reviews for: listing #31937 - Princeville, Hawaii House rental

Luxury Retreat Near Beach - Golf, Tennis, Pool & Spa
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $299 - $499 /nt
    $2,093 - $3,493 /wk

sort by:

Top 10 Reasons Why WE LOVE THIS HOME & Will Return

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

This is our 19th visit to the Hawaiian islands over the past 23 years and since your home is our hands-down favorite, we want to do for you what some guests of ours did for us (we have a vacation rental in California). A TOP 10 list of your beautiful home so future guests know what to expect. So here goes...

#1 Location Location Location
===>We’ve been to all of the Hawaiian islands and to Poipu on the south shore but NOTHING COMPARES to Kauai’s breathtaking North Shore. That’s why everyone says the North Shore of Kauai is what dreams are made of and why more movies have been filmed here than any other tropical location in the world

#2 The Lanai/porch
===>WOW! Amazing! Mesmerizing! Surreal! (to quote some of the more than 50 mentions of this in your guestbook). We love it because of:
a) Western facing orientation–We’ve been in homes facing north with nothing but ocean views and find this so much more beautiful (although we do get a peek of the ocean). Looking west makes for remarkable morning rainbows(some guests have seen double and even a triple rainbow), all-day views of the waterfalls on the mountains(one guest saw 16) and, of course, unbelievable sunsets over famous Bali Hai (where Mount Makana meets the Pacific)
b) Convenience-we can walk onto the lanai from either the family room or the dining room and it’s all on the upper level (not ground floor or off a bedroom). What a fantastic floor plan to take advantage of this setting! Also, with the living area and kitchen right here, we conveniently drink our morning coffee, have an occasional meal and, of course, celebrate the sunset with an appropriate tropical cocktail or glass of wine while enjoying the scenery, songs of local birds and island breeze
c) Constant reminder–The living/dining/Lanai area with all of its glass & openness to the views, never lets you forget YOU ARE IN PARADISE! I believe this has had a profound effect on our experience here

#3 Privacy
===>This exclusive loop of a dozen or so homes, each on an oversized parcel of land affords an abundance of privacy that is so unlike our past Princeville experiences where, by the end of the week, we often know the names and habits of our surrounding neighbors whether we want to or not. We also appreciate it’s across the street from the golf course so we aren’t disturbed or awakened by golfers or maintenance crews

< to see more, click on "More Details" in blue, above this review >

Owners response: < to see the rest of this review, click on "More Details" in blue, just above the 24 photos >

Thank you so much. I appreciate you taking the time to organize/summarize, from the guest book, the many benefits of our home and also sharing your personal experiences. We try hard to ensure our guests have a memorable vacation and look forward to you joining our list of repeat visitors.

Helpful votes: 41 / 44

 

Sheila's Luau

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

We spent two great weeks in March celebrating Sheila's 65th and our 45th..!! We invited family & friends to join us and we had a full house the whole time. The house was perfect and Spencer was very accommodating with check-in/check-out times to adjust to our flight times.
Kauai is fascinating with its micro-climes and variety of beaches and villages, from Tunnels to Salt Pond - from Hanalei to Poipu, and everything in between. You can always drive to the sun..!! The birds at Kilauea Lighthouse are amazing. We recommend the Bistro at Kilauea for lunch or Dinner, and Kauai Pasta in Lihue for great Italian..!!
Mahalo Spencer..!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sheila's Luau

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

We spent two great weeks in March celebrating Sheila's 65th and our 45th..!! We invited family & friends to join us and we had a full house the whole time. The house was perfect and Spencer was very accommodating with check-in/check-out times to adjust to our flight times.
Kauai is fascinating with its micro-climes and variety of beaches and villages, from Tunnels to Salt Pond - from Hanalei to Poipu, and everything in between. You can always drive to the sun..!! The birds at Kilauea Lighthouse are amazing. We recommend the Bistro at Kilauea for lunch or Dinner, and Kauai Pasta in Lihue for great Italian..!!
Mahalo Spencer..!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal location to fully experience Kauai

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

I would highly recommend this house. I stayed there for 10 days with 5 friends and we all fell in love with the island and the house. The location is ideal on the north shore- the grocery store, and other shops are a 5 minute drive, and there are several great snorkelling and swimming beaches within walking distance. We did not golf, but the beautiful courses outside the front door were very tempting.Hanalei is a great town- wonderful shops, food and people.
The house itself is extremely comfortable and well equipped. We cooked many meals in the spacious kitchen, and it had everything you could need. The bedrooms were lovely and comfortable, especially the master suite!
Kauai itself has so much to offer- we could have stayed a month or more! We packed as much as we could into our stay, but the highlights were the hiking, the boat trip along the Na Pali coast, and the Hanalei beach ( many trips to that beach at the end of a long day).
I have stayed in many VRBO properties around the world, and I would say that Spencer wins the prize for being the most organized, efficient , and informative owner.
The information in the listing shows the property well, and is quite accurate.
Thank you Spencer for a wonderful holiday- we will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful Get-a-way

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

We recently celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary at your home.
Eventhough the weather was not on our side for part of the week we had a wonderful time, partly because of your house. The house did not miss a thing, from games to beach supply and the list goes on. We loved the wonderful and quiet location of the house, though being from NY it was a little to quiet at times :) One thing I also loved was the smooth correspondence with the owner. We received a detailed email before our arrival with instructions,directions and suggestions.
I will definately recommend this place !!!!

Thanks again and looking forward to our next stay.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing home away from home!

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

Thank you so much for the use of your beautiful home. My family came together from all over the world to celebrate my parents 50th anniversary. The house was everything we expected and more. I loved that there was an ensuite bedroom for my parents on the same floor as the general living area so they would not have to navigate the stairs so many times. The house was large enough that I never felt we were in each others way. That is truly my dream kitchen and we spent a lot of time cooking and preparing meals together. Luckily the tennis court is somewhat private or we may have had passersby laughing at us, but we had a great time trying to play!

The house seems to have been updated a bit since these photos were taken. The brightly colored room with the turtles on the wall is more subdued now, decorated in lovely sage green, and the chairs around the eat in table are new and cushy.

We really enjoyed our stay and I would rent this house again anytime I come back to Kauai.

Make sure you try the World Famous Mai Tai at Tahiti Nui in nearby Hanalei, as well as Postcards Cafe, also in Hanalei.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Lovely house - beautiful island location

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

We recently met at your home for a family reunion and enjoyed a week of fabulous weather in kauai. Your house is lovely, spacious, bright, fully equipped and in a wonderfully quiet location. I don't think the pictures online do it enough justice! One of the nicest things I found about our holiday was the fact that the beds were so incredibly comfortable - we had no trouble sleeping through the night and woke up feeling refreshed every day! We ran/walked to the nearby coast almost daily ... the scenery was breathtaking. The house is so very private, we virtually felt alone in the neighbourhood during our stay and even felt like we had the pool and tennis courts to ourselves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you. I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do our best to ensure the comfort of our guests. We hope to see you again in the future and, if so, remind us to give you our returning guest discount.
Mahalo

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Kauai Get -a-way

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

The house was spacious, clean and close to a lot of amenities. We had a full house, 12 adults and 4 cars. More than enough space for everyone and everything.
Nice restaurants and a great beach just a few minutes away. Can't say enough about the house and it's great location. I would definitely stay there again.

