reviews for: listing #32273 - Santa Fe, New Mexico House rental

Casita Linda at Overlook2/Sauna
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Overlook development
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $135 - $150 /nt
    $945 - $1,050 /wk
    $1,700 - $2,400 /mth

sort by:

Hummingbirds and view

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

We stayed three nights the end of April and had a delightful time at the Casita. The furnishings are just perfect for a romantic weekend, The view is astounding, worth staying here, a few miles outside of Santa Fe, instead of in town, in our opinion. We also enjoyed the wood-fired sauna, a unique aspect to the place. Also unique is a family of hummingbirds that inhabit outside, but which amaze you with their acrobatics. A well equipped, well appointed, friendly apartment.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Wonderful Place!

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

What a wonderful place! We loved it here it was perfect.... Thank You for everything! We're sure to return when we visit Santa Fe next time. The casita experience was exactly what we needed & hoped for!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

4th visit

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

Debbie
We very much enjoyed our stay at Casita Linda. I believe this is our 4th visit- it is starting to feel like home away from home especially for Sadie- who loves to track the chipmunks in the yard- and knows the favorite hiding places for them. Thank You for making us all feel welcome and for being so flexible around our schedules. Have a wonderful year- hope to see you again soon.

Kim/Sadie
Tahlequah OK/

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wish it were our summer home

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

Dear Debbie,
We feel so grateful to have had the opportunity to come to your Wonderful retreat. You have added all the touches of home-plus!
Thank You for all you do to make things so special- wish it were our summer home. We plan for sure to come back.

Ward&Betty Lou
July, 2013

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A+ All Around

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

Many thanks for a relaxing week in your lovely casita. Debbie we appreciated the thoughtful details- we hope to return. A+ all around!


Gail& Barbara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casita With It All

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Casita Linda was the perfect choice for our anniversary get-away! We have been using vacationrentals.com for 10 years, and this is one of the best yet. Clean, warm, inviting, and decorated so tastefully...this property was a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the Santa Fe area. The owners made our arrival special with complimentary treats and even an anniversary card. I also have to mention that one of the nicest things was the luxurious, thick towels in abundance!
Debbie had also recommended some great restaurants for Sunday brunch and a lunch with delicious marguaritas. Besides touring the plaza and downtown Santa Fe, we also enjoyed a day of hiking in the mountains, wine tasting in Albequerque, and an afternoon in Taos following a picteresque drive up the Rio Grande River. Don't forget to include a drive over the gorge bridge.
Of course we endulged in the local cuisine, yet still took advantage of being able to cook at the casita. The patio offered a lovely spot for reading, eating, observing the resident hummingbirds, experiencing sunsets, and watching the valley change from shades of adobe to the twinkling lights of a city at dusk. We also enjoyed star-gazing from the patio as well as the outdoor hot tub.
We would certainly recommend this rental to couples looking for a romantic getaway location that is still an easy drive to whatever else they might want!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

New Years 2013

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

What a Wonderful place to welcome in the New Year 2013. The views, the fireplace the whole setting was exactly what we were looking for! Hope to return in the summer.

Julie&Mark
Houston

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Immediately Felt at Home

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

Thanks so much! What a wonderful,peaceful, beautiful place to enjoy Santa Fe. We immediately felt at home and very relaxed. Our family visited and loved it too.

Thanks Again,
Blake& Tadd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Wonderful July!

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

We enjoyed ourselves so much relaxing in the casita. When not in the casita our favorite things besides dountown Santa Fe were the Puye Cliffs, Madrid and the living museum at El Rancho de las Golondrinas. Also very enjoyable were the walks up the mountain with our black lab and occasional visits from Lucy the dachshund. Well I will never forget my 58th birthday spent in the mountains surrounding Santa Fe, We will never forget the breathtaking views from the patio and windows of the sweet casita. Wonderful! We will be back.

Louis&Cathy
Austin, Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Southwestern Sunset Over Santa Fe

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

This was perfect for us. It was private with a view of the city and valley below us. The setting was wonderful off of the Old Santa Fe Trail and was what seemed like only a few minutes of scenic road with very light traffic from downtown Santa Fe.

This one bedroom house with a private balcony overlooking the New Mexico sunsets also provided entertainment with the hummingbirds visiting the feeders. Debbie, the owner, provided a bottle wine, water and chocolate, kept the place clean and tidy for our arrival. The place was cozy and Southwestern in appearance, exactly what we were looking for.

We spent four nights and 3 days, as we arrived late the first night and left early the last morning. Regarding the Santa Fe area, we simply hung around the house relaxing after spending 2 days driving out from California and visiting Chaco Canyon on the first day and then had dinner in town with an evening stroll down the river and back to the Plaza. The house was a great place to hang out and unwind after 2 days of driving and touring. The second day we went to Bandelier National Monument,and the 3rd day we toured Santa Fe.

The little 1 bedroom house was actually something of an attraction for us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for a couple.

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

This was perfect for us. It was private with a view of the city and valley below us. The setting was wonderful off of the Old Santa Fe Trail and was what seemed like only a few minutes of scenic road with very light traffic from downtown Santa Fe.

This one bedroom house with a private balcony overlooking the New Mexico sunsets also provided entertainment with the hummingbirds visiting the feeders. Debbie, the owner, provided a bottle wine, water and chocolate, kept the place clean and tidy for our arrival. The place was cozy and Southwestern in appearance, exactly what we were looking for.

We spent four nights and 3 days, as we arrived late the first night and left early the last morning. Regarding the Santa Fe area, we simply hung around the house relaxing after spending 2 days driving out from California and visiting Chaco Canyon on the first day and then had dinner in town with an evening stroll down the river and back to the Plaza. The house was a great place to hang out and unwind after 2 days of driving and touring. The second day we went to Bandolier National Park,and the 3rd day we toured Santa Fe.

