reviews for: listing #324957ha - Uvita, Costa Rica rental

$Million Dollar Ocean View Luxury Estate w staff
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 199 - $ 607 / night
    $ 1,195 - $ 4,250 / week
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

The view can not be matched!

Review submitted: June 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 16, 2014

We spent our days at the local beaches swimming or working on a photo shoot. The location can not be matched and the recommended restaurants are terrific. We spent our mornings cooking breakfast and watching the sun rise. During the day it was off to the beaches which are very close. We would return to the house change clothes and relax by the pool to see the grate view of the ocean followed by dinner at one of the recommended restaurants.

The bedrooms are well maintained and cleaned daily at a time of your choosing and the kitchen is well stocked so you can visit the local store and cook your own meals if you so choose. Typically we cooked breakfast and lunch unless driving to the zip line or horseback excursions.

Owners response: Jeff,
Thanks for staying at "Del Congos de Uvita". I know that you loved the privacy of our 13 acres afforded you and your group yet close to town and the beaches for your photo shoot.It sounds like our staff gave you privacy when you wanted yet the house was always impeccably clean.
As you stated in your title, the views are the very best with over 50 miles of coastline view.
We hope that you come visit us again as we are building another two bedroom house 50 yards below the main house with a lap pool which should be finished in Spring 2015.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for all ages

Review submitted: March 9, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

Del, thank you for the stay at your beautiful home. The views are spectacular and the wildlife even better. Howler monkeys on the property and tucans flying all around. The trek up was an adventure as others mentioned and a 4 wheel drive is a must. After a few times it was a piece of cake. The beaches are awesome and the horseback ride was spectacular for my wife and I, kids (10 and 12) as well as their grandparents. We fished and caught a roosterfish and various other fish w/Cpt Kevin-good times. Surfing lessons in Dominical were great as well. Wish we could have stayed a month or two. Thanks again for all the tips you provided and checking in on us! Alex and Stephanie were also very kind bringing fruit, juice and homemade cookies. Thanks and hope to be back soon!!! Take care, Dean

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home away from home!

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 30, 2013

We stayed at this luxury mountain villa with another couple and had a great vacation in Costa Rica. It was a very unique experience in that the villa is located in a very private setting up in the mountains overlooking the ocean. The views are breathtaking! The first few times driving up/down the mountain road was a bit unnerving, but after that is wasn't a big deal. The staff that take care of the villa (Alex & Estephany) are wonderful! They made sure we were well taken care of, kept the house clean, and did laundry for us every day! We definitely didn't need to pack as much as we did since we always had clean clothes. The villa has many nice amenities, including a great kitchen!

Owners response: Thank you fro staying at "Del Congos de Uvita". As you review states, our staff and beautiful home with panoramic views make it a unique experience with our paradise setting and exceptional service. We look forward to helping our guests experience " a luxurious vacation where you can be pampered and renewed".

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The best of the best

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 6, 2013

Renting this villa is and was one of the best vacation experiences I have been able to share with my family. Can't say enough about the ambience, location and accomodations to make this such a memorable trip. On site support staff was excellent, helpful and available. What a paradise of sight and sound! For those who like being off the beaten path, this is the place to be. All the activity and dining recommendations were spot on. Spectacular sunsets are the norm and the food choices worth a little travel. La Parcela, Hacinda Baru, Marina Bellina, the list goes on for all the things to do. My family is already clamoring for a return trip. I would recommend this property unreservedly! I know reviews like this are hard to believe but all I can say is you have to experience it because some things are hard to put into words. PS. I do have the pictures to prove it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Paul,
It was a pleasure to share my retirement estate with you and your family.
I believe planning a vacation to an unfamiliar destination can be difficult and that is why I personally get so involved in helping my guests to "make it a trip of a lifetime". From offering airport pickup , tour booking, favorite restaurants list, and even renting my car to them. I am constantly working on training my staff to provide the best service as well as constantly adding amenities to my home. Your review is testimony that my hard work as well as my staffs is living up to and exceeding my guests expectations. I look forward to helping you plan your next stay at "Del Congos de Uvita"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous home great adventure!

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 12, 2013

Cas de Del is beautiful and staying there is well worth the trip up the steep, rustic road to get there. The views of the "Whale's Tail" is incredible and we were able to sit on the veranda and watch monkeys and toucans!
The caretakers, Alex and Stephanie were kind and wonderful! We hired Alex to drive us throughout our stay and Stephanie cooked an authentic Costa Rican meal for us. It was delicious!
We had so much fun riding horses to a waterfall and swimming beneath one if the waterfalls, zip lining through the jungle and searching for whales with Captain Kevin. We didn't find whales but it was fun to see dolphins and a huge Mantaray!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: I heard that you really enjoyed the Baby Hummingbird nest that Alex pointed out. Thank you for being our guests at Del Congos de Uvita!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our pre-christmas visit

