reviews for: listing #32330 - Lake Lure, North Carolina House rental

Hog Heaven Log Home at Rumbling Bald Resort
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Rumbling Bald Resort
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $235 - $335 /nt
    $1,100 - $2,150 /wk

sort by:

Such an AMAZING place to take your family and enjoy the beauty of the mountains and the lake!

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

My husband and I just returned from this vacation home with our 4 year old twins. I must say, as soon as we arrived, I knew that the home would be an excellent place for our children to play, as well as provide my husband and I with space to enjoy some peace and quiet! There are several sleeping options for the kids to choose from and the master bedroom is isolated on its own level. The location is absolutely perfect. It is in a private spot and only seconds of a drive away from great food, beach playgrounds, boat rentals, and golf! I can't say enough about this vacation and how much we enjoyed our stay. We will be back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love Hog Heaven

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

Just stayed for the 4th time at Hog Heaven for a girls getaway trip and will not go anywhere else. The views are incredible and cabin is very nice with all of the amenities. Cabin is close to local shopping, restaurants and sightseeing, but remote enough for those in need of serious R&R.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous TRI weekend!

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

The layout of the cabin accommodated our three-family gathering nicely! The spacious kitchen, vaulted ceilings, and clean not-too-rustic feel made our stay very comfortable! Beautiful and convenient location, especially for group members participating in triathlon. We expect to return next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family-friendly and fun!

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

Lake Lure is a favorite vacation spot for our family and it did not disappoint this year. The house was perfect for our group of 12 and did not feel crowded at all. The only issue we had was the air conditioner was not working in the main living area or in the downstairs where the ping pong table was located. The owner sent someone to look at it but it was not fixed before we checked out. Luckily, it was a very mild week in August and the upstairs unit and celing fans worked well to keep the main area cool. We were also visited by bears who managed to get into our trash two straight nights. We tried wedging the trash bins under the stair railings but that didn't deter them. The only way to prevent them from getting to the trash would be to have some sort of lock for the bins.
Overall, it was a very good time and we will definitely consider renting Hog Heaven again. The activities and ameneties at Rumbling Bald Resort are superb. Most of them were included free of charge with the house and there is something to do for everyone. We also took two sidetrips, one to Chimney Rock and one to Asheville, both easy drives from the resort.

ps. I would have given this a 5 star rating had it not been for the AC issues.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at Hog Heaven! Our group consisted of 5 couples...I was worried that we would feel cramped in 4 bedrooms but can honestly say the house was very spacious. We ended up taking advantage of the pull out sofa downstairs so each couple had their own private sleeping quarters. Adequate amount of bathrooms, kitchen was fully stocked with every type of pot/pan/utensil we could need, house was very clean and tastefully decorated. The hot tub, poker table, wifi and grill were an added bonus.
The location was ideal, secluded, but still close to everything....Chimney Rock and Asheville were nice, scenic drives.
Mr Hogge, the owner, was extremely easy to work with and answered emails very quickly. I would definitely stay at Hog Heaven again and will for sure recommend it to others.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Hog Heaven Cabin

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

Three families stayed at Hog Heaven last weekend and we thoroughly loved the house. Beautiful views, plenty of space and in close proximity to beautiful Lake Lure and Chimney Rock part. The kids and adults were able to enjoy the hot tub and the ping pong table and game station were huge hits with kids and adults. The home was clean and very well maintained. The decor of the home was beautiful well kept. I would highly recommend this house to family members and other friends. I do know that our group would have loved an outdoor (small) fire pit for roasting marshmellows. Great house and great stay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

5 of my high school friends and I rented this cabin the weekend of March 1. What an amazing cabin! From the great view of the mountain in the back, the cleanliness of the cabin, the proximity to attractions/grocery store and the secluded location of the cabin, this was an all-around great mountain experience. The kitchen was fully stocked with any cooking utensil you could imagine. All of my friends were talking about how nice the cabin was and plan to send other friends/family members there in the future. I highly recommend this cabin to anyone looking to have a fun and enjoyable mountain experience in a top notch cabin. The pictures don't really do the cabin justice, as it's far better in person!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great time at rambling bald

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Having never been to Lake Lure or Rumbling Bald resort, we did not know what to expect. We were EXTREMELY happy with the house, resort and the area. Maria was wonderful to work with and provided us all the information we needed. I highly recommend this house. It was great. Plenty of room for everyone in our group of ten. We loved everything about Lake Lure and we definitely be returning. Hog heaven was heaven and we would not think of renting with anyone else but Maria for future vacation memories.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice Place

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

Everything was wonderful, you have a beautiful home.. the view was spetacular.. the only complaint we would have would be the driveway and if you have older people staying it would be the stairs to into the house, They don't show that on the pictures when lookin at the house. We made it great my 70yr Mother in-law only left the house a couple times.. She was very comfortable.. thank you

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Time With Family, Great Location

Review submitted: December 11, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

We enjoyed a family gathering for the weekend at this house. We had an amazing time with the great views of the mountains and all of the amenities of the house. We enjoyed playing pool, fooseball, and the hot tub. We would recommend this house to anybody that is looking for a great location. The resort is extremely nice and would love to come back during the summer to visit again to take advantage of the pool and golfing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hog Heaven / Swift Creek Open Review

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

Beautiful home with an excellent view of the mountains. The layout is spacious enough to allow people there own space and privacy. The price is very affordable especially if you have a group of golfers. Easy check-in and easy check-out. I would recommend removing the big tv downstairs and go for a "46" television either on the wall or on a stand. Also, upstairs a bigger tv is needed for the den. Also, when you come down the stairs from the loft the last step needs some type of fluorescent tape as it blends in to the floor. A couple of us thought we were on the last step when we actually had one more step and lost our balance. Other than that a beautiful property and look forward to returning next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great weekend in Hog Heaven

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

We enjoyed our time in Hog Heaven. The porch had a great view. The house was large enough for our 3 families to enjoy our time together. The Rumbling Bald Resort was also great. The ameniteies were awesome for our family with young kids. I would highly recommend Hog Heaven!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

We all had a great family vacation!! We will recommend Lake Lure and your home to all our friends.
Hope to be back soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Connie, Roland, Chris, Alexa

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

The house was beautifull,clean and very well apointed. The deck overlooking the mountain was great; we had our coffee there every morning. In the evening we relaxed in the hot tub. The pool and the beach at lake Lure were great as well.
Thank you, Stuart and Maria for sharing your beautifull home in the mountains with us.We are looking forward to a return trip.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review