The little 1 bedroom house was actually something of an attraction for us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beginnings

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

Debbie- Thank You so much for everything, your casita is beautiful, wonderful views and peaceful. This place... the views will forever be in our memory...It is the beginning of Suzanne and my life together. I asked her to be my wife and she accepted!!!
Thank You again
We will be back
Rick&Suzanne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Honeymoon Stay at Casita Linda

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at Casita Linda for our honeymoon. We wanted peace and privacy and that is what we experienced at Casita Linda. We enjoyed our use of the hot tub and watching the hummingbirds fight over the feeder. We ventured out and enjoyed much that Santa Fe had to offer but I will take away as my favorite memory, sharing the sunsets on the balcony here at Casita Linda with my husband. Thank You Debbie for everything! We hope to return one day.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casita Linda Getaway

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

My family stayed at Casita Linda for a quiet Thanksgiving getaway and it did not disappoint! Debbi was a wonderful hostess & made sure all our needs were met during our stay. The full size kitchen was perfectly equipped to cook our Thanksgiving meal. The deck had incredible views & the hot tub was a very nice bonus. We loved that it was pet friendly so our chocolate lab could accompany us. The "out of the way" location was great but still an easy drive to town(8 miles to the Plaza). Perfect for relaxing but if you're looking for adventure there are plenty of attractions nearby.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

We had a very nice stay at Casita Linda. We felt it was perfect for a couple. Owner Debbie went above and beyond to assure our visit was comfortable and enjoyable. Unit is well equipped and property was well cared for. A bit out of town- and that's what we were looking for. Access to town was quick and easy w/a vehicle.
Enjoyed a trip to Taos Pueblo, Galisteo and the Santa Fe museums. Had great meals at Tia Sophias (breakfast) The Shed, Bullring (classic steakhouse) and Shohko Cafe for Sushi.
Nice views from deck and the hot tub was a plus.
Would return and would recommend Casita Linda to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

lovely stay at Casita Linda

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

My husband and I spent a month at Casita Linda, and concluded that it was a perfect vacation rental. The location above Santa Fe was lovely, and the sunsets were splendid. The hosts were very kind and professional, and attentive in responding to/resolving concerns. The casita itself was quaint and charming, comfortably furnished, and well maintained. It was fun to stay in a traditional adobe-style house with wood-beam ceilings, skylights, and brick floors. In addition to the hot tub, there is a wood-burning sauna! The very quiet residential road leading up the big hill from the house provided a nice walking opportunity, and we also liked the nearby Dale Ball/Audubon trail network. There is a plethora of recreation options nearby - Tent Rocks, Los Alamos and Bandelier, petroglyphs in Albuquerque, and free hikes at Ghost Ranch in Abiquiu, to name a few. Overall, the location of Casita Linda is fantastic, as was our experience of the property and its management. We would recommend this place to anyone vacationing in Santa Fe.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

One of the best locations in Santa Fe

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

We stayed at this casita for 6 nights (Christmas inclusive) this December (2010). This is the fourth Christmas we spend in Santa Fe, but the first we are outside the downtown area. The views are outstanding, the surrounding area is striking, and the drive to the governor's palace on the Old Santa Fe trail is very short and really enjoyable. We highly recommend this casita. The owner was superb during our stay as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Outdoor Enthusiasts

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

The pictures are quite accurate. We enjoyed our stay immensely. We are outdoor enthusiasts and would not have enjoyed staying in the Plaza area near as much. The view of Santa Fe and the Jemez Mts. beyond is memorable. We spent each morning and evening watching the hummingbirds feed. We found that we wanted to be at the property for sunsets and enjoyed eating on the terrace each evening. We laid out at night in deck chairs and looked at the stars. It really is an enchanting casita. The hot tub is an added plus after days of hiking.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Breathtaking Views

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

This was the second time my husband, greyhound and I stayed at Casita Linda and we can't wait to return. Close enough to town, yet wonderfully secluded with endless views and sunsets that take your breath away are some good ways to describe this little getaway. The property is well kept, clean and Debbie, the owner, is very accommodating to your needs. If you're ready to leave behind the hustle and bustle for a while, there's no place better to do so than at Casita Linda at Overlook.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Authentic New Mexico Experience

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2009

Dear Debbie,
We absolutely loved your casita! The views, the privacy, the facilities are fantastic! We got a little taste of real Santa Fe staying at your place. Thank you for making it an authentic New Mexico experience!

Mariola,Rich,Matt&Obi
Mississauga,Ontario
Canada

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Piece of Heaven

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2009

Dear Debbie,
We are so happy to have "found" your little piece of heaven on earth! This provided us a restful resprite from the hectic "real world." Thank you for your hospitality. Your home says "welcome."

Rob& Tess
Amarillo,TX.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: December 27, 2009   Date of arrival: November 23, 2009

Casita Linda way exceeded our expectations; gorgeous sunset views overlooking Santa Fe, absolute quiet and privacy, fully equipped kitchen, friendly and helpful landlady, while still a short drive away from the galleries, museums, hiking, stores, etc.

Perfectly clean with great amenitites like hot tub (with a view) sauna, and fireplace.

It was the perfect place for us to hang out and decompress, as well as make day trips to Bandelier Cliff dwellings and Taos Pueblo (we highly recommend both).

We are highly recommending it to all of our friends and family.

Note - check with the landlady on which times of year you would need to have a 4 wheel drive to accomodate the road and driveway to the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Cozy & Private

Review submitted: December 26, 2009   Date of arrival: April 3, 2009

Terrific ambience. Perfect setup - everything we needed in once cozy package. Private and scenic near the great outdoors, but close to town for forays and sightseeing. We hope to return soon.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review