reviews for: listing #3249 - Okemo, Vermont Cabin rental

Fabulous New Log Home: Hot Tub, Xbox, Pool Table on Okemo Mt
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Okemo Mountain
  • sleeps  13
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $1,500 /nt
    $1,500 - $10,500 /wk

sort by:

Family Vacation in Vermont

Review submitted: August 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2014

Our family spent a wonderful week in this very comfortable home. We were all adults, but the home lends itself to all ages. We found the home to be very clean and neat and well equipped in the kitchen, as we like to cook and ate most of our meals in. The front deck is great for just hanging out, reading or enjoying the sun and solitude. It was very peaceful and quiet, even though there are surrounding homes. The home is very spacious with plenty of room for everyone to spread out and do there own thing or be together.
We are walkers and hikers and there were plenty of quiet roads and trails to walk and hike. There are several lakes nearby for kyaking and fishing as well as the natural waterfalls and swimming holes. The town of Ludlow is quaint with some very nice shops and restaurants as well as many others close by. Lots of other attractions for sightseeing within a couple hours drive and the mountains and scenery are just beautiful.
Heather and Frank have created a beautiful home and are very gracious to share it with the public. They are attentive to your needs and take a lot of pride in their home. We came home very relaxed and refreshed and would not hesitate to return for another week in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a place

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 2, 2014

The place was simply amazing. I have rented many places over the last several years and this is one of the best places we have rented. It is cozy and warm and at the same time luxurious. It is located a short car ride from the mountain, just minutes away. The place is elegant both on the inside and out. There are lots of rooms and everyone can spread out. It was very nice having a fireplace and plenty of wood provided. The hot tub was a nice addition after a long day of skiing. I had never been to the mountain before but we absolutely loved it and put our 3 and 4-year-old daughter's in ski school and they excelled. After 2 days of ski school they were already going down the easier slopes on their own. Great place to learn. I am an experienced snowboarder and found the mountain quite fun. I would definitely recommend the place to anyone who wanted a nice luxurious home near the mountain.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great experience!

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

This home exceeded our expectations in every way! It is incredibly spacious yet still remains cozy. It was perfect for our group getaway to Okemo mountain. The locations is very convenient in terms of skiing, yet still remains private and tucked away. We will most definitely be returning!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Ski House!

Review submitted: February 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

This house is gorgeous, spacious, and so close to Okemo--it was the perfect spot for a girls weekend getaway! Highly recommended, we hope to be back next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing house!

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

Amazing house! This house has a ton of space and amenities. We had a girls ski weekend and had an absolute blast. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Retreat

Review submitted: February 2, 2014   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

My family and I stayed in this amazing log home in early November for a long weekend. The rooms were spacious and meticulously cared for and well decorated. The great room, which offers cathedral ceilings, was large enough to comfortably fit my large family. The wood burning fireplace provided a cozy atmosphere. The kitchen was well stocked with essentials and large enough to cook for a family of 11. The hot tub on the back deck was clean and relaxing. If you are looking for a nice quiet getaway to spend with friends or family, I would highly recommend renting this enormous and exquisite log cabin house. The home had WiFi and cable TV so bring your iPads, laptops, Rokus, or AppleTv. As the owner states in the write-up the internet may go in and out due to it being in the woods. We found that by simply unplugging the cable modem and wireless receiver and then plugging them back in (cable modem gets plugged in first and once all the lights are on you plug the wireless receiver in next) the internet came right back without any problems. I can't stress enough how wonderful this house is. It is clean, decorated beautifully and very spacious. My family and I are looking forward to another visit in the near future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding Vacation Home!

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 12, 2013

Our family had a great time in this beautiful log home. Not a detail has been overlooked and every space is beautifully themed and decorated. While this is clearly a high-end house, it is comfortable and welcoming to families with kids. The location is great, too. It's right in the heart of the Okemo community yet the wooded lot offers plenty of privacy for a dip in the hot tub.
Our family is looking forward to renting this house again! It's truly the nicest we've stayed in.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

