reviews for: listing #32043 - Tucson, Arizona House rental

Hacienda del Mayar 4 acres Views on Saguaro Pk close to Town
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $220 - $275 /nt
    $1,350 - $1,650 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful desert retreat

Review submitted: June 29, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

Our family of six adults and six children gathered to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary at the Hacienda del Mayar. This lovely home and the adjoining casita provided plenty of room for all of us. The pool and hot tub were most refreshing after a day of sight-seeing. The mountain views and the birds and wildlife were wonderful. There was every amenity provided and we were most comfortable. Karine is a joy to work with. She answers questions promptly and is always helpful. A very nice person. I would recommend the Hacienda del Mayar to anyone who is looking for a beautiful, quiet place to enjoy some time in the Tucson area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

This was our first vacation rental experience, and it couldn't have been better. The owner Karine was very organized and took care of all the details perfectly. The house was so beautiful, we loved it. It had everything we could need, including pantry items, a cooler for our use for day trips, pool towels and toys for the kids. She even had a crock pot! The house was very clean, the beds and the linens soft and comfy. Karine left us flowers upon our arrival and notes explaining how things worked in the house. There are 4 bedrooms (well 3 plus an office we used as a bedroom for our baby crib) and every room had it's own bathroom. The house was so big I kept losing my kids in it, ha, ha! It was also soundproof, so the rooms were very quiet. No disturbed sleep with kids talking in their sleep or even hearing the TV from the living room. I slept the best there than I had in awhile. Also, the master bedroom is super nice in the morning with the sun coming in all the windows and the terrace. If I lived there, I would turn into a morning person for sure! We were there at the end of April, and it was 85-90 outside but I don't think the air conditioning even came on. Maybe once or twice. This is a VERY comfortable house. It is also 5 min down the street from Saguaro National Park, which is a great place to visit. We took a walk with a ranger, and it was most educational about the desert. One note: Our first day there, we did find a rattlesnake in the backyard despite the snake fence. It snuck in somehow. My husband came within 2 feet of stepping on it. If you have kids, don't trust the snake fence to keep them out. We expected it, this is the desert after all. Karine has since taken care of it. She was very helpful and responsive when we called about it. If we come back to Tucson, this is my first choice place to stay. Thanks Karine for a great stay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Trilogy Training Camp

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2014

What a perfect spot for a group of triathletes! Rented both the Hacienda and the Casita but used the casita mainly as sleeping quarters because there was enough room in the main house for all of us to eat together. Beautiful quiet trails right off the house for an early morning short run before heading out on our bikes on the east side of Tuscon. We were very happy with the garage because it gave us a great and safe home for our nice bikes. It also kept the bike grease and stinky bike shoes away from the house!! The mandatory naps and recoveries after long bikes were perfect by the swimming pool! The kitchen had everything starving triathletes needed to make some hearty meals. The house was clean, main area very large, the beds were comfy and we had plenty of washrooms. Had a bit of a problem with the shower at the Casita but got a quick reply from Karine when we let her know. Our evenings sitting by the pool after supper were perfect! So quiet, other than for the wildlife which was awesome (cause there were no snakes...) and of course, a few laughter from us! none of us wanted to leave, we wanted to move there permanently! Thanks Karine and Jean-Michel for offering this opportunity to rent such a beautiful place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breath taking! Great home, can't wait to go back!

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 23, 2013

Review posted on Trip Advisor, rated *****

Beautiful home, clean and well kept. Traveled with family (11yr. and 2-13yrs). Very relaxing,backyard was breath taking. If you have the time would recommend going to Mesa and do the salt river, bring water proof camera for pictures. It was amazing! Went horse back riding at Houston's not far from home they were great!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It's well worth your effort to seek out

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

Posted on Trip Advisor, rated *****

Sometimes one reads good reviews with a bit of skepticism, but in this case, everything that was said about this lovely casita is true. On our first trip to Tucson, we had the good fortune to stay at this quiet, charmingly furnished and immaculately clean home. Located on the east edge of town just a stone's throw from Saguaro National Park East but with easy access to any location in Tucson. Comfortable king-size bed, well-equipped kitchen and dining areas, a smaller bedroom, seating areas in the living room, and room enough in the bathroom for two. Nice patio out back with a view of the mountains. All of this at very reasonable rates as well. We look forward to returning to Tucson and will seek out this little gem again.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Felt like Home the minute we walked through the do

