reviews for: listing #31660 - Mendocino, California House rental

Winter Whales Now, Ocean Front Home, Panoramic View, Pet Yes
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Irish Beach
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $265 - $265 /nt
    $1,785 - $1,785 /wk
    $6,860 - $6,860 /mth

sort by:

The Best on the Coast!

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

We came from Cold Springs, Nevada, to have a week on the California coast (where we hail from). It took eight hours of driving to get there and was well worth every minute of the drive! To quote my thank you to the owners in part, "Just a brief word to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for the pleasure of staying at the Beach House. It was beyond our wildest expectations, with every single detail attended to ~ nothing was missed. All was of the highest quality, unusual in a vacation home. You quite obviously treat this one like your own. We left the house only one day to go to Mendocino but only lasted a couple of hours and were happy to return to the peace and restfulness of the house. And although I am retired, I came back home tanned and rested from being out on the deck most of the time. Lots of Scrabble was played and much reading. Now we are back home and each of us into our own 'rat races', but the memory of our time at the Beach House is a treasure. We look forward to returning as soon as it becomes possible." We were looking for a good place to get some needed rest, but don't discount the many things there are to do in the area with a family. The Mendocino coast is a beautiful place and the Redwoods are a stone's throw away. There are only positive things to say about The Beach House and its location. It's one of those 'too good to be true' things that don't come along often in life. Stay here ~ you won't be sorry!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Beach Get-Away

Review submitted: February 24, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

We had a thoroughly relaxing weekend at the Fries beach house. This place has just about everything anyone could want for a weekend of quiet beauty on the coast. The place was immaculate, even though dogs are allowed. The long view of surf is stunning from the house and deck which sits on a bluff above the beach. Sunsets and sparkling water - so pretty. The house gets the breeze from the ocean, but we pulled some deck chairs to the side of the house and sat in the sun reading. Almost got a tan. The house is close to the beach so our dog had a blast romping in the sand. Took a fun day trip into Gualala (only 40 so minutes sounth) and went home with a beautiful stained glass lamp from the art co-op The Dolphin. We discovered an excellent Thai restaraunt in tiny Anchor Bay. The Thai Kitchen? All in all a great weekend spot to relax and watch the waves. Even saw a whale spouting past. I also found a bakery in Gualala that makes gluten free cookies - it's to the right of the art gallery near the grocery store on the west side of the street. And yes, I'd go back to this home away from home again and I will tell my friends. Lovely place.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

21st birthday celebration

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

What an incredible venue for our celebration ! We felt right at home in this beautiful home with a wrap around deck and incredible view of the ocean. We LOVE to cook and felt right at home in the well equipped kitchen. The fireplace warmed us as we played trivial pursuit with a multigenerational group. A good time was had by all. The beach access allowed us to walk the beach . A very special place . We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Absolutely Amazing!

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 21, 2012

I'm not sure where to start! We spent three beautiful days at the Beach House in February. The weather was gorgeous. We saw the Milky Way in the clearest skies we've seen since childhood. We so loved the sound and sight of the ocean waves breaking that we spent almost all of our time at the house, not sightseeing. We went out for lunch at Point Arena, stopped at a local grocery store for supplies and headed right back to the house, enjoying the peace and beauty of the ocean below us. By our second day there, we had made plans to return for another visit.

The house itself is very accommodating...TV, games, books, computer, phone, fully stocked kitchen, washer/dryer, central hanging fireplace with wood provided with thorough instructions for operating whatever you need to use. Doggie door, dog water bowl outside, dog beds and toys, children's books, games and movies. Wi-fi if your brought your own tech stuff. Owners very nice and quick to reply. A perfect getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolutely perfect getaway

