reviews for: listing #3175301ha - Dominical, Costa Rica rental

2 Bed 2 Bath Ocean View Home in Central Uvita with infinity pool
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 120 - $ 260 / night
    $ 1,750 - $ 1,820 / week
  • sleeps  4
  • pets considered  ask owner

sort by:

Great property in Uvita.

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 16, 2014

This property was all we had hoped for and more. Our hosts (and their two great dogs) were friendly and easy to talk to. Several beaches are nearby and the view from the pool is drop dead gorgeous.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location, Beautiful View, Friendly Owners

Review submitted: December 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Casa Caribaea for our second annual 10 day stint in Uvita. Last year, we had a great time at Oxygen Jungle Villas, just up the road, but this year, we wanted something with a full kitchen and just a little more space. But at the same time, we still wanted the view, proximity to town, and not to pay $200-$300 per night for just the two of us.

Casa Caribaea is the perfect size. It's a 2 bed 2 bath with a great little kitchen and living area, vaulted ceilings and plenty of windows in the front room that face the ocean. It's a second story building set behind the main residence so you get your privacy and your vehicle gets to sit safely in the driveway, where there is 24 hour surveillance thanks to the full live-in staff.

The main house that Jason & Victoria live in with their 2 kids is lofted as a second/third story villa, and the pool, outdoor kitchen, bar, and TV area below are common use for the guests. They have another villa (3 bedroom) further down the mountain, but since we were the only guests this past week, it was really like a private infinity pool with ocean view. Not too bad. =)

Location is absolutely perfect. You are just north of town off Hwy 34, and the steeper part of the road is paved, which if you've been here before, you know is a bit unusual for anything except the main drives. It's about 3-4 minutes up the hill, but is still high enough to have great views. Took us 5 minutes to get to town, and I never felt like we might fall off the mountain like I did when exploring areas up near Oxygen. We had a 4x4, but it wasn't necessary to get there.

Their house backs up to a preserve and Jason created a great little nature trail that goes down by the river. But you don't have to venture far to see wildlife. I saw white face and howler monkeys on multiple occasions while relaxing by the pool, and there are plenty of toucans, parrots, and other feathered friends flying in the skies.

Jason & Victoria are great and very helpful. They had fresh fruit waiting for us in our rental when we arrived, and were more than happy to help with anything we needed to set up (Victoria even arranged my car rental and recommended agencies/rates). They have been in the area for quite some time and can recommend restaurants, tours, hiking expeditions, and even organic farms if you feel like getting your cooking on. We intend to move to Costa Rica soon, and would definitely stay here again. Thanks guys!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Rental Option for the South-Central Pacific Coast - Delightful property and Hosts

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

This property was just as advertised---beautiful grounds and comfortable 2BR/2BA with kitchen-sitting area on the 2nd floor surrounded by native trees and exotic plantings. My husband and I, and a couple from Texas spent 3 nights with Jason and Victoria at their Casa Caribaea and found it to be a delightful vacation rental. Victoria thought of everything -- fresh fruit, adequately stocked refrig complete with eggs, milk, etc. and some cold beers to greet us upon arrival.

We have lived in Costa Rica for the past 5 years and frequently visit this coastal area because of its charm and scenic beauty. Now that we have located Jason and Victoria's place, we intend to be repeat customers. They were very responsive and professional in handling our rental, instructions to locate the house were spot-on, and everything was as advertised, and more!

The accommodations were very comfortable, spotlessly maintained, beautifully decorated, great A/C even though we really didn't need it, and the infinity pool and common lounge area provided a great place to drink a little wine and watch the sunset over the Whale's Tail. We made another rafting trip on the Rio Sevegre and it can be a fun trip in June, July, August when this area is getting good rain.

Jason and Victoria are very personable and we really enjoyed Jason's tour of the other rental homes, and his extensive palm, orchid, and bromeliad/heliconia gardens. They have built a fantastic place. Although the rentals and main house are within the same large compound area, the buildings are sufficiently spaced apart so as to afford good privacy for all.
And, this location in the hills just above Uvita is very conveniently located --- easy to hit the Playa Ventana, Uvita, or Dominicalito/Hermosa beaches, visit the National Park, and to run down to some very interesting restaurants in Uvita, Ojochal with an easy drive to Dominical.

