reviews for: listing #31880 - Key Largo, Florida House rental

"Historic"Oceanfront 2 Beach House property on 2.5 acres
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $6,500 - $7,500 /wk
    $18,000 - $24,000 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful and Spacious property, great for mini-season

Review submitted: August 17, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

This property is one of a kind. Nearly every window in the house and the cottage has a view of the water. It is very secluded and private with plenty of room for a big group. We had two boats docked up and it was so easy just to launch the boats into the water right from the house instead of having to go to a nearby boat ramp and pay to use the ramp. We also liked how easy it was to get out to the ocean to catch lobster and fish. We ended up with 29 lobster, a grouper, a hogfish, and a mutton snapper. We absolutely feasted like royalty and the kitchen made it easy to do that. It was fully stocked with spices and every cooking utensil/pot/pan etc that you could ever need. We loved ringing the bell outside when a meal was ready, we called it the dinner bell! There is no shortage of entertainment here from the paddle boards and kayaks to the
old school poker table that we used almost every night. Between the group we had three small dogs and they enjoyed it as much as the people.

Shadow Point is a special place and we had a blast! I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay at Historic Shadow Point. Sounds like lobster mini season was very successful for you. Come back soon and leave a hint to where all those bugs were caught!
Marlee

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unbelievable Corporate Retreat!!

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 14, 2014

11 Directors of a large Medical Device company spent a week on this amazing property. We rented a massive 34 foot boat and docked it at the house the entire week. The property owners and the care taker were VERY easy to work with and the communication was spectacular. They are very used to hosting people and have every single thing you could think of there for you. This is classic old world Key Largo charm. We had meetings on the wonderful grounds outside and also in the living room with the cool breezes blowing through the windows. All rooms have wall AC that provide unbelievable A/C when/if needed. The towels and sheets were in A++, and the kayaks, paddle boards were excellent.
The best part is how secluded you feel surrounded on 3 sides by water, but anytime we needed supplies or wanted to go out to eat, everything was within a 2 minute drive or a short walk.
For those boat/water lovers, this is a perfect location. It is literally right next to the cut that goes to the Gulf side, so if it gets windy, just head of there for the day. However, the best was the access to the Ocean and all the best dive and snorkling sites that are very very close to the house. We had people who had vacationed their entire adult life on Key Largo and they all said this house was the best location they have ever stayed in for location on the water.
We had female and male attendees and this property was set up perfectly with 2 homes on the property. In the cottage we had 4 females and they had their own bathroom and kitchen and living area (pull out bed could have slept more if needed). The males stayed in the house and there was plenty of rooms and bathrooms as well.
I can't rave enough about this property!!! Absolutely book with zero concerns!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing!!! Pre-summer vacation!!!

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

The pictures of this house were beautiful online and we could tell that this would be a nice place to vacation. When we arrived and toured the house and the grounds a feeling of serenity came over us and we felt completely one with nature. The grounds were well kept and beautifully landscaped. We had a 27 foot boat that fit perfectly on the dock. The property even has a mini beach for the kids to play. The house has a large kitchen and was well equipped with any and all cooking supplies. We even used their waffle maker for breakfast a few times. The beds were comfortable and there was a constant breeze flowing threw the house with the windows open and a/C off. We used the a/c at night to sleep. The house has so much character and a nostalgic keys look and feel . We are so lucky to have come across this treasured property and can't wait until we return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Private Retreat

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

We had a wonderful family reunion. Beautiful private, island like, retreat. The kayaking was awesome. The water was clear and warm. Not a swimming area; however, lots of fun.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Vacation Spot

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

This was not our first trip to the Keys but it was our first time at Shadow Point. We cannot say enough about this property. By far, one of the best vacations ever! There were 12 of us total (all adults but this is a great place for kids too) and it turned out to be the perfect place to celebrate my husband's 40th (which we kept a surprise)! We snorkeled, fished and just relaxed on the beach the entire time. Shopping and great restaurants are very close and convenient but the 2 full kitchens made it very easy to cook most of the time. The large dining room table accomodated all of us and made dinners much more fun. Marlee was very easy to work with and there wasn't anything the place did not have for us. We look forward to many more vacations at Shadow Point in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Many thanks for choosing Shadow Point. We love to share this gem with others so they can create their own memories!
Marlee

