reviews for: listing #322979ha - Tamarindo, Costa Rica rental

Tropical luxury, just 100 yards from the Pacific Ocean beach!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 140 - $ 320 / night
    $ 980 - $ 2,240 / week
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Over the top Pura Vida!

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

What an idyllic, comforting place to enjoy Pura Vida in Tamarindo. This was our second visit and second stay in this condo. Bill and Beth were graciously helpful and provided us with all of the information we needed to have a terrific stay. The condo was immaculate, the beds extremely comfortable. I slept well every night. The kitchen is quite functional and lacking no utensil. The pool was heavenly and we enjoyed early morning and late night swims. The condo is also within easy walking distance of Tamarindo and just steps from the majestic ocean. The decor is tastefully done and adds warmth and comfort. We enjoyed watching the sunset from the rooftop and also appreciated the daily warm greetings of the various guards. You will not be disappointed with this magical place. PURA VIDA!

Owners response: Beth and I were very happy to hear that you enjoyed everything about your visit, especially watching the sunsets from the rooftop patio. Watching the sunsets from up there has been a nightly tradition for us, ever since we bought Casa Papaya new in 2005. In fact, a few years ago we had a big party up there to celebrate our 36th anniversary, and the sunset was one of the best we've ever seen anywhere. We're delighted you returned for a second visit Kimberly, and we hope you'll come back again and again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: May 2, 2014   Date of arrival: April 10, 2014

We were so impressed by our stay at Casa Papaya. Bill and Beth were extremely quick to reply to emails about reservations, date changes, questions, logistics, etc. The house was well stocked with towels, linens, and any kitchen utensils or cookery you might need. The guards were friendly and called us cabs whenever we needed one. We opted to take cabs rather than walk downtown in the heat. The pool is great and very refreshing, and the house comfortably fit 6 of us. I would strongly recommend staying at Casa Papaya if you are looking for a place away from the craziness of downtown but still close enough to split cabs. While you do need to take a bit of a walk to most restaurants in the downtown area, the bistro across the street is wonderful and only a few second walk away!

Owners response: Thank you, Alyson. We didn't know that the guards would call cabs. We'll pass that along to our future guests. We're happy to hear that the place was roomy enough for all six of you. We've been there ourselves with a total of six in the condo, and it felt comfortable, although four people is ideal. Please come back and visit us--it was a pleasure having you as our guest.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An ideal home base for fun and relaxation!

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

We were so pleased with our stay at Casa Papaya. Beginning with the detailed information provided by our hosts, we were well equipped to arrive with our two young children for March break. Bill & Beth shared their knowledge of the area by providing tips, directions and suggestions to accommodate any kind of visitor in a welcome email he sent me immediately after submitting our deposit. That was completely unexpected and something I referred to often throughout the trip.
We'd travelled to Playa Langosta before and our decision to return with our 4 year old kids is testament enough for the area. We felt safe and welcome in the area and although reports were that it had become "built up" since our last visit it only made this beach-side locale better. Grocery stores and any kind of dining are all within a short walk away. We'd expected to rent a car but didn't bother because we could easily get to Tamarindo on foot along the beach or in a cab and decided to lay low for our stay.
Guests in a neighbouring villa did the "adventure tour" version of Costa Rica and returned every evening and shared tales of their day over cocktails at the shared pool.
The villa is exactly as they'd described. We enjoyed the large pool right outside the back door and travelled across the road to a selection of beaches whether you decided to turn left or right.
With wifi, a bbq and plenty of linens, laundry and other creature comforts our family felt right at home.
Upon our arrival we had a few questions and Bill was just an email away to navigate our issues (I'd forgotten to write down the door code!).
This rental was one of the most hassle-free travel experiences we have ever had and would definitely refer people to book with Bill & Beth.
Our children especially enjoyed naming the two wild iguanas we spotted on the property Franklin & Johnny and watched them climb the trees in the courtyard with amazement. After the first day they were on a first-name basis with the security guard and were proud to offer an Hola! several times a day. It was a fantastic family holiday and thanks in a large part to our hosts who provided not only a beautiful, clean and comfortable rental but phenomenal customer service to boot.

Owners response: Thank you for all the kind words, Stephanie. We're glad Casa Papaya lived up to your expectations and that the descriptions we provided matched the reality.

The iguanas in the banyan tree are always a big hit with guests, and children especially enjoy them. It's interesting to learn that almost everyone gives the iguanas names and that all the names are different. We were happy to hear that "Franklin" and "Johnny" helped keep the children entertained.

We're glad that you were able to get around the area without having to rent a car. Many of our guests have reported the same thing, i.e., that having a car is a luxury but not a necessity.

We hope you'll come back soon, Stephanie. Thanks again for being our guests at Casa Papaya.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Condo! Great Owners!