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

Awesome home, gorgeous location and lived up to our expectations 110 percent.
We were looking for a place close to home for a long weekend, two couples and two well trained doggies. Hubby found this listing and we booked it. I could not be happier with the choice. The home is so comfortable and cozy. it has a fireplace and heaters, games, a fully outfitted kitchen. The master bedroom is spacious. There's plenty of sleeping area for a larger party. And the deck is just amazing. It has the best view of the Pacific because it's practically on top of it.
The home was in tip-top shape when we arrived. You can tell the owners take a lot of pride in their home. It's not too "precious" and I wasn't afraid of breaking things. It fit like my favorite pair of slippers. I just walked in, sat down and let the rest of the world slip away for three days.
We went down to the beach twice (walked once, drove once) and it was gorgeous; not crowded at all. The home is close enough to go wine tasting, but really, just bring the wine with you 'cause you won't want to leave. There are also some nice restaurants nearby.
When we had to leave (sniff, sniff) all four of us agreed that this getaway was as good as it gets. We had an awesome time. Thanks Ruth and Bob!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

I need a bigger word than W-O-W! to describe The Beach House

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

We've just returned from spending the month of October 2011 at The Beach House.
W-O-W! We have been coming to Irish Beach for six years, the natural beauty was not unexpected. We knew the wide walking beach is what we crave; the tidepools always hold a secret or two and wildlife is abundant. What we didn't know was the owners' care and attention to detail at this property. Their love of their house is evident everywhere. Personal side note: my husband is a serious pianist. He planned to work on a Rachmaninoff piece during this time knowing there is a piano at The Beach House. Upon arrival, there was a problem with the piano which the owners had fixed immediately. By the next day, Sunday, we were in business. Instead of spending a month with an unhappy man, we had a glorious start to our idyll.

Little things that matter -- chilled beer mugs in the freezer upon arrival, the house was immaculate, spices were available so we did not need to bring/buy a pinch of thyme or cinnamon, there are lights by the bed for those of us who like to read, patio furniture that is quite lovely, books to read and more books, movies and games as well, dry firewood for the fireplace (also immaculate!) and owners who do not regard their tenants as possible thieves and lock away every stray kleenex or piece of soap! Need more TP? It's here (unlike a very pricey rental in Palm Springs CA where one roll per bathroom was allotted. Period. "Buy your own" we were told when we queried the agent.)

There is such a wonderful feeling in this happy house -- as well as a deck suitable for every possible weather event. Raining? Sit under the eves, windy? Move to the shielded south side of the house, too much sun? Move to the shady side, etc. Kitchenware was plentiful and, unexpected in a beach rental, the plates, glasses and flatware were not the odd assortment of rejects. The wineglasses matched as did the juice glasses, ample plates, bowls were available for table settings as well as a wide assortment of table linens. Pots, pans et al were plentiful and the knives in the knifeblock were sharp.

If a glitzy go-go-go vacation is your style, look elsewhere. This is not a glamor destination. If you seek peace, gorgeous views and tranquility in a beautiful setting, this could be the house of your dreams. The Beach House is a gem and of all the houses we have rented, this is, hands down, our favorite. So much so that we've already made our reservations for next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Vacation Home

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

Our second visit to the Beach House. What a wonderful and comfortable place to stay. We had everything we needed for a fun, relaxing time. My husband loved the new flat screen television. The view is so beautiful it cannot be described. Loved the large deck from where we watched whales playing in the bay almost every day. It's completely enclosed so our dogs were free to roam around it too. They could go from the house out to the deck through the dog door, which they seemed to love. We saw lots of deer and rabbits around the house. While walking on the private beach (which is awesome ) a seal followed us in the surf. We had a marvelous time and will be back soon. We have stayed at many vacation homes in the Irish Beach area. This is definately our favorite. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Restful Sanctuary with Fantastic Views

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

We can't say enough great things about our stay in this house! The wrap-around deck and 180 views are to die for. Beautiful sunsets and stars so bright and shiny that you feel like you can reach up and touch them.

The house is cozy and comfortable with all the amenities you'll ever need and the hanging fireplace is wonderful on misty evenings to keep you toasty warm. Floor-to-ceiling windows afford breathtaking views from inside, as well, and the master suite located on the other side of the house with a cozy office is terrific for people like me who have to do a little work even when on vacation.

The fenced-in deck was our Aussie's favorite place to hang out. She laid there for hours listening to the waves and watched the deer that made daily visits to the yard and bluffs below. The hawks were amazing to watch - there are tons of them. And we saw several whales spouting in the cove daily during our stay.

Make sure to check out The Bakery in Point Arenas - it's fabulous and only about 7 miles away. The store in Manchester has great meat and produce and is only about 5 miles away. Elk also has a little general store with a chef who was cooking barbecued chicken with potato salad the day we were there. They also make really good deli sandwiches. Then work it all off with a nice walk down the private beach below.

After a full exploration of the Irish Beach area - we'd never stay anywhere else. In fact we just requested reservations for next year - if that tells you anything.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ocean View Stay on Mendocino Coast Fabulous!!

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 12, 2011

I had the privilege to stay at this property in early July of this year and just loved every minutes of it! The views are my favorite, visible whether inside or outside from all windows. The interior is sooo vacation feeling- all lighthouses and sailboats on the linens, comfy furniture to lay back and read while we hear the ocean waves below, great kitchen where we can visit and share wine while cooking!! What's not to like?? And a great restaurant not too far away when wanting some one else to cook. We had a blast, and so did our dog Blanchard, romping on the beach every morning and again later in the afternoon, watching the sky change, and perfect view of the sunset. After many stays in many places, to me, it is obvious this is "owner owned and managed" from the personal attention to every detail and that all guests are having a great experience. Going back next year for sure!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An Ideal Retreat

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

My husband and I just spent a wonderful weekend at The Beach House. It was our first time there and we wanted to stay forever. How can you not love the gorgeous views from the deck and living space with the soporific roar of the ocean. The house was immaculate and there were books, games and lots of information about the area. We felt the tension leave us as soon as we entered and we will be back! Oh, and our two dogs loved running on the private beach and wading in the tide pools.The outdoor hoses on the deck made it easy to clean them off after our walks.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Beach Retreat

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 25, 2011

For anyone wishing a quiet, beautiful beach stay this house is ideal. The deck, the beach with easy walking or driving access, the well-equipped kitchen and lovely sitting area add to the experience. Dogs are welcome and love the beach! We found the house to be exceptionally clean and to have everything for our pleasure, including fireplace, TV, puzzles and books.
In addition, we found a great restaurant, the Phoenix, in Pt. Arena, for a special meal.
We definitely will recommend this beach house to friends and relatives, especially those who have dogs!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Getaway Home

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

The listing description was certainly adequate but didn't do justice to the ambience and character of the house. It is perfectly arranged for a relaxing getaway - aesthetically pleasing, spotless, and very well equipped yet also set up to be lived in without fear of scratching a table or ruining a rug. There is a variety of games, puzzles and books for all ages. There was space for the five of us (and dog) to be together or alone depending on individual whim. The ocean views from the house are fantastic. Watching the waves from the deck with a cup of tea was the perfect way to start the day. The beach offers tide pools, driftwood, shells and more views. The owners have supplied extensive information on local activities and restaurants with up to date menus. We could happily spend lots more time in this house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Return Weekend

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

When you had a wonderful weekend once, you worry that a return visit will be disappointing. Never fear! This past weekend found perfect weather, the same perfect view, and a leisurely walk on the beach to find driftwood souvenirs. Not only was the beach house spotless, it had even been upgraded with new window shades. It is easy to eat in, with a complete kitchen or take a short drive to one of several local spots. Ruth has worked hard to have choices of games, music, movies, books, etc available to enjoy. Forgot to include my favorites- jigsaw puzzles ( for young and old). We didn't bring our boxer, but she would have had a great time too. Looking forward to the next time already.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Getaway

Review submitted: December 15, 2010   Date of arrival: December 11, 2010

Friends and I enjoyed a delightful few days at this wonderful home. The views are spectacular, the amenities outstanding, and the house was very comfortable, extremely well-maintained, and the perfect getaway spot for those who love the coast and need time to recharge the batteries. It's close to a walk on the beach, a trip to the market, restaurants, and other activities. I've been here before and I know I will be back time and again. Very dog friendly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our FAVORITE vacation rental!

Review submitted: November 6, 2010   Date of arrival: October 6, 2010

I just read the "Not Clean" review (11/2/10) about this property and am astounded. I don't know what this person is talking about, as we have stayed at this property 3 times over the last year and our experience couldn't be more different than theirs. My husband and I have traveled all over the west coast staying in at least 25 vacation rentals and believe me, we know what the standard of 'clean' is. The Beach House is in the top percentile of that standard. The house has always been very clean upon our arrival. And everything you could possibly need or want is provided for you, but that's not why we go there. We go there because you wake up and see the beautiful ocean, walk a short ways to take your dog for a run on the private beach, and then have dinner on the deck, watching the sunset. Not to mention the peace and quiet! It's as close to perfect as you're going to get in a vacation rental. But I guess there will always be someone who will find something to complain about. Please don't listen to them - listen to the huge majority of us who have been there and appreciate this rental. It's absolutely clean - don't miss out on staying here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 5

 

Not Clean ! !

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2010

If cleanliness is important to you, DO NOT RENT THIS HOUSE!!!I don’t just mean dirty from the last guest, dirty from a long period of neglect and half-baked cleaning. Every window blind is covered with a collection of dust, hair, and cobwebs. The kitchen sink and hall bathroom sink had black mold. Shower doors have a thick film, need more than a spray and wipe to clean them. The outside edge of shower-tub enclosure had a layer of dust and hair on it. The ledges of the windows beside the sliding glass doors are covered in dust, dirt, and dead flies. The faucet in the kitchen was covered in water spots and soap scum.

The floor in the hall bathroom was disgusting, especially in front of and behind the toilet. Every baseboard in evry room was covered in dust, dirt, and hair. There was dirt in all the corners as if only the high traffic areas ever saw a mop and broom. The vanity mirror in the master bedroom has not been thoroughly cleaned. The faucets also had soap/toothpaste spots on them.

I love watching a storm come in over the ocean so the fact that it rained a lot while we were there didn't bother me. It just meant our ocean viewing had to be from behind the sliding glass doors and windows a lot of the time. What a shame that the 6 sets of sliding glass doors and windows were so dirty you could barely see out of them. They were so dirty my husband actually took out a bottle of Windex from under the kitchen sink and cleaned three of them so we could see the view better. My husband never cleans anything so you know it was bad it he lifted a finger to clean them. I understand the effect of sea spray on outside windows, but this was more than sea spray. Hand prints from a child were on every single window, inside and out, in the front part of the house. I assume the other smudges were from pets as I’m familiar with that constant cleaning chore in my own home.

When I shared my experience with the owner she said her housekeeper had emergency surgery the month before and she was concerned about her ability to keep up with the house. I can only say the condition of that house was not one month in the making. Also, her only offer of concession to us was a $100 discount on our next visit.

On the plus side, the sofa was nice for lounging and the TV was great for staying up on the football games and the world series. The kitchen was also well equipped.

Owners response: Dear potential Beach House Guests,

We urge you to read all of the reviews of our Vacation Rental Home, this one certainly does not reflect the feedback we have received from any other Beach House Guests. We have been renting the Beach House on the Mendocino Coast for the past five years. We leave an evaluation for each guest to complete and have had an amazing 97% return rate.

Never, have we had a negative review like this one. We use the feedback from these evaluations to keep the house in good condition and to provide the housekeeping staff with information about the job they are doing. And it works.

Upon receiving an email that complained in great detail about the cleaning, we were alarmed and checked with the guests who stayed before and after this reviewer. They both said the house was in excellent condition and clean.

We went to the house ourselves and inspected everything thoroughly and the house was clean. We met with our
housekeeper and she is in good health and very up to the job. We reviewed the concerns in detail with her and discussed each item and were satisfied that they were unjustified. We read the latest excellent current evaluation together and then tried to figure out what might be going on with this negative reviewer.