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great for larger Family get togethers

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

16 person family vacation, the kids 9-15 loved the beach and the docks for swimming, the kayaks were used by all. the large dining room was great for all to sit, eat and talk. Kitchen was large enough for several people to work at the same time. The historic ambiance was enjoyed by all. Close to shopping and plenty of shade trees, gorgeous location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Many thanks - So glad your family enjoyed their vacation. Please come visit us again. You are always welcome. Marlee

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Classic Keys Elegance

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

I've been going down to Shadow Point for almost a decade. The expansive property is charming and full of history and life. There is plenty of space for everyone to eat, sleep and play comfortable and opportunities for activity abound. Swim, snorkel, fish, read, grill, cook or just lay in the sun or chat on the porch, enjoying the sea breeze. The In addition, recent upgrades to both the inside of the houses and the garden/foliage have only added to the impressive nature of this place. Still, the property retains its classic Keys elegance; you'll truly fall in love with its charm.

My wife and I were recently married at Shadow Point and it was the best decision we could have made. There is very little required to turn such a magical place into your dream wedding location. Needless to say we would highly recommend Shadow Point for a vacation, family gathering or other special event.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

What can you say about a vacation for 13 people (five grandchildren age 3-8)my wife and me and our three children's families when everything went really well. Shadow Point was wonderful--the large screened porch was the gathering point for adults as they emerged in the morning with their coffees and gradually got prepared for the day. Weather cooperated so much time was spent by children enjoying the small beach and the adults not being fearful of any problems. Kayaks were used by dads and their children and sunning, sitting and reading were much enjoyed activities by adults. The grounds are spectacular with beautiful landscaping right up to the water. The house is equipped with everything that anyone could possibly need; the beds were comfortable and we never ran out of hot water. A day in Key West for some; a day in the Everglades for everyone, and individual excusions to Anne's Beach and other places were perfect. The bottom line is that the house with its charm and comfortableness was the center point that made everyone happy. We hope to be able to return again. A really grand place for a large famility to enjoy! And thank you Marlee for making sure that we didn't worry about a thing!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous Family Vacation Setting

Review submitted: March 18, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

What can you say about a vacation for 13 people (five grandchildren age 3-8)my wife and me and our three children's families when everything went really well. Shadow Point was wonderful--the large screened porch was the gathering point for adults as they emerged in the morning with their coffees and gradually got prepared for the day. Weather cooperated so much time was spent by children enjoying the small beach and the adults not being fearful of any problems. Kayaks were used by dads and their children and sunning, sitting and reading were much enjoyed activities by adults. The grounds are spectacular with beautiful landscaping right up to the water. The house is equipped with everything that anyone could possibly need; the beds were comfortable and we never ran out of hot water. A day in Key West for some; a day in the Everglades for everyone, and individual excusions to Anne's Beach and other places were perfect. The bottom line is that the house with its charm and comfortableness was the center point that made everyone happy. We hope to be able to return again. A really grand place for a large famility to enjoy! And thank you Marlee for making sure that we didn't worry about a thing!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Many thanks for the kudos! I am so pleased that Shadow Point is enjoyed by all! We look forward to your next stay.
Marlee

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Magical Place

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2008

We were married here in November of 2008 and returned for a week's stay in January 2011. It is a wonderful place and a true Keys experience.

We could not be happier with Shadow Point and hope to visit for many years to come. Marlee is very helpful and accommodating. We are so lucky she and her family take such great care of this property.

