We cannot thank you enough for taking the boys Striper Fishing - that was an experience they will NEVER forget!

Your hospitality and patience has been much appreciated. We look forward to spending time here again!

Thanks again,

The Herring & Rowe Families

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 25, 2009   Date of arrival: June 25, 2009

Each year we have a Five Brothers Reunion somewhere in the U.S. to fish, play cards and catch up on our lives. This year we met at Rick's Lake Murray Cottage and had a great time. Captain Rick took us out to show us where and how to fish for Stripers. He's a great teacher because we caught plenty of fish afterwards. This is a fantastic lake with a lot of nice fish, clean water and pretty shorelines. So the fishing part of our annual reunion was a big success.

The accomodations were an equal success with lots of room for sleeping and lounging around inside, out on the deck or down at the dock.

We had such a great time we are planning to be back next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 10, 2008   Date of arrival: July 10, 2008

The location was beautiful and the house easily fit 8 people. We enjoyed sitting on the dock at night with a citronella candle. We've never seen a home more carefully tended, as we saw Rick almost every day! The highlight of the visit was the pontoon with the tube. We had a fun time out on the lake. I only wish we could have caught more fish.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 13, 2008   Date of arrival: May 13, 2008

My wife and I had a wonderful time at what we call "the lake cottage." I especially enjoyed the fishing time and catches with Rick--it was fun, reasonable and successful. He knows where the fish are likely to be! My wife especially appreciated the cleanliness of the cottage. This is a great opportunity to visit our young grandchildren, they loved it there too.We plan to return next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 13, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

My wife and I had a wonderful time at what we call "the lake cottage." I especially enjoyed the fishing time and catches with Rick--it was fun, reasonable and successful. He knows where the fish are likely to be! My wife especially appreciated the cleanliness of the cottage. This is a great opportunity to visit our young grandchildren, they loved it there too.We plan to return next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 6, 2008   Date of arrival: May 6, 2008

Thank you very much for sharing your expertise in striper fishing. The four of us enjoyed the fishing. (Though the catching might have been better--oh well, that's the way with fish!!) The cottage was well equipped and very comfortable. The pontoon worked flawlessly, but in retrospect, I should have reserved the big jon boat. It is more maneuverable. We could have done some bass fishing. We might try to schedule some time later this year or next. Thanks again.

Bill

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 6, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

Thank you very much for sharing your expertise in striper fishing. The four of us enjoyed the fishing. (Though the catching might have been better--oh well, that's the way with fish!!) The cottage was well equipped and very comfortable. The pontoon worked flawlessly, but in retrospect, I should have reserved the big jon boat. It is more maneuverable. We could have done some bass fishing. We might try to schedule some time later this year or next. Thanks again.

Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 12, 2007   Date of arrival: October 12, 2007

For the 10 years we've been married, my husband and I have gone to the beach for our vacations. My husband, Steve, loves to fish, so I thought, I'd be a good wife and we could spend a week fishing and I could probably stand it. I found Rick's fantasic lakefront property on line and let me tell you - I had one of my best vacations ever! The house was perfect..it had everything anyone could need in a home, as well as a beautiful view of the lake. We fished for largemouths almost all day everyday,and although I didn't catch much, just being on that beautiful lake was so awesome! Steve did catch plenty and he was in Heaven! The weather was perfect too. One day we rented the pontoon boat - what a great day that was on the lake! But I have to say, the highlight of the whole week for me was when Rick took us out stripper fishing.(And he even cleaned out fish) I had a blast!! AND I caught the biggest fish of all (true story). I can't say enough about Rick. As soon as you meet him, you feel like you've been friends for years. He was fun, helpful, and did everything to make sure we were comfortable and had a good time. If you want a perfect, relaxing vacation, you just HAVE to stay in one of Rick's lake houses. I can't describe how wonderfuld Rick, the house, the lake and whole experience was. Steve is already talking about when we go back, and believe me - we will go back! Thanks for everything Rick. Hope all is well with you and Randi.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 12, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