We did not want an unhappy guest for whatever reason and decided to return the cleaning fee as a good will gesture along with the security deposit. Then this review was sent to us.

Based on all of our other guest responses we are confident that anyone staying at the Beach House on the Mendocino Coast will have a very positive experience.

Please contact us for more information.
Bob and Ruth Freis

Helpful votes: 7 / 12

 

great home

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

you never know what to expect when you see a home on line. This home was so much better then the pictures show. The owners go out of there way to make your stay perfect. We loved it and would stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 

Enjoyed all the surrounding beauty...

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

The location of the beach house was perfect. Irish Beach is beautiful. The 180 degree view from the deck was incredible. The ammenities were above and beyond what was expected. Peaceful and relaxing. Just makes me want to come back again and again. Perfect for the pup! Very spacious. Already planning an all girls weekend getaway! Bob and Ruth, thank you so much for sharing your lovely home. You are truly gracious people. We'll definately return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

A Great Deal

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2010

My girlfriends and I celebrated our 30th birthdays here at the beach house in Spring. The house is perfectly designed, with the social space (kitchen, dining room, living room, and awesome fireplace) all centrally located and over looking the beautiful view (see first picture in series). The deck was wonderful as well... and especially the view at night from the deck looking out to the starry sky.

*Only* thing that was missing was a HOT TUB! ... and possibly a see-through wind-breaker on part of the deck... ;)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Stunning Spot!

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 9, 2006

Coming from New York, we were pleased to have this beautiful spot to have a reunion with college friends from our Berkeley days. The house is tastefully furnished and beautifully equipped with everything you might want. I particularly remember the gorgeous porch surrounding the house, where we could drink in the view. Happily, we had clear skies while there. I recall several nice outings up and down the coastline within easy driving distance from the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

been there -- will return again

Review submitted: March 7, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2009

We have stayed at the beach house several times over the years and have found it to be a different, enjoyable experience each time. Whales, wind and heavy surf, brilliant sunshine and beach-picnics, clear nights with sparkling views into the starry infinite universe, foggy nights with the ability to almost see the outstretched hand, sunny walks on the beach to visit tide pools and perhaps gather mussels (in mussel season), windy walks on the beach, hikes on the eastern ridge trails, wildlife, and much more. South a few miles is a well stocked store that provides groceries, liquor, fishing tackle ... most everything you may have forgotten to bring. There are also many restaurants and shopping venues within a 25 mile drive. What my wife likes very much is the well equipped kitchen; however, she finds the 180 degree ocean-view to be somewhat distracting when attempting to prepare a meal. The three bedrooms are comfortable and the nights are quiet except for the distant purr of the surf that gently coaxes you into sleep. The other services: cable TV, internet, telephone; are more than adequate.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect for a relaxing getaway!

Review submitted: December 1, 2009   Date of arrival: August 26, 2009

We were lucky enough to spend a little over a week here in August and had a fantastic time! The house is even better than the pictures show and has pretty much everything you'd need. It's a quick drive down to the beach, and the road was also a good option for walking the dog. It was great to have the doggie-door and the fenced-in property - perfect for our Lab. We went jogging on the beach nearly every day, fishing a couple of times, but mostly just enjoyed the beautiful scenery and quiet. There was a computer connectivity issue, and Ruth and Bob (the owners) were great while helping us get that resolved. One thing worth mentioning is that the one television they have is a very small set, so if movie or tv watching is important to you, this is something to consider. However, we found plenty of other options to entertain us and when we did watch tv or movies, we adapted just fine to the set. The house is in a pretty remote location, but we found the grocery store 3 miles south to have everything we needed. It was well worth the money to rent this home, and we are looking forward to our next visit, hopefully in the spring of 2010. Thanks Bob & Ruth!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Mendocino beach house

Review submitted: June 30, 2009   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

Had a wonderful relaxing time. Everything as described. Had to drive to beach because of long steep hills but no problem. The beach was wonderful and enjoyed looking in tide pools after high tide. A seal that showed up on beach was fun to watch. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review