Shadow Point is a very special peninsula to visit with friends and family and enjoy the beauty of Key Largo. A few groceries on hand and you and yours are set for kayaking, fishing, hammocking on the porch, grilling out and living the good life.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your wedding at Shadow Point and that you have returned to this wonderful place. We have had many weddings since yours and it seems that all couples that get married here have experienced a true magical event. Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

Wonderful Retreat Beth Coconut Grove, Fl Review Submitted: August 19, 2010 Date of Stay: August 2010 Shadow Point was the perfect family escape for my husband's 50th. The house is charming and wonderfully comfortable, but the real surprise is out the back door. Beautiful views and complete privacy on Key Largo Sound. Everything inside and out was extemely well maintained. Marlee made sure we had everything we needed and quickly responded to any questions we had. The dock (had new railing bumpers, no need for fenders) was perfect for our 30' boat. It's a quick cruise to either the ocean or bay. If you want to experience old Key Largo in comfort and serenity, you will love Shadow Point. We look forward to returning. Thank you, Marlee!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

Jupiter, Fl
Review Submitted: August 20, 2009 Date of Stay: July 2009
8 women gathered for several days at Shadow Point. The property was so fabulous, the views stunning and the home charming. We never expected or imagined this place could be so special, but it is. The uniqueness of this home is in its historic charm and artistic expressions seen throughout. The home and property are very well-maintained and it was refreshing to see the preservation of an "old florida" home. Great spot to get away from it all and relax. The owner was very easy to work with. Highly recommended!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

cTularosa, NM
Review Submitted: August 29, 2009 Date of Stay: August 2009
This was the third time I've celebrated my birthday at Shadow Point and the fifth time I've met there with a large group of people! All 14 of us left happy and relaxed. It was the best the place has ever looked - Marlee has put a LOT of work into the house. It is the most gorgeous, special place ever! A blast from the past with all the conveniences at the same time. It's an art gallery, a history lesson, and a step into yesterday, all on two and a half private fenced acres! With all there is to do in the Keys, once you step foot in Shadow Point, the only time you'll want to leave is for a beer-run or some amazing fresh-caught fish at the fish market. Stores are conveniently close. Even though there are some great restaurants around, we stocked up and made all our meals there. We're getting another group together to go back in May 2010 for an Artists' Retreat. It's an absolute paradise for artists and water-lovers. Marlee has made sure her guests will be comfortable, happy, and want for nothing! Thanks for another fantastic time and we can't wait to come again next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

Raleigh, NC, US
Review Submitted: January 9, 2010 Date of Stay: December 2009
Our entire family spent as week at Shadow Point and found it a wonderful experience. The house and the cottage were definitely not modern motel rooms. They were more like museums where every day you discover new pieces of art. The setting was spectacular. The landscaping was like a tropical forest. Everything worked. It was helpful to have two kitchen units to keep up with all of food prep and supplies. Our children were able to swim off of the property as well as having easy access to the snorkel and dive boats. I agree with the owner that occupancy of both the house a cottage is best. We needed the space but it would have been difficult to have had another party in the cottage. Although there was fairly active surrounding neighborhood, it did not intrude on the location.

If the size and location fits you needs, it is a great deal.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

Colorado
Review Submitted: April 2, 2010 Date of Stay: March 2010
I have to say this is a magnificent old world, charming property. We stayed there 9 days and would recommend it to anyone and would not hesitate to come back again. I despise staying in a house where your look out your window and see in the neighbors windows. As congested as Key Largo can be, this is a beautiful private refuge. Thank you for sharing this gem.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 29, 2010

Kyle Fort Lauderdale

We had a meeting of a group of upper 20's guys here and it was exactly what we were looking for. All other things considered, it is nearly impossible to find two neighboring houses for an affordable price to house all the vacationers attending. Not to mention in such a private and beautiful setting with room to spare!

Everything is well-maintained and works as it should (a/c, appliances, etc.), and the houses are comfortable and easy to settle in to quickly. The land surrounding the house seems to go on forever, and there are several different areas where you will find yourselves hanging out throughout the trip...fishing dock, cocktail dock, beach area, etc.

If you're looking at the Keys for a large group get-together, I highly recommend staying at Shadow Point for the price, location, and unbeatable privacy of this piece of land.