We would highly recommend this rental and plan to return soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideally located to explore the saourthen Pacific coast

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 14, 2013

I spent 1 week at Casa Caribaea with my wife and adult daughter. This was our 8th trip to Costa Rica and the 4th to this part of the country. We normally travel in the dry season but decided to try the green season so we booked a week in the middle of May. The weather was better than expected. It did not rain every day and when it did rain it was in the late afternoon or evening and as such did not affect our activities. I would definitely consider returning in May.
Casa Caribaea and the surrounding property are beautifully maintained. The attention to detail is evident in both the exterior and interior features. The Casa was spotlessly clean. The queen size beds were the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on in Costa Rica. The Casa is fully air-conditioned but we only used the air conditioning in the bedroom at night as we enjoyed the coastal breezes flowing in through the large screened windows in the living room and kitchen.
The Casa is located about 5 minutes off the coastal highway and the town of Uvita. This is an ideal location for exploring the south pacific coast as the cute little surf town of Dominical is only about 15 minutes to the north while there is an interesting eclectic mix of restaurants in Ojochal 15 minutes to the south. There is also the famous Whale’s Tail beach at Marina Ballena Park to explore at Uvita, not to mention all the ecotourism and adventure activities offered in Uvita.
We have rented other villas in this area but they were generally further off the coastal highway and required a 10 to 15 minute drive in a 4x4 to reach. It was nice being only 5 minutes off the highway and centrally located as we could easily come back to the Casa between activities for lunch, a siesta, a dip in the pool, or a quick shower.
Jason and Victoria were the perfect hosts. They have a wealth of knowledge of the area and were always available to share this knowledge.
We will definitely be returning to this part of Costa Rica and we look forward to renting once again from Jason and Victoria.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect place to be

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

In April 2013 we travelled with our two kids (6 and 4 years) around beautiful Costa Rica. We stayed for 4 nights at this exceptional accommodation.
The rooms are lovely decorated with wonderful flowers from Jasons garden. The kitchen totally equipped even in the fridge were some cool drinks, spices, coffee etc for refreshments. Also the delightful plate of fruits were a great present for us!
Our kids loved the pool very much; at nighttime with the great changing color lights. The two lovely dogs were also a highlight for them. Wednesday and her friend will stay in their heart..
Having diner outside by the pool when accompanied a stunning view with a beautiful sunset. We saw Tucans in the trees and heard the hawler monkeys. During a trip to the Pacific, we had the wonderful opportunity to see dolphins and sea turtles.
But it’s not only the breathtaking place we would like to refer to. Victoria and Jason and of course Tanya (housemaid) made our stay so enjoyable. Always a nice word, a warm smile ore some useful information. It was our daughter Mara's greatest wish to go for a ride in Costa Rica. Victoria took us together with her boys to the stables; a unforgettable memory for us!
Sorry about our english, we hope we could approximately express how much we enjoyed our stay at our place. Actually there are no words for it, we just truly recommend to experience this paradise in the paradise. It’s a pity Costa Rica is not closer to Switzerland…

Gabriela, Thomas, Mara and Marc

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing property!

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

My wife and I spent two weeks at Casa Caribaea and had an amazing time. The property has a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean and Whale's Tail. The house itself is beautifully furnished and quite comfortable, and has a fully functional kitchen. We cooked a lot of our meals and slept very well!

The grounds are amazing - Jason is constantly working on the landscaping and adding new rare and beautiful plant species. We spent a lot of time hanging out on the poolside patio and photographing the birds and wildlife. We saw an amazing variety of birds (tons of toucans, many raptors, hummingbirds, Great Curassows, just to name a few) on the property along with multiple types of monkeys.

The location is also great, as it is convenient to numerous beaches and to the towns of Dominical, Uvita and Ojochal, each of which has its own unique character. Ojochal in particular has several very good restaurants. We were blown away by the quality of the food in the area, especially for such a relatively undeveloped region. The property is also right next to the Whales & Dolphins resort, which also has a good poolside bar for the sunset cocktail hour.

Jason and Victoria were very helpful in arranging activities and recommending restaurants, tours, beaches, etc. I am a novice surfer and even though the waves during my visit were way bigger and more powerful than I am accustomed to surfing, Jason was able to show me a few breaks that were a good fit for my (low) skill level. I surfed nearly every day and caught a lot of fun waves. This is a great property for someone who wants to surf fun, powerful and relatively uncrowded waves every day!

We highly recommend this property and the general area. It is an amazingly beautiful and relatively uncrowded part of Costa Rica. It boasts a stunning variety of outdoor activities, yet also has fairly good amenities. Casa Caribaea is a perfect home base for exploring the Uvita area and Jason and Victoria are awesome hosts.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

April Vacation

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

My wife, a couple of our good friends, and I went on a week-long Costa Rican vacation earlier this month. We spent the first few days on the Caribbean coast in Puerto Viejo and then headed across the country to Uvita for a four night stay at Casa Caribaea. We were blown away by this property and the friendliness of the Hughes family.