For the 10 years we've been married, my husband and I have gone to the beach for our vacations. My husband, Steve, loves to fish, so I thought, I'd be a good wife and we could spend a week fishing and I could probably stand it. I found Rick's fantasic lakefront property on line and let me tell you - I had one of my best vacations ever! The house was perfect..it had everything anyone could need in a home, as well as a beautiful view of the lake. We fished for largemouths almost all day everyday,and although I didn't catch much, just being on that beautiful lake was so awesome! Steve did catch plenty and he was in Heaven! The weather was perfect too. One day we rented the pontoon boat - what a great day that was on the lake! But I have to say, the highlight of the whole week for me was when Rick took us out stripper fishing.(And he even cleaned out fish) I had a blast!! AND I caught the biggest fish of all (true story). I can't say enough about Rick. As soon as you meet him, you feel like you've been friends for years. He was fun, helpful, and did everything to make sure we were comfortable and had a good time. If you want a perfect, relaxing vacation, you just HAVE to stay in one of Rick's lake houses. I can't describe how wonderfuld Rick, the house, the lake and whole experience was. Steve is already talking about when we go back, and believe me - we will go back! Thanks for everything Rick. Hope all is well with you and Randi.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 3, 2007   Date of arrival: August 3, 2007

We had a wonderful time at your Lake Home in July this summer. I cannot say enough about how wonderful it was, and how it felt like a home away from home. Two weeks just didn't seem long enough. We look forward to returning again someday.
~The Duncan Gang~ Bill, Laurie, Amanda, Nick, Steven, & even Casey (who loved to jump from the dock)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 3, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

We had a wonderful time at your Lake Home in July this summer. I cannot say enough about how wonderful it was, and how it felt like a home away from home. Two weeks just didn't seem long enough. We look forward to returning again someday.
~The Duncan Gang~ Bill, Laurie, Amanda, Nick, Steven, & even Casey (who loved to jump from the dock)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 1, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Rick:

Thanks again for a wonderful stay at Lake Murray. The "Big" house was comfortable, clean and well supplied with all the amenities and sundry items we could ask for or need. Like you say, just bring yourself and a grocery bag and everything is here for your enjoyment. The property is quiet and peaceful for a relaxing week of R&R. We look forward to vacationing at Burkes Landing again next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 1, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Rick:

Thanks again for a wonderful stay at Lake Murray. The "Big" house was comfortable, clean and well supplied with all the amenities and sundry items we could ask for or need. Like you say, just bring yourself and a grocery bag and everything is here for your enjoyment. The property is quiet and peaceful for a relaxing week of R&R. We look forward to vacationing at Burkes Landing again next year!

Owners response: Bill,

I always enjoy your family's visit and I hope you continue to return. Your wife leaves my house in excellent condition, and I always tell my wife and cleaning service "we won't have to do much with this one!". Hope you have a great year and fuel prices come down some!

Best to you and yours,

Rick

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 31, 2007   Date of arrival: July 31, 2007

We were very comfortable and felt safe at Rick's house. Rick was available but not overbearing, and the house was very well stocked. We enjoyed fishing and swimming right off the dock. Thanks for an enjoyable week, Rick!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 31, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We were very comfortable and felt safe at Rick's house. Rick was available but not overbearing, and the house was very well stocked. We enjoyed fishing and swimming right off the dock. Thanks for an enjoyable week, Rick!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 26, 2007   Date of arrival: June 26, 2007

Great getaway for R & R after working in Kuwait. Family love the place especially fishing on the dock's. Well worth the price. Will schedule another annual reunion with my son's and daughter next
year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 26, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

Great getaway for R & R after working in Kuwait. Family love the place especially fishing on the dock's. Well worth the price. Will schedule another annual reunion with my son's and daughter next
year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2007   Date of arrival: February 2, 2007

We enjoyed our stay in Oct of 2006 so very much that we would like to return the end of april 2007 with our daughter and husband. Rick, your hospitality exceeded our expectation. The accommodation were perfect and we enjoyed the relaxing environment. You provided everything we needed to make this an unforgetable stay. Our dogs, Sandi (blind) and Oliver enjoyed the walks just as much as we did.
We hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 2, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

We enjoyed our stay in Oct of 2006 so very much that we would like to return the end of april 2007 with our daughter and husband. Rick, your hospitality exceeded our expectation. The accommodation were perfect and we enjoyed the relaxing environment. You provided everything we needed to make this an unforgetable stay. Our dogs, Sandi (blind) and Oliver enjoyed the walks just as much as we did.
We hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 9, 2007   Date of arrival: January 9, 2007

We truly enjoyed our visit to Lake Murray and your lovely home. Canoeing the lake was great fun! Emma and Remington, our dogs, had a great time. What a truly beautiful and relaxing place. The weather was really nice especially for January. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable. We hope to come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 9, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