Wonderful Retreat
Beth Coconut Grove, Fl
Review Submitted: August 19, 2010 Date of Stay: August 2010
Shadow Point was the perfect family escape for my husband's 50th. The house is charming and wonderfully comfortable, but the real surprise is out the back door. Beautiful views and complete privacy on Key Largo Sound. Everything inside and out was extemely well maintained. Marlee made sure we had everything we needed and quickly responded to any questions we had. The dock (had new railing bumpers, no need for fenders) was perfect for our 30' boat. It's a quick cruise to either the ocean or bay. If you want to experience old Key Largo in comfort and serenity, you will love Shadow Point. We look forward to returning. Thank you, Marlee!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Aristocrats Charity Group

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

We had a meeting of a group of upper 20's guys here and it was exactly what we were looking for. All other things considered, it is nearly impossible to find two neighboring houses for an affordable price to house all the vacationers attending. Not to mention in such a private and beautiful setting with room to spare!

Everything is well-maintained and works as it should (a/c, appliances, etc.), and the houses are comfortable and easy to settle in to quickly. The land surrounding the house seems to go on forever, and there are several different areas where you will find yourselves hanging out throughout the trip...fishing dock, cocktail dock, beach area, etc.

If you're looking at the Keys for a large group get-together, I highly recommend staying at Shadow Point for the price, location, and unbeatable privacy of this piece of land.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Retreat

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 11, 2010

Shadow Point was the perfect family escape for my husband's 50th. The house is charming and wonderfully comfortable, but the real surprise is out the back door. Beautiful views and complete privacy on Key Largo Sound. Everything inside and out was extemely well maintained. Marlee made sure we had everything we needed and quickly responded to any questions we had. The dock (had new railing bumpers, no need for fenders) was perfect for our 30' boat. It's a quick cruise to either the ocean or bay. If you want to experience old Key Largo in comfort and serenity, you will love Shadow Point. We look forward to returning. Thank you, Marlee!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Old World Charm

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

Colorado
Review Submitted: April 2, 2010 Date of Stay: March 2010
I have to say this is a magnificent old world, charming property. We stayed there 9 days and would recommend it to anyone and would not hesitate to come back again. I despise staying in a house where your look out your window and see in the neighbors windows. As congested as Key Largo can be, this is a beautiful private refuge. Thank you for sharing this gem.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Retreat

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

I have to say this is a magnificent old world, charming property. We stayed there 9 days and would recommend it to anyone and would not hesitate to come back again. I despise staying in a house where your look out your window and see in the neighbors windows. As congested as Key Largo can be, this is a beautiful private refuge. Thank you for sharing this gem.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We loved having you and hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise on Earth

Review submitted: February 26, 2010   Date of arrival: May 5, 2008

Hendersonville, N.C.

It was like traveling back in time to stay at "Shadow Point". The house and cottage have an "oldy worldy" feel but at the same time every creature comfort is available. The rustic, cheerful and tasteful furnishings are quite charming.

The location is central with many opportunities close by. For those wishing to explore the surrounding area more thoroughly, Key West, Miami or The Everglades are an easy drive away.

The grounds are ample for play or enjoying communing with nature and the views are stunning. It was a delight to watch the sunrise over the Bay and then enjoy a swim right off the dock!

The owners are welcoming, amenable and willing to accommodate in every way. Personally, I can't wait to return!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wedding no one will forget!

Review submitted: February 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2008

Lin & Su Pinehurst, NC

We chose this property off of the internet to host our wedding, because we could accommodate the entire wedding party, but had no idea what we was in store for us once we got there. The houses and property are breathtaking, and the gardens (I describe them as the garden of Eden) that surround them are nothing but amazingly beautiful. From the picturesque sunrises in the morning, to the cooling tropical breezes at night, our week at Shadow Point was one of the most memorable weeks of our lives. The wedding held at the end of the week was stunning to say the least. Everyone in attendance agreed it was the most beautiful wedding they had ever attended. Marlee helped us every step of the way too, down to hand making tiki torch holders for us and delivering them mid week so we could use them in the wedding. She was very accommodating to any and all of our needs. The kitchen had every amenity you could ask for, and there is a grill out back for the bbq buff. My husband being an avid fisherman, had the time of his life fishing off of the dock; catching a nurse shark, 2 shovel head sharks, a grouper, and a snapper (all were released). The wildlife includes many friendly squirrels (they love raw peanuts!), two large iguana's, and multiple baby iguana's, as well as cranes, and pippins. The water surrounding the property is crystal clear, and you can view many of the fish, crabs, and other sea creatures right from the docks. This beautiful property has left a permanent mark in our hearts. We intend to return and celebrate our anniversary for years to come.