Owners response: Thank you so much! We hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Large, homey house in a beautiful setting

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

We had a total of 11 guests and we had plenty of room. The bedrooms are on the bottom level and the kitchen, dining, living rooms and lanai are on the upper level which was great. NIce views from the large lanai, which was equipped with a large dining table and gas grill. We hosted a party for 30 people from a wedding and there was plenty of room. The kitchen had all the cooking pans and utensils that we needed and it all worked out well. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A spectacular stay in your beautiful home!

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

Aloha Spencer,

We love, love, loved your beautiful home!!! It was perfect for our family, and so close to our wedding! We had a lovely family dinner here and enjoyed the deck overlooking the breathtaking views!!

I will definitely come back to stay here in Kauai, one of my favorite islands of all of the Hawaiian Islands!!

Mahalo,
Jackie Mirisciotta (Russell's sister)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

KAUAI RENTAL HOME

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

Spencer has a great , beautiful home, Fantastic location and the home has everything. Wonderful location at the beautiful Princeville resort. My family loved the place. We would not hesitate to stay there again or refer the home to our friends. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved The Warmth and Beauty of Your Wonderful Home

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

In our group of nine, no one has seen anything to match the 360° views on this spectacular island. We loved the warmth and beauty of your wonderful home. Much gratitude to the Snyders for sharing your amazing piece of the world! God has surely given special blessings to the people of Kauai. we have nothing but favorable comments on everything from decor to neighborhood, view (breathtaking), kitchen/great room for convening at the end of the day, landscaping, toys in the garage...you name it, we loved it. If we are ever fortunate enough to revisit Kauai, we will be calling
Mahalo,

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your House Was Perfect For Our Two Families

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

Aloha Spencer!

We are back from a fabulous week in Kauai. The weather was a little spotty in the beginning of the week but we managed to make the best of it, getting out to do all sorts of things around the island and generally avoiding serious rain. My son is already asking when we can go back....

Your house was perfect for our two families. We didn't spend a whole lot of time there but when we did, it was a great amount of space and very well-equipped. While some of us brought snorkel gear with us, we really appreciated the extra gear in boogie boards in the garage. The pool location could not have been more ideal.

Thanks again for everything.

Mahalo,

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved Every Minute of Our Stay in Your Lovely Home

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

We loved every minute of our stay in your lovely home. We only wish we could have stayed longer! Highlights: Queen’s Bath & Tunnels.
Mahalo nui Loa

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Wonderful Place

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

What a wonderful place! We came to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday, and all 13 of us had a great time! (had a condo too) We cannot wait to come back.
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your Home Was Perfect

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in Kauai. Your home was the perfect launching pad for our adventures and a wonderful place to return at the end of a long, active day. We’re not sure whether to keep your home a “secret” or tell our friends in San Francisco about this terrific alternative to a traditional hotel stay! ….
Mahalo! thanks for sharing your amazing home

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

This was our second year staying at this house. Great location – we played tennis & swam in the pool but mostly explored the north coast beaches. Spent almost every late afternoon boogie boarding in Hanalei Bay. Sunsets off the lanai were a highlight. Highly recommend Fathom Fire Dive Shop in Poipu for scuba diving. Tunnels Beach is the best snorkeling and all around gorgeous beach to spend the day. This house is fantastic. It’s a wonderful place to share our holiday.
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a Blast

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 22, 2012

Had a blast! Weather was fantastic, played tennis, went to the pool, beach and rum tasting. Loved the house & Hawaii! Go to Smiths Luau!!! Wish we could have brought the dogs. Do not go to Danis Restaurant! Not nice to tourists.
Thanks

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Had a Lovely Time

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

We had a lovely time. What an amazing home. Our 3 year old and 1 year old loved the beaches, the pool, the yard. We spent a wonderful week here and made some amazing family memories. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your House is Amazing

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2011

Mahalo Spencer,
First off, your house is amazing! It had everything we wanted and then some. We came with our family to get married and it was the perfect setting for all of us to share our wonderful day. The comfort of your home made everyone feel welcomed and truly showed the aloha spirit. We are definitely coming back and sharing the beauty of your home and this island with others. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

Great location, we came out for a friends wedding in Anahola. Nice size house. We came with my son who turned 3 here and my husbands parents.
Rich, Renee & Trey

We all had a good time and enjoyed ourselves. It was nice to see the rain and lightning and fun to predict when the sun would come out and where. We shared my grandsons 3rd birthday and my sons birthday two days later while staying here!
Thanks, Jane and Richard

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! Thank you for allowing us the use of your beautiful home. What a fantastic experience for my family of 9. This island is amazing! We enjoyed horseback riding, the beaches & sights. We really enjoyed ourselves! We hope to come back soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great Home, Great Island

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

Aloha Karen & Spencer

We’re just returning from another wonderful week at your lovely home in paradise. The weather was fabulous, the house gorgeous, and activities happily exhausting. This year we actually really enjoyed the Tahiti Nui for dinner and music…this seems to have become more of a tourist venue since the release of The Descendants.

I was shocked to see the latest review from the people who were apparently here just before us. I know the pride you take in your home and hope the review did not make you feel that it has fallen into disrepair. IT HAS NOT!!! These people must be the perpetual complainer types trying to get discounts. If I recall, the house is only about 10 years old and it had completely new furnishings just 5 years ago (the first year we rented). I noticed you’ve added new color, art, and furnishings since we were there last summer so to call it ‘quite dated’ is ridiculous. The couch doesn’t have any staining and the spa cover clearly states that you are waiting for a replacement from the mainland. We enjoyed many nights of stargazing in the spa….it’s very clean with nothing ‘brewing’. The one positive in their review was that they “won’t be back” (but I certainly will) as they obviously don’t understand the Aloha Spirit.

Mahalo once again, Kim & Doug

Owners response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay this summer and yes, the Nui has certainly changed since the release of the movie. We enjoy much of the nightly music they provide, especially Tuesday and Thursday nights when the band that played in the movie is there (Kanak Attack).
Thanks for your reassurance about our home although we had people in immediately after their departure that confirmed what you've told us (which is why we refused their last request for further discounts).
We look forward to hearing from you soon for your next summer's reservations and are still offering discounts to repeat guests.
Mahalo

Helpful votes: 5 / 8

 

Amazing location, home needs some TLC

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Overall we had a good time at this home, it’s a great layout and wonderful location on a quiet street. The views from the lanai are really great! It does have a common pool next to it, it’s walkable to queens bath and the booking process was easy. We also appreciated the owner’s list of activities and other helpful direction.

Unfortunately the home is in some need of TLC. It’s quite dated and some things have been neglected. The couch when we arrived was so dirty we had to put bed sheet over it to sit down. We didn’t get to use the hot tub as the cover is years overdue for replacement. The plastic cover has come off inside and out. Cover hands are ripped hanging out. The cover degraded to the point it’s now 2 pieces impossible to close. It doesn’t take a chemist to know something nasty is probably brewing in there.

The owner claims to be buying a new couch and fixing some of the other cleanliness issues we pointed out but that didn’t help us. We were kind of hoping he would try and make it right by us but alas it didn’t happen.

If you have a large group and are comfortable with the shortcomings of this home, I’d say go for it. Unfortunately, we won’t be back.

