reviews for: listing #32440 - Gulf Shores, Alabama House rental

Gulf Front home 2 Pools Elevator Wi-Fi Handicap Access
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  The Dunes
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1 - $1 /nt
    $2,290 - $6,190 /wk

sort by:

FAMILY VACATION

Review submitted: September 25, 2008   Date of arrival: September 13, 2008

We took all our kids and grandchildren and also another couple with us to this house. We arrived right after hurricane IKE. We were still able to stay since the oner of the home was able to get her repair person there to make sure everything was in working order.Great location if you have little ones going to the beach. Well equipted with amenties for children 2 and under and toys for the beach for 2 and up.Would stay there again with out hesitation. There is a walmart 20 miles from house were we went and done our grocery shopping.We did not go into town as we were content to just use the beach and the pools that were provided.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 18

 

Comfortable House

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

An extended family group of nine of us stayed at this property in April 2014. The photos and description are accurate, although the room colors are not quite as bright as suggested by the photos. The decorating is pleasing to the eye but there are a few areas of wear or chips in the wall paint. The rental agency (Bella Beach
Properties) was polite, responsive, and honest whenever I had a question or concern. We loved having 5 bedrooms, each with an attached full bath. The washer and dryer worked well and were handy to have. An ice maker (separate from the fridge) can keep a lot of drinks nice and cold. The view out the living room windows of the Gulf of Mexico is awesome, since this property is just across the dunes from the beach. Beach access is super easy, just down a boardwalk. The beach was clean and not at all crowded during our stay. We enjoyed being far from the crowds in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach, but be aware that the nearest grocery store is a good 20 miles away. Consider this property if you like getting away from the crowds and spending time with family or friends at the beach.

I do have to mention a few things that somewhat detracted from an otherwise excellent stay. During our stay, we had a good rain storm with wind-driven rain whipping in off the Gulf. The windows on the Gulf side of the property all leaked water, enough to soak a pair of shoes that was too near the window. The carpets and flooring got wet. The gas grill works but is in a poor state of repair, having wheels that fall off, an igniter that does not work, and one side of the handle unattached. You will need two people to move the grill out since the wheels fall off. The starter amounts of supplies such as garbage bags, toilet paper, and dish soap, were adequate only for the first day. We had to get more of these things right away. The stereo system is a nice addition but the subwoofer only made a loud buzzing noise and had to be unplugged. I could not get the fireplaces to light (I gave up rather quickly, though). The high speed internet was good for keeping in touch and checking email but not fast enough to stream a movie. The property lacked instructions for how to use the internet, fireplace, stereo system, intercom, telephone, etc. It also lacked information about which two of the three nearby pools you have access to, and how to get into the exercise room (you need a key).

In spite of these things, we really enjoyed our stay and would rent this house again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A WONDERFUL FAMILY VACATION

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Our family enjoyed a wonderful week at "Day Dream"! There were 11 of us - 5 adults and 6 children. We found "our home" with the directions supplied to us quite easily. We loved the proximity to the gulf and the gorgeous view off the back porch. The water was beautiful as well as the beach - which we found not very crowded.
The first day we encountered a few problems which the owner addressed immediatley and solved to our satisfaction. Although we never used the elevator (we liked the exercise of going up and down the stairs), it was an added feature that I am sure others would appreciate. The house was VERY comfortable and the fact that there were so many bathrooms, was a real plus. Between the fridge and the icemaker, we always had plenty of ice. We loved having the dish washer because we ate a lot of meals around the big kitchen table.
My husband, our adult children and I would definitely recommend "Day Dream" for a family vacation. Our only suggestion would be to get your supplies before settling in. There is a grocery store now named Bell's that had everyting we needed and got most of our provisions there. We never went to WalMart, but I understand it is also available.
Our family had a wonderful time visiting various attractions in the area. We went to the museum at the Naval Station in Pensacola. We took the car ferry to Mobile and visited the alligator farm. We went to Lulu's for dinner which the kids loved.
Enjoy your stay at "DayDream". It is a wonderful vacation for all ages!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