Thank you so much Marlee for sharing this with others, and for making our wedding day perfection.

Sincerely,

Linward and Suzette

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving at Shadow Point

Review submitted: February 26, 2010   Date of arrival: November 25, 2008

Review Submitted: January 28, 2009 Date of Stay: November 2008
We had a great time staying here for our family Thanksgiving vacation. Shadow Point is large enough to accommodate the whole family! It was really good that the property is secluded since we are not exactly a quiet bunch!!

Thank you!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: February 26, 2010   Date of arrival: February 18, 2009

Wonderful Family Vacation
Malcolm,Kevin and Susan Norwalk,CT,USA

I spent a week here with children and grandchildren. It was truly a step back in history to a charming and fascinating house located on a most beautiful and unique piece of property providing complete privacy. The spectacular sunrises are not to be missed.
The description is accurate, the property well maintained and Marlee was always helpful.
The kids and adults enjoyed swimming, kayaking, sailing and snorkeling on the property as well as visits to Pennekamp State Park and Everglades National Park. We all enjoyed dinner at the Fish House and Mandalay restaurants.
Everyone of all ages enjoyed our stay and did not want to leave. Thanks Marlee for a great week.
Malcolm
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

55th Birthday Party Blast!

Review submitted: February 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2009

Robin & Mark Tularosa, NM

This was the third time I've celebrated my birthday at Shadow Point and the fifth time I've met there with a large group of people! All 14 of us left happy and relaxed. It was the best the place has ever looked - Marlee has put a LOT of work into the house. It is the most gorgeous, special place ever! A blast from the past with all the conveniences at the same time. It's an art gallery, a history lesson, and a step into yesterday, all on two and a half private fenced acres! With all there is to do in the Keys, once you step foot in Shadow Point, the only time you'll want to leave is for a beer-run or some amazing fresh-caught fish at the fish market. Stores are conveniently close. Even though there are some great restaurants around, we stocked up and made all our meals there. We're getting another group together to go back in May 2010 for an Artists' Retreat. It's an absolute paradise for artists and water-lovers. Marlee has made sure her guests will be comfortable, happy, and want for nothing! Thanks for another fantastic time and we can't wait to come again next year!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Graduation Trip at Shadow Point

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2009

Graduation Trip
Alysa Atlanta
Review Submitted: June 21, 2009 Date of Stay: May 2009
We all came down for a last week together after graduating from high school. It was fabulous! Just a few parents and my closest friends. What a way to end our time together.
The house was just how I remember from when I was a little kid, the view was spectacular, and by the end of the week no one wanted to leave.
Everything from the snorkeling to the fishing to the shopping in town was so much fun. I really recommend this getaway for anyone looking to sit back, relax, and take in all that natural beauty!
Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer week at Shadow Point

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2009

Review Submitted: June 24, 2009 Date of Stay: June 2009
My family of 6 had a great time during our one week vacation at Shadow Point! The two houses were ideally located to satisfy the diverse interests of our adult children. The highlights of our week included snorkeling on nearby Pennekamp State Park reefs, fishing among the mangroves, and exploring local sites. After busy days, we enjoyed coming home to the charm, comforts, seclusion, and waterfront vistas of Shadow Point.

Durham, NC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ladies time at Shadow Point

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

Ladies Time
Jupiter, Fl
Date of Stay: July 2009
8 women gathered for workshop at Shadow Point. The property was so fabulous, the views stunning and the home charming. We never expected or imagined this place could be so special, but it is. The uniqueness of this home is in its historic charm and artistic expressions seen throughout. The home and property are very well-maintained and it was refreshing to see the preservation of an "old florida" home. Great spot to get away from it all and relax. The owner was very easy to work with. Highly recommended!!!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas at Shadow Point

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2009

Family Christmas
AlbertC Raleigh, NC, US
Review Submitted: January 9, 2010 Date of Stay: December 2009
Our entire family spent as week at Shadow Point and found it a wonderful experience. The house and the cottage were definitely not modern motel rooms. They were more like museums where every day you discover new pieces of art. The setting was spectacular. The landscaping was like a tropical forest. Everything worked. It was helpful to have two kitchen units to keep up with all of food prep and supplies. Our children were able to swim off of the property as well as having easy access to the snorkel and dive boats. I agree with the owner that occupancy of both the house a cottage is best. We needed the space but it would have been difficult to have had another party in the cottage. Although there was fairly active surrounding neighborhood, it did not intrude on the location.