We truly enjoyed our visit to Lake Murray and your lovely home. Canoeing the lake was great fun! Emma and Remington, our dogs, had a great time. What a truly beautiful and relaxing place. The weather was really nice especially for January. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable. We hope to come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 19, 2006   Date of arrival: September 19, 2006

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your cabin. Everything was neat and clean and your hospitality was wonderful! We look forward to renting from you again next summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 19, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your cabin. Everything was neat and clean and your hospitality was wonderful! We look forward to renting from you again next summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 17, 2006   Date of arrival: September 17, 2006

We really enjoyed our stay and Rick could not have made things any easier. The house,location on the lake and the boat made everything so easy. The fish could have cooperated better,but then again we aren't experts or bassmasters. We would certainly do it again. The relaxation thing was most important and we got plenty of that.
Hat's off to Rick!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 17, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

We really enjoyed our stay and Rick could not have made things any easier. The house,location on the lake and the boat made everything so easy. The fish could have cooperated better,but then again we aren't experts or bassmasters. We would certainly do it again. The relaxation thing was most important and we got plenty of that.
Hat's off to Rick!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 16, 2006   Date of arrival: June 16, 2006

Rick,
We all had an absolute blast at your place last week. The weather was tolerable,the cottage was great and Donna and I celebrated our 30th anniversary while there.
I really appreciated the time you took from your busy schedule to show us the proper way to entice stripers. Maybe next year I will land the monster.
Again, thanks for all you did,hope to see ya next summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 16, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

Rick,
We all had an absolute blast at your place last week. The weather was tolerable,the cottage was great and Donna and I celebrated our 30th anniversary while there.
I really appreciated the time you took from your busy schedule to show us the proper way to entice stripers. Maybe next year I will land the monster.
Again, thanks for all you did,hope to see ya next summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 27, 2006   Date of arrival: April 27, 2006

I don't like to write, but for Rick I'll make an exception. I've owned property by Bowman for 10 years,I've fished the Santee Cooper for longer than that and I've always enjoyed it.I caught only 1 stripper in that time, it weighed around 7 1/2 pounds and was delicious,I've seen many lurking on someones wall in excess of 25 pounds but never caught one that size. This was the first time i've ever tried Lake Murray, and I really like it.When I dream about fishing, the water, the cabin, the weather,the fish.it's almost identicle to Rick's place.Rick's a veteran in so many ways,I first found that out when he called me after I e-mailed his listing,he did all he could to make sure we got there okay and that we were accomadated once we arrived,he taught us how to fish and where to fish, we didn't take any fish home because we ate them, about ten, except for Jerry's largemouth and Mike's crappie,I tried to tell Denise to mount her stripper and now she regrets that she didn't.the other two are at the taxidermist who Rick found us.I'm just sad I don't have my Stripper,it has to be 25 pounds plus for a mount,I did loose one that might have been that big! don't get me wrong, I am a sportsmen, if I shoot a deer and it's too small, I through it back.Just kidding peta! Rick was a great host and I consider a friend, I'm just trying to figure out how to get him and Randy to adopt me.Oh yea,the house and pier were great too, and Rick puts up with a lot.See you soon Rick. Thanks DiQui, Your Son, Larry.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 27, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

I don't like to write, but for Rick I'll make an exception. I've owned property by Bowman for 10 years,I've fished the Santee Cooper for longer than that and I've always enjoyed it.I caught only 1 stripper in that time, it weighed around 7 1/2 pounds and was delicious,I've seen many lurking on someones wall in excess of 25 pounds but never caught one that size. This was the first time i've ever tried Lake Murray, and I really like it.When I dream about fishing, the water, the cabin, the weather,the fish.it's almost identicle to Rick's place.Rick's a veteran in so many ways,I first found that out when he called me after I e-mailed his listing,he did all he could to make sure we got there okay and that we were accomadated once we arrived,he taught us how to fish and where to fish, we didn't take any fish home because we ate them, about ten, except for Jerry's largemouth and Mike's crappie,I tried to tell Denise to mount her stripper and now she regrets that she didn't.the other two are at the taxidermist who Rick found us.I'm just sad I don't have my Stripper,it has to be 25 pounds plus for a mount,I did loose one that might have been that big! don't get me wrong, I am a sportsmen, if I shoot a deer and it's too small, I through it back.Just kidding peta! Rick was a great host and I consider a friend, I'm just trying to figure out how to get him and Randy to adopt me.Oh yea,the house and pier were great too, and Rick puts up with a lot.See you soon Rick. Thanks DiQui, Your Son, Larry.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 3, 2006   Date of arrival: April 3, 2006