White Thanksgiving

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: November 25, 2013

If you want to rent a stunning log home on a mountaintop, this one is it! We rent often : NOLA, Key West, USVI, Montreal, etc. but this is the first one I am renting for a second time! My 2 teenage daughters brought four friends, I had family in town, and brought family up there also. Everyone was blown away by this house - what a marvelous Thanksgiving...in the hottub while it snowed, skiing Okemo was great, shopping in Weston, and a local pottery place, and cooking and feeding my crew was fun and I had most everything I needed. The place was spotless,lots of room, we didn't use the four bed bunkroom. That is on the first level and I think for smaller children for that reason. Teens were all upstairs where they have the most beautiful pool table!Kids had a frig. up there and their own space. There were plenty of supplies - I think we had to buy some dishwasher soap and garbage bags, well stocked - there was also an added extra of a laundry room, closed off from the kitchen. We kept ALOT of groceries out there that needed refrigeration - it can be chilly,and was the perfectspace to stash everyones stuff that didn't fit in the frig. Heather has decorated this house with love and care - from the dishes to the mooseheads, the "lodge decor" was great! Enjoy and put on GOOD snow tires! Tracy K,Woodstock CT

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Great Grandma Visit

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

For a family of 8 traveling 6 states to visit Grandma this vacation home was FANTASTIC!!! Grandma lives in a small apartment so the room and avaliability of this place was great. Being able to relax in the spacious beautiful home and be away from alot of traffic made the time extra special. Also the steps were low enough that Grandma who is 94 and uses a walker could get in and out of the house easily. The upstairs provided great room for 6 children including youth. Also appreciated the kitchen where we were able to make almost all our own meals. Also loved the decks, we spent many hours on these! Overall we would reccomend the house, and would love to go again!!! Also really appreciated working with Frank & Heather, felt they went out of their way for us!!! Thanks!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome...Enough said.

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 23, 2013

We felt like the cabin was built around us. Just two of us on a two night romantic getaway...The perfect place to escape to and get lost in. The cabin is incredible. It has everything you could need for the true Vermont experience...Gorgeous Log Fireplace in great room...Big Hot Tubbbb...Speakers everywhere to hear some great tunes...Steaks on the grill...Game Room loft with pool table was nice...Master bath jacuzzi tub with jets was fabulous...I could go on...but nothing can describe how great it felt to be in Vermont smelling the crisp fall air... Enjoyed every morsel of what this home had to offer...Will definitely be back with some friends in tow.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pure bliss

Review submitted: August 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

This is a beautiful and very well maintained property that will make everyone of all ages feel at home upon arrival! We vacationed to Vermont for the first time with our two boys ages 5 and 2 and two sets of grandparents. The highlights of this home were the spacious, open, and well stocked kitchen with a large dining room table, the wrap around front porch and the private deck off the back with a hot tub. This home also had a lot of extras which made are stay care free (i.e. a pack and play, high chair and toys and games for the kids). During our week long stay, we enjoyed hiking to the peak of Okemo Mt. which offered amazing views of the valley and riding the alpine roller coaster at the base, swimming beneath a waterfall that is just a short drive from the home and sampling Ben and Jerry's ice cream. Our boys enjoyed playing pool at the home and just enjoying the serenity of the great outdoors.
The owners of this property are very attentive and are easy to reach if needed by phone and e-mail.
We would highly recommend this home and were very sad when it came time to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great guys weekend

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

Rented this awesome condo for a guys reunion weekend...and it did not disappoint! The place is in great condition. Huge house that has so many sleeping areas...futons, king, queen, multiple bunks. The back deck is awesome with a hot tub and high top chairs. Besides the house being awesome, the location is key. Set far off a quiet road but less than 5 minutes from Shaws, ice cream, and pizza. Couldn't ask for more. I'd recommend this place not only for a guys weekend but any get together. Top notch owners and home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wedding Week at Okemo

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

This magnificent home located on a secluded lot in Ludlow less then a five minute drive to Okemo and Jackson Gore ski trails met and exceeded our expectations while visiting Vermont for our wedding.

The owner of the property was very helpful providing recommendations for various vendors and caterers in the area so that we where able to utilize the home for a rehearsal dinner attended by over 50 people prior to our wedding and at no point in time did the house feel camped or crowded.

If you encounter a rainy day this home will help you forget very easily as there is a number of gaming options, TV's in all rooms, books and all around comfort similar to being in your own home. Food and beverage in the area is excellent at various restaurants all within minutes of the house. Outdoor activities are also plentiful regardless of season at Jackson Gore and surrounding small towns.

Whether your looking for a winter or summer getaway you'll find this area and this home specifically will leave you wanting to plan you next trip back to the area before you depart.