Owners response: We're very sorry you were so dissatisfied during your 4 day stay. We are constantly updating our home & do everything we can to ensure the comfort of our guests and feel that shows by the numerous positive reviews we've received. Having heard from you every day of your visit we were a little surprised that you rejected our offers to have work people address all of your concerns. Also, considering the discount you received (the largest we've given since we've owned the home) we're not sure what else we could have done to 'make it right for you'

Helpful votes: 8 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything Paradise Is Supposed To Be

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We just got home yesterday and I wanted to thank you for sharing your home with us and making our vacation so wonderful by letting us have such a great place to call "home" for 2 weeks. Kauai is everything paradise is supposed to be...just when you thought you had been to the most beautiful beach you had ever seen, the next day you got to see another one. We took a catamaran cruise of the NaPali coast and watched the spinner dolphins playing with their babies....the kids and my husband swam with a sea turtle while snorkeling off the coast. Queens Bath was the hands down favorite, closely followed by Kee Beach (loved, loved, loved). At Anini Beach they snorkeled and watched at least 6 sea turtles feeding at the bottom of the sea....Tunnels was also a great snorkel spot..and sitting on the beach at Hanalei Bay made you think that you had died and gone to heaven...I could not have imagined anything that beautiful.

We arrived after the sun had set so we saw your spectacular backyard the next morning...and the kids loved having (their...well, it felt like it was theirs, they had it to themselves all the time!) the pool so close to the house. There were a couple of rainbows during our stay and what can I say about the chickens (although they seem to have lost their sense of time since their emancipation during Hurricane Iniki...or maybe they just dont care anymore?) Their presence and mistimed crowing makes Kauai all the more charming and beautiful in some oddly-funny way.

Unfortunately for us and our brood, the bar has now been set ridiculously high as far as how we will judge beaches for the rest of our lives. Which, I guess, simply means we will have to keep going back to your beautiful island for our summer vacations! Thanks again, or as is said on the island...Mahalo.


Warmest regards,

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Counted 16 Waterfalls

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

Dear Spencer,
Number one: We had a great time and enjoyed your house very much. The weather was awful: heavy, all-day rains -- we had sun the last two days of two weeks. The good news was your house. Because of the space and location, we had space to spread out. Adolescents and their exhausted parents were able to sleep late. The views were wonderful, even with the gray and mist. One day we counted 16 waterfalls. I&#39;m working on a watercolor, and if it turns out, I&#39;ll send you a copy.

Another bonus was your well-equipped kitchen. We were blessed with cookware that enabled us to cook for 10 -- and we ate most of our meals in. This is the best kitchen we&#39;ve encountered &#40;including our own timeshare.&#41; The one thing we didn&#39;t find &#40;and no biggie&#41; was a small hand mixer. Probably only Minnesotans use real whipped cream.
We used, and appreciated the beach equipment you had in the garage.

All in all, we had a wonderful time and would recommend your house and Kauai. We know that the weather was an aberration -- it cleared for the two events we had scheduled: family photographs &#40;Dana Nadeau&#41; and the Smith luau. The beach at Hanalei worked well &#40;only about 5 beach days&#41; for surfing and boogie boarding. I would recommend the walk from the Hilton at Poipu &#40;not from the beach end, which is a rugged drive in, and a long hike&#41;. It&#39;s both beautiful and historic.
Thank you again for sharing your home. I can tell by the care you have taken to decorate attractively and maintain it carefully that this is a place you love.
Thank you. Should you ever come to the beautiful North Shore of Minnesota, give us a call. Mahalo, Jean

Helpful votes: 8 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfortable,Clean,Nicely Decorated and Equipped

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 23, 2011

Aloha Spencer and Karen,
Ned and I wanted you to know how much we enjoyed our stay at your Princeville property. We found the house to be comfortable, clean, nicely decorated and well equipped. Our family had plenty of room to spread out and the proximity to the Sunset Drive community pool and tennis court meant we visited them often. The short distance to the St. Regis hotel also made it a frequent destination whether for cocktails at sunset or visits to Pua Poa beach below. Having owned a rental beach property for many years we appreciated your amenities and did our best to be gentle guests. &#40;As an aside, we had the very same berber carpeting in that house and a subsequent boat. Good choice!&#41;

Helpful votes: 4 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Counted 16 Waterfalls

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

Dear Spencer,
Number one: We had a great time and enjoyed your house very much. The weather was awful: heavy, all-day rains -- we had sun the last two days of two weeks. The good news was your house. Because of the space and location, we had space to spread out. Adolescents and their exhausted parents were able to sleep late. The views were wonderful, even with the gray and mist. One day we counted 16 waterfalls. I&#39;m working on a watercolor, and if it turns out, I&#39;ll send you a copy.

Another bonus was your well-equipped kitchen. We were blessed with cookware that enabled us to cook for 10 -- and we ate most of our meals in. This is the best kitchen we&#39;ve encountered &#40;including our own timeshare.&#41; The one thing we didn&#39;t find &#40;and no biggie&#41; was a small hand mixer. Probably only Minnesotans use real whipped cream.
We used, and appreciated the beach equipment you had in the garage.

All in all, we had a wonderful time and would recommend your house and Kauai. We know that the weather was an aberration -- it cleared for the two events we had scheduled: family photographs &#40;Dana Nadeau&#41; and the Smith luau. The beach at Hanalei worked well &#40;only about 5 beach days&#41; for surfing and boogie boarding. I would recommend the walk from the Hilton at Poipu &#40;not from the beach end, which is a rugged drive in, and a long hike&#41;. It&#39;s both beautiful and historic.
Thank you again for sharing your home. I can tell by the care you have taken to decorate attractively and maintain it carefully that this is a place you love.
Thank you. Should you ever come to the beautiful North Shore of Minnesota, give us a call. Mahalo, Jean

Helpful votes: 6 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Perfect Perfect

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

Hi Spencer!! Thank you so much for allowing us to stay at your beautiful home. It was an experience of a lifetime as we had never expected to have. We had never been to Hawaii before and really enjoyed ourselves. The house was gorgeous and provided just about everything. The only thing that would have helped us would have been to have a couple of bicycles available to ride to the Food Mart, but other than that, perfect perfect perfect. Thank you again so much!

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What A Place

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

Aloha Spencer!

On behalf of everyone in our group, thank you so much for accommodating us in the beautiful Palm Hale in Kauai!! We had an amazing time exploring the island and I am certain I will return in the next year or two. We loved the house and I feel a special, emotional attachment to the Princeville area. What a place. A big Mahalo from Australia ?
Kind regards

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House is Beautiful

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2010

Mahalo! Spencer thank you for a wonderful vacation. The house is beautiful. The island was fantastic. Our family came here for a wedding and all of us had a great time. We are from Massachusetts and this was like paradise for us. The Lyons/Coates

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Looking at Mountains &amp; Smelling Flowers

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2010

Spencer, The house worked perfectly for our family wedding week. Sitting with the morning coffee looking over at the mountains with the smell of flowers. Kitchen worked well for dinners and the area was beautiful for morning runs or in catching the sunsets in the evenings. Some of the party enjoyed the tennis court and pool. We also took full advantage of the easy access to Queen&#39;s Bath and Hideaway&#39;s, visiting both several times. The beach mats, chairs, and towels were handy. Having always stayed in the Poipu area, checking out Larsen&#39;s, Secret Beach, and a few others for the first time was a lot of fun and I think we are sold on the North shore.

