reviews for: listing #324364vb - Waimanalo, Hawaii rental

Waimanalo - Restored Historic Beachfront Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 4,375 - $ 6,300 / week
    $ 18,750 / month
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Best location on island!

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was very clean.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Our week on Oahu couldn't have been spent in a better place! If you're looking for a big city experience this is not the place for you!(Although Honolulu isn't too far). The location is peaceful and located on the most beautiful part of the island. The mountains on one side and the ocean on the other. The house is roomy, and fully stocked. Extra beach towels, boogie boards, sand toys for kids etc. Our son was married on the beach, and we couldn't have asked for a more beautiful beach. Only a few other people were in the area, and all were very respectful during the ceremony. (No photo bombing!) The property manager was helpful both as we prepared for the wedding and when we arrived. The caretakers who live on the property were friendly but not obtrusive. I hope that if I have a chance to return to Oahu that this beautiful home is available.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hale Pohaku

Review submitted: May 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Excellent location in a great house. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Property!!

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My wife and I recently booked Hale Pohaku in April 2013 for a week and we used it as the venue for our intimate beach wedding and reception. The home is wonderful and the location is perfect!! Both the property manager and the owner were very responsive to any of our questions and needs. We highly recommend this vacation home and can not wait to comeback and stay here again!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing beachfront historic property

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: March 4, 2014

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was more than happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This house is heaven! If you are looking for a quiet private house with an amazing beach - this is your place. Nicely decorated, this historic house was the first house built in Waimanalo. It is built out of lava rock. It is close enough (rent a car) to some lovely hikes, surfing beaches, Hanauma Bay, Kailua, grocery stores.... But really way leave the house? The kitchen is stocked with every kind of cooking appliance so if you love to cook, which we did, you are set. I'd stay here again, in fact I'd love to live there! We are hoping to make it a yearly visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So sad we have to leave!!

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

Everything about this vacation rental is excellent. It's secure, roomy, well appointed, in a great location, quiet and the beach is tremendous. Listening to the waves and feeling the breeze on Waimanalo shore in the morning as you wake up and then all day long provides the perfect Hawaiian experience. Owner is a wonderful guy and will do anything to make your trip perfect. Costco and safeway in Hawaii Kai provides everything you need in the way of food and restaurants and the 15 minute drive there is down one of the most amazing shoreline roads in the world. Hiking up Makapuu lighthouse is only 5 minutes away. Don't miss the open market in Kailua on Thursday nights. And - don't be thrown off by the looks of Keneke's just down the street from the home. They have the best bacon cheeseburg burger for only 4 bucks. Can't wait to come back!! Also if you want your kids (or yourself) to take surfing lessons, check out Hawaiian Surf in Hawaii Kai. They are affordable and have great people working for them.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A little bit of heaven.

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 11, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was very clean.
I was very happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
<br/><br/>it is beautiful location and great house with backyard beach access to the pristine Waimanola beach. We experienced an appliance failure during our rental but the management staff was helpful, communicative, and did right by us.<br/><br/><br/>

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mele kalikimaka!

Review submitted: January 1, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

This home is perfect! Stunning view and great location. We had a large group, including kids. Right on beach with grassy areas for kids to play. Clean and spacious. We had rental car and were able to get around all within 30 -45 min. Definitely would come back! Highly recommended!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hale Pohaku Thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 22, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
AMAZING!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming beach house

Review submitted: May 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 28, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
If your looking for a charming house away from the big crowds but yet close enough to easily access them, this is a great house. It's a nice house on a beautiful beach. Another cool thing is that it's been featured in Hawaii Five-0 and we actually watched the show that featured the house while we were staying in the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding at Waimanalo!

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

I recently had my destination wedding at this beautiful rental home and I could not be anymore pleased and happy with my experience! First, booking the property was so easy & such a hassle-free since the property manager was so approachable and quick to reply on my multiple emails. The place allowed us to hold our small intimate wedding ceremony & reception as the backyard was a perfect setting for it. We were able to set-up a tent, bistro lights, and banquet tables at the back for the celebration. The beach itself was so breathtaking, quiet and relaxing. There were hardly any people on the beach and we felt like we own the entire beach area. The place was equipped with plenty of boogie boards, snorkel gears, beach towels, and even beach toys for little ones! The pictures displayed of this rental home does not do the place much justice because it really looks bigger & better in person. I was really impressed with openness, the airy feel, the artworks displayed and the layout of the house. There is plenty of room to fit 8-10 people easily. My only regret is that we wish we stayed longer. We miss the place already and we will definitely come back for maybe a family reunion or vow renewal!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Exceptional property with loads of quality linens and bedding.

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Appealing ocean front view. Great privacy and secure setting. Well landscaped. Very well appointed (with exception of DVD player - suggest that this would be helpful for future guests).