CB-APOSTOLIC TRAVELERS (birmingham, alabama)-fun in the sun

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

When we turned the corner in the sub-division to begin looking for the house, the picture on the flyer lead us right to it. My GPS (navagation on the car) needs to be updated because it guided us to the street before the one the house was on! But hey, the color of the house was a sure giveaway. Once in the house, everything was just as it looked on the pictures off the computer. The bedrooms, the sofa sleepers, the daybed, the roll-away bed were more than enough to accommodate the needs of our family. The master master bedroom with the whirlpool was the talk of the group; so, so nice! WE NEVER RAN OUT OF HOT WATER; HOW ABOUT THAT! The open floor plan for the living room, dining room and kitchen was great! TVs in every room a big plus. Beach access 1 min, pool access 1 & 1/2 min, just great. Our age range was 3 yrs. old to 79 yrs. old. OH, what fun we had. We would love to spend our next summer vacation in the same house. The big food stores are on the main road (hwy 59) but hey, if you got cars that's no problem. There are stores on Fort Morgan Rd in case you needed something really quick. Once we got there, we made a list for the groceries we would need for the days we would be cooking and eating in. Breakfast was cooked every morning. What a great time we had eating together in one place; all fifteen of us. My father had a great time going from deck to deck on the front & the back of every level of the house just sitting around taking it easy. People as you can see we had a ball and are looking forward to coming back on next year. OK, go on & make your reservation to stay at DAYDREAM, you'll be glad you did!!!!!! We would also like to thank the owner for opening up this home for us to have a nice home away from home to sit back & relax and have a peaceful stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Needs Work

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

This house leaks buckets during a heavy rain (upstairs, downstairs, beach-facing side, road-facing side). One corner of the dining table was essentially cordoned off as you'd get wet just sitting there! Spent two days trying to contain the water and another two days drying the place out to get rid of the musty, wet smell. The outdoor shower on the boardwalk is broken. We had a deck chair collapse on us due to rust and rot. And only the bravest of souls dares tackle the dark, understairs closet where beach toys (some were very nice) and assorted shoddy beach chairs are piled in utter disarray. Property could use a good thorough cleaning as well!

Otherwise, the house is roomy and mostly comfortable. The WiFi was broken when we arrived but the owner was very responsive in getting it quickly fixed. We hate to give a poor review but the rate is rather excessive for a house in desperate need of repair and cleaning.

Owners response: I always wonder why guests that make positive comments write their names and guests that place negative comments omit their names ...
I understand the complaints. This family was stranded inside the house for a full week because of non-stop rain. Nobody can be happy under those circumstances. The rain and wind came from all directions, day and night. All gulf front houses exposed to that kind of weather will present leaks. We have since worked on main leaks and are doing further work presently.
We have cleaned and organized the toy and beach chair area as well which naturally gets very messy during the season as guests do not follow our instructions of rinsing and replacing items where they were found. We always take action immediately when an issue surfaces. The WIFI issue mentioned by the guest is a good example.
I encourage you to also read the comment from the family that stayed the week of 6/22, 3 weeks after this family with the negative comments was at the house. It is hard to believe they are reviewing the same house!
One entire week of rain will make anyone unhappy, but unfortunately we will suffer the consequences with the negative comments.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great Beach front house!!

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

We had four families staying so it was a large group and we had no problems at all. The ice maker was a nice convenience. The pool was a very easy walk from the house but far enough that we didn't have to worry about any kids finding their way there accidentally. Each bedroom is very generous and has it's own bathroom which was nice for each couple. I was surprised at how quiet the house was, you didn't hear others so we were able to sleep in if we wanted when others were up early. The kitchen is the best stocked in all the beach houses we have stayed in. We took our bikes and drove back toward Gulf Shores about 10 miles and parked and picked up a bike trail (family friendly). We biked to the pier just across from the fire station and had lunch that we had packed while the boys caught hermit crabs on the shore. There is also great night time crab catching on the beach itself at the house! My only advice to renters, and this is no reflection of the house, is to bring a baby gate if you have a little one. There is only one set of stairs in the house off the main floor so really one gate will do if you are trying to keep a crawler away from the stairs. They go up,not down, which is better. We did run to the local grocery which is just down the road from the house but I would recommend stopping on the way in for the bulk of groceries. There are plenty of options just before you turn onto Ft Morgan road.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