Helpful votes: 4 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2010

This is a beautiful island. A really fun place to go spend time with family. We spent 2 weeks here that we will all remember. Our party of 9 did so many fun things here. Thank you so much for letting us stay in this beautiful home. The beaches and sights were truly amazing and beautiful. We are all from orange county CA. We all appreciated this island and its beauty. Mahalo! Thank you so much Spencer! Greg, Glenda, Carson, Madison, and Hannah Potts also Veronica Manligas

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We&#39;ll Be Back

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Spencer,
Just returned from your place in Kauai and we had a great time. The place was perfect and we all enjoyed it so much we are looking forward to repeating it in the future. Four adult couples found the place ideal.
Jerry

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed the Golf and Tennis

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

Thanks for the prompt return of the deposit Spencer. We had a great month in your house - it was a perfect setting for a very relaxing family holiday and we very much enjoyed the golf/tennis. Just up the road - can&#39;t wait for the gym to be finished there. The hikes within 30 mins of Princeville are fantastic - people should definitely buy the hiking guide and maps for their stay as there are many hidden beauties very close by. You have a created a wonderful base for people to explore the island from - cheers – Mark &amp; Alexandra Smith / New Zealand

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Will Happily Recommend

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2010

What a fantastic island and this is a great home to appreciate it from. We have had a glorious month and our 3 children have thrived in the environment as have our many guests. We will happily recommend Palm Hale to our friends and hope to return at some point. The highlights was the many hidden snorkeling spots and the wonderful hikes &#40;and the sushi&#41; The Smith Family Auckland, NZ

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wedding Reception at the house

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 22, 2010

We had a great time and it was a trip of a lifetime. I also felt that the pool and close proximity was great for my husband&#39;s mom, who has neck and back issue and this helped her immensely. We had our wedding reception at the house and it was a beautiful back drop to our event. The kitchen was perfect and we could not ask for a better place to cook our rehearsal dinner and our reception dinner. The Lanai is perfect for breakfast. The CD player also came in very handy, we played music all the time. The snorkeling and boogie boards were a huge bonus, especially since our other house didn&#39;t have these. The BBQ was used multiple times, we moved it down to the front porch and having two covered porches helped a lot when there were the 2 minute rain showers. We also were happy that we didn&#39;t have to pack beach towels. My aunt commented that it was nice having so many towels, so we could wash some while others were being used. Thank you for providing the laundry detergent, it was definitely something we didn&#39;t think about. Also we used the wine cooler a lot and thought that was really useful and nice addition. My 88 year old grandfather says we should have stayed longer and that he wants to go back. So maybe next year, you never know. We also felt that Princeville was the perfect location, especially after seeing the south side. We rented another house down the street because we had extra attendees and they were perfectly located to each other. The scenery of Princeville is perfect, especially since it rained almost every morning, you could see new waterfalls from the Lanai and we had rainbows almost every morning too.
If we do come back, this was the ideal location. Thank you for the great house and memories.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Two of us got married

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2010

We came from all over to stay in your home, from Chicago, Denver, Washington D.C., Syracuse NY, Sioux Falls SD, Vancouver WA, and Shenghei China. Two of us got married amongst our family, friends, and the beautiful scenery. Thank you for the opportunity to stay in your house and we hope to spend many happy years celebrating our anniversary and love in Kauai. Best Wishes, The Vortherms and Li families

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent Location &amp; Mesmerizing View

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 16, 2010

Dear Spencer,
We really liked your house - the location was excellent, the view from the upper balcony was mesmerizing. Having the pool right next door was ideal - our almost 3 year old grandson could not get into the pool without us, which was better than having the pool attached where he could manage to get in. He did prove able to get out the front door so he could play outside - by himself, usually nude, somehow, but we coped with that little problem successfully, and since there basically were no neighbors no one was shocked.
The caretaker people were very prompt in responding to our problems - when the grill ran out of gas they were there shortly after we called, and while they were there they replaced some lightbulbs. They were always nice on the phone too.
The beach, pool and other items in the garage were wonderful - our little guy used the small tube in the pool and we all enjoyed the mats and the beach chairs. Kudos for the variety and quantity of equipment available. Also your guidebooks about the beaches and area sights were very helpful. Well, that&#39;s it. We really did have a good time in your house and in Princeville, and in Kauai. It remains one of our favorite vacation spots. Eloise Gmur

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Would Love to Return Again Someday

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

Aloha Spencer, Thank you so much!! We enjoyed our stay in your beautiful house so much. It was a perfect size for all 10 of us. I racked my brain trying to think of any suggestions for future renters and I can&#39;t think of much. We ended up bringing our own coffee grinder so that might be the only suggestion to have one stocked at the house to enjoy that fresh Kauai coffee! We never got a chance to sign your guestbook, the week flew by so quickly. Out of the 3 islands we visited, we enjoyed Kauai and Oahu the most and would love to return again one day. Thank you again for your hospitality and your speedy responses. Mahalo, Claudia Whortman

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect House

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2010

Dear Spencer, Your house is very comfortable – NOTHING to complain about. Perfect house for perfect family, Princeville vacation. Very best wishes Macouns! Harris and VonWiller families

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Blown away by your home

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 11, 2010

Hi Spencer,
Harry and Joyce and all of their guests had a terrific time. They were blown away by your home and the surroundings. Thank you so much for hosting them and for working with me! I hope the next time I speak with you is to book my own family vacation!
Heather Colosi

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tennis court was well used

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2009

12/23/09 – 1/3/10 Aloha Spencer,
We returned a couple of days ago from Kauai. We had a wonderful vacation and your house was perfect for our needs. The tennis court was well used and the scene of some exciting matches, though not quite Wimbledon ! We thoroughly enjoyed the walk down to the beach, where there was wonderful snorkeling. It&#39;s also a great place to laze around and take in the beautiful scenery. Hanalei is a delightful town, a time warp, back to the 60&#39;s, we loved it and had a fabulous meal there at New Year&#39;s in the Postcard Cafe. We will highly recommend this house to anyone wishing to rent in this area. There is a frozen turkey in the freezer that we never did get around to cooking! Thanks for your help and for having such a lovely place for us to rent. Cheers Susan Cubitt

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular Views

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 14, 2009

We flew all the way from Colorado to get to Kauai. The flight was long, but it was worth it! Kauai was beautiful and very wet! We went on boat rides, to a lighthouse, visited many beaches, and enjoyed the spectacular views. Kauai is the best place to go in the world! Thanks- you to the many people that made this possible.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful repose in a beautiful home

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2009

Our honeymoon in Palm Hale here in Princeville was absolutely delightful. The perfect combination of island activity and peaceful repose in a beautiful home. Thanks for sharing your vacation home with us. We will always hold fond memories of our time together here as we rejoice in how greatly God has blessed us! God’s blessings to you and all who spend time here. Mr &amp; Mrs Mark Germer

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lucky to Have Found This House

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2009

Imagine taking a trip to paradise. That’s what we did...nine good friends from Illinois who travelled to Kauai. This was our home away from home and we’ve enjoyed it a great deal. We’re so lucky to have found it. We have used the owners list of suggested places to go and things to do. Many thanks. We wouldn’t disagree with a thing. Various ones of us have enjoyed the beach, especially Poipu Beach: and Inter-island helicopter tour; the Hanalei Bay Resort for sunset drinks and dinner; a cruise on the NaPali coast; the Ke’e beach and the hiking trails Kalalau; Hanalei Bay Beach; and Lappert’s Ice Cream. The paradise bar and Grill has fun entertainment. The Smith Family Luau was great. Thanks for providing the cooler and beach stuff. We used it a lot. This was truly a time we’ll always remember . Here’s wishing all who read this lots of laughs and wonderful memories. Aloha! Larry &amp; Shirley Lowe, Tom &amp; Libby Burns, Karen Zook, Gil &amp; Betty Dorsey.

