reviews for: listing #32521 - Lake Norman, North Carolina House rental

Sheltered Cove ,Perfect Weekend Retreat, Very Deep Water
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $750 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Summer on Lake Norman

Review submitted: August 17, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

This vacation spot is perfect hideaway. I could not say enough about how wonderful it is. We normally use our timeshare for vacation but this year we wanted to try something different. What a pleasant surprise. I highly recommend getting the boat. I am not a true fisherman but if you want to have some fun go fishing around 730 pm. It was non stop , we ran out of bait. The home is well maintained and breakfast on the screened deck is wonderful. A visit to the city of Charlotte is also recommended coming from NYC what a beautiful city Charlotte is. The owners Larry and Anne are wonderful people and provided a problem free vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Enjoying the lake from the boat has always been a top notch experience. Our favorite is taking the boat to dinner at our favorite restaurant and motoring home afterwards as the sun is setting. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit and hope you can return again soon. Thanks for the review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Smith Family Vacation 2014!

Review submitted: August 10, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

We can't say enough about the Harkness Lake Norman House! We had a great family vacation, and partook of all the amenities. The boat for day tripping and fishing out in the lake (caught Catfish, Perch, and Bass). The canoe for paddling around the cove and solo fly-fishing at sunrise (caught a couple more Perch and a couple handfuls of Blue Gills [they’ll hit on anything!]). The hammock and fire pit for relaxing and after dinner S’mores. And hanging on the screened in porch! I slept out there one night while the kids “camped out” in our tent down by the water! And the local restaurants and sites were great too. We went to Cornelius antiquing, Davidson to stroll the college and have ice cream, Birkdale Village for dinner and shopping, and 30 minutes down to Charlotte to the Aviation Museum and the NASCAR Hall of Fame (amazing museum even if you never watched one race!). All in all, a wonderful place to relax, bond, and recharge your battery! Thanks Larry and Ann for sharing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Drew. When we started renting the house as a vacation rental a little over seven years ago, we had no idea how satisfying the experience would be. Helping families have the kind of experience you had is what it is all about and it is a blast. We are so glad you enjoyed it. We hope you will be able to return soon. Larry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect lake get away

Review submitted: June 28, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

What a lovely home and beautiful setting. Even in the rain the screen porch is a wonderful place to sit and enjoy the view. We also rented the boat and had a great time exploring the lake and pulling our grandson on the tube. The pier is perfect for swimming, fishing or sitting with a book.

Owners response: It's great when guests take advantage of the boat rental and it's even better when it is multi-generational. How wonderful that you were able to pull your grandson on the tube. Thanks for the kind words. It is very satisfying to see the house and lake enjoyed so thoroughly. We hope you are able to return again sometime soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Time

Review submitted: April 28, 2014   Date of arrival: April 24, 2014

We had a wonderful time on our long weekend away. The house has a gorgeous pier with a paddle boat that we took out in the mornings as well as a firepit outside for the evenings. There is a Food Lion very close that makes any trips to the store very convenient. It is perfect for a family size of 4! We look forward to a return visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's great to hear you enjoyed the canoe. The lake really is very pleasant to be on, especially in the early evening. We hope you are able to return soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Happy!!!!

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 14, 2014

The Shelter Cove exceeded our expectations and would highly reccommend it to anyone looking for a beautiful place to stay on Lake Norman.

Owners response: Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place to unwind and relax!

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

We stayed at Sheltered Cove with our adult daughter, who is soon to graduate from medical school and move to Nashville. It was the ideal place to unwind and relax with one another and to have some time together before she moves on to her big adventure. The porch is wonderful - a great place for early morning coffee and conversation. We ventured out only once to Mooresville. Everyone should go to Richard's Coffee Shop! This was our very first experience with VRBO, and it will be hard to top! Thanks, Larry, for a great place to get away.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: We just love it when we hear of families enjoying the house and making great memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Little Bit of Heaven

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Sheltered Cove is even better than its online photos. The owners have done everything possible to make this a welcoming vacation home. A beautiful, private location on the water and yet near to local shopping and restaurants as desired. I enjoyed the quiet peace and beauty yet there is plenty of water activity if you want to be active. Definitely a place I would love to return to.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Love your title for your review!! It is exactly how we have felt for many many years.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Home!!!