We held our 15th Annual Family Reunion at Day Dream House and had a wonderful time. There were 9 of us in the house and it came with all the amenities as advertised. There is plenty of space for everyone to enjoy and do their own thing. The beach area is fabulous and wonderful for great walks. When we had questions regarding the property the owner was very responsive and helpful. I would recommend this house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

The 12 of us

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We had a wonderful week and enjoyed all of the amenities of your beautiful home!! Everything was exactly where you said it would be. The walk to the beach was very short. We had a beach wheelchair for our oldest daughter and basically set up our tent and enjoyed the ocean, the air, the dolphins, the beautiful sand and each other!!

Thank you!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Very comfortable

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We stayed here July 21st week. The house was very clean and we loved that each family had their own bathroom. We had 11 kids and 7 adults and we were very comfortable in the living room and kitchen and in the house overall. Although other houses are just as close to the beach, this one is the first house by the boardwalk, meaning you don't have to walk as far to get to the water. We could watch the older kids play on the beach from the deck. We brought our own beach toys and chairs, but there would have been plenty if we would have used what was at the house. I believe there was a small tent there, but we enjoyed our large tent for shade. Gulf shores was really packed so we enjoyed being away from the crowds. We just made a walmart trip every couple of days or when we would go into town to eat. The little grocery stores provided last minute items that we needed. By the way, try having dinner at the Pines (behind one of the grocery stores) They have delicious food and karaoke. The food was better here than Tacky Jacks. Being the end of summer, the house was showing a little wear-we had issues with the oven door. There was a maintenance man there the whole day one day, replacing lights and fixing other small things. It was kind of annoying, but I'm sure it was necessary; otherwise things would not be repaired. The linens and beds were very comfortable; the AC worked great and we never ran out of hot water-which is huge when you have a big group. Things that we needed: non stick cooking spray, oven mitts, iPod docking station (brought our own) grill tools-big spatula, tongs, etc. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Great family home that's close to the ferry to shave time off the commute from the west

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

We found the house easily and it is very well appointed. I can't really say that there are things you would want for (except maybe a knife sharpener). The elevator is a nice amenity when moving luggage throughout the house but is a hazard when kids discover how to operate it. We were able to disable it for much of the stay. The deck on the back is great for lounging. The location is a good distance from Gulf Shores so get everything you need before coming down the strip. Also, because of the condos in the area, the beach can get crowded at times. Get a spot early on Saturday and place your tent to get the best spots. The houses location is very handy to the boardwalk so if your vacation will consist mostly of the beach it's awesome. If you are a pool and beach person, you'll find the pool about 250 yards away. The workout facility is another 100 yards beyond that. The minor issues we had were taken care of quickly by the owner (because of the drought, ants were coming in looking for water) and the house was clean and well taken care of. One last thing, if you're a history fan, the fort is 1.5 miles away and is a great way to spend a few hours.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: The large grocery stores (Bruno's and WalMart) are a 20 minute drive from the house. We do warn our guests about that in the check in process. However, there are a couple of small grocery stores about 2 miles from the house where you can get last minute items without having to drive to town.
There are also restaurants, a bar right across the street in the Gulf Shores Marina, various rentals (bikes, boats, jet ski etc) just across the street.
The community pool is about 50 yards from the house, not 250 as stated above. You can actually see it from the house. It is a very easy, flat walk, you do not need a car. I used to walk to the pool with my kids when they were little.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

My husband and I been talking for some time about taking a family vacation, our children, their spouses, and our grand children, thirteen people in all. We couldn't have selected a better place than Day Dream, the decor and amenities made us feel so comfortable. The house was large and allowed for everyone to feel they could escape to their own space if they felt the need. The kitchen provided everything needed to prepare and serve a fine meal and the dining area along with the breakfast bar made it possible for all of us to sit and eat together. We found ourselves eating in for dinner more than expected because from about 4 pm the deck was in the shade and with the breeze off the Gulf it was so delightful no one wanted to leave. It was a sad day when we left, it was our first trip to Gulf Shores but it won't be our last. We are already making plans to return and Day Dream is our place of choice.

