reviews for: listing #32302 - Newport Beach, California House rental

Entertainer's Delight (Downstairs to Sunset Delight)
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $214 - $400 /nt
    $1,500 - $2,500 /wk
    $2,800 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Our Second Home

Review submitted: February 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

We absolutely love this place! The layout is very functional and the patio is huge! The decor is very warm, inviting, and comfortable. I love being able to walk across the street to the beach. We spent many days watching beautiful sunsets. I love that there are restaurants right across the street! The bike path is awesome. When I get stressed out I dream about coming to this place. Thanks Brenda for everything you offer. We LOVE every bit of it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Jennifer! We always enjoy seeing you when you stay with us. Look forward to your return. Stay warm this winter. Brenda

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Talk about finding your home away from home (except the beach is out your front door!), this house had everything we could possibly ask for. Thanks Brenda for sharing your beautiful place with us. We are still talking about what a great time we had, the month just flew by. Even our dog seems a little out of sorts now that he can't walk on the beach everyday! Our son, daughter-in-law and grandson had such a good time that they actually stayed with us over the holiday weekend and they only live 10 minutes away. Thanks again Brenda, we will definitely be back again as soon as possible.
PS- The pictures don't do the house justice, it's so much nicer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Joan for your kind words. You both were such a pleasure to have as our guest. All the neighbors loved you and hated to see you go. I look forward to your return soon! Brenda

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun trip for the whole family!

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

This is a great house! We have never rented a beach house before but were very glad we decided to try it. The house is only steps away from the beach and it was so nice to be able to go back and forth all day long. In the past going to the beach all day has been fun.... but very tiring, however this trip was just pure relaxation! It is wonderful to be able to go back and forth to the house for lunch or to use the bathroom, or even just take a break from the sun if you need to.

The patio and kitchen were my favorite part of the house. My brother and his family were able to come one of the days and we had plenty of room for everyone to spread out and be comfortable. The grill was great, and also very clean. The kitchen has an open layout and had everything we needed to cook with. We brought groceries and figured we would end up eating out too a couple times. But as it turns out we ended up eating at the house for every meal because when we got back from the beach every day the kids would all get showered while I cooked dinner so it was much easier than going out. There were plenty of good restaurants nearby though if you prefer going out to eat.

Every evening we enjoyed going for a family bike ride down to the pier. There is a really good doughnut shop that we liked to go to, and my teenage boys had a blast bringing their longboards and riding around as well. I like where the house is because it seems a little quieter than some areas, but still close enough to the boardwalk.

We were supplied with boogie boards,a small cooler, beach chairs, and toys so it was nice to not have to bring those things. The kids had a blast on the boogie boards and did that almost all day long. The waves were perfect for it. When you get back from the beach there is an area on the patio where you can hose off before you go inside which is very nice to keep sand from getting everywhere.

I liked that the front door has a keypad and you can choose what you will have for the code when you get there. So much easier than keeping track of a key all the time! The outdoor washer and dryer came in very handy, I used it quite a bit because the towels are hard to get dry since its so humid there. Also worth mentioning was that the bathroom was very clean which to me is a huge deal.

Overall I would highly recommend staying here, and hope to be able to do it again very soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Valerie for the kind words. You and your family were a pleasure. Look forward to your return!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Truly a vacation our family enjoyed

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

This place is a home away from home, great location, very close walking distance to the beach, nice and clean, open layout, spacious patio, has nice barbecuer. We were able to really relax. It is equipped with beach toys and board games.We would go back again and will recommend to friends.

Owners response: Thank you Gigi. We would love to have you and your family as a guests again soon!

Brenda

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great location!!!

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

I cant say enough about the place we rented a few weeks ago. Very clean compared to other places we have stayed in the past. We took nightly bike rides with the kids down the boardwalk and it was great having the beach right across the street. The property owner was helpful and even when one of my kids broke a window she handled it in a very fair way. We already have a week blocked off in our calendar to stay there next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Brian! I really appreciate the fact that you were honest about the broken window and you brought it to my attention as soon as it happened so that it could be fixed before the new guests arrived the next week. You and your family are WELCOME back anytime. So glad that you enjoyed your vacation over the holiday week. Look forward to your return next year.
Brenda

Helpful votes: 6 / 9

 

Renter Beware

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

The overall stay was satisfactory. The master bed was very uncomfortable. The dishwasher is the kitchen did not work and we were not supplied with cleaning detergent for dishes, or toilet paper. We were told upon arrival that we had to take out the previous week's garbage cans for garbage pickup (6 cans total) even though this was none of our mess. The renter should have been in charge of this but we feared she might keep some of our deposit if we did not comply. The renter did keep $150 of the deposit claiming our small dog damaged her sofa and it needed more than a standard cleaning. We do have small dogs which we brought with us but we covered the couch with our own blanket to make sure there would be no problem. Renter claims there was too much sand on couch. We also made a huge effort to be considerate of furniture. I think this extra cleaning fee was very unreasonable. hope she enjoys her new jeans or the dinner out. Our week in Newport was pleasant but renter's unreasonable cleaning fee on top of the existing cleaning fee tainted our trip. We will never rent from her again.

