reviews for: listing #31832 - San Juan Del Sur/Rivas, Nicaragua Villa rental

Villa Hermosa All inclusive ocean view home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Finca Las Nubes
  • sleeps  11
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $2,400 - $2,400 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

A vacation in paradise with wonderful people

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 25, 2009

Words simply cannot describe the Smith Family's wonderful week at Finca Las Nubes and our hacienda overlooking San Juan del Sur and the Pacific Ocean. From the moment that Javier greeted us at the airport in Managua until Ada Luz greeted us at our home we were put at ease. Each and everyday we were cared for like royalty and given not a care in the world. Each member of the staff we came in contact with were caring, outgoing, friendly, and truly became part of family. Juan Pablo took care of our every desire at our home. His work ethics at 22 years old were beyond belief. Marcelino took our son to the best surf spots and served as our guide across Lake Nicaragua to the volcanoes. Our breakfast, lunch, and dinners were carefully thought out and so well prepared. Thank you Ada Luz, Juan Pablo, and Lidia. Our home away from home surpassed all expectations. Unbelievably well-constructed, open air atmospheres and truly no need for air conditioning with the constant breezes. No telephones and a real escape from reality and the stressors of life. We leave renewed and thankful for the opportunity you extended us. We look forward to returning in the near future if you will have us. And most importantly, we leave with hearts full of love for our extended family in Nicaragua. Muchas gracias for all your love.

-Lloyd, Marie, Erik, and Stacy Smith

P.S. Ada Luz is a magnificent hostess and consierge. No woman could be more sweet.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

My husband and I were seeking a vacation, which began with the usual search on Hotwire, Bookit, etc for an all-inclusive resort. We were about to book our trip to Dominican Republic - we were awaiting a call back from a resort representative. Coincidentally, my husband recalled an article in his GQ magazine about fabulous, unknown destinations. One of these destinations was San Juan del Sur. We googled the area and found Finca Las Nubes! We arranged the trip with the help of Chris (the owner) and his daughter, Natalie. Their assistance put us at ease, especially since this was our first vacation in Central America.

We were met in Managua by Javier, who drove us wherever we asked during our stay. He is a friendly, adventurous man and his guidance was invaluable. Our home, Casa Buena VIsta, was awesome! We had a private pool that overlooks the ocean. The home is open air and maintains a comfortable temperature due to the smart construction and breeze. Be prepared to start your day with a beautiful sunrise, a cup of freshly roasted coffee, and a book in a hammock. You will eat amazing meals prepared by your own personal cook (including lobster and fresh juice from the organic fruit grown on the farm) - thank you, Juan. Be sure to try Flora de Cana, the rum of choice in NIcaragua. Have a drink while star gazing pool side.

The beaches are some of the most beautiful in the world. Playa Coco is a quiet beach, just a few miles from Costa Rica. Maderas is a surfing hot spot. We spent a day hiking Ometepe Island, known for it's volcano and gigantic waterfalls. In San Juan, we zip-lined at Da Flying Frog Canopy, which was a blast!

On the property, be sure to take a guided horseback ride. Check out the gardens. Visit with Chris and his family - it is awesome to hear how he developed the property and his plans for the future. Spend some time with Fedrico and Aldan, a doctor and P.A. from the U.S., who live on the property and are going to run a wellness clinic there in San Juan. Visit the property's organic store and hold the coolest monkey on earth!

Useful tip: If you do not know Spanish, either take a class before visiting or take a common words/phrases book with you. There is so much I wanted to ask and was crippled by my lack of speaking and understanding Spanish. This is not a touristy area, so the locals do not know English.

We felt safe and spoiled during our stay and hope to go back soon. Perhaps with our kids. Maybe we'll keep it "ours" for now!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everyday There Was a Monkey Deer Show

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 31, 2009

This was the best vacation I have ever taken. I went with my wife, brother, sister and their spouses. Finca Las Nubes was more than I ever expected. Chris, the owner, and his daughter Natalie were great hosts. The staff was wonderful. It takes me 2-3 days to relax when I go on vacation. At Finca I was relaxed immediately. I truly did not know that I could get that relaxed.

Every morning I would get up there would be fresh coffee and someone in the kitchen preparing fresh juice and breakfast. I have never had more than a taste of coffee a couple of times, and never liked it. At Finca I had a cup every morning because it was so good. It was more like hot chocolate than coffee because it was fresh, from Chris's other farm, and roasted perfect. Every meal we had on the farm was amazing. We would spend half the meal trying to decide if it was better than the other meals. The entire farm was amazing and what Chris has done and is planning on doing is even more amazing.

The title does not lie. Everyday Pepito, the Monkey, would play with Madonna, the Deer. They were either snuggling together or Pepito would just go for a ride. A couple of mornings we woke up to howler monkeys in the trees outside our house. There was amazing wildlife all over the farm. There are new trails being cut, and we were the first visitors to walk on one that was brand new. We never felt unsafe on the farm. Jose mans the front gate 24/7, and if you bring him a coke he may show you the monkey dog show. If you are lucky enough to stay with Chris and his family you will not regret it.

The only regret I have is not purchasing one of the hammocks. I was worried about getting it on the plane. Now that I am back in the US i realize it would have been worth it.

The payment is required up front. It may seem a little weird, but we read reviews on here that had us prepared and we had no issues.

I could write much more, but I don't think you would believe it. You must see and experience for it yourself.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Indescribable beauty and service

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 7, 2009

It is so hard to even think of the right words to describe Finca Las Nubes. We traveled with a group of six - 3 siblings and spouses who are all great friends and had the time of our lives! The farm, hacienda, staff, food, weather, views, adventure and relaxation were unbelievable. Chris and Natalie were the most gracious hosts and their service staff including Marcelino, Juan and Ada Luz delivered the type of service you cannot find anywhere in the United States. All of the staff on the farm made us feel so welcome and at home within minutes of our arrival.
Waking up each morning to a fresh cooked breakfast, squeezed juice, amazing sunrise and the farm pets (a monkey, deer and a couple of dogs) was just about the best awakening I've ever had. It's nearly impossible to sleep late because you don't want to miss any of the day! The views from the farm are picturesque and the sunsets each night were breathtaking. A short drive and you're in town with yet even more friendly locals. Our group had the opportunity to go surfing, sailing to a private beach, ziplining, horseback riding and exploring on the farm. Each day was made only better by the absolutely amazing meals prepared for us. I wish we could have brought Ada Luz home with us!
It's a catch 22 to talk about this place. On one hand, we want everyone to know just how amazing this vacation was, but on the other, we'd like to keep it our little secret, a special place to visit that isn't too touristy. We wish nothing but Chris and Natalie and our extended family at Finca nothing but the best. Besos to them all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: December 2, 2009

My friends and I were a bit nervous after reading articles of tourist experiences in Nicaragua. However, after arriving at Finca las Nubes, we stepped into a hilltop paradise straight out of our dreams. Located 10 min from town on a beautiful breezy mountain farm, we lived in a state of luxury. When either swimming in the disappearing edge pools overlooking the ocean and surrounding valleys or hiking the butterfly trails or observing the howler monkeys who live here; we felt extremely blessed.
The service was excellent and the nica food delicious. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
We had surfers in our group and they had a great time with very fun waves.
The location of this place allows you to disconnect from the hustle and bustle of town if you desire, while also making it convenient if you wish to go.
This place is beautiful and built like a palace. Thanks again to the staff
Go to fincalasnubescom for pics and/or visit TripAdvisor for reviews.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review