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

We were very happy our stay at Casa Papaya! It was beautiful and exactly as described. Access to the beach was easy and the community was quiet and peaceful. The walk to Tamarindo was only 15 minutes away. We were able to enjoy the loud night life of Tamarindo, and then get away to a quiet community, which is exactly what we wanted. We were happy we decided to stay here. The pool was amazing, and we had the opportunity to see iguanas and monkeys up close! Bill and Beth (owners) were extremely helpful and we have no complaints. We will definitely try to stay here again if we travel to this area again.

Owners response: Thank you very much for the kind words. We're glad everything went as you expected and deserved. During the last year, the howler monkeys have returned in large numbers to our area, and we're happy that you got to see them "up close and personal." Pura vida!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Vacation ever!!!

Review submitted: November 25, 2013   Date of arrival: November 16, 2013

This was my first visit to tamarindo and I'm definitely going back. The condo was perfectly located, just a couple of blocks out of town, but just far enough that when you went back to the house it was peaceful and away for it all. This it truly a great get away! The house has everything your could ask for, great accommodations, wonderful pool and steps from the beach and town. The private entrance with secure parking 24/7 was great! I really feel in love with Tamarindo and will definitely will be renting that unit again. The owners were amazing at providing great information about the unit and the amenities around town and had a very quick response time! Thanks again for sharing your condo with the world, we will definitely be returning!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the compliments--and especially thanks for telling us that our emailed information helped your vacation planning. We pride ourselves on answering our guests' questions promptly and informatively. Looking forward to having you back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Everything you need for a wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this property tremendously. It is very close to all of the best shops and restaurants in Tamarindo, but far enough away that it has a peaceful, quiet feel. It is just a stroll away from a beautiful beach, and we saw howler monkeys from the condo. The pool and garden are beautiful as well. The furniture, art, and interior are stunning, and it is well-equipped with towels, washer and dryer, and a 5-star kitchen with all the dishes you could ask for. I would never waste money on a hotel when you could stay at a place like this for a fraction of the cost. Also, Bill and Beth were very prompt and thorough with their responses and it was easy to coordinate the stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

All the comforts of home but in Paradise

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

We had a great time staying at this wonderful place. Very well situated between the beach and the town of Tamarindo. Condo has everything you need. Comfortable beds, great kitchen, awesome pool and free wifi. Paradise is just down the street called Pacific Ocean. Wonderful getaway place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Michelle! Glad to hear that you had a good time. Come back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Condo, walk to the beach!

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

Stayed here for a week. Just down the street from Tamarindo. Wonderful condo with 2 bedrooms. Great Kitchen. Washer and Dryer. Beautiful Pool. Walk down the street to the west and your at the Pacific ocean. Walk the other way and your in Tamarindo. Tranquil get away. Highly recommended.

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet. That's what drew us to Playa Langosta eight years ago. Come back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

We LOVED our stay in Casa Papaya. It was as described or better! Bill was a joy to work with and very helpful for first timers in the area. Beautiful place, beautiful sunsets and lovely locals. We hope to return again. Thanks Bill.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words, Trisha. We try very hard to help our guests with their travel plans, and we appreciate the compliment.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Five Star Fun

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

My family of four stayed at Casa Papaya for a winter vacation get-a-way. We loved every minute of it. The condo was beautiful, clean and very safe. The kitchen amenities made us feel right at home. My oldest child and I woke up early every morning and walked the beach, which was lovely. The beach is across a low traffic road, down an interesting path and there you are: ocean, tide pools, shells and very few people.
We would go back to Casa Papaya in a heart beat! The owners make sure you have all the information, support and little extras to make your stay feel like you are living in paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

¬°Fantastico!

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

What a charming locale!
A small condo complex that feels more like your own private place.
Stunning interior design with warm colors, beautiful wood and granite surfaces.
A quiet, PEACEFUL retreat from the world and yet the beach and shopping downtown are a short walk from the front door.
My favorite appointment is, hands-down, the oasis-like pool that meanders through a tropical backyard.
I could remain there, floating down my own private "river", all day long! :-)
Owners provide super helpful ideas on what to see, how to get there, and how much time to allow for each "adventure" in Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise Found!

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

This property exceeded our expectations. An impressive pool adjoins the patio. The beach is just across the street and not crowded. The owners were extremely helpful, offering travel advice, suggesting activities and answering our questions. I would absolutely recommend staying here. The town offers a wide variety of shops, restaurants and sporting activities. The sunsets from the roof terrace are not to be missed!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very Relaxing!