My wife and I just got home from one of the best vacations we have had in a long time and Rick played a major role in seeing that happened. The cottage was so comfortable and the location was fantastic. The place is everything it is described to be on the web site and more. It is one of those places that hugs you when you walk in and lets you know you are welcome to be there. Rick went out of his way to make sure all was well with us and helped in so many ways. Right down to making sure everything was possible for our 5 year old grandson to catch his first fish and his papaw caught his first big striper. However, there is one time a year I would not recommend you try to stay here and that is the week my wife and I want the place. (Ha, Ha)

Henry and Janet
Columbus, OH

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 3, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

My wife and I just got home from one of the best vacations we have had in a long time and Rick played a major role in seeing that happened. The cottage was so comfortable and the location was fantastic. The place is everything it is described to be on the web site and more. It is one of those places that hugs you when you walk in and lets you know you are welcome to be there. Rick went out of his way to make sure all was well with us and helped in so many ways. Right down to making sure everything was possible for our 5 year old grandson to catch his first fish and his papaw caught his first big striper. However, there is one time a year I would not recommend you try to stay here and that is the week my wife and I want the place. (Ha, Ha)

Henry and Janet
Columbus, OH

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 6, 2005   Date of arrival: November 6, 2005

We truly enjoyed our visit to Lake Murray. I have to say our dogs loved it as well. What a beautiful and relaxing place. Rick is such a sweatheart-he did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. He truly cares and goes beyond to make sure everything is ok. Can not say even great things about this vacation home and Rick. Our four legged babies loved the lake and home. So much yard for them to roam. Without a doult planned to rent this home again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 6, 2005   Date of arrival: November 1, 2005

We truly enjoyed our visit to Lake Murray. I have to say our dogs loved it as well. What a beautiful and relaxing place. Rick is such a sweatheart-he did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. He truly cares and goes beyond to make sure everything is ok. Can not say even great things about this vacation home and Rick. Our four legged babies loved the lake and home. So much yard for them to roam. Without a doult planned to rent this home again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 17, 2005   Date of arrival: October 17, 2005

Rick,
could not have found a better place to get away and relax. The cottage was clean and very homey, a great place to stay! Your location is ideal for any lake activity or just relaxation. Thanks for the time and effort in helping us with the fishing guide service and fileting the fish, you went out of your way with just about evrything. I can tell you enjoy your lifestyle there. Will definitely be back for return trip.

Thanks again, Bob & Sue Schaffner

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 17, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

Rick,
could not have found a better place to get away and relax. The cottage was clean and very homey, a great place to stay! Your location is ideal for any lake activity or just relaxation. Thanks for the time and effort in helping us with the fishing guide service and fileting the fish, you went out of your way with just about evrything. I can tell you enjoy your lifestyle there. Will definitely be back for return trip.

Thanks again, Bob & Sue Schaffner

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 16, 2005   Date of arrival: August 16, 2005

If you want a memorable family vacation this is it!
We have 4 children and thoroughly enjoyed our week at Lake Murray.
Highly recommend to rent a pontoon boat to top of the vacation. This property offers a backyard for fishing, toasting marshmallows at night, swimming in the lake, having outdoor picnics, etc. ~
For a real get away that you can make lasting memories for you and your family ~ This is it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 16, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

If you want a memorable family vacation this is it!
We have 4 children and thoroughly enjoyed our week at Lake Murray.
Highly recommend to rent a pontoon boat to top of the vacation. This property offers a backyard for fishing, toasting marshmallows at night, swimming in the lake, having outdoor picnics, etc. ~
For a real get away that you can make lasting memories for you and your family ~ This is it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 14, 2005   Date of arrival: August 14, 2005

Hi Rick, We very much enjoyed your cottage and the use of your boats! The boys had a fun time waterskiing and tubeing. Your place is very peaceful and relaxing, and the lake is just beautiful. We had plenty of room for the whole crew and just about anything you need is there to use. We thank you for being so accommodating to our every need. You were so very helpful and we felt like we were visiting a good friend. We would love to come again in the future and catch some more of those fish! The couple the guys caught were delicious. If you're ever in the Cleveland area, let us know and we'll put a couple of beers on ice for you! Thanks again!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 14, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