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ideally Located. Clean &amp; Comfortable

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 27, 2009

Spencer and Karen, Our Bridge Group had a fabulous week at Palm Hale and in Kauai! Your house fit our needs perfectly. We enjoyed snorkeling on great beaches, hiking the Kalalau Trail, cruising the Na Pali coast, driving up the Waimea Canyon, the Smith Plantation Luau, and great meals at Bubba&#39;s, Postcards, the Hanalei Bay Resort, Kountry Kitchen, Paradise Bar and Grill, and the Kilauea Fish Market.

Palm Hale was ideally located, clean, comfortable, and accommodated our group of four couples and one single perfectly. The views are beautiful. The lanai was our favorite part of the house.
Mahalo! Alan Chapman

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful home and lots of supplies

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2009

Thanks for a beautiful home and lots of supplies . We had 11 people from 5 families stay here. Some are from Toronto, Canada, Vancouver, Canada and Seattle. Great place to vacation together. We want to do this annually. Enjoyed snorkeling , golfing, playing in the water, even a bit of tennis. There was some family 4 months old to 80 years old grandparents. One highlight was boat tour to Napali coast. Definitely take one from North Shore. Save a lot of driving time and see more of coast. &#40;NaPali Catamaran&#41;. Until next time. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We don&#39;t want to leave...

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

What a wonderful time we had at Palm Hale. ALOHA!! The best choice for celebrating with family. My mother’s 60th birthday and my brother and father’s birthdays as well. We are from Argentina and after our first trip in Kauai…We don’t want to leave!! Great house, great village, great views, great beaches..great ALL. We are a group of nine from 2 years and a half old to 64. And everybody had a great time. Thankyou for letting us have this wonderful family experience in your nice home…which was “our” for 1 week ? Aloha@! DAHALO! GRACIAS Y VOLVERETIOS &#40;thanks and we’ll come back&#41;

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quite Special

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

Hi Spencer - You have a lovely home. We watched many sunsets and rainbows from the lanai. It was quite special. It&#39;s a great lay-out. We really found useful your tid-bits from your journal books. Our oldest daughter got engaged while we were out there!! We knew it was coming, but she didn&#39;t and needless to say, it was a spectacular trip! &#40;her now fiancee joined us this year&#41;

Thanks for everything!
Sincerely,
Wendy

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House Perfect, Scenery Outstanding.

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

A family vacation – Nana &amp; Papa John plus two of our girls, their husbands and five grandchildren. Everyone had a great time – swimming, snorkeling, surfing, board paddling, kayaking, tennis &amp; long walks. The weather was great, the house perfect, and the scenery outstanding. We really enjoyed Ke’e beach – snorkeling and Hanalei Bay. The fish market in Hanalei had superb Ahi and Opah. John &amp; Candice Aloha &amp; Mahalo

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Views are Amazing!

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2009

Your home is beautiful. We had a wonderful time. The views are amazing! We cannot wait to come back with our family. We enjoyed seeing the beaches and sights of Kauai. We appreciate you opening up your house and allowing us to stay here. Aloha &amp; Mahalo Eric &amp; Shayla Beaird from Abilene, TX

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home and View are Beautiful!

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2009

What a wonderful vacation! Your home and the view are beautiful! We did not spend a lot of time in the house, we were always out and about viewing the island, beaches and ziplinning! We took a plane to see Pearl Harbor and drove a jeep down the amazing coastline Worth the drive! Weather was beautiful – never did rain! Temps were in thee 80s and the nights were nice. I can’t wait to come back with my children next time! Patty &#40;Paulolo my Hawaiian name&#41; and Jimmy Groulds Cleburne, TX

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

LOVE the porch!

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 17, 2009

Mahalo. Thanks for having the hot tub and the dryer repaired for our stay here! They were broken on our arrival and I’m sure it was costly to fix…,but it’s been s nice to have these working and we really appreciate it! Your house was great to stay in and very cozy and open at the same time- LOVE the porch!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sad to Leave This Beautiful Home

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 3, 2009

Aloha! We are so sad to leave this beautiful home. We were here for a wonderful week to celebrate our wedding with our families. My now husband’s family came from Idaho and Oregon and mine all the way from Kiev, Ukraine! The house accommodated all of our 11 people and we simply love the patio, the pool and the amazing view of the mountains. Our wedding at the Hanalei Bay Resort was spectacular. We also hiked the Napali coast, kayaked the Waimea river, went to a luau, relaxed on many beaches, snorkeled and just had the time of our lives. Thanks again for sharing your lovely home. Kauai will always hold a special place in our hearts. Until next time, aloha and Mahalo!Doug &amp; Natasha

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Family Memories

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2009

Thank you for such a well appointed and beautiful home to spend our 1st trip&#40;but not last ?&#41; to Hawaii. Our boys &#40;3 &amp; 6&#41; enjoyed red &amp; redster &#40;the 2 redcrested cardinals as well as the sunsets, pool, hot tub, and on and on! We were able to create a lot of great family memories here. Mahalo, the Nichols family

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your &#39;Things To Do&#39; List was Helpful

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2009

Thank you so much or letting us stay in our beautiful Kauai home! We are two students from Norway who brought our family visiting for a couple of weeks to Kauai, and we all loved our stay. It would have been nice to enjoy a few more days, but the vacation from the vacation definitely made us al want to come back. Your tips about things to do and see in Kauai were very helpful, and it was a perfect place to come back to and spend qualify family time over a home cooked meal. Again, thank you very much Suzanne,hagen

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The View is Unbeatable

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 5, 2009

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us this week. We’re from Chicago and it was snowing when we left! We came to Princeville 22 years ago for our honeymoon and we returned this time with our 3 teenage children! Your house has great family space, where we spent hours playing cards, cooking, watching movies and laughing about the 10 minute rainstorms. The view is unbeatable. It was a rainy week but we found a great sunny beache down in Poipu. The kids loved seeing seals, some dolphins at the lighthouse and the Wimea canyon. Worth the drive! We can’t wait to come back! Much thanks. The Moores

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best House in 30 Years at Princeville!!!

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 10, 2009

March ’09 we all enjoyed your special spot so much. It was a family affair for us with our 3 sons, their wives and grand children. We have been going to Princeville for nearly 30 years and this was the nicest spot so far, the pool and tennis courts worked very well for us. Thanks for the break from the northwest weather! The Ware family.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I&#39;ll Recommend Your Home to Everyone

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 21, 2009

Spencer,
The house was perfect for our needs. We enjoyed the pool and the tennis court and we went for many morning walks around the neighborhood. The view was wonderful and we enjoyed the birds. I am sorry that we did not get a chance to write in your guest book. It seemed whenever I thought to do it, we were planning to go out or I got side tracked. We absolutely loved the island and will be back again. I will recommend your home to anyone and everyone.
Mahalo!
Lillian Caron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful time

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2009

Dec 19 2008 - Jan 3 2009 Mahalo! We had a wonderful time her in Kauai, and thank you for letting us rent your home. We are from Toronto, Ontario Canada. Our Christmas here was a pleasant change from our normal 3 feet of snow and -30C weather. There was 8 of us staying here, ages 20-84, all immediate family and were extremely comfortable. Our favorite beach was Lumaha’i, big waves and lots of fun! We walked the Kalaluau trail one day &#40;11 mile long, however, 2 miles was plenty&#41; not the easiest walk. Thank you again for the experience of a lifetime! The Speck clan. Jessie Heather Reid Louise Bill. Our suggestions. Scissors, potato masher, tea pot.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you - from Sweden