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 27, 2011

We really enjoyed staying at Casa Papaya as it was real quiet and very well furnished. The kitchen had all you needed to cook your own meals. Comfortable living room, comfortable beds, and a pool just outside the sliding door. What I liked was the access to the shoreline across the road. You could walk 20 minutes north to Tamirindo or find a quiter beach and walk south. I liked the guide book that Casa Papaya provided that helped out in getting around. The only thing that was a bit sketchy was the Internet access but I hope they got that sorted out. Otherwise, it was definitely worth it.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have recently installed a new wireless router, replacing the old one which has gone to the digital graveyard. We are very sorry about the connection problems you had, Dave, but we have taken care of it, and now our connection is 100% solid.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A step away

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

Not only a step away from the ocean, but a step away from the noise and confusion of our modern life. A beautiful condo with all the amenities from which to recharge your batteries, explore a different culture and have some great memories of wonderful restaurants, friendly people and natural beauty.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A step away

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

Not only a step away from the ocean, but a step away from the noise and confusion of our modern life. A beautiful condo with all the amenities from which to recharge your batteries, explore a different culture and have some great memories of wonderful restaurants, friendly people and natural beauty.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Luxury, Location, Serenity

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2011

We enjoyed every minute of our stay at Casa Papaya. It had everything we were looking for in accommodations from its close proximity to the beach, dining and shopping, to the comfort, high quality amenities and luxury of the condo itself, to the quiet and natural beauty that surrounded us. How often does one come away from a stay and think, I could live there? We will never forget the beautiful sunsets viewed from the rooftop deck, nor swimming in the very private, inviting pool, nor coffee amidst flowers and palms on the patio. The condo is spacious, tastefully decorated, built with high-quality materials, and well maintained. We especially appreciated the laundry, well-equipped kitchen, spacious private bedrooms, and ample, secure parking. The separate pool-side shower and rest room were very handy. Everything was spotlessly clean and in working order. This condo is a quiet haven and one could easily spend an entire vacation there. However, it is within walking and driving distance of many wonderful Costa Rica treasures. The owners provided expert, and much appreciated advice regarding a wide array of local attractions-a fact that saved us hours of searching, and left us time to enjoy our stay to the fullest. We highly recommend Casa Papaya.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

This is absolute paradise! The condo is gorgeous in every way from the furnature to the appliances. We LOVED the rooftop for our morning coffee and watching the sunset at night. Walking out the door to enjoy the beautiful pool was a huge asset! I found myself completely relaxed and rejuvinated after my stay. Highly recommended and I will visit again! Thank you so much for this gorgeous get away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful place!

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

It felt like home! I have never had a rental with such a well equipped kitchen. It felt just like I was cooking at home!

The architecture (that's my field) of the place is very appealing--lots of arches, stonework, carvings, and attractive, solid beams of tropical wood.

I highly recommend it.

Owners response: Thank you for all the compliments. We take pride in our kitchen. Beth does all the hard work and I sharpen the cutlery! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great rental

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

Loved the condo and pool. Just steps to the beach. Close to downtown with lots lot shops and nightlife. Great choice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful condo & quiet location but close to town. Best way to do Tamarindo.

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

Our stay at Casa Papaya was wonderful! The condo is beautiful and well appointed. A home away from home. It is so quiet and peaceful with direct access to a wonderful beach that feels very private. Tamarindo is just down the dirt road so we could easily go down for dinners, shopping, surfing and beaches with more people when we desired. If you are going to visit Tamarindo, this is the place to stay. The pool is wonderful and just steps from the patio and was perfect for cooling off and relaxing. It is a gated complex with a guard there 24 hrs. We heard howler monkeys from time to time and enjoyed the roof top deck for reading in the morning and cocktails at sunset. Our two daughters 8 & 11 enjoyed swimming, taking surf lessons from Monica at Kellys, shrimp tacos at Noguis and the beach at Playa Avellanes with lunch there at Lolas.

Bill was so helpful to me in making our arrangements for Casa Papaya. He provided us with all the information that we needed on the condo, Tamarindo and Costa Rica. He was wonderful. All the guests and owners whom we met during our stay were so friendly and helpful with great recommendations. I highly recommend staying at Casa Papaya!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Kerry! Glad you went to Noguis in Tamarindo and Lola's at Playa Avellanas. Those are two of our favorite places to eat and spend time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 9, 2010

Although I have written in your guest book I wanted to send this email to thank you for the time that we spent in Casa Papaya. As I have said in your book we don't need to say how wonderful it is, you already know that! The beautiful unit complex, which would not be, on a day to day basis as good as it is without the excellent and caring staff that work there. The guy who does the pool works tirelessly every
day to keep it just lovely and clean. The location was perfect, close enough to Tamarindo to enjoy and walk to (which we did every day, have to try not to gain weight somehow!) Busy enough to be a part of if you choose and far enough away if you choose an not so social day. With everything that one could possibly need in the Condo and the roof top terrace to watch the sunset what more could anyone wish for.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We loved our stay at casa papaya!