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

We have been to Sheltered Cove 2 summers and have already booked for next year. It is like coming "home" for us. It is everything we look for in a place to stay for a peaceful, relaxing and fun vacation. The home is very cozy, comfortable, clean and conveniently located to shopping, restaurants etc. and yet feels very private and quiet. The lakefront is beautiful with a great dock and easy access to the lake and allows for great fun swimming and just relaxing in the sun. There is a great screened in porch to spend time in day or night. The owners are terrific to communicate with and will do all they can to make you feel welcome and at home. We would recommend this home for your vacation with no hesitation! You will have a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We feel privileged to have so many repeat guests. The home has provided wonderful memories to me for more than 40 years. It is delightful to be able to share it and see other families making their own wonderful memories. Thanks for your comment.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

No Surprises

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

After checking out on line and contacting other property owners and mgrs., we decided on Sheltered Cove. Larry was very accmmodating and met us upon our arrival. We got a quick tour of all the ammenities and he left. This home was very clean and well stocked. We spent many hours on the screened in porch eating, reading and playing cards and found it an ideal place to relax.I would definately return and reommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Relaxation is what it is all about! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you return sometime soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

all the comforts of home

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

My family and I had a fantastic time at Sheltered Cove. The house was clean, and cozy with all the comforts of home. The house is very well taken care of, and its great that they provide sheets and towels. It was perfect for our whole family. There were lots of activities for everyone to do, and we were close to shopping. The house has great views of the lake. Would love to book this house again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for commenting. We're always thrilled when folks have a good time. It sounds like you were able to enjoy some great family time. I do hope you are able to return again sometime soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our first VRBO experience

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

Larry, the owner answered all our questions without hesitation.

The house was in a great location. Also it was clean and comfortable. We ate most of our home cooked meals out on the screened in porch, which features a rebar barrier to keep pets and toddlers from going thru the screen. The kitchen was fully equipped. We don't recommend frying anything in the stainless steel pots, unless you love scrubbing.

All descriptions were accurate. It is secluded with a nice deck which is perfect for taking in sunsets.

We found a Food Lion less than two miles away.

One of the neighbors had a yapper dog that was annoying. We never saw it, but could hear it yapping its full head off occasionally. It just interrupted my nap on the porch, so he deserved a mention. In case you were wondering, we are not dog owners.

Only 30 miles to the big city of Charlotte, which is very nice for walking around. 5 miles to the traffic choked streets of Mooresville. We recommend Davidson as a nice place for a stroll.

We passed on the rental of the owners boat. Without GPS in the boat, we would never have been able to find our way back to Sheltered Cove. We chose a cruise on the "Lady of the Lake" instead, which departs from Queens Landing. We did go for a cruise in the canoe, but the midday sun will cook you real quick.

We had a great week, relaxing, quiet, and fun. Highly recommended for a good vacation

Jack and Mary Lou Beatrice

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and feel that your first VRBO experience was positive. I hope you have a chance to return again soon. Thank you for the comment about needing a better frying pan or two. Feedback from our guests is the best way for us to maintain the five star service we work so hard for and have enjoyed thus far. Now, I'm off to find just the right pan.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Making memories at Lake Norman

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

The Shelter Cove home in the woods of Lake Norman was a pleasant and peaceful environment for our family, including our water dog Stella. We swam, skied/tubed, fished, canoed and just hung out lakeside. The home was very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed to live on the lake for the week. Although it was a hot week in NC, the shaded screened in room was a favorite place for my early morning coffee as I planned my hunt of the stripped bass and friends. Being a boat owner, the dock was excellent and was also enjoyed by the kids and dog for swimming and splashing as well as my wife who read multiple books under the lakeside umbrellas. All pictures and video are very accurate. The added bonus was the outdoor shower that we definitely used. Larry and Anne were excellent to work with and we look forward to a return visit next summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing!!!!

