reviews for: listing #32539 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean Villa rental

Luxurious Lakeside Villa on Dorado Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lakeside Villas
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,495 - $2,995 /wk

sort by:

FABULOUS HOME

Review submitted: May 28, 2009   Date of arrival: September 15, 2008

I stayed at the villa with my wife for a few months. The atmosphere was amazing and the security was second to none. Having the pool right outside the back door and the beach only a 5 min walk away, was PERFECT!

Alma and her family answered all of our questions and concerns and our stay was one that we will never forget.

I HIGHLY RECOMEND THIS VILLA.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Lovely spacious villa and property

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

House perfect. Incredibly spacious and beautifully furnished, yet kid friendly. We were six, three generations. Breakfast on the patio, perhaps a rest in the hammock or swing chair. No! We'll save that for later; everyone into the pool, 20 strides away. Good morning ducks. Yes, it's another perfect day in Paradise.
Restaurant favorites. Grappa, charming and excellent.
A La Vera, outdoor and fun. Surprisingly good food. Try everything.
Marmalade, in Old San Juan. Expensive and excellent. Also stunning. The one extravagant meal to have. Delightful way to go: drive to the 50 cent ferry which drops you at the foot of Old San Juan.
Especially if you brought kids, ask Alma to provide contact to get into the Watermill, an incredibly brilliant water park. My #1 kids attraction in PR, adults too. Great vacation. Thank you, Alex, for being the perfect "concierge" and friend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time in Dorado

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 16, 2014

The villa was terrific. We found it perfect. The security was tight as could be. The property was very well kept and being maintained daily by several members of the staff. The Villa was very clean and comfortable. I enjoyed the beach everyday. It was a very short walk every morning. The beach had a beautiful breeze. We traveled into town several times for dinner and ate at the local restaurants. We never had any issues. We will be back. The weather was perfect every day. M.S. From MA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Villa Margarita at Lakeside

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

We were originally scheduled to stay at a 3-bedroom villