reviews for: listing #31719 - Santa Barbara, California Apartment rental

Steps from the Beach! Great Family Vacation!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,195 - $1,795 /wk

sort by:

Home away from home

Review submitted: April 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

We have spent four months here each of the last 9 years so it has been more like home than home!! The owners have been so accommodating that we've actually stayed in the same unit each year at our request. They've gone out of their way to make us feel welcome. We absolutely love the area and 'Seashell Apt.' is a wonderful spot to enjoy the beach and the entire town. We highly recommend it to one and all!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

the owner is a pleasure...

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

What a great owner! Couldn't be nicer, more responsive to requests. Thanks so much, d (I'm adding people with disabilities as a recommendation because I was accommodated in a beautiful ground-floor apartment with no problem, and I have a disability.)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dolly

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

Great location ! Not sure how they got the pool to look so lovely in that photo ?? It's much smaller than it looks !
Very close to the beach and to the shops and restaurants.
The Apartment needed some up dates but it was nice for what we needed .
The property manager was great .

Recommended for: girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review, Dolly.
The photo of the pool was taken from unit #20, which has that view. It is an upstairs unit, versus your rental, which I think, was downstairs, corner.
The pool is heated in summer, nice and warm, and most people love soaking & just haveing fun! For laps, the Carpinteria Community pool is just blocks away,with Aquatic fitness classes too.
(They also have 2 tennis courts).
Our pool is mainly for fun after a day at the beach! (We do not heat our pool in winter). Adults enjoy sunning on lounge chairs around the pool, relaxing within our garden-pool experience, seeing lots of blue sky, or lounging, while the kids play in the warm water,

Regarding the furnishings, every Spring we rehab our furnishings to update for summer.
But you get what you pay for, & our rates are usually the best around! Our units are nice sized, well designed, comfortable, & affordable. Everything you need should be there!
We book a lot of families, so after a summer of sold out units, we do a Spring rehab, & buy new, whatever is needed. We keep in mind your rental costs, knowing that elegance can be expensive!
Lots of families with kids visit us, Lots of hikers & beach-goers!
Any time you feel something needs to be replaced, please let us know.
We try to keep our furnishings user friendly, so you do not lose your security deposit or get extra charges for cleaning.

Yes, our Management Team REALLY ! cares about your enjoyment at Seashell. We are owners who love being at Seashell too!
After all, having a good time is what it is all about!
So, we are happy you enjoyed your stay at Seashell!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family friendly and so much fun!

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

My family rented 3 condos at the Seashell last summer and we had a blast! The condos are clean, close to the pool, and close to the laundry facilities. It is just a short walk to the beach and very close to many restaurants. The owners are friendly, helpful, and always around to answer a question or help you out in anyway they can! I highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

GREAT HOLIDAY APT AND ATMOSPHERE

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

Stopped there for a few days to relax after a long trip from France. Everything was wonderful from the warm welcome to the apt location steps from the beach. The apt is very comfortable, bright with all the amenities you may want! Made it very easy to get over jetlag!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

10th summer at Seashell Beach

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

This was our 16th summer going to Carpinteria and the 10th summer at Seashell Beach Apts. We stayed in several different condos in Carp until we found Seashell, it is our summer home.
The location is excellent, 1 block to the ‘World’s Safest Beach’, a block to the Salt Marsh preserve, short walk to ‘The Spot’ (excellent burgers and fries) and downtown.
The owners Adrea and Herb have been excellent hosts and have always made us feel at home and if there has been a problem, they are quick to fix it. Over the years, we have stayed in several of the apartments, all of which are nicely furnished.
One of the nice things about Seashell is the family atmosphere. From when our children were small to now that they are in college, they enjoy their time at the property. They do have a nice pool and barbeque area.
We have met many wonderful people while using the grill cooking some fresh local fish purchased at Santa Barbara Fish Market (in the SB harbor), well worth the 15 minute drive.
All we can say is Seashell Apts and Carpinteria go together like bread and butter.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Happy Repeat Vacationer!!!

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We've been going to Seashell Beach Rentals for years for vacation and we've always had a great time! This year was even better than usual. Our apartment was clean, comfortable, and a great value with original art on the wall. The complex is well taken care of and provides families a wonderful place to relax with a pool, patio and flowers everywhere. It's also nice and quiet at night. We love being so close to the beach - it makes it easy to go back and forth multiple times during the day. It's also a short, easy walk to town. Can't wait to come back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Expected so much more

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We have used VRBO several times for our vacation rental needs. This time we felt duped! I had communicated through email several times with Mike, inquiring about bringing our dog. It was indicated bringing our dog would be acceptable. A contract was sent to me 2 months before our arrival date. I read, signed and returned contract with required rent and deposits immediately.
2 weeks before arrival I received a frantic phone call from "the manager" stating no pets are allowed and we didn't send enough deposit for a dog. She went on to say we needed to sent another $500.00 for possible damage caused by our dog. I agreed that I would sent the extra deposit.
Upon arrival the property manager again expressed grief over our visit. She also went over the many rules they have for the complex. My first reaction was I'm being treated like a person who has never rented a vacation rental or hotel room before. OK.. whatever...
The unit itself was fairly decent, but being right under the manager's unit and hearing her clomp up and down the stairs all day was unnerving. Over the course of the week these are the things we discovered: We had to make up the beds. The overhead kitchen light was out. We had 2 rolls of TP for 6 people staying for 7 days. We were told we had to buy our own. The queen bed in the master was OLD and sagged into the middle. I saw told the twin beds were of the same quality. The bath towels were old and worn. The DVD controller wasn't working, we even bought new batteries, but that wasn't the problem. AND.. the final straw was when we went to use the community BBQ we had to supply our own propane fuel, which we did not know. With steaks and fish ready for the grill, we were shocked. Fortunately a nice man let us borrow his camping propane canister. We bought a replacement for him.
All in all, we had a great time in Carpinteria...but we would never stay at Seashell Apartments again!

Owners response: I was very sorry to see this review. I was trying to protect our future vacationers, from any odors and "pee accidents" by this vacationer's dog. We usually do not accept pets for weekly rentals, and this guest did NOT have a small dog. It is because we care about ALL our Vacationers, to have a clean and quiet (meaning "no barking") lovely place to stay, that I tried to prevent problems, in advance, by going over all these issues with our guest, to make sure we had no future issues for our other vacationers.
We never kept any of the security deposit; we only held it to motivate the guest to take preventive steps to protect the property.
As far as the beds, towels, or light bulb in the kitchen, if the guest had told us her problems, we would have fixed them! She never told us any of this during her stay. We have an excellent handyman to deal with any problems!!!Let us know if you have a problem...and we will fix it asap!(even I can change a light bulb or replace a frayed towel with a new one. As far as the Barbeque goes, each tenant gets their own mini propane tank, so they always have fuel and for SAFETY issues! That way we know the Barbeque will be "OFF" and not left on, where children could get hurt.
We are always focused on excellent management, which means preventing problems, so that every vacationer has a wonderful experience at Seashell.
AND I am sorry about the staircase clopping. I broke my toe & had to wear flip flops, which I will never do again, now that I know. Again, had this vacationer told me, I would have taken great care to walk soundlessly. If you have a problem, please...let us know! We will fix it if we can! We have 7 vacation apartments, & have been almost full all summer, so this is the only complaint. If the vacationer had told us her issues, we would have fixed them.
Thank you for reading my response.
We do care that you enjoy your stay at Seashell!

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

LOVE THIS PLACE!

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

I visited last summer and had such an amazing time, I'm heading back again! Great rooms and love the hospitality! Perfect for families! I highly recommend staying here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Vacation

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

I have two small kids and we love Sea Shell in Carpenteria. The rooms are really cozy and great for kids with a good kitchen, all appliances, everything super clean. The beds are confortable and they have a crib if you have a baby.
The property has beautiful gardens and a nice pool, one block from the beach. We love it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much. It was such a pleasure hosting your wonderful family! Your children were so well behaved and so happy...it was a joy to have your family visit!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

Wonderful stay! The apt was everything we were expecting, warm, cozy, close to the beach. We were able to take long walks at sunset and then go eat at one of the great restaurants around. Would warmly recommend it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

Fantastic beach retreat. Great 2bdrm apartments with lots of room and a great floor plan. So close to the beach. Short walk to town and restaurants. Very relaxing environment. Excellent place for a little beach town getaway. Love Carpinteria!!!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Review submitted: June 7, 2009   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

The hospitality was fabulous. Very clean rooms, quiet and steps away from a beautiful beach. Enjoyed the owner and Manager very much. Will definatley go again.

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Review submitted: October 9, 2007   Date of arrival: October 9, 2007

We stayed here and it was GREAT! I can't say enough about this place. It was close to the beach, clean and there was lots of flowers outside that, made it look and smell so nice. Also the people that ran the place where very nice.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review