Thanks again to the owners for all there help in making our special day a special week.

Regards, Larry

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Golf Trip

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

Myself and 7 of my buddies decided to go to the Okemo area for a golf trip. We decided to rent this house for the weekend. The house was spectacular and fit our needs. We couldnt have had a better time and will definitley stay here again. Frank and Heather made the process very easy. Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect winter get-away

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Our family loves to snowmobile and recently took up skiing and snowboarding as well. This house was a perfect location with easy access to the VAST trails and an easy trip down the mountain to base lodge for skiing/snowboarding at Okemo. Wonderful time was had by our family!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Magnificent Log Home and Owners are fabulous! (MG-CT)

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: February 6, 2013

I just stayed in this Log home for a Ladies Getaway. There were 10 of us in total. We absolutely had a blast! The house had everything we needed. There was plenty of room for parking all of our vehicles, and it was a quick drive to the base of Okemo Mountain. The owners were fantastic! I highly recommend this house for family or friends!

Thanks Heather! You were wonderful!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Weekend!

Review submitted: February 2, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

Despite record low temperatures our group thoroughly enjoyed their stay in this beautiful home. Everything was as described, very clean house, within minutes of Okemo, lots of room for everyone to enjoy, hot tub was a big hit,looking forward to returning next year

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

The pictures don't do this home justice. Stayed for 3 nights and was pleasantly surprised with the entire home. The bedrooms are all big and nicely spread out. It has a great open feel to the home. It was very clean and owners were excellent to work with.
The home itself is larger than what we envisioned.
Easy drive to downtown Ludlow for any shopping needs.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Corporate Getaway w/ managers was fantastic here!!

Review submitted: October 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

This home was the perfect setting for our winter, company meetings and i highly recommend that small companies should bring their employees here! We flew in our 8 managers from around the country and brought them to this home for 4 days of training, winter activities, and group bonding. The home was spacious enough for everyone - there was plenty of room in the kitchen/living room for everyone to relax and there was adequate room for setting up our meeting space. The managers were in awe when they saw the home, as it is larger than the pictures make it seem.

We had meetings each morning and then there were plenty of options for the afternoons. We rented the ice rink one afternoon for hockey, spent another afternoon snowtubing & riding the alpine slide, and had our last night at the Long Trail brewery!

The owners are fantastic to work with - I cannot thank Heather enough for the time she spent on the phone with me, sharing ideas for activities for the group. She was happy to help and was extremely responsive.

The house is in fantastic condition and once you arrive, you wont want to leave. If you own a business and want to take everyone away for a little while to bond and conduct training, then this is the home you should rent. I HIGHLY recommend it!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Mega-Cabin

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

Nothing better than staying in the mountains of Vermont, this cabin is only minutes away from Okemo but situated on a private lot. Top of line amenities and furnishings, the beds were comfortable and plenty of seating in the dinning area. The property met all our needs plus our 4 boys, ages ranging from 20 to 13. We stayed in this cabin over the summer and found it centrally located to everything we wanted to do. Hiking Okemo mountain, kayaking in some of the area’s many lakes, zip-lining. We even through in a shopping excursion to Manchester for the 1 female in the group. Ludlow is a great small town with plenty of dinning options (the buffalo chicken sandwiches at The Pot Belly pub were a big family hit). Although some of the best family times we had were in the loft at the cabin, playing pool and playing cards. The owners were very informative and very accommodating. We would LOVE to stay here in the winter.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Breath-taking!

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

What a great way to spend Thanksgiving - or any holiday!!
This house is amazing. It's perfect for large groups and/or
multiple families. The amenities could not be better, and
the owners are wonderful to work with. We will definitely
return for another getaway on Okemo Mtn.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House!