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 16, 2012

Comfy beds, great kitchen, wunnerful pool and view... it all came together to make our visit very enjoyable. The only problem was a defective circuit breaker that kept tripping, causing cold showers. I'm sure that's fixed by now. We would definitely like to return and highly recommend your villa. Man, what a view...
Our Rav4 was really struggling with five people and baggage trying to make it up that road. But it turned out just fine. Everything that everyone else has written about it is true.
Alex was a great help with anything we needed. Good thing we spoke spanish. He arranged an offshore fishing trip for us and we made out very well, keeping all the mahi mahi and giving all the dorado to the boat captain.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We had electrician to house and replaced the defective breaker. I also told our caretaker to not hesitate calling for professional help as our clients comfort comes first. I communicated twice with Janice (client) while at the house and she never mentioned the breaker problem.
Guess they were having too much fun enjoying the pool,view and fishing. We rent our Mitsubishi Montero which has no problem with the steep costa Rican mountain roads throughout the country.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful mountain resort!

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

The house is outstanding! Awesome views and privacy. The landscaping is wonderful with a huge variety of plants and flowers. The pool is stylish and the patio was a great extentsion of the home. We spent most of the time outdoors looking at the beauty of the house and surrounding jungle. Inside the kitchen was great for cooking and relaxing. it was a chefs dream. There are paintings and wood carved furniture from local artist that add an extra special touch. And my most favorite was the upstairs shower. With the windows open what a view.

Del also provided things that might be needed at an extra cost. Internet, a phone, pick-up and drop-off from the airport and a very much needed 4x4 to get up to the house. If you like four wheeling this is your house. He was very help in every way.

The house is very close to the beach, restaurants, grocery stores, a medical clinic and all sorts of outdoor adventure activities. The weather was perfect every day. Even when it rained you didn't feel the urge to run for shelter. It was warm and felt great.

We had a great time and look forward to returning to Del Congo again.

Thanks Del!

Owners response: Tammy,
I am very happy to be part of making your vacation enjoyable and hassle-free. I realize that it can be nerve racking at times when you have to rent a car in a foreign country, or find your way on unfamiliar roads to your destination, or make the right decisions on what tours to book. I am very glad that you appreciated my efforts... from arranging airport pickup and return by our driver to arranging our rental car contract paper work weeks before, to reserving the best tours. When anyone stays at "Del Congos de Uvita " their considered a VIP because I would like to be treated the same way when I travel. I look forward to helping you and Zach when you return to Costa Rica!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great times

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2012

All photos and discription of the home were exact. Del was very helpful with any questions we had. The home was very well maintained, clean and beautiful. The views were amazing. We zip lined went fishing and even took surfing lesson's. The swimming pool and hamocks were great and very relaxing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Feb to remember

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

The views were spectacular. I enjoyed them especially at night we had an almost full moon. The weather was perfect. Be prepared for a fun drive up the mountian. Getting there is half the fun.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Del Congos de Uvita

Review submitted: February 4, 2012   Date of arrival: January 15, 2012

A beautiful place to "get away from it all". Awaken to the sound of monkies calling, sit on the veranda and watch the hummingbirds flit by and the toucans perching in the trees, zip down the sliding board into the pool or just enjoy the incredible view. The grouinds are beautifully maintained and the house itself is well laid out with each bedroom affording privacy.

A four-wheel drive vehicle with a low/low gear, good tires and high clearance is a must because the road leading up to the villa is an adventure.

Our excursions took us to Manuel Antonio National Park, a morning of whale watching, a mangrove swamp boat tour and Hacienda Baru National Wildlife Refuge. At Del's suggestion, we topped off the week with dinner and a beautiful sunset at LaParcela, not far from the villa.

Owners response: I agree that our house affords plenty of privacy and our staff is the best around. Thanks for your great review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

First time in Costa Rica but won't be the last

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

After staying for four nights at two different high-end resorts, we were certain that our last nights in this beautiful country were going to be very memorable...Del Congos de Uvita was everything the listing description said...and more.....from the photos of the scenery to the cleanliness of this home....spectacular is a more appropriate word...Diego and Arysella speak very little English, but you can understand them by just looking into their eyes....how sweet, kind and caring the Costa Rican people are !!! ..."Downtown" Uvita is very quiet , but beach activities abound...you just have to look for them as the "touristy" feel you get at most beaches will NOT be found here...One word of advice...if you drive CR as we did, get a rental that has heavy offroad tires as the road up to this piece of heaven is strewn with rocks that can potentially pierce a road radial...Thank Goodness that I grew up in the country and was well prepared with knowledge of how to navigate with a 4 WD...our little Suzuki Vitara never let us down ,though.... Would I recommend this home to a friend or relative? Heck, I wanna load them ALL up and take 'em here again next year...the toucans,parrots, and monkeys ( both the Cappuchins and the howlers) will be something we will never forget......oh..... and the view of the Pacific..and the landscaping..and the solitude..and the pool...words just cannot describe it...or maybe that is what Pura Vida means ....???? Thanks again, Del... for working with me on this last leg of our journey..God' s Splendor is evident everywhere here ...We will be back for sure....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mike,
Glad that you enjoyed your stay. Great advice on 4X4 tires, as 90% of roads in Costa Rica are unpaved and contain larger rock than we are used to in the states.
Always rent a 4X4 and always with good tires like the one we rent .