Lauren, Louisville, Ky

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

My brothers, sisters & siblings have been to this propety or last 2 years. We have truly enjoyed our time here. The beach and ocean were just wondeful this year and the pools allow you to swim easily. The elevator is excellent as a lot of us have difficulty with stairs. The Sunset were beautiful and Tacky Jacks is a great place or breakfast if you don't want to cook.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: October 13, 2009   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

This home was wonderful. It was well equipped and decorated. Beach access (relatively private) was easy. The beach was ideal for our small grandchildren, with a gentle slope. The owners were a delight to deal with.

We would certainly hope to be able to rent this home again when we return to the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

I wanted to let you know that everything was
wonderful about our stay. Your home was beautiful
and well furnished and equipped. It served our
extended family well. The beach is gorgeous as are
the preserved dune areas. The gentle slopes of the
beach were also ideal for our 5 and 2 year old
granddaughters When we come to the Gulf Shores
area in the future, we would certainly like to rent
your property again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: October 5, 2009   Date of arrival: October 5, 2009

My eight brothers and one sister traveled with our parents to Ft. Morgan to celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary. Eleven adults stayed very comfortably in this beautiful "Day Dream" home. The other ten stayed next door. We enjoyed the house very much. The elevator was perfect for our parents. We really enjoyed the large kitchen and family room. We watched a video that my sister-in-law made containing 60 years of pictures. The proximity to the beach and the pool was perfect for all of us, especially our parents. We enjoyed the peaceful beach, the beautiful sunsets and shooting stars. Thank you for helping us make some really good memories.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: September 29, 2009   Date of arrival: September 29, 2009

Our growing family just spent a great week at Daydream.
Six Adults and two babies (4 months and 5 months) enjoyed the spacious house and easy access to the gulf and pools. The layout was ideal for us; each couple had a king size bed and a private bath with plenty of room for the babies. The decor is bright and cheerful, the family area and kitchen were both spacious and comfortable. The ice maker and the elevator were so handy and the quality linens were a nice surprise. The house, the location, the furnishings, and the attentiveness of the owner added up to a great family vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place to Vacation!!

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

Had a great time at Daydream! The description was accurate and we had a great owner to work with. I would recommend this as a great palce to stay. Close enough to go anywhere you want to, but at the same time far enough to be away from the crowd. We went out nearly every night and the distance was no problem. Went to Lambert's twice, Grazie's, Cosmos, Original Oyster House, Louisanna Langinappe(not a favorite) Tacky Jack's, where they cooked our fish we caught staright from the catch!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: August 4, 2009

My family and I just returned from a weeks stay at Daydream and we can say that it was a great vacation. In part because of the location and the house was a great fit for our group. Very close to the boardwalk and the beach. Great view from the decks outside and the full front windows were a plus. Each bedroom having a bathroom was great. It is 20-30 min. out from town, which is no problem due to small traffic volume. Much less crowded beach and quiet and no city lights. Marina across the road is a nice place to walk or ride to. Took a nice shark fishing trip out of it. Could return tomorrow, no problems and very nice owmner to work with.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 29, 2009   Date of arrival: July 29, 2009

Daydream was an awesome house for our family beach trip. Location was quiet and on the beach.Kids and adults all had a wonderful week.House was perfect!Would definitely go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 1, 2009   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

We just spent a week at Daydream and already want to go back. The house is nicely furnished, very roomy, and located right on the beach. The floor plan is great for large groups or multiple families vacationing together. The beach was so pleasant and very family friendly. Everyday we watched the dolphins travel up and down the coastline. My husband appreciated having the ice machine to fill up the cooler for the beach. Overall, we had a wonderful time and would recommend this house to all of our friends and family.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 6, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