If the size and location fits you needs, it is a great deal.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Christmas

Review submitted: January 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

Our entire family spent as week at Shadow Point and found it a wonderful experience. The house and the cottage were definitely not modern motel rooms. They were more like museums where every day you discover new pieces of art. The setting was spectacular. The landscaping was like a tropical forest. Everything worked. It was helpful to have two kitchen units to keep up with all of food prep and supplies. Our children were able to swim off of the property as well as having easy access to the snorkel and dive boats. I agree with the owner that occupancy of both the house a cottage is best. We needed the space but it would have been difficult to have had another party in the cottage. Although there was fairly active surrounding neighborhood, it did not intrude on the location.

If the size and location fits you needs, it is a great deal.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

55th Birthday Party Blast!

Review submitted: August 29, 2009   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

This was the third time I've celebrated my birthday at Shadow Point and the fifth time I've met there with a large group of people! All 14 of us left happy and relaxed. It was the best the place has ever looked - Marlee has put a LOT of work into the house. It is the most gorgeous, special place ever! A blast from the past with all the conveniences at the same time. It's an art gallery, a history lesson, and a step into yesterday, all on two and a half private fenced acres! With all there is to do in the Keys, once you step foot in Shadow Point, the only time you'll want to leave is for a beer-run or some amazing fresh-caught fish at the fish market. Stores are conveniently close. Even though there are some great restaurants around, we stocked up and made all our meals there. We're getting another group together to go back in May 2010 for an Artists' Retreat. It's an absolute paradise for artists and water-lovers. Marlee has made sure her guests will be comfortable, happy, and want for nothing! Thanks for another fantastic time and we can't wait to come again next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ladies Weekend

Review submitted: August 20, 2009   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

8 women gathered for several days at Shadow Point. The property was so fabulous, the views stunning and the home charming. We never expected or imagined this place could be so special, but it is. The uniqueness of this home is in its historic charm and artistic expressions seen throughout. The home and property are very well-maintained and it was refreshing to see the preservation of an "old florida" home. Great spot to get away from it all and relax. The owner was very easy to work with. Highly recommended!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Shadow Point vacation

Review submitted: June 24, 2009   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

My family of 6 had a great time during our one week vacation at Shadow Point! The two houses were ideally located to satisfy the diverse interests of our adult children. The highlights of our week included snorkeling on nearby Pennekamp State Park reefs, fishing among the mangroves, and exploring local sites. After busy days, we enjoyed coming home to the charm, comforts, seclusion, and waterfront vistas of Shadow Point.

Durham, NC

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Graduation Trip

Review submitted: June 21, 2009   Date of arrival: May 29, 2009

We all came down for a last week together after graduating from high school. It was fabulous! Just a few parents and my closest friends. What a way to end our time together.
The house was just how I remember from when I was a little kid, the view was spectacular, and by the end of the week no one wanted to leave.
Everything from the snorkeling to the fishing to the shopping in town was so much fun. I really recommend this getaway for anyone looking to sit back, relax, and take in all that natural beauty!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Most relaxing week I could imagine!

Review submitted: March 18, 2009   Date of arrival: March 3, 2009

My husband and I rented just the cottage for 9 days in March. Marlee (the owner) was concerned it might be too rustic, on its own, with no TV. We were delighted! (And it did have wifi...) our only interruption was when a ten pound iguana fell out of a tree near the porch (He was very embarrassed). The kitchen had everything we needed, the decor reflected the house having been in the family for almost 100 years, and the property itself is everything the previous reviews say, and more. We had another couple visit for a few days, and had plenty of room - could even have had more visitors with the fold-out in the living room. A historic property that everyone in Key Largo seems to know and love!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 13, 2009   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