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Del Congos de Uvita

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

We had 4 days left of our vacation and wanted to check out Uvita and surrounding area, and booked this house at the last minute.It certainly did have a fabulous veiw.The house is well laid out so that the bedrooms are very private each with bathroom.
It was nice to wake up to the birds and howler monkeys in the distance, instead of the sound of traffic.
The place was clean and well maintained, and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys privacy.
You do need a 4x4 vehicle as the road is quite the adventure getting up the hill.
We enjoyed our day trip out to Cano Island and saw lots of ocean life including a mother humpback and her baby. We sat adrift and watched them play for about half an hour.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at "Del Congos de Uvita" and that our staff lived up to your expectations. I understand the Whale Watching has been great this winter, Come back soon

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We Shall Return

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

We recently returned from our Honeymoon and had the best time at Del Congos. The property is absolutely breathtaking and the views are AMAZING! We receieved outstanding service from the property care takers and enjoyed getting to know Deigo and his family during our stay.

During our stay we enjoyed exploring the area and had an amazing day deep sea fishing. After a successful day on the water, we took our fresh catch to "Exotica," a French Restaurant that was like no other. Another dining experience that we still talk about to this day, was our night at "Casa de Angel." This is a resort that is about a ten minute drive from the property. We liked it so much that we went back for dinner on our last night.

We enjoyed being surrounded by such beautiful wildlife and we look forward to our next visit to Del Congos!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ryan & Jaime,
Glad your Honeymoon was a great success.
Thanks for your comments.
Del

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ideal Costa Rican Villa

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

The grounds are expertly maintained while the house is clean and organized, comfortably housing 7 adults. The views are utterly breath-taking - the infinity pool is especially luxurious and provides the perfect vantage point for viewing the whale tail beach. We had the perfect amount of seclusion and we could easily access many stores, restaurants, and activities. We also rented the vehicle available with the villa which turned out to be the best idea - highly recommended. Del is such a valuable resource on all things Costa Rica and the caretakers who live next door to the villa are so attentive, polite, and welcoming. Thank you for our unforgettable stay! We recommend everyone to stay here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's so nice to hear how our renters see the beauty in what we have created. It is our defintion of an idyllic paradise on the untouched Southern Costa Rica Bruca Coast chocolate -covered with the house of our dreams yet minimally invasive upon nature.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 12, 2010

We had one of our best vacations ever while staying here. The house and grounds were very clean and well kept. The views were beautiful. The setting of the house in pristine jungle provides for great privacy and a wonderful natural feel, yet we were close to many activities. We went hiking, deep sea fishing, shopping at many markets, took a ATV tour up in the mountains, swam in waterfalls and ate at some great Costa Rican restaurants. I would highly recommend this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Adventure in paradise

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

The house and property were nice but there was a pile of junk visible from the kitchen window. The care takers of the property were very nice and helpful. Wanted to take them home with us. The rental vehicle performed very well and was a must for the steep terrain. The horse back trip to the waterfall was the coolist thing I have ever done and the meals they gave us were great. Very nice beaches and often alone on the beach. Yes I would recommend to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I told my contractor to move that pile of construction scraps well before the client arrived, but in Costa Rica they are on a different time schedule. The scrap is now gone and the property is impeccable kept once more. My contractor knows that I am unhappy that you had to see this.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Getting there is not easy; being there is...

Review submitted: April 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

It's a steep, winding gravel road that requires a good 4 wheel drive vehicle. The drive up takes about 15 minutes from Uvita. Boy were we happy when we saw the gate for Del Congos! The young caretaker family greeted us upon our arrival and pampered us during our stay. The house is beautiful-very open to the outdoors and located on the side of a mountain overlooking the ocean. The first thing we did was take a swim in the perfectly clean pool. Most of our time at the house was spent in the hammocks and chairs at poolside. Aside from the ocean view, the birds, wildlife, and huge bugs are amazing. Be sure to make some sugar water for the hummingbird feeders and you will be constantly amazed! Ahhhhh, Costa Rica!! One morning there were 10 toucans in the same tree! We loved waking up to the jungle sounds and coffee by the pool. The large kitchen allowed for all 4 of us to cook together and there are 2 grocery stores right in Uvita. The local restaurants and ceviche at the roadside stands were delicious. Each day we explored a different beach-there are several within a short driving distance from Uvita. There is a little internet cafe just off the main road in Uvita if you need to be connected. At the cafe, we learned about a hike to a waterfall at Finca Carolina. It was a great hike and we spent an afternoon in the pool at the bottom of the waterfall and sunning on the rocks along the river. We had an excellent adventure filled vacation and look forward to returning one day. Thanks for sharing your beautiful place Del and Patti.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review