My family and I very much enjoyed our week at the Day Dream! I'm the matriarch of the group, which also included my sister and her husband from Texas, my son and his fiancee, my second son and his wife and their two sons, ages 3 and 8 months, and my daughter and her husband and their daughter, age 10 months. The house was perfect for us. It's roomy, right on the beach (which was never crowded and always beautiful), and very close to the community pool & hot tub. All of the beds were SO comfy, and the house is amazingly soundproof; despite the crowd, no one was bothered by noise when others stayed up late playing games or rose early with little ones. If you're reading this and looking for a wonderful beach-front spot for your group to enjoy, we would all recommend a stay at Day Dream!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 21, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

The Day Dream exceeded our expectations for our large group. All of the furniture was very high class and comfortable. We also loved having a large automatic icemaker to fill up our coolers every day. If it works again, we would love to spend our vacation there again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 24, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

My brothers and sister and I rented this place as a present for our parents and had a mini reunion. The place was awesome. Plenty of room for everyone. We did a little cooking and the kitchen was very adequate for our needs. We loved being able to eat all together at the huge table. The elevator was very helpful, especially with my Mom's knees. The bedrooms were spacious and quiet. I'm a very light sleeper and I was not disturbed by anyone else in the house. I would highly recommend this place for your next visit to the beach.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 8, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Our family had a wonderful reunion at Day Dream.
I'm glad we took the advice from another comment
and brought in most of our food for the week when
we arrived as we didn't want to leave once we were
there! We did have a great outing taking the ferry
to Dauphin Island. The ferry was just two miles
away and the kids loved it.
The owners/managers were always available to us
by phone or email to answer questions or concerns.
The setting is lovely.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 2, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

Our family could not begin to thank you enough for your part in one of the
best vacations we have had. Your house is beautiful, to say the least.
For the entire week, we were continually amazed at all the house had to offer. We were so fortunate to have had all the accommodations for everyone in our family, ranging from ages 2 - 84. All the bedroom and bathroom setups were wonderful and we could not imagine a better view of the Gulf.
Everyone raved about the easy access to the beach and how the house itself
offered everything we could need for the week. Chadd and I appreciated,
too, how easy it was to arrange everything with you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Great Beach Vacation

Review submitted: July 25, 2008   Date of arrival: July 5, 2008

We took our whole extended family to Day Dream and had a wonderful time! Day Dream is a first class beach house with lots of room and suited our needs perfectly! The beach was beautiful and not crowded at all. For the adventurers in the group, it's a very enjoyable beachside walk around to the historic Fort Morgan from this location. We will surely want to return to Ft. Morgan, the Dunes community and Day Dream on our future beach trips!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 19, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

we all thought your house was beautiful. we loved the beach and ocean. the elevator really came in handy. thanks again for being so helpful.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 6, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Great house, big rooms, fantastic view, quiet community, and best of all at night loved closing bedroom door; opening balcony door and hearing the roar of the ocean waves. Bring plenty of food, because once you are here at "Daydream" You Want Want to Leave!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 30, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

My extended family stayed the week before Memorial Day. We had a great time. The house was perfect. Plenty of room for everyone. Kids loved it, the house was very kid friendly, also we were provided with extras for the kids. I would recommend this house for anyone. We would visit this house again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 21, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

My extended family stayed at Day Dream during Spring Braek. It is situated diectly on the beach so you can open the doors and windows and listen to the gulf. The sunrise and sunsets can be captured perfectly from the deck. There is plenty of room to have your own space. I really enjoyed reading a book on the second deck. It was a wonderful, less crowded place to take your children.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 28, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

My family and I stayed at the Day Dream this year over Spring Break (March 2008) and absolutly loved it! We spent every moment on the great deck and loved the house so much. Best vacation ever!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 29, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

My family and I liked Day Dream and its spectacular Gulf view so much, we stayed longer than planned. Watched the dolphins swim, fishing boats,pelicans hunt for food, sunsets, sunrises, etc.Love the decor, especially the green walls! Everyone will enjoy. Cindy

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 27, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

We stayed at Day Dream the week of Thanksgiving 2007. We found the kitchen well supplied and all appliances in excellent working order.
The rooms were attractively decorated and comfortable.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review