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

My husband and I honeymooned here in 2007. It has gotten better and better each year. The cottage is so ramantic and relaxing. After the wedding, it was wonderful to come here to rest. The lake is so peaceful and the porch so inviting. I especially loved the grogeous granite shower. My husband loved the scenery that was perfect for running and biking. Anne and Larry are very lovely people. I love coming back here! Everyone is right. Pictures don't do it justice. You have to see and feel the atmosphere. Just Wonderful!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hey Sarah, I hope you and Geoff are doing well over in Germany. We appreciate your service to our country and thanks for the review too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

Everything about Sheltered Cove was beautiful. You can't ask for a more beautiful or relaxing location spot. The home is very well maintained and equipped so that nothing was needed except for purchasing food. There are a large selection of DVDs, books, games and puzzles in the home and there furnishings are extremely comfortable. The laundry facilities are a big plus. Additionally, the home is located very close to several excellent restaurants as well as shopping. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this location to any of my friends. It is quite obvious that the owners take great pride in their home and go beyond what one would expect to find in a vacation rental home.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Susan. Those are very kind words and its gratifying to know that folks really appreciate the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great retreat

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

Wonderful place to stay! House was well furnished and supplied. They thought of everything. Spent many hours a relaxation on the screened porch. The dock was also a great place to hang out and swim. Also, rented their boat for 4 days to explore the lake. The description of the house is very accurate but the screened porch cannot be overstated. It was the best! Keep up the good work Larry & Anne. We would love to come back again sometime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are pretty excited about having a boat to include with the house. We feel like it really rounds out the experience. Our favorite time to go boating is in the fall when the leaves are turning, but of course the summer is tons of fun too. It sounds like you found some good restaurants to boat to. We hope you are able to return again soon. Thanks for the review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sheltered Cove

Review submitted: April 28, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

This was a beautiful location with everything one could hope for in a rental. The scenery and view of the lake were outstanding. Just the perfect place for a quiet relaxing vacation. The property was clean and very well equipped. There was not a thing that was needed and the owners obviously take great pride in their home. I would return to Sheltered cove without a moments hesitation.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Reviews like yours are so gratifying. We are thrilled you enjoyed the home and hope you have a chance to return again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Place for Peaceful Rest and Relaxation

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This property is everything we wanted and everything we needed. There is absolutely no misrepresentation of the property in the photos or textual description. We stayed right there, enjoying the dock and its deck during the day and the screen porch at night. Even though we were there during the July 4th weekend, there was very little loud activity nearby or on the water, certainly not after dark. We would recommend this location without reservation and plan on returning as soon as possible.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Peaceful rest and relaxation is what it is all about. It is very satisfying to us to get comments like yours. Thank you. We hope you are able to return many times. Some of our favorite seasons there are fall and early spring.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome, glad we returned this year

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

This was our 2nd stay at Sheltered Cove and it was as enjoyable as the first time. The house is perfect! The pictures do not lie. The front screened in porch is great, you can relax there for hours. The dock is wonderful, good fishing from that spot also. May even get to chat with Larry & Anne one evening! Lake views from EVERY room is also a plus. Thank you again!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you were able to return. The screen porch is our favorite too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Winter Stay At Sheltered Cove

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

We recently spent three months at Sheltered Cove. We found the cottage to be just as it was pictured and described in the write-up for VRBO. While we were there, we had temporary memberships at the YMCA and the Mooresville Library. We loved the quiet, secluded area in which the cottage was located. Our grandson loved visiting, playing out in the yard and checking out the water. It got warm enough a couple of days so that we were able to have a picnic on the back porch. We are hoping to spend next winter there, if all works out.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and do indeed hope you will be able to return.. Thank you for your kind comments. The peacefulness and seclusion of the setting is one of the chief appeals of the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Delightful Vacation

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

We were so surprised when arriving at Sheltered Cove, with the welcome sign, the conditon of the home, it was so clean and neat, very well decorated and such a relaxing setting. We enjoyed the fishing and the peacefulness of the area. It is so laid back. Larry was right when I questioned him about the home. Pictures do no justice to it. You really need to see the home in person. The dock was wonderful as well as the screened in porch. We never sat in the house. It was the screened in porch and the dock. So nice to walk on the dock in your bare feet and not worry about a splinter. Your home is well taken care of you can see the pride that you have put into it. We are looking forward to many more vacations at Sheltered Cove.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous!!!