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this house very much. It has tons of room but feels quaint and comfortable, has a great kitchen and bbq, hot tub, fireplace, patio area, yard and everything we needed to have a great time in the mountains of VT! Would gladly rent it again anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

excellent home

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: January 23, 2012

excellent home, clean and all the amenities you could ask for. it was fun for the kids and adults. the owners were great, very helpful, and quick to respond to our questions. i would definitely stay there again. highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome log house rental at Okemo

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2012

This is our second year in a row renting this beautiful home. Our group of 8 fell in love with this home the minute we saw it. Huge open floor plan with well stocked kitchen. Large stone fireplace in living room. Beautifully decorated interior. Check out this home you will not be sorry. great for large families and groups. Owners are great with communication and list many area attractions and things to do in the area.
thanks Heather and Frank

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation home and location

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 23, 2009

This was our third year to stay in this wonderful house.
Always clean and plenty of space for a large group (8 adults and 2 young children in our case).
Owners very accommodating and pleasant to deal with.
Conveniently close to good restaurants, lakes, fishing and Okemo.
Recommend Sam's Steakhouse, Killarney's, Bella Luna, The Hatchery.
Long Trail Brewery is 20 minute drive, great beer and pub grub.
Visit Woodstock (40 mins.) -- eat at Bentleys.
Great theater just 20 minutes away in Weston Playhouse.
Ideal cycling for all levels.
You will need your car.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Vermont - Home Away from Home

Review submitted: May 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

We have been traveling to Vermont for our family vacation for the past 11 years and have stayed in a few vacation homes during this time. This beautiful log house has been our home away from home for the past three years (and will soon be again this year). Once we found it – we looked no further. It’s clean and modern but with a true Vermont feel.

It’s the perfect size for our families to gather together and share some great times relaxing for a week during the summer. The house is spacious, which allows for privacy for each family, but has a wonderful open floor plan in the core of the house where we can be together. Speaking of activities… there is no shortage of things to do in the house, which is definitely a bonus on rainy days. There’s a pool table, dart board, xbox, TV with VCR and DVD player (with a movie collection) and they also have internet access if you need to stay connected.

The location of this house is wonderful, too. It’s only about a mile from Ludlow center, which allows for easy grocery runs. The town itself features shops and restaurants, and Ludlow is within driving distance to many other great spots in the local area like Plymouth state park/beach, the Town of Woodstock, Sugarbush Farms, Longtrail Brewery, Hathaway Farm’s corn maze, etc.

The added bonus for me is that this house makes it so convenient for families with young children. After packing the car full of all the family’s essentials for the week, I would have needed to rent a van in order to fit the baby’s essentials. The house has a pack n’ play (just bring your own sheet for it), baby gates, high chairs, and some toys and children’s videos all available to us, which makes packing the car a breeze.

If you’re thinking about visiting Vermont, I would highly recommend staying at this house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing getaway!

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2009

We had a honeymoon retreat here with several of our recently married friends over an extended weekend. The house is stunning. Located just outside of town it provides easy-to-find seclusion.

The property was immaculate. The layout is open for socializing but yet gives plenty of room for romance (hot tub, fireplace, etc!). The kitchen is stocked with tools and gadgets which made preparing meals fun! Several of us had to work over our visit and the wireless internet made life a lot easier (working in front of the fireplace was actually relaxing)!

The owners are so wonderful. At one point we had locked ourselves out and they responded so quickly! They also spent time giving us ideas of things to do in the area.

One afternoon while the guys enjoyed some pool in the loft, the girls all went to the nearby spa for some relaxation. It was wonderful!! With just a few hours notice they set us up in a room where we got manicures and pedicures together.

We visited in the Spring and although skiing was not an option, there is a golf course, horseback riding and other fun activities nearby!

I was very happy with our stay and would definitely recommend to a friend or family member. In fact, now that we have a child, we are considering going back for a family gathering!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fall Fantasy

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2008

We've spent three wonderful week long family vacations at this lovely home over the last 6 years and have thoroughly enjoyed them. The house is in a great neighborhood plus it's large, spotless and full of amenities. Close to everything that's special about Vermont.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Truly a Fabulous Log Home

Review submitted: March 25, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

This property is even better than it appears in the write up and photos! It it extremely spacious, well equiped, and very comfortable and relaxing. It is amazingly close to Okemo, too.
When we arrived the hot tub wasn't working properly (too cold). One call to the maintenance person is all it took - he arrived the next day as promised and got it running. He came back the next day to replace a part to insure that it would continue working.
The teens really enjoyed the place. They spent most of the free time upstairs and the adults downstairs. Everyone was happy!!!
Lots of hot water, well equiped kitchen, and attractive rustic but cozy furnishings.
It was a pleasure dealing with the owner, too. (This is always a plus.) You won't be disappointed if you decide to rent this house. We hope to return next year.

Lisa J.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 22 / 24

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review