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 4, 2012

Review posted on TRIP ADVISOR, rated *****

Just back from a wonderful 5 night stay in Karine's Casita. Felt like home the minute we walked through the door. Even fresh flowers on the counter with a welcome card. We like to hike and the property is as close to the Saguaro East National Park as you can get. Only a few minutes a way. Also if you get a chance go for a flight with Karine's husband Jean Michel, super nice couple. We will definitely stay here again whenever back in the Tucson area. Thanks Karine and Jean Michel for sharing your wonderful Casita.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Location

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 27, 2012

The location of the rental was perfect for me, near Saguaro National Park and many miles of hiking trails. The Casita' was clean and very well mantained. The directions provided by the owners were very easy to follow. The owners were very accommodating and helpful with all our neads. I would highly recomend this rental for anyone who wants to experience what it is like to live in or around the beautiful Sonoran Desert.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

slice of heaven away from home

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2012

This was our second return trip to the casita del mayar. Because of the quietness, beautiful sunsets,entertainment from various wildlife(our favorite is always the quails)and closeness to many interesting museums, parks,hiking trails, etc. we just had to come back again. We are already planning on our third trip back in two years!!!! Karine, the owner/hostess, is a most informative, accommodating person who makes one feel right at home immediately. The casita itself is not=wanting of anything. What a blessing it is to have access to a washer/dryer! The back patio was our refuge for early morning coffee as we viewed the sunrise while the front patio was out mainstay for enjoying breakfast and the cottontails, quails,cactus wren and woodpeckers. The property is well-cared for and offers complete relaxation. It definitely is a slice of home when not at home!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

wildlife/scenery heaven

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2012

This was our second visit to the casita del mayar in Tucson. WE returned to this property because of the beautiful sunsets, entertaining wildlife (quails,coyotes, cottontails and many species of birds, comfortable accommodations complete with everything one would need, and a most gracious hostess, Karine. The casita is close enough to town to indulge in various styles of restaurants and close to many interesting, informative places for field trips. Because we are beyond age for extensive hiking, we love this place for complete rest and relaxation. For our morning coffee and sunrise, we enjoyed the back patio while the front patio was our mainstay for breakfast and wildlife entertainment. Yes, we plan to return again in two years. Can't wait!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect

Review submitted: May 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

If I had only one word to describe our stay at the Casita the title of this review would be sufficient.

The description of the property was absolutely accurate, including the pictures. No ugly surprises. Rather the opposite. The Casita ist located next to Saguaro National Park (Park entrance 3 min down the road between Casita and Park)but enjoying sunset on the patio you think you are right in the middle of the NP. Everything was very clean and perfectly maintained. The hosts offered their assistance more than once but as there was not the slightest problem, there was no need to get back to these offers. Everything worked as it should. The service, the hosts provided was outstanding (reservation at short notice, late arrival, extension of stay). Speaking of service sounds quite technical, in fact we experienced a warm welcome and over the days an amicable relationship developed. Being asked for advice by a friend I would highly recommend this property. Although there is no pool at the Casita, I would even recommend it for families with young children (we were traveling with two kids 2 and 4 y/o) as there is even a dryer and washer, let alone the complete kitchen equipment. There are many unique attractions one can visit from the Casita: Saguaro National Park, the Boneyard (plane storage), Tombstone, working copper mines, the Titan missile museum, Biospere 2 just to mention the most amazing ones that cannot be seen anywhere else. The Casita is the perfect place for everyone who wants to stay in the Tucson area for more than one or two days and who prefers the warm hospitality of caring hosts over a more or less interchangable hotel room.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Desert Gem

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2010

We enjoyed our third winter at the Casita which feels like home to us. This winter was very dry and sunny except for a cold snap at February 2 and 3 which surprised everyone. Nonetheless the Casita was warm and cozy. The beautiful scenery and peaceful setting a short distance to Saguaro National Park awaits us. With wonderful hosts and a well maintained, clean and charming casita provide us with a perfect winter vacation in the desert.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2011