Owners response: It saddens me to have to go through this process as a proud homeowner trying to keep my beach house respectable. These guests breached the pet contract that specially said “I agree that, my dogs will not be allowed on any of the furniture at any time.” My dark chocolate suede couch & loveseat (previously shampooed 2 weeks prior) were full of white dog hair,sand & dirt. I provide a clean comfortable home to all my guests to live in during their vacation therefore the NEED to shampoo the sofa and loveseat was necessary to remove all hair, dirt, sand and smell. I don’t deduct unless it’s absolutely necessary because I base my business on guests returning.Therefore, I decided to split the cost to shampoo the couches,deducting the amt from their Pet Dep. As for the trash cans; Yes-during the off season, the city trash truck comes every Mon. and, yes there are 6 cans, however not all were full that week. These guests stayed with us from Sat to Sat¸ therefore I requested at time of check in that they take the trash cans to the curb (4ft away) on Mon. morning so that they would have empty trash cans to fill up during their stay. Guess what,the next guest checking in Sat to Sat had to take out the previous guests trash the next Mon. and so on and so on. During the summer months the trash truck comes on Sat and Mon therefore during those months, guests would be taking out their own trash.
As for the dishwasher, I did a complete walk through with them at time of check in and the dishwasher was working. I also advised them to “Give me a call if any issues or questions come up” I didn’t hear a word from them all week. This review is the first I am hearing of it, so I tested the dishwasher and it runs fine. I believe it was user error and if help was needed to operate it they should have contacted me. As for toilet paper,detergent,etc… everything is supplied in quantities that will last during their stay for all my guests, if the supply that is provided is used in excess and depleted, then yes, it’s up to the guest to purchase more if needed.As for the uncomfortable bed, I am taking their suggestion and replacing it with a new King bed.As I close this sad debate, I leave you with their EXACT words that were written in my guest book when they left. “April 30, 2011 Well this week flew by. We are not ready to leave! This whole trip exceeded our expectations and having this nice house as a base was so nice to come back to. Hope to see you again soon!The xxx Family”

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Loved every minute!

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

We've never felt so at home on vacation as we did when we stayed at Entertainers Delight! The home is beautiful, well equipped, and the neighborhood offers enough entertainment without a lot of noise. We can't wait to stay again this summer and plan on making this our go to place in Newport.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Can't Wait To Go Back!!

Review submitted: July 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

This beach house was everything we expected and more. Starting with the wonderful welcome basket and fruit bowl, we knew we had found a great place to stay. The house is well maintained and very clean. Beautifully decorated and very spacious. The kitchen has everything you need and more. Can't say enough about the huge patio which I couldn't wait to get up each morning and enjoy my coffee on. The location is perfect and so close to the beach. It was nice that my children could come and go from the beach without worry. We can't wait to go back next summer!!

Owners response: Lisa, so glad you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate the referrals you have already sent me already.
You and your family are welcome back anytime!
Enjoy your summer!
Brenda

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Get-a-way

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2010

The moment we walked into the house it felt welcoming and relaxing. The house is right by the beach which made our beach trips back and forth very simple. We also rented bikes for a day to take rides to the Newport Piers. The bike shop, sushi restaurant, Mexican restaurant, and convenience store are close walking distance. We however, did not eat out but once. We grocery shopped for various food items for bbq, sandwiches, snacks, ect. Most of the condiments and seasonings were already in the house, which was a plus. All cooking utensils and appliances were there as well. Very clean home. Comfortable couch and beds (Slept like a baby). Could NOT ask for more!!! I hope to come back next summer and would greatly recommend this vacation home. Thank you Brenda for all your help as well. Never will forget your kindness!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Chelsea, So glad you enjoyed your stay. You're such a sweetheart as you invited me to stay for dinner when I introduced you to our home that first night. I appreciate the kind words and you are more than welcome back anytime. Enjoy your summer and take care! Brenda

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect relaxing place

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 30, 2009

After dealing on the internet, by email, it is always a little scary to rent a place from a distance, specially for a commitment of two months. Vive street view from google :). But Brenda, the owner is very efficient, quick and trustable. Basically when we arrived on the location, we quickly noticed that it was exactly what we had in mind. We kept walking around the house with nice smile and "wow"s.