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

My family and I rented Sheltered Cove for a week long vacation to relax, boat, and visit!! We had such an amazing time! Sheltered Cove was perfect for our family of 6! The covered porch was amazing for relaxing, reading, playing games, and visiting!! The dock was also wonderful, especially for our dog that could climb in and out using the stairs!! We rented a boat during our stay. It was so nice to just walk down to the dock every morning to get on the boat! The house was also conveniently located to grocery stores and restaurants yet tucked away in privacy! The town of Mooresville offered lots of things to do including the race shops! We had a great vacation and we are all sad that it's over! My husband and I are already planning future vacations with Sheltered Cove!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Richard & Robin

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

We stayed at Sheltered Cove this Spring. Got to meet Larry and Anne when we arrived Saturday. They are awesome people, and this cabin is second to none. The screened porch is awesome, and we had very good fishing from the dock. Overall a great week, and hope to return next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Better than expected

Review submitted: April 18, 2010   Date of arrival: April 13, 2010

Larry and Anne,

Thank you for sharing your little piece of heaven on Lake Norman. We loved the area and the people there. Your home is even better than I expected from the photos in the listing. From the personalized welcome at the door to the beautiful views. The decor is casual and welcoming and really maked us feel at home. The location is excellent being close to town, stores and dining yet tucked into a little hidden corner so there are no city noises to be heard. Just the birds singing and the fish jumping in the lake.

Your video library came in very handy too on the coldest day of the week when the sun and water were both out of the question.

We only wished we could have spent more time there. We hope to visit Shelterd Cove again on our next trip to North Carolina.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 25, 2009   Date of arrival: October 25, 2009

We celebrate our anniversary each October by taking a vacation. This year we enjoyed a wonderful week at Sheltered Cove visiting with family who live in Mooresville and Concord. There are beautiful views from almost every window overlooking the lake. Even though it rained while we were there, we loved being in the tranquil setting. We spent evenings sitting on the screened in porch or in front of the fireplace. Fishing in the rain from the dock (while bundled up) was even fun! The dock is fabulous as well. Sheltered Cove is conveniently located to shopping and great restaurants! There is much to do! We dreaded leaving our little oasis. We look forward to returning to Sheltered Cove and its quiet splendor!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

We loved our two weeks here. The great screened porch with it's long views was a favorite spot. I don't remember a spot so quiet and peaceful since camping on the islands of Lake George, NY, 35 years ago.

The deep water at the dock was perfect for our boat, and for swimming. The cabin and the time here was everything we could have asked for, and we will return.

Ray and Susan Williams

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 12, 2009   Date of arrival: August 12, 2009

You are very lucky to have such a wonderful place on the lake. We were blessed to spend the week having fun and just enjoying each others company. We have relatives and family that live in Davidson and it was great to visit and see them as well. I forgot how great it was to be away and how relaxed I was until I came to work this afternoon and haven't had a moments rest. Thanks again for everything. We wish you all the best.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 19, 2009   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