The four of us stayed in Casa Caribaea, located towards the back of the property behind the main pagoda home and entertainment area. The living area, rooms, and bathrooms are located on the second story above the garage/storage area, with a nice view of the grounds and a bit of the Pacific. The place was immaculate and beautifully designed, constructed, and furnished. The pictures represent it well. There were even some essentials in the fridge upon arrival - eggs, juice, coffee, etc. Jason welcomed us with a tour of the gardens and adjacent primary forest. We enjoyed a starfruit right out of the garden…pretty cool!

Jason and Victoria were both extremely helpful with excellent food and activity recommendations. They took care of all of our reservations. Victoria even drove us to a nearby waterfall and swimming area - a secret spot that we would have never found on our own. Jason let us rent one of his boards and gave us a surf lesson in Dominical. I had some trouble with an ATM at one of the banks in Uvita one day (my mistake), and Jason called ahead for me to grease the wheels – it helped a lot since his Spanish is much better than mine. Great folks.

There are several beaches within a 5 minute drive – some good for swimming, some better for surfing. Plenty to do. I’d recommend the new Osa Mountain Canopy Tour near Ojochal – we had a blast. Although, I think our favorite time was winding down at the end of each day with a beverage by the LED-lit infinity pool.

I highly recommend this place - and the other building on the property looked amazing too. Hopefully can we can return someday!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Trip To Remember

Review submitted: February 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

It was our first time to Costa Rica, and it was a trip to remember. It was not only because of the natural beauty of the country, but also because of the couple my husband and I got to know, Victoria and Jason, the owners of the property we rented.

As soon as we arrived, Jason and Victoria greeted us with big smiles and great hospitality. Just when we were taken away by the beauty of the amazing property, Victoria surprised us by taking us to a private tour around the property, which is located right in the middle of the rain forest. We thought the tour was much better than the tour we later on took at Manuel Antonio National Park, where we had to pay to enter. We saw so many white-faced monkeys, howler monkeys and hundreds of tropical plants, most of which we don't even know the names of. By the time we finished the draw-dropping tour and made it to our suite, we were again surprised by the elegance of the room decor and comfort like home. From every single detail in the spacious and beautiful 2-bedroom 2-bathroom suite, we could tell the pride of ownership from the lovely couple.

During our 7-day stay, Victoria and Jason were so helpful and friendly, and we felt we were staying at an old friend's place, or better. They kindly offered suggestions to local restaurants(they have very different recommendations, and we had a lot of fun trying some of their favourite local spots), and they also helped to make arrangements for local tours, which was helpful because they speak fluent Spanish and we don't. Jason even offered to teach my husband surfing, but unfortunately we didn't get a chance to do so. Jason also told us about two "secrete" spots that we could buy fresh fish directly from the fishermen. We had the freshest and tastiest yellow-fin tuna at a such a low price that you wouldn't believe, and the experience of finding the hidden spots in a country without street addresses was priceless.

We had such a wonderful vacation, and a big part was because of Victoria and Jason. We will be back again, because we have two friends in Costa Rica now!

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words Heather and Jeff! I was just buying some fresh Yellowfin tuna the other day and was thinking about your various recipes as you definitely inspired Victoria and I to use the BBQ more. More importantly, we had the pleasure of your kind and courteous decorum and it was to my regret that Jeff and I only realized during your last evening here that we share a very similar framework for looking at the world and I had one of the most interesting conversations in my life. I thank you for that and can't wait to see you guys again.

By the way, we just imported twenty new varieties of palms from Hawaii this week (including a very rare yellow crown shaft form of the famous Betel Nut Palm) so we now have over 230 different species now on display.

Thanks again,

Jason Hughes

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Villa and Gorgeous Views

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

We would greatly recommend this villa to a couple or to a family. We stayed with our two young children. The villa is warm, clean and beautiful. The entertainment center is gorgeous with beautiful views of the ocean and the mountains. The infinity pool is so beautiful and refreshing. The villa is very private and at the same time our children were never bored. There are so many fun activities to do. The owners were wonderful and honest. When we arrived we had all the essentials needed for the next morning, e.g. delicious fruit, coffee, eggs, drinks and more. Our stay exceeded our expectations, the villa was warm and beautiful decorated. The owners were very helpful and warm with any of our needs and made us feel at home. There aren’t enough words to express our gratitude to the owners. We can't wait to be back again!

Owners response: Thank you Eric, Veronica, Erica and Bianca! I get a little teary eyed when I think of your wonderful family and the pure joy that you brought to our home. We often reminisce about your visit as you guys truly are an example of a family that is living a thoughtful and joyous life. From the day down at the river teaching us the basics of fly fishing (which I'm still not very good at) to the follow up visit after you guys left for Manual Antonio, it was just a wonderful time. The smiles on your daughters faces told it all and my youngest son still fondly mentions Bianca's name on a regular basis. I can't wait to see you guys again.

Thank you Yoos family,

Jason, Victoria & Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review