Basically, we wanted, my wife and I a quiet place to enjoy our time and holidays with our first 5 months old child. We didn't go there to surf, even if we could, neither party or wild adventure. A family house close to the ocean! That's what we got. We were charmed with the place and the owners. We were totally well treated. The deal was 200% respected, of course on both side. We totally fell at home.

Also, the location is very convenient. Coming from Montreal, Canada, it was nice being so close to all the beaches around, nice villages and also, very close to Los Angeles, which we visited often. (don't leave at rush hour).

I would recommend that place in a second.

The only bad side I found, and it is not Brenda's fault, it's missing trees on the streets around.
Oh well, you cannot have it all :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Martin for your honest and kind words. Like you mentioned that there is a scary side to renting a vacation home from the internet, there is alway a scary side for homeowners to make sure we have great tenants in our homes. You and your family took such great care of our home during your stay and we welcome you back ANYTIME! When you visit again, I'll make sure we have a tree on the patio for ya! Always wanting to please my guests.
Take care and hope to see you again soon.
Brenda

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Memories

Review submitted: February 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

2010 will be our third year at this incredible home! I tell all of our friends that we could basically bring our clothes and food and be set for the week. The home is well kept and completly is made to feel as if you are in your own home. Our kids are able to run back and forth to the beach with no worries whatsoever. Our family loves to walk down to the pier for ice cream and visit the local shops. I have to say, I enjoy the large patio the most. Brenda and Tony have been very responsive to our needs and requests as well. Our children look forward to the moment we walk into the home to find the welcoming basket! This vacation is always our first choice.
We have raved about our vacation to many family, friends and aquaintances that they too would like to share the experience.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Tina. It's always been a pleasure to me to see our guests HAPPY! I know how important it is to feel Welcome when you go on vacation. I'm glad our home makes you feel that way and I'm delighted to have you return each year. Looking forward to seeing you again in July!
Brenda

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Spacious living in a great location

Review submitted: February 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

Our family spent a wonderful week in this beach home. The two bedroom layout is exceptionally spacious, with a large kitchen, roomy bedrooms, and plenty of room to spread out. The patio was large as well, and we had lots of room for dinner guests. The home is very clean, too, which tops our list of requirements. The owner provided us with everything we needed from the grill to the beach toys and chairs. Another important thing is that there isn't a lot of traffic noise, auto or foot, near the bedroom windows. This matters in Newport.

You can't get much closer to the beach without being on it....it was only steps away. The surf break right in front of 46th street is fun for all levels of surfers and boogie boarders. We ate lunch on our patio and ran home to use the "facilities". Down the street just over a block are a market and several very good restaurants including sushi, Italian, tacos, and more. We went a few days without having to drive anywhere.

Like most garages in Newport, it doesn't fit our Suburban, but having the garage allowed us to guarantee our friends parking when they came to see us at the beach. If you drive anything normal-sized, the parking is very convenient.

We're going back in 2010, so that speaks for itself!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Michael, We appreciate the kind words. We love having you as our guest. Looking forward to seeing you again this July!
Brenda

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

what a great place to relax!

Review submitted: January 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

We had a great time over labor day weekend.
The best part about this unit is it's proximity to the beach, about 30 steps if you count. (I didn't.)
There is a pizza place right near by and movies on hand to watch. Our goal was to stay in the unit and on the beach, we rollerbladed, had breakfast at a nearby shop, just relaxed the whole time.
We loved the patio and had people come over for a BBQ.
All the necessities are there too, for the beach, including boogie boards, footballs, frisbees, and whatever you want.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Roy. It was a pleasure to meet you and your friends. I'm glad it worked out that you were able to enjoy our beach house. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Have a great 2010!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Best Beach house!

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 23, 2009

We have rented this NPB home 3 yrs in a row and love it! This 2bd, 1 bth is perfect for our family of Four. The Beach house is clean and neat. We enjoy the patio and of course the beach!! We enjoy running along the bike trail and even going to the peer.
What a wonderful place! We will be back again.
Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Bryan and Cynthia you are welcome back anytime! Your family is wonderful and I'm lucky to have returning guests such as yourselves. Thank you for the kind words. Hugs, Brenda

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review