Thank you for a wonderful week at your beautiful lake house. We have been renting lake houses on Lake Norman for 5 years and your lake house was the best one we have ever rented. It was cozy, nicely decorated, and fully equipped with all the appliances you would need for a long week. We thoroughly enjoyed your dock with easy access in and out of the water by stairs and dock ladder. We enjoyed the availablity of your canoe with paddles for kids and adults. We loved your houses location close to the most beautiful lake island beach on Lake Norman and proximity to Queens Landing for putt putt. My kids enjoyed exploring in your yard that was well manicured and free of poison ivy. They loved swinging on the playset and building a little fort against a tree. And without a doubt the best place in your house was the large porch facing West, perfect for watching sunsets at night and watching the kids while fishing off your dock. Thank you!!!uccess.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 31, 2009   Date of arrival: May 31, 2009

we always love our restful stays at sheltered cove. the atmosphere is so peaceful, you just don't want to leave. our son caught his first 3 fish there and wants to return as soon as possible. details such as fresh flowers and a nightlight for the children were an added blessing. anne is a gifted artist and her eye for beauty and creativity is seen throughout the house. larry has lended his gift of craftsmanship throughout the house, with great results. we ate almost every meal on the porch surrounded by the beauty of the lake. weekdays are best as there is less boat traffic on the lake and you can really enjoy all nature has to offer without interruption. i wholeheartedly reccommend this beautiful cabin to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway, with or without children.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 20, 2009   Date of arrival: May 20, 2009

We rented the cottage to spend time with relatives in Mooresville, but they spent time with us instead! :) The screened in porch was our favorite spot. We also enjoyed a glass of wine on the dock in the adirondak chairs at sunset. Thank you again for all of the personal touches and for a wonderful week.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 18, 2009   Date of arrival: May 18, 2009

Wonderful, relaxing place. You won't be disappointed. My sister and I wanted to have a get away weekend with our mother on Mother's Day. We spent two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. We hope to go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 17, 2009   Date of arrival: May 17, 2009

Having lived in MI for the past 32 years, we expect winters to be hard but come spring we feel the real need for warm beautiful weather conditions. Well, this year we found them, at Sheltered Cove.

After going on line to find a cottage rental on Lake Norman that would accomodate our dogs and us for a week or more, we found Larry & Anne's web site. What a find!! We are only sorry we didn't plan for more time there.

We loved the look of the site but when we arrived at the lake it was much beyond what a small screen could show. The screened porch was our favorite place to be ... well maybe Bill would say the covered boat dock (he caught some really big "cat fish" and bass). Our boat was protected, our dog Perci really felt at home and our family & friends from the area really felt we had found our NC "home".

Thanks to the decorative and talented eye of Anne (her paintings are great too!) Sheltered Cove is a warm and comforting place to relax and recoop after a hard winter.

We look forward to many more visits to NC and our new found "favorite place". Thank you Anne & Larry, God Bless you both.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 22, 2008   Date of arrival: September 22, 2008

This truly was the best weekend we have ever spent as a family! It was truly an amazing, relaxing, and quality experience. We never left the home or turned on the tv the entire time we were there. We swam, fished, played t-ball with the little guy and just spent quality time catching up from the hectic schedule of our daily lives. There is a peaceful calming energy in this home that is felt from the minute you pull up to the door. We did not want to leave; my husband actually said he was going to cry when we drive away! Definitely a birthday my husband will not forget. Thank you for being so accommodating with the time schedule and for allowing us to stay in your WONDERFUL home! Can’t thank you enough. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 29, 2008   Date of arrival: August 29, 2008