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

Casa Papaya is a very beautiful place,and is fully equipped with everything you could need and wish for. The location is great just a 2-4 minutes walk to Langosta beach: also has a great social area near the pool surrounded by beautiful gardens where you can relax or have a BBQ. We had an amazing time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2010

Casa Papaya is a very beautiful place,and is fully equipped with everything you could need and wish for. The location is great just a 2-4 minutes walk to Langosta beach: also has a great social area near the pool surrounded by beautiful gardens where you can relax or have a BBQ. We had a great time!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

BEAUTIFUL CONDO!

Review submitted: August 22, 2008   Date of arrival: July 27, 2008

My family of 5 stayed at this beautiful condo in Playa Langosta for a week in late July 2008. This home had all the amenities you could ask for and many more.The condo has security and is just a 5 minute drive from Playa Tamarindo in a lovely neighborhood of homes & condos. The condo itself is just across the street from the beach through a natural preserve. The owners were very helpful with local information regarding restaurants, sightseeing, & surfing. The management services on-site were very helpful also. The condo has a binder containing info regarding reliable and safe sightseeing activities and local restaurants.

Playa Tamarindo/Langosta is a great base for visiting all the beaches along the northern Guanacaste coast.We highly recommend Iguana Surf for surf lessons & board rentals. It's right across the street from Playa Tamarindo Beach. We stayed for a week, plenty of beach & surf time.

Arenal Volcano & Monteverde Rainforest are both approx. a 4 hr. drive away and should be an overnight stay at a minimum. You should really allow 2-3 days each to visit these places depending on the length of your stay. The Rincon de la Vieja National Park, just a short distance east of Liberia, is also worth a 2 day visit.

I would highly recommend this condo. Fantastic place and great value!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 8, 2008   Date of arrival: April 8, 2008

Bill and Beth –Got back from CR last night and wanted to tell you we loved Casa Papaya. We were very impressed by the kitchen set-up. I brought a bunch of spices because I am always at condos that only have salt and pepper. You guys had a super selection. The 2nd day I spied a “Mariscos” flatbed in Langosta with a big cooler and scored super jumbo shrimp and fresh tuna and used the great bar-b-que grill off the kitchen. The Bisto Langosta across the street was excellent, with a live trio on the weekend. Very glad to be in Langosta, not Tamarindo. With all the construction and no paved roads, you always came back dusty. A quiet beach is a good beach in my view.My daughter and I did go fishing (with CR Gamefish) and got two sails and a blue marlin. We also opted to use NatureAir to fly from Liberia to Arenal (about $110 each) to see the Volcano and do the zipline at the SkyTram. It was well worth the cost. We got lucky and the volcano had no clouds obstructing it, so we got great views of the lava boulders coming down the sides, and the zip line there (2200 ft runs over a 600 foot drop) was breathtaking in more ways than one.We will definitely look you guys up for our next trip. Thanks.Gary

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 8, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

Bill and Beth –

Got back from CR last night and wanted to tell you we loved Casa Papaya. We were very impressed by the kitchen set-up. I brought a bunch of spices because I am always at condos that only have salt and pepper. You guys had a super selection. The 2nd day I spied a “Mariscos” flatbed in Langosta with a big cooler and scored super jumbo shrimp and fresh tuna and used the great bar-b-que grill off the kitchen. The Bisto Langosta across the street was excellent, with a live trio on the weekend. Very glad to be in Langosta, not Tamarindo. With all the construction and no paved roads, you always came back dusty. A quiet beach is a good beach in my view.

My daughter and I did go fishing (with CR Gamefish) and got two sails and a blue marlin. We also opted to use NatureAir to fly from Liberia to Arenal (about $110 each) to see the Volcano and do the zipline at the SkyTram. It was well worth the cost. We got lucky and the volcano had no clouds obstructing it, so we got great views of the lava boulders coming down the sides, and the zip line there (2200 ft runs over a 600 foot drop) was breathtaking in more ways than one.

We will definitely look you guys up for our next trip. Thanks.

Gary

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 12, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Casa Papaya - a piece of paradise. This condo is clean, spacious, extremely well-equipped and tastefully decorated. The patio and pool are very private and the surrounding gardens are lush. The beach is spectacular and also quite private. A perfect getaway from the rest of the world! Dining is excellent and there are several wonderful venues to choose from quite close to the condo. The new AutoMercado (grocery store)in Tamarindo has everything you will need for at home dining. We found the Costa Rican people to be very warm and friendly. We enjoyed our stay at Casa Papaya and Costa Rica so much we plan to return next year. As a final note, the owners provided us with such beneficial information regarding many aspects of a holiday in Costa Rica - everything was done in such a professional manner and it was a pleasure to deal with them.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 22, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

casa papaya is a wonderful, fully eqipped, clean and
relaxing place. the neighbors were quite helpful in
planning our dining and experiences while there.
beach is beautiful - tamarindo has super restaurants -
we would love to return some day.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review