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 15, 2008

Thank you for renting us your lovely house. Bert Skarberg Wrego Stockholm Sweden Mona Johannesson and Jakob, Stockholm .
Thank you family Spencer for a wonderful time in your house! We really enjoyed ourselves and had a wonderful time! We hope to come back! Emma – Ronninger Sweden.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Really like the central vacuum

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2008

Spencer,

Sorry I haven’t had a chance to thank you—we had a great time—hope we left the place as we found it. My dad &#40;as did I&#41; really liked the vacuum. My parents played bridge on Thursday and Saturday at the clubhouse. The market was reasonably priced and more so if you got their discount card maybe a laminated card to use would be nice&#40;we left ours by the keys&#41;. Thanks again for the rental---jay
Almost forgot, the Lighthouse Bistro was a nice place,
and Kintaros &#40;our favorite&#41; although a little far. Best golf, coldest beer, cheapest round &#40;$33&#41; was Wailau. Jay

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You Certainly Know How to Equip a Home

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 18, 2008

The Groh family wishes to thank you for a very memorable stay in Kauai. We not only enjoyed staying at your house very much, but we also had a wondeful time ziplining, horseback riding, snorkeling, sky diving, and attending our daughter’s wedding at a beautiful estate at the Seacliff plantations. Your cozy, comfortable home made our trip feel like if we were at home. You certainly know how to equip a home! Thank you – we’ll definitely pass the word around. Unforgettable vacation. Mahalo! Jay &amp; Chase Groh &amp; family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Facilities were great and comfortable

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2008

The Garga, Kloc and Jasmine &amp; Muncharath families of Texas would like to thank you Mahala! The facilities were great and comfortable. Our family of 13 fit easily. The views were great and easy to reach. We hope that you will share your home with lots of others and they enjoy as much as we have. Again we thank you. God bless. Peter, Joanna, Joan Steve, Chris, Kyle, Brent, Tom, Elane, Kyle, Janet, Miranda, Madeline PS. one suggestion ice maker

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Most Beautiful Place in the World!

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2008

Mahalo.. This is the most beautiful place in the world! The home, the view the beaches, the entire island. Thank you so much for helping us to enjoy this wonderful vacation. Wish we didn’t have to leave – but it’s heading for North Carolina, Maryland, Tennessee and California for us. Lorri, Tom, Nicki, and Nick Constantinos, Rebecc a, Salmer and Dick Haas

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Joy &amp; Laughter

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2008

Our family and extended family enjoyed our 1st vacation together. It was perfect. The hospitality of the locals and the scenery was magnificent. We will treasure these memories forever. We experienced so much joy and laughter. Our family comes from Indiana, Ohio, New Jersey and California. Mahalo Fritz, Toni Teri, Troy, Tracy, Nikki, Alex, Sebastian,Steve, Donna, Delena, Phil

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Accomodations &#40;our 2nd time&#41;

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 19, 2008

This is our 2nd time here with your lovely accommodations! We’re here with the same group of people when we stayed back in January 2006. Kauai is a beautiful place! We certainly enjoy our time here. We do a lot of snorkeling while we are her. We’ve made a beaten path to the south shore for day trips of snorkeling, sight seeing and different activities. Our group consists of 13-14 people on the average. Love the mountains from the lanai. What great mornings they make. W are couples from Oregon, Washington and Montana. Milli, Randy and Baylie whiting

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dream Vacation

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 5, 2008

My husband and I brought our family from Clarksville, TN to Kauai for our dream vacation. We have two daughters, five grandchildren and great grandson. There are 13 in our immediate family. It has truly been a dream vacation. Your home is beautiful. We had plenty of space to enjoy our quiet time and a great place to enjoy our time together. The island of Kauai is beautiful and we really enjoyed the beaches, a luau, helicopter ride, movie tour and the Waimea canyon /Fern Grotto tour. Thank you for sharing your home with us. God has truly blessed our family with this time of fun and fellowship thanks, Sonnie &amp; Belva Fielder

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Plenty of Room For All

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 13, 2007

The Kranings! What a place to be to celebrate our 50th anniversary with our two sons, their wives and 8 grandsons and 1 granddaughter. Plenty of room for all of us. We enjoyed the beautiful island, beaches, waterfalls and Smith Luau. Being from California, we even enjoyed the frequent showers. We tried new fruits &#40;to us&#41; and loved taking pictures of every flower we found different for us. We even celebrated our family Christmas, since one son lives in Arkansas and won’t be with us on Christmas. We hope we can make another trip – soon. God is good and he does create beauty. Bob and Carol

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Waterfalls and Rainbow from Lanai

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2007

Aloha + Mahalo! Enjoyed our visit to Kauai. Many memories from our week. Enjoyed Ke’e beach and Lydgate Park. The time spent on the lanai was great. Saw waterfalls and a rainbow from there. The Krein’s

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Waking Up to Mountains &amp; Waterfalls

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2007

Aloha + Mahalo! We had a great time in your beautiful home. The views were AMAZING + we loved waking up to the mountains + waterfalls. And the shooting stars were a nice treat. See you next time. Love from all

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Double Rainbow from the Lanai

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2007

Aloha Karen + Spencer. How wonderful that you’re sharing your dream home with us! My first trip to Kauai was in 1976 – as a young “free spirit”. After spending 7 months on the island &#40;3 months living back in Kalalau Valley&#41; I never would have dreamed of the life I have now &#40;husband + twin boys along for the journey&#41;, staying at a “real” home. We are grateful to experience the magic together in Pam Hale. Snorkeling at Ke’e is by far the highlight. The sea turtles are amazing! To end our stay at your home, we saw a double rainbow on the lanai. Mahalo from the Roswall family – Walnut Creek, CA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

1st Nice Vacation in 37 Years....

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 11, 2007

Thank you for letting us rent your beautiful home. We traveled from Tin Falls/Boise Idaho for our little sister’s wedding. She was married near the Hanalei Bay Resort – spectacular view and the ceremony was amazing. We later dined at the Princeville Resort. Our parents have never, in their almost 37 years of marriage, been on a nice vacation. It was truly a pleasure to see them enjoy themselves in this paradise. Thank you again. Sincerely, Boomer, Maria &amp; Tai Walker. Doming, Esther &amp; Sylvia Jimenez. Scott Schellhammer.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Views are SURREAL!!