SHELTERED COVE August 2008We arrived tired, stressed and restless. Use to the hustle and bustle we quickly unpacked to begin what we thought would be a typical vacation. We entered the screened porch nestled within the trees. We sat quietly listening to the evening crickets sing, and the water lapping onto the rocks from the lake. Soon an owl perched on a branch and looked into the porch at us. We both stared at amazement of each other. It was as if he was welcoming us to Sheltered Cove. Within moments he flew off into the darkness of the night. The next several days we enjoyed swimming and boating. We began to transform back to children playing and laughing a though we were at summer camp. Hot afternoons we sat quietly sipping on a cold drink enjoying the natural beauty around us. Soon a squirrel came out and we watched as he carefully ate an acorn. When he was done he threw away the shell and plucked a mushroom from the ground and ate it like it was corn on the cob. We smiled as we were delighted to be in his presence. Soon the squirrel became tired and sprawled out against the coolness of the bark of the tree for a mid summer’s nap. Our hearts were warmed by this special creature. Mornings were special as we walked down to the water deck before the lake summer activities began. We drank our coffee in silence watching the cranes fly around looking for fish. They were beautiful with their long legs and beaks. Then quickly one dives to catch a fish and carries it off to feed her young high in the trees. We watched silently as various birds soared beautifully in the morning winds. Time seemed to stand still for us.Soon it was time for us to leave. We were sad as we both knew this is a very special place. We packed and loaded up the boat for the travel home. As we drove away we stopped for a moment to reflect once again about this wonderful place called Sheltered Cove. We were rejuvenated and calm. This truly was the best vacation. Thank you Anne and Larry for sharing this very special place with us and others. We will be back to this place called Sheltered Cove.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 18, 2008   Date of arrival: August 18, 2008

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sheltered Cove. The house was beautifully remodeled and decorated with amazing original artwork created by Anne Harkness. We loved being able to park our boat in the dock's boatslip, and the dock also provided the perfect place for our kids to fish and swim. We all enjoyed the breezes and view of the lake from the screened porch. Sheltered Cove was the perfect spot for our family vacation. Thank you Larry & Anne!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 1, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

What a great and peaceful retreat our stay was at Sheltered Cove ! The view of the water and various wildlife from the screened porch was priceless ! And....there was an abundance of "attention to small details" by Larry & Anne that made the stay have all the comforts of home ! Also, the house was less than 10 minutes away to the restaurants and shops in Mooresville. This was our first stay at a VRBO home, and we loved it ! Thanks again Larry & Anne !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 1, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

A friend of mine was getting married aboard the Catawba Queen on Lake Norman, so I was looking for a nice and quiet place to stay in the area. I got the perfect deal with Larry's vacation home! Sheltered Cove is amazingly peaceful and relaxing, located right at a gigantic swimming pool (aka Lake Norman). It's also very convenient to get to restaurants, shopping mall and all sorts of fun things, like the Go Cart track for instance. I highly recommend this place if you want to get away from it all.

Thanks a bunch Larry for letting us stay at this very special place! We're looking forward to visiting again soon.

The Neumanns

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 30, 2008   Date of arrival: April 30, 2008

A wonderful affordable experience at Lake Norman. Larry, thanks for the opportunity to stay at your house. We enjoyed so much that we will stay again soon... The fact that my boat fits on your covered dock made all the difference in the world.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 4, 2008   Date of arrival: January 4, 2008

We have such a wonderful time staying in your vacation home everytime we come to Lake Norman. It is so comfortable and in such a beautiful setting. It's the perfect location! Even the dog likes it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 2, 2008   Date of arrival: January 2, 2008

What a wonderful place to R&R! The view is amazing and the property is convenient to everything. The owners were receptive to our every need and we lacked for nothing. I hope we get the opportunity to stay here again.

Thanks a million, Harknesses, for sharing your home with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 15, 2007   Date of arrival: June 15, 2007

We enjoyed our recent stay at your lake front home. It was perfect for us even for the short time we could be there. Everything was in order and clean. Thank you for providing such a nice vacation home. This is the perfect way to travel.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 13, 2007   Date of arrival: June 13, 2007

Becky and I totally enjoyed staying in your lake house for our 30th wedding anniversary. Becky summed it up in saying she could not think of a place she would rather be. It is a very special place. I hope to be able and return many times.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 1, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

What a magical place! Amy and i had a great time relaxing at Sheltered Cove. The decor is charming. Love the art work. Especially liked the tile slate tile in the master bath. Gorgeous. We highly recommend this location for a getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 31, 2007   Date of arrival: May 31, 2007

We had a fantastic time over the Memorial Day weekend. The house was perfect, very clean and comfortable. Great location, close to town. We enjoyed spending time on the dock during the day and playing games on the deck at night. We would very much like to visit again. I recommend to anyone. Thanks for allowing us into your home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review