I spent a week here with children and grandchildren. It was truly a step back in history to a charming and fascinating house located on a most beautiful and unique piece of property providing complete privacy. The spectacular sunrises are not to be missed.
The description is accurate, the property well maintained and Marlee was always helpfull.
The kids and adults enjoyed swimming, kayaking, sailing and snorkeling on the property as well as visits to Pennekamp State Park and Everglades National Park. We all enjoyed dinner at the Fish House and Mandalay resaurants.
Everyone of all ages enjoyed our stay and did not want to leave. Thanks Marlee for a great week.
Malcolm

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Holiday Family Fun

Review submitted: January 28, 2009   Date of arrival: November 22, 2008

We had a great time staying here for our family Thanksgiving vacation. Shadow Point is large enough to accommodate the whole family! It was really good that the property is secluded since we are not exactly a quiet bunch!!

Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding no one will forget

Review submitted: August 18, 2008   Date of arrival: August 3, 2008

We chose this property off of the internet to host our wedding, because we could accomodate the entire wedding party, but had no idea what we was in store for us once we got there. The houses and property are breathtaking, and the gardens (I describe them as the garden of Eden) that surround them are nothing but amazingly beautiful. From the picturesque sunrises in the morning, to the cooling tropical breezes at night, our week at Shadow Point was one of the most memorable weeks of our lives. The wedding held at the end of the week was stunning to say the least. Everyone in attendance agreed it was the most beautiful wedding they had ever attended. Marlee helped us every step of the way too, down to hand making tiki torch holders for us and delivering them mid week so we could use them in the wedding. She was very accomodating to any and all of our needs. The kitchen had every ammnity you could ask for, and there is a grill out back for the bbq buff. My husband being an avid fisherman, had the time of his life fishing off of the dock; catching a nurse shark, 2 shovel head sharks, a grouper, and a snapper (all were released). The wildlife includes many friendly squirrels (they love raw peanuts!), two large iguana's, and multiple baby iguana's, as well as cranes, and pippins. The water surrounding the property is crystal clear, and you can view many of the fish, crabs, and other sea creatures right from the docks. This beautiful property has left a permanent mark in our hearts. We intend to return and celebrate our anniversary for years to come.

Thank you so much Marlee for sharing this with others, and for making our wedding day perfection.

Sincerely,

Linward and Suzette

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise on Earth

Review submitted: May 29, 2008   Date of arrival: May 24, 2008

It was like traveling back in time to stay at "Shadow Point". The house and cottage have an "oldy worldy" feel but at the same time every creature comfort is available. The rustic, cheerful and tasteful furnishings are quite charming.

The location is central with many opportunities close by. For those wishing to explore the surrounding area more thoroughly, Key West, Miami or The Everglades are an easy drive away.

The grounds are ample for play or enjoying communing with nature and the views are stunning. It was a delight to watch the sunrise over the Bay and then enjoy a swim right off the dock!

The owners are welcoming, amenable and willing to accommodate in every way. Personally, I can't wait to return!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Authentic Florida Keys Experience!

Review submitted: April 29, 2008   Date of arrival: April 24, 2008

We spent a week in this amazing Key Largo setting. The houses on the estate have every modern convenience you need, while providing the feeling that you are in a turn of the century home. AMAZING view and amazing piece of land! The owners were available every time we had a question, yet left us on our own to enjoy our week. It was absolutely splendid, and we could not reccomend Shadow Point more to anyone who wants an authentic Florida Keys experience!!

Lou and Ellen

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Artists' / Nature Lovers' Paradise!

Review submitted: January 28, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

We have stayed at Shadow Point a number of times and taken many friends with us. The historic property is awesome! You don't find treasures like that anymore. Many artists' touches all over the houses and in the yard. Great location for a painting workshop. With all there is to do around the area, we have chosen more often than not to stay on the grounds and cook, eat, and relax! Marlee & Bob are amazing hosts and offer everything anyone could need to make you comfortable and content. Early 20's houses and grounds are rustic and take you back a few decades just walking in the door. The grounds are a fantastic natural paradise! Dolphins in the bay, birding, and fishing are abundant. Enjoy a unique piece of history that you won't find elsewhere!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review