This place is in a wonderful location if you like the outdoors and are planning on using the National Park. It is away from the noise and lights of the city, yet convenient enough to visit those sites if you want to. You can see lots of birds and wildlife right from the yard! The casita is equipped well and we didn't have to buy anything extra. There is even a washer and dryer to use which is great as it allows you to travel lighter.The casita was more than roomy enough for two and could easily accomodate four. It's very well maintained and clean. The patio is perfectly situated to catch the morning sun and we enjoyed breakfast there most mornings.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Casita Del Mayar

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 15, 2011

A very simple, yet very well appointed 2 bdrm "cabin" of the desert SW! Privacy, views in all directions, pristine in-house environment, clean, happy, everything you need for a dinner for 8, or just plain relaxing. The Del Mayar lacks for nothing, and is obviously a greatly loved and tended home.

France and Jay and Trisha

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Casita de Mayar

Review submitted: December 15, 2010   Date of arrival: December 2, 2010

Well appointed, comfortable casita with wonderful mountain views. It was spotlessly clean and had everything you could possibly need for a great vacation. We were greeted with a vase of fresh cut carnations that lasted for our entire 9 day stay. The owners were charming and helpful. We'd recommend this to anyone wanting a quiet and comfortable vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Desert delight

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

My husband and I spent a week in this delightful, stress-free desert oasis. The pictures are exact but one has to actually be there to experience the true southwestern atmosphere. Mornings and early evenings were filled with daily sightings of cactus wren, javenlina, quails, gorgeous sunsets, cool breezes, and quiet reflections. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the casita and will share our experience with friends/family. It's a must stay-place in the Tucson area. Daily excursions included a daytrip to Tubac, Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, airplane boneyard.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Peaceful Bliss

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 19, 2009

My family (incl. two children), spent the most relaxing and enjoyable vacation in AZ. The house is absolutely impecable and most comfortably furnished.
Not just a beautiful landscape sourrounds the property, but also hiking, biking or horseback riding is possible from the house.
We highly recommend this place, and we will for sure be back.

The owners are very warm and welcoming people totally devoted to your well being at their property.

Give it at try - you sure won't regret it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Arizona dream

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

We have planned our visit to Arizona from Luxembourg, and found the Casita by chance, searching the web. I mean by chance because it happended to be the perfect place to visit the area. The casita itself is fully equipped, and beds and towels are very good quality. Karine is very helpful to give you tips to discover the area, as well as nice restaurants. We would definitely recommend this place, for the friendliness of the hostess, the quality of the equipments, and the central location to visit the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We could not have been happier with this JEWEL!!!

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

We spent five nights in Karine's guest house, and enjoyed our time there tremendously. Our host welcomed us with refreshments and pleasant conversation, providing information about Tucson (our first visit) that helped us find our way around. The guest house was extremely comfortable and clean, bright, nicely decorated, and well furnished, it was perfect or us. This was our first experience with renting a home rather than going to a hotel or bed and breakfast; Karine has set the bar very high, and her casita will definitely be our first choice should we return to Tucson.




Do you find this review helpful? Yes No

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect southwestern casita

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: December 11, 2009

We are repeat guests at this wonderful east side Tucson casita. A perfect location for outdoor activities and beautiful mountain views. Close to Saguaro National Monument for hiking and sightseeing. Exceptionally well maintained and spotless. Desert landscaping and open space. Would definitely recommend to friends. Close to shopping on the spacious east side.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Again - what a great place to be!

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 25, 2009

Having detected this charming little house in our internet search in 2008, we immediately booked it and fell in love with the house and Tucson. Like the property, the owners turned out to be charming as well, and it was a very easy decision for us to come back in 2009.
The house is ideally located at the east end of the town, where civilization meets nature. Broadway with all shopping facilities you can think of is very close. In the other direction, Saguaro Park East with its hiking trails lets you feel you're alone in this beautiful world.
If you are into cycling, you can practise riding the 8 mile drive in the Saguaro Park. Once this is easy for you, you are ready for the Catalina Highway which is nearby.
The house is perfectly equipped and extra clean - very impressive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review