Hi Rick, We very much enjoyed your cottage and the use of your boats! The boys had a fun time waterskiing and tubeing. Your place is very peaceful and relaxing, and the lake is just beautiful. We had plenty of room for the whole crew and just about anything you need is there to use. We thank you for being so accommodating to our every need. You were so very helpful and we felt like we were visiting a good friend. We would love to come again in the future and catch some more of those fish! The couple the guys caught were delicious. If you're ever in the Cleveland area, let us know and we'll put a couple of beers on ice for you! Thanks again!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 2, 2005   Date of arrival: May 2, 2005

Four of us old Ret Army Colonels spent a week at Rick's and had a BALL ! The accommodations were comfortable and the fishin' was wonderful. Rick went out of his way to make us feel at home, and we plan to "do it again", next Spring. Thanks, Rick !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 2, 2005   Date of arrival: May 1, 2005

Four of us old Ret Army Colonels spent a week at Rick's and had a BALL ! The accommodations were comfortable and the fishin' was wonderful. Rick went out of his way to make us feel at home, and we plan to "do it again", next Spring. Thanks, Rick !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 3, 2005   Date of arrival: April 3, 2005

We enjoyed our vacation at Rick and Randy's cosy Cottage. Rick could not do enough to be helpful in every way possible. We are highly recommending Rick's cottage to our friends in PA. Everything you would need was there and more. We feel we made several new friends and decided we liked the area so much we plan to live there.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 3, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

We enjoyed our vacation at Rick and Randy's cosy Cottage. Rick could not do enough to be helpful in every way possible. We are highly recommending Rick's cottage to our friends in PA. Everything you would need was there and more. We feel we made several new friends and decided we liked the area so much we plan to live there.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 20, 2005   Date of arrival: February 20, 2005

I've had the unique privilege of staying at Rick and Randy's cottage three times over the past few years. I can't say enough about the accomodations, the location and especially the hospitality.

Not only have we enjoyed each stay immensely, we've also made two very special friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 20, 2005   Date of arrival: February 1, 2005

I've had the unique privilege of staying at Rick and Randy's cottage three times over the past few years. I can't say enough about the accomodations, the location and especially the hospitality.

Not only have we enjoyed each stay immensely, we've also made two very special friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 2, 2004   Date of arrival: December 2, 2004

great lake house, staying there was like visiting a relative, pack lightly most everything you need is already there. great for kids, serious and non serious fishermen. wonderful dock and view. definately the best kept secret on lake murray (so don't tell anyone).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 2, 2004   Date of arrival: December 1, 2004

great lake house, staying there was like visiting a relative, pack lightly most everything you need is already there. great for kids, serious and non serious fishermen. wonderful dock and view. definately the best kept secret on lake murray (so don't tell anyone).

Owners response: Sandy, So nice to meet your family, and look forward to your visit next year.

BUT, personally, I hope people don't keep it a secret, LOL.

Rick

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 1, 2004   Date of arrival: October 1, 2004

Rick,Nancy and I would like to thank you for the wonderful time we had at your Lake Murray cottage.You have a great location on the lake. During the week we had many quest and they all commented on how nice it was. Over the past years we have had the opportunity to spend time at Lake Murray and have enjoyed it so much. I recommend it to everyone and I can't think of a better place to give it a try,than at Rick's place.Again,thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 1, 2004   Date of arrival: October 1, 2004

Rick,Nancy and I would like to thank you for the wonderful time we had at your Lake Murray cottage.You have a great location on the lake. During the week we had many quest and they all commented on how nice it was. Over the past years we have had the opportunity to spend time at Lake Murray and have enjoyed it so much. I recommend it to everyone and I can't think of a better place to give it a try,than at Rick's place.Again,thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 19, 2004   Date of arrival: September 18, 2004

We filled the cottage to capacity coming from Michigan & Florida with ages ranging from 2 to 6?. Rick takes care of your every need from having pop sicles on arrival for the little ones to teaching the older ones how to filet a striper bass. A grand, relaxing time was had by all. Thanks for everything, Rick. The Nelson Clan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 18, 2004   Date of arrival: September 1, 2004