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2007

Karen and Spencer, Aloha from the Buglios. Kauai is magnificent! Your home is truly a dream home and we have enjoyed every minute here. It’s even more spectacular than you described. The views from the lanai are surreal &#40;and actually appear to be digitally manufactured at times&#41;. Lyndy and I have spent numerous hours sitting on the lanai, sipping Kona coffee or our favorite cocktail relaxing, enjoying a good book and staring at the beautiful landscape of paradise. We have all become total beach bums and have spent every day, except for one rainout at all your recommended beaches. Thanks for providing all the necessary beach paraphernalia. It really made it easy to pack up every day and have all the necessary accessories to enjoy the beaches to the fullest. All your recommendations, advice and insight were top notch and we took full advantage of them all.
- Brunch at the Princeville Hotel on Sunday was out of this world and definitely the way to start your vacation in paradise. Absolutely amazing!
- Our favorite snorkeling spot was without question Ke’e. We stopped and got our gear at the Hanalei Surf Shop
- We hit all the beaches and enjoyed the uniqueness of each one and had the best boogey boarding at Pine Cones
- Spent a ton of time in Hanalei, shopping and eating and hanging out.
Thank you so much for making our Hawaiian vacation a reality and letting us enjoy your beautiful home.
Love Rick, Lyndy, Joey &amp; Megan Mahalo

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One of the best &#40;no the BEST&#41; Rental Homes

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2007

Spencer and Karen, Your house is beautiful! One of the best &#40;no the BEST&#41; equipped rental home I have ever been in ..Thanks!! Mr. Rooster was our morning alarm clock – we enjoyed the island from dawn to dusk – even saw a double rainbow from the lanai! Can’t think of anything we missed doing. All of your suggestions were great. The helicopter ride is a must. Thanks again for sharing your lovely home. Jack Hall Mountville, PA Dana Hall Greensboro, NC

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your Home Is Beautiful

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2007

Mahalo to Karen and Spencer, We have been guests of Trish Herr and have had a wonderful time hiking, walking, flying over and relaxing and discovering this beautiful island – your home is beautiful. Barbara and Susanne Hall. PS we found delightful night life at Hanalei Bay Resort. Greensboro and Blowing Rock NC

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular Views!!

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2007

Aloha! The top 10 tips from the Supper Club from Florida:
1&#41; Like the locals say, “Early to bed, and early to rise.” Why? You’ll find out!
2&#41; Nightlife at Tahiti Nui in Hanalei – where the drinks and pizza are good and the prices are right. P.S. Tell Christian, the owner, Hi from the Florida coaches and teachers.
3&#41; Take a tour to the north to the end of the road and enjoy the one-lane bridges and tunnels.
4&#41; For your hiking experience, take the red dirt path &#40;before the Princeville hotel, by the public parking&#41; down to the BEST snorkeling area. Enjoy the trip up and down – Good luck!
5&#41; The Kilauea Lighthouse – with the red-footed boobies – paradise at its BEST!
6&#41; At Princeville shopping area, apply for the maikai discount card – it’s free – and saves you lots of money.
7&#41; The Smith Tropical Paradise Family Luau in Wailua. It’s the BEST!
8&#41; Hoho Hoho Charter Cruise to Na-Pali coast – worth every penny. Not a ride for the weak and weary. The champagne Sunset toast was one of a kind. Wear swimsuit and take a towel.
9&#41; Bubba-Burgers!
10&#41; Shopping – Hanalei and the Coconut Marketplace.

Enjoy your mornings and evenings on the lanai – viewing the mountains + rainbows. Spectacular views!
Enjoy your “home away from home” Mahalo to Karen + Spencer. The Supper Club – Don &amp; Tonya, Jack &amp; Diane, Art &amp; Tanya, Chuck &amp; Bunny. PS. Tell Mr. Rooster we miss him.
11&#41; The Wailua Falls.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thoughtfully Stocked Home

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2007

Spencer &amp; Karen, We had a fabulous time in your tropical home! Hawaii and Kauai in particular was exactly what we needed for a spectacular vacation. The best food on the island was made right here in Palm Hale! Thanks for such a thoughtfully stocked home. The additions of beach chairs, swim accessories, plenty of towels, etc. allowed us to relax and enjoy fully. We will always have fond memories of our week here. Mahalo, Debbie &amp; Steve Schulz &amp; Steven, Elaine &amp; Clay. Friendswood, TX

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfortable and Pleasant

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2007

Karen &amp; Spencer, Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us on our vacation to “paradise”. Your wonderful home made our stay here so comfortable and pleasant. The weather in Princeville has been absolutely perfect. We experienced only a few showers on our first and last day. They did not deter us from any of our scheduled activities. We will certainly return for future visits and have already recommended your home to our friends. Mahalo, Barry &amp; Stacey Davis, Kerry &amp; Lyolia Hall from Little Rock, Arkansas

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Favorite Place in the World

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 8, 2007

Thank you for such a wonderful stay here!! It was so nice to have the opportunity to spend the weekend with you. We felt like we had two amazing private tour guides. You showed us the places to eat, places to go, and what to see &#40;amazing sunset!!&#41;. Thank you so much for everything and we hope to hang out with you in the future. Love Tim &amp; Corey

Karen &amp; Spencer. Kauai is the place to be. Thankful for the aloha’s warm hospitality. This is my favorite place in the world. Thank you again! Georgie, Viva!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Views are Wonderful

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2007

Hello, we are having a wonderful time by the way I’m Sharon my husband Jack, our cousins Dan &amp; Nancy, friends Fred &amp; Diane are all staying in your beautiful home. The views are wonderful. The guys have been playing golf every other day and the &#40;hula girls that’s us&#41; Ha! Ha! Have lunch and shop. We have enjoyed eating dinners inside and outside. Watching the birds has also been delightful. We have not used the pool but we have gone to the beach twice and had a great time. It has rained off and on while we have been here but, it hasn’t stopped us from going to get ice cream, or going shopping or out to dinner. Thanks from all of our families

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gorgeous House &amp; Enjoyed the Amenities

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2006

We had a wonderful time here over the past 10 days. The house was gorgeous and we enjoyed using all of the amenities that came with the house. It was a nice reunion for the Reicher-Danaher families. Mahalo! The Reicher, Danaher and Smiths from Florida, DC, Buffalo NY and Oregon

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Every Comfort of Home

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 26, 2006

A beautiful house and gorgeous island to explore. Every comfort of home, plus! The mountain views and ocean waves were fantastic. Mahalo! Deborah, Kevin, Jeremy, Michelle, Michael, Randall, Monica ?, Carla, Sophie &amp; Ethan Gass

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

3 Generations Under One Roof

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2006

We spent Thanksgiving with 3 generations under one roof: Grace + Todd with our two children Ella&#40;4&#41; and Seth &#40;17 months&#41;, Grandma + Grandpa and brother Albert and sister-in-law Shana and baby Alma&#40;5 months&#41;. Had a great time swimming, playing on the beach, fishing, and playing tennis. Our daughter spent hours in the hot tub! Also definitely recommend Lydgate State park for kids – gentle waves, beach and a playground too! The Kramers, Los Gatos, CA/ The Hoys, Cupertino, CA/ The Olsons, Oakland, CA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Layout for Multiple Families

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2006

What a great week we have had at Palm Hale. Great layout for multiple families &#40;as we had&#41; and great proximity to beaches, restaurants and shopping. We enjoyed perfect weather and made the most of every ounce of daylight! We hiked, snorkeled, played tennis, ate awesome meals and got the kids up on surfboards at Hanalei Pier the first day they tried! This is a very special place for many people and now for our family too. We look forward to future trips here and making more lifelong memories. The Stokes &#40;of Tahoe&#41;, The Stokes &#40;of Atascadero&#41;, The Smith &#40;of Manteca&#41;. Casey, Connie, Katelynn, Coleby, Jennie, Damon &amp; Marie, Taylor, Judy Smith

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved all of its amenities

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2006

We loved Palm Hale and all of its amenities. We enjoyed family time at the swimming pool, the tennis court, and playing games. We all had a GREAAT time at Palm Hale and in Kauai. We celebrated 3 birthdays here. The Loys from Chico, CA/Lodi, CA/ Huntington Beach, CA/Atascadero, CA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Simply STUNNING!!!