Owners response: Thank you very much for your comments - great to have you with us and will share your comments with the owner for consideration and action!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding at Hale Pohaku

Review submitted: December 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.
I was very happy with the location.
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The location was wonderful, perfect for a wedding. The house had a lot of charm and character. The house has everything you would need to have a pleasant vacation, however, the house could have used a little more cleaning. All in all, great times and memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: December 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had an amazing stay and absolutely loved Hale Pohaku. Our only complaint was that beds & pillows were a little outdated and hard/uncomfortable - something we quickly forgot about after getting up every morning to the beautiful view of the sunrise over this amazing beach. The house was very well stocked with everything you might need - kitchen items, towels, beach toys, etc. and the grounds were amazing. Very friendly caretakers as well. We certainly recommend Hale Pohaku and will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Dream Vacation

Review submitted: December 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2012

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had two couples and two toddlers at this property and had plenty of room. What a beautiful place. We didnt want to leave! Even when inside the house you feel as though you are right on the beach because there is so much light and all the windows on the east side. Having the sounds of the ocean and the ocean breezes lull us to sleep every night was amazing! The sand at the beach is the finest I have ever experienced-perfect for sand castles. And the heated outdoor shower station for cleaning up before coming back inside was fantastic. We absolutely loved our stay here!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hawaii Vacation 2012

Review submitted: December 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 29, 2012

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was very clean.
I was more than happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Beautiful house on the beach, would highly recommend.

Owners response: It was a pleasure having all of you. We hope you enjoyed this peaceful spot of Oahu and look forward to having you back again some day soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great

Review submitted: December 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was very clean.
I was more than happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
everyone was delited with the place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous House...Best Rental on a Spectacular Beach

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

Loved the house... Definitely hope to visit and stay at Hale Pohaku again in the future. Much better than staying in the hustle and bustle of Waikiki if you want a true Hawaiian experience. We especially loved waking up every morning and hearing the waves on the beach. A nice quiet location...perfect for relaxing and losing the stress of normal life.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The House of Stone

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2010

We have visited the House of Stone for the past 20 years. Every time we return, it is even better than the last. The view from the house is breathtaking no matter what room you are in, and dinner parties there are great fun. Seeing the moon on the water will take your breath away. The beach is a short walk from the house and just sitting on the sand and watching the ocean is always enjoyable. No matter where you go, it is always pleasant to return to Waimanalo Beach and the House of Stone. We would highly recommend this lovely home to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wedding

Review submitted: November 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2007

Hale Pohaku provided the perfect setting for a wedding on the beach, as well as a vacation respite for the entire family of the bride. Wonderful !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A place that you will never forget

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: February 22, 2004

Probably one of the nicest locations on Oahu. My wife and I had our wedding here and stayed for a week. Waking up to the sound of the ocean and walking out the door to stroll on one of the nicest beaches on the island is a memory I will never forget.

On the practical side the house is well maintained, has tons of room, a large well equipped kitchen, everything you need to entertain and enjoy a relaxing break. The owners are easy to work with. One stay and you will want to come back every year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We clebrated my 87th birthday with my children, grandchildren and great grandchildren.

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

We arrived in Honolulu on June 11, 2010 and everyone had a great time and my great grandchildren from the ages on 8 to 12 so enjoyed the ocean swimming and boarding on the waves and digging for crabs in the sand. We had agreat kitchen and cosco not far away. A great side of the island for young childrens entertainment. We left our beautiful vacation on July 7, 2010 a happy family. I would recommend this property for my friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

"Primo" house on spectacular 'Nalo beach

Review submitted: October 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

Aloha. Our family stayed at Halepohaku for a week in 2009 and two weeks in 2010. The historic stone house, built over eight decades ago (the first house in the area & built by Alfred and Harriet Hocking the original brewer of Primo beer, buried in Nuuanu cemetery in Honolulu) is set on a quiet ideallic white sand beach with few people--the antidote to Waikiki. Waves out front are great for body surfing and boogie boarding--board supplied by the house. We have gone for many long walks including sunrise hikes up to Makapuu light, and power hikes up Koko head. Great kitchen if you like to cook. If not Kailua is about 10 minutes away. Waikiki is half an hour. A nice day trip is a drive up to the North Shore. Sleepy Waimanalo (locally known as 'Nalo) is a classic Hawaiian community rather than a resort town & has a 7-11, small grocery store, gas station etc. but down the street, Kailua has everything from restaurants to grocery stores. Bought a Koa ukulele at one of the state's few native factories. Fall asleep every night to the pounding of the surf. The owner is a great guy, extremely accommodating and anxious to please. This place is top notch. We cant wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The best beach rental on the best beach in Hawaii

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 4, 2010

I have stayed at this historic beach home more than ten times. The facilities are very appealing, decorated throughout with Hawaiian themes, and surrounded by lush, tropical plantings. The home is very comfortable, with incredible views of the ocean, and excellent swimming just feet away. The beautiful wide beach, in my opinion the most beautiful in Hawaii, is outstanding for long walks, and the views of the nearby islands, the reef and the surf, all add to our enjoyment. The soothing sound of the surf is another bonus. We especially enjoy the location, just far enough from the hustle bustle of Honolulu, yet close enough when one wants to wander in that direction via either of two of the most scenic roads in the world. The nearby town of Kailua has all the amenities one could desire. The kitchen is very well stocked with modern appliances and every utensil imaginable, everything one would need for a large party, or gourmet cooking. Bus service is available just one block away. The hosts are especially attentive and accommodating, committed to ensuring our stay is always memorable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review