We filled the cottage to capacity coming from Michigan & Florida with ages ranging from 2 to 6?. Rick takes care of your every need from having pop sicles on arrival for the little ones to teaching the older ones how to filet a striper bass. A grand, relaxing time was had by all. Thanks for everything, Rick. The Nelson Clan

Owners response: Carol, Thanks for the kind words. It can be time consuming trying to filet over 20 striped bass in one afternoon, as your clan found out! For most people that is a good problem to have! I enjoyed meeting your family, and hope you will come back and visit us again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 16, 2004   Date of arrival: April 16, 2004

From the moment we arrived until we left we were treated to not only a beautiful cabin and lake but a great host as well. The ammenities are exactly as described (outstanding) and Rick went out of the way to help us with fishing, sightseeing, and relaxing.
A great place to visit. Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 16, 2004   Date of arrival: April 1, 2004

From the moment we arrived until we left we were treated to not only a beautiful cabin and lake but a great host as well. The ammenities are exactly as described (outstanding) and Rick went out of the way to help us with fishing, sightseeing, and relaxing.
A great place to visit. Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 13, 2004   Date of arrival: April 13, 2004

We have stayed at Rick's cabin three different weeks over the last year, and can't wait until we go back! Rick is the best! There when you arrive, there when you leave, and making sure you don't have any problems in between. The cabin comfortably houses our fishing party of eight. The kitchen is well equiped so we have no problems preparing all the food we take with us. Rick also makes sure that the grille is never out of propane. A great place to fish and a great place to stay! Thanks Rick for everything and say hi to Rascal (the camp dog) for us!

The Little Hocking Gang!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 13, 2004   Date of arrival: April 1, 2004

We have stayed at Rick's cabin three different weeks over the last year, and can't wait until we go back! Rick is the best! There when you arrive, there when you leave, and making sure you don't have any problems in between. The cabin comfortably houses our fishing party of eight. The kitchen is well equiped so we have no problems preparing all the food we take with us. Rick also makes sure that the grille is never out of propane. A great place to fish and a great place to stay! Thanks Rick for everything and say hi to Rascal (the camp dog) for us!

The Little Hocking Gang!

Owners response: I always look forward to my good friends from Ohio coming for a fishing visit. I learn from them, and just once in a while, I teach them something!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 8, 2004   Date of arrival: April 8, 2004

I have been to Ricks place twice now and both times were wonderful. My wife and I went down for our honeymoon and Rick greeted us with flowers and champagne. Rick made sure that we were comfortable, which made our stay very enjoyable. The location is excellent and the cottage has everything that one may need. During my second stay my Father and I came down to do some fishing. Once again Rick was very hospitable and even gave us tips on where to fish, as well as provided us with lake maps. We had a problem with our boat and Rick was kind enough to take time out of his busy day to assist us in getting the boat back to the cottage. I will definitely return to Rick's cottage in the future, as it is a great place to stay and Rick couldn't be a better host.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 8, 2004   Date of arrival: April 1, 2004

I have been to Ricks place twice now and both times were wonderful. My wife and I went down for our honeymoon and Rick greeted us with flowers and champagne. Rick made sure that we were comfortable, which made our stay very enjoyable. The location is excellent and the cottage has everything that one may need. During my second stay my Father and I came down to do some fishing. Once again Rick was very hospitable and even gave us tips on where to fish, as well as provided us with lake maps. We had a problem with our boat and Rick was kind enough to take time out of his busy day to assist us in getting the boat back to the cottage. I will definitely return to Rick's cottage in the future, as it is a great place to stay and Rick couldn't be a better host.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 9, 2004   Date of arrival: February 9, 2004

We stayed with Rick in October last year and had a
great time. Even with the lake down we were
swimming off the dock and took the pontoon boat
for a tour of the lake. Rick and his wife couldn't
have been more helpful. We have two small kids
and there was plenty of room for them to run
around and also very safe.
We only stayed a week and I wish it had been
longer. A beautiful spot and great hosts.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 9, 2004   Date of arrival: February 1, 2004

We stayed with Rick in October last year and had a
great time. Even with the lake down we were
swimming off the dock and took the pontoon boat
for a tour of the lake. Rick and his wife couldn't
have been more helpful. We have two small kids
and there was plenty of room for them to run
around and also very safe.
We only stayed a week and I wish it had been
longer. A beautiful spot and great hosts.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 6, 2004   Date of arrival: January 6, 2004