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2006

Karen + Spencer. Simply STUNNING. The Schulz family has really enjoyed this house. Our younger kids love the pool and the 78 channels! The mountains were spectacular! Many happy memories here. It will be a birthday I will always remember and cherish in my heart forever. We loved hiking at NaPali coast. The kids were tired but they loved the view at the end! ? We always love pools and this was no exception. Nice and cool. Overall beautiful house, very spacious and modern. Mahalo, The Schultz Family – Adelaide, South Australia PS we’ll be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyment of Paradise

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

A wonderful time was had with family + friends here in Palm Hale. The loveliness of the house enhanced the enjoyment of “Paradise”. Look forward to a return visit. Leon + Liz Lake, Evergreen CO &#40;The “other paradise”&#41;
June 25 – July 1, 2006 Palm Hale is a beautiful home. We enjoyed the Lanai most of all. The mountain views are spectacular! Enjoyed a wonderful brunch at the Princeville Hotel. Wish we could stay forever, hope to return soon. Sheila + Wayne Mitchell, Ledyard, CT
June 25-July1, 2006 Such a beautiful place! Our 4 year old son loved the pool + the lanai. We had a great time with all of our family here. Great beaches, great restaurants + great people. Mahalo John, Trish + Jeremy Lake, Charlestown, Rhode Island

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly a Treat

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2006

Celebrating our parents’ 50th anniversary on Kauai was truly a treat. We enjoyed staying at Palm Hale and had every room packed full – it worked perfectly! We spent lots of time at various beaches – Tunnels, Anini, Kee, Poipu &#40;long dirve!&#41;, Princeville, Hanalei Bay, etc. The men went deep sea fishing, the women enjoyed Princeville Spa. Several rounds of golf were played – Malao course, Prince course, Poipu. We kayaked on the Hanalei River and the Wailua River. A few of us went horseback riding and surfing. So much fun to be had! And of course we ate! We’re grateful to God for this beautiful creation and for strengthening our parent’ marriage over the past 50 years. All glory goes to him! The Deal, Pyle, Bawman and DeHart families Phoenix, AZ

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House was lovely

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2006

House was lovely, we enjoyed our time here. We recommend the Kipu Ranch ATV Riding Adventures. NaPali Coast Caterman. Time spend in Kauai was fun. Thanks for sharing, Kelsi, Rose, Kevin Frogley. Kim, Kali, Kale, Kevin Kitterman. Amy Barry. Kyle, Jerg, Larry Frogley

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Magical Time

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2006

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with our family. While we endured the “rainy week” it did not dampen the beauty of the island and Princeville. The bonus was having our family together once again and the surroundings only enhance that magical time. Thanks again. The Hollis family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It Was Great!!!

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 9, 2006

It was great to stay here. This was the best trip I’ve been on. My favorite part about the trip was the ocean, beach, boogie boarding and the best riding horses!!!!! Haley age 11

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Graciously Decorated

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2005

Karen &amp; Spencer,
Thank you for making this beautiful home available. We have enjoyed having three generations of family under one roof. Palm Hale is graciously decorated and well equipped. What can we say about the lanai? It has been a wonderful place for family time.
There is no shortage of things to do here – beaches, gardens, nature, activities, shaved ice. At this Christmas season we encountered beauty and crowded parking at Kee’e, and high surf at every beach on the north end, except Anini, which provided a wonderful, fairly uncrowded spot for swimming and snorkeling with small children. Lots of fish! Others among us enjoyed surfing at Hanalei and daytrips to Poipu. There is a fly fishing guide offering bonefish trips. Geffrey Delia, 808-639-1195 or 822-7866. The Hanalei farmer’s market on Tuesday afternoon is a great fresh produce opportunity. Don’t over indulge! I think mostly for us this trip has been about peace and quiet and about enjoying what the island has to offer without attempting to do too much. The slow infusion of bird songs, flowers, and perfumed breeze has had its way with us and we’re closer as a family.
Thanks again,
Nils Sundquist, w/Kristen, Shelby&#40;7&#41; and William &#40;2&#41; and the Turners: Allyn, Gayle, Amanda&#40;15&#41; and Jeff&#40;13&#41; Sonia and Dick, loving parents and grandparents.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Place

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 6, 2005

Aloha Karen &amp; Spencer,
Mahalo,for sharing your wonderful house with us. It was a perfect place for us to come home to after a wonderful day in this paradise. This is our 4th time to the island and we had to bring my parents for their 45th wedding anniversary and our children have voted this their favorite vacation. We home to return, thanks so much
The Booth family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We call it &quot;Home&quot;

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 27, 2005

Aloha Karen &amp; Spencer,
Mahalo for sharing your wonderful slice of paradise with us again! We’ve been coming to this island for years and hands-down this is the most comfortable and spacious home we’ve stayed at. A single month never seems long enough! Each trip we continue to explore the island and discover for ourselves the treasures here. From hidden hideaways to roadside attractions always returning to end the day at the home we’ve also come to treasure…Palm Hale &#40;now I know it’s pronounced Palm HaLay&#41;
Until next time- Mahalo! Kim &amp; Joerg

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We call it &quot;Home&quot;

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2005

As we prepare to leave this wonderful house, we find we’ve begun to call it “home”. Thank you for sharing this with our family for a family wedding. We thoroughly fell in love with all of this paradise,
Gratefully, Bob &amp; Mary Oman

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 24, 2005

We settled in for a few days while attending a family wedding. What a wonderful place to be able to share time with family from Colorado, Kansas, and Nebraska. Thankyou for sharing your home in this gorgeous setting of Kauai.
With Gratitude,
Gene &amp; Bess Armstrong

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed the Lanai

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2005

Dear Spencer + Karen, we enjoyed very much our stay in your beautiful house. We come to Kauai to celebrate our daughter’s wedding. The ceremony took place at the beach in Haena, and the reception at the Princeville Hotel. Everything went perfect. The weather was incredible and we had a full moon. One of the best things was this house, so comfortable and spacious. It is very well designed and decorated. We feel very lucky to’ve found it. We live in San Diego, CA. but are originally from Mexico City. For us, this was a wonderful experience Thank you for sharing your house with us. We will return soon. Guillermo, Cairtina and family. P.S. thank you also for all the details that was special! Hastaluego! Aloha! Salud!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed the Lanai

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 20, 2005

Thank you for sharing you beautiful home with us! The view of the mountains and the falls was absolutely gorgeous to begin and end each day. We especially enjoyed the lanai. It was the first place we went to in the morning and the last place we left at night before going to bed. We also popped our share of corks enjoying wine with the beautiful scenery. This was also a great house for or entire family to vacation. My husband and I shared your home with both sets of parents and our one year old son. It was spacious, private and romantic. We agree with previous guests, you should try to do as many activities as possible. Hiking, the kalalau trail was an experience to remember. The spectacular views of the Na pali coast along the way, and reaching the hanakapi’ai beach was an adventure. The Waimea canyon to the south was also breathtaking! But, we have to admit, the tunnel hike was an exhausting day. The hike to queen’s bath was well worth the trip and diving in was refreshing when we reached our destination. My husband even learned how to surf on this trip &#40;hang ten!&#41; this was definitely a vacation we’ll never forget! The Mansfield family&#40;Boulder, CO&#41; The Mansfield family &#40;Bellevue, NE&#41; The Lewis Family&#40;Shelby Township, MI&#41; PS I almost forgot…Sunday brunch at the Princeville hotel was another “must”

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review