reviews for: listing #3192 - Aptos, California House rental

Beautiful Rio Del Mar Single Story On Bluff Overlooks Beach
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Rio del Mar
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $420 /nt
    $1,900 - $2,700 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: June 29, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

From the moment we stepped inside we knew the weekend would be a great one. We got there right at sunset and the view was absolutely amazing. The kitchen was beautiful and the bathroom amenities were amazing! The kitchen and living areas were super open fresh. Everything was so close. 10 Minute walk to the beach, 5 minute drive to some great restaurants/shopping, and so close to Santa Cruz Wharf/Boardwalk. We could not have asked for a better place to stay in Aptos and will definitely go again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

amazing view home

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Our family first rented this lovely home Labor Day weekend 2013, and now six months later, we've just booked it again. My husband walked into the home and said "I could live here." The view is that stunning. We were four generations from my mother (87) to her great-grandson (3) and the house worked perfectly for all of us. The house is in a quiet and peaceful spot, yet the beach is nearby and the sound of the waves soothed whatever nerves we arrived with. We were happy. Happy enough to book again six months later.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, BUT ........

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

Yes, this rental is elegant, with a stunning view of the water (accessible with a ten minute walk) and on an elegant street in elegant Aptos. BUT we were horrified at the following: 1) the owner increased the listed price after I inquired about the property; 2) the sheets, for which we paid $15 extra per person, were sleazy polyester, non-matching, AND NOT EVEN ON THE BEDS WHEN WE ARRIVED; 3) never have I been in a VRB0, in particular a luxury rental such as this one, that didn't even have coffee filters with the coffee maker; rentors are literally supposed to bring their own toilet paper (!) but fortunately some had apparently been left by previous guests. The house instructions did not say where the switch to the garbage disposal was (cleverly hidden under a counter), nor where the regular sized refrigerator was located. Possibly the owner has had bad results with previous rentals - but the house instructions were menacing rather than inviting. Also, the house reeked of cleaning fluid upon our arrival. We felt to some degree terrorized of not getting back our deposit and, overall, ripped off.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Lovely Floor Plan and a Fantastic View

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

This home is perched above the beach and has a beautiful view of the water and beach. We loved eating out on the lovely deck and ended up not going out to eat at all because we said we couldn't improve on the view at the house and also the kitchen was so well-equipped and large and fun to cook in. (And there's a wonderful grocery store nearby!) The floor plan is open and roomy, and the four bedrooms were comfortable and clean. The bathrooms each had special features, such as a whirlpool tub in one and a rain shower over rocks in the other. There was good parking for two cars, and helpful instructions from the owner. We enjoyed the beach and visitors' center within walking distance and the Santa Cruz boardwalk rides, the Monterey car show, and the redwoods at nearby Henry Cowell state park. We had family from ages 11 to 82 there, and everyone was comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family and Friend time

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

Stayed at this home with my husband, 2 kids (ages 8 and 10) and a close family of friends. Had a great time. My daughter was overjoyed that she had her own room. The views were fantastic and there was plenty of space to dine in together. The walk to the beach was close......there is a steep street that you have to walk down to get to. We will definitely be staying here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Aptos Beach Home

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Our family spent a wonderful Christmas week relaxing and enjoying all the amenities this beautiful beach home had to offer. Our added Christmas decorations and lights strung along the deck gave us a very festive feeling. The views of Monterey Bay were amazing, and even though we had some very stormy days we were still able to enjoy watching the ever changing ocean, and all the beach activities. Walks through the beautiful neighborhood and along the beach were enjoyed by all. We hope to be able to return in the near future. Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Home with a Beautiful View

Review submitted: December 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

We spent a quick weekend in this gorgeous home to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. The house was very clean (and we're picky!) when we arrived, and very comfortable. The view is absolutely mesmerizing. Even though we were there on a very stormy weekend, we were still able to watch the ocean in all its beauty. We did have a short break in the weather to fit in a quick walk along the beach. My husband says it was his best birthday ever! I was very appreciative of Betsy's willingness to work with me given my short notice regarding our stay. We hope to rent this house again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Get Away

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the beauty and charm of this home. The location is superb with views that are incredible. Watching the dolphins swimming and jumping were a highlight from an amazing deck. Easy walk or drive (for those who can't easily walk) to the beach. We also experienced the best weather anyone could ask for. We were all comfortable and happy with our stay. We will be returning many times during the year. Highly, highly recommend this little piece of paradise.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

Amazing views from deck and bedrooms. Nicely remodeled. Very clean and refreshing! We will stay again. Lovely owners to work with.

Thank you!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Rio Del Mar

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

What a gorgeous home. Views were just fantastic, more than fulfilling our expectations. This house was located close to restaurants, shopping, grocery stores and the freeway but still gave you the feeling that you had the privacy to just relax. There were five adults in our group, utilizing all four bedrooms with no problems. The open floor plan that contained the kitchen, living room and dining room was spacious enough for all of us plus the guests that we had each night for dinner. We cooked each night utilizing the grill on the deck, enjoying the view and that wonderful ocean smell.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Gorgeous Views

Review submitted: June 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

This home is in a perfect location. Quick access to the freeways. Very comfortable home with everything you need. The ocean view is amazing. The neighborhood is very quiet. Perfect for morning walks. The Rio Del Mar beach nearby is wonderful. Very clean and within walking distance. You will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Incredible place with everything you need and a view of Monterey Bay

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

This is a great place with all amenities needed. The view from two bedrooms, living room, kitchen and large balcony make you feel like you are on a ship. The house is remodeled and clean and comfortable. My wife and I went with 3 other couples (8 people total) for her birthday weekend and had a great relaxing time. I highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a serene place. The owners were very nice to deal with also.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A great place for a weekend or longer

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

We live in the neighborhood and required additional space for our family holiday gathering. Having seen the house go through an extensive remodel by a noted on contractor, we knew we would not be disappointed in the home and our expectations were met and exceeded. A quality home in an outstanding neighborhood with full ocean views, what more could you ask for? Likely the best deal in Rio Del Mar for 4bedrooms, recently remodeled,i.e. in 2011, ocean views and sounds, the price could easily be more and it would still be worth it. Our grandkids said they wanted to stay there again, and we definitely will.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful, Clean, Quiet Home on the beach!

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

This house is well worth it. My wife and I stayed here with 2 other couples. It was absolutely perfect. We'd stay here again. Very clean and comfortable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Two years of relaxation

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

My wife and I have been vacationing at Rio Del Mar for over ten years. We have rented everything from apartments to stand alone homes. We've been in this property for two consecutive years and have enjoyed ourselves. It's located on a cliff overlooking Monterey Bay from Montery to Santa Cruz. The beach is within a ten minute walk, Aptos golf coarse is ten minutes in the opposite direction. The home has been recently remodled increasing the fuctionality of the property. We will continue to rent this property as long as we continue vacationing at Rio Del Mar beach and would reccommend this home to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review