This cottage is everything you would want as a lakeside vacation rental. It has so many extras: huge property, privacy, large dock with lights and tables, fully furnished kitchen, washer, dryer...you don't have to bring a thing except your bathing suit. We have a dog (Lab)that is our baby and he was as much at home as we were. That meant a lot to us. He swam as much as we did. Rick is the perfect host and has thought of everything to make this the perfect gettaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 6, 2004   Date of arrival: January 1, 2004

This cottage is everything you would want as a lakeside vacation rental. It has so many extras: huge property, privacy, large dock with lights and tables, fully furnished kitchen, washer, dryer...you don't have to bring a thing except your bathing suit. We have a dog (Lab)that is our baby and he was as much at home as we were. That meant a lot to us. He swam as much as we did. Rick is the perfect host and has thought of everything to make this the perfect gettaway.

Owners response: Jack and Darlene,

Thanks for your feedback, and I look forward to seeing you in May again this year. We'll see if we can't help Jack catch that monster Striper!

Best regards,

Rick

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 19, 2003   Date of arrival: December 19, 2003

The vacation cabin was just wonderful on a gorgeous section of the lake. The views were spectacular. Our visit was in the winter and fires in the fireplace made the atmosphere just perfect. Almost everything one could need was provided and the owner was most accomodating. A return visit is a must.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 19, 2003   Date of arrival: December 1, 2003

The vacation cabin was just wonderful on a gorgeous section of the lake. The views were spectacular. Our visit was in the winter and fires in the fireplace made the atmosphere just perfect. Almost everything one could need was provided and the owner was most accomodating. A return visit is a must.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 4, 2003   Date of arrival: August 4, 2003

Rick,
Thank you very much for being so kind and helpful. We had the "BEST" Vacation ever. We both have said we miss the Lake House. Good luck fishing...Catch my BIG fish that got away!!

Thanks for everything, Jay and Sherry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 20, 2003   Date of arrival: May 20, 2003

Rick,

Thanks so much for being such a gracious host and making our stay at Lake Murray so pleasurable. The serenity of the lake was exactly what we had hoped for. The lakehouse was wonderful, clean, and well stocked. You went over and above the call. Anna and Dallas had a big time and slept all the way to Georgia.

Thanks again and we have given your name to several people looking for a place to get away. Thanks for allowing the pups to have a vacation, too.

Love,

Bill and Dar Long

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 22, 2002   Date of arrival: July 22, 2002

We had a great vacation at Lake Murray. We enjoyed the quiet, relaxed pace. The cottage was lovely. It offered all of the amenities of a hotel or resort. Rick saw to all of our needs. The boat rental is a must! We can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 22, 2002   Date of arrival: July 1, 2002

We had a great vacation at Lake Murray. We enjoyed the quiet, relaxed pace. The cottage was lovely. It offered all of the amenities of a hotel or resort. Rick saw to all of our needs. The boat rental is a must! We can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 14, 2002   Date of arrival: July 14, 2002

Our stay at Rick's Lake Murray cottage was extremely enjoyable. We really liked the fact that the house was located in a quiet area where you can sleep late if you want to. We enjoyed the fact that the dock was in excellent shape and we could climb on our bass boat to fish Lake Murray any time we wanted. Our host, Rick, even set up a camp fire for us and we were able to sit and watch the stars right on the shore of the lake and roasted marshmellows. We brought our own bass boat and were able to fish every day, even caught some stripers. I hate to keep saying we enjoyed, we enjoyed, but we also enjoyed the large 2-bedroom 2-bath house (especially since it had a washer, dryer and dishwasher). We had a great time during the week we stayed there, and I can't say enough nice things about Rick!!

Pat & Tom Reading

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 14, 2002   Date of arrival: July 1, 2002

Our stay at Rick's Lake Murray cottage was extremely enjoyable. We really liked the fact that the house was located in a quiet area where you can sleep late if you want to. We enjoyed the fact that the dock was in excellent shape and we could climb on our bass boat to fish Lake Murray any time we wanted. Our host, Rick, even set up a camp fire for us and we were able to sit and watch the stars right on the shore of the lake and roasted marshmellows. We brought our own bass boat and were able to fish every day, even caught some stripers. I hate to keep saying we enjoyed, we enjoyed, but we also enjoyed the large 2-bedroom 2-bath house (especially since it had a washer, dryer and dishwasher). We had a great time during the week we stayed there, and I can't say enough nice things about Rick!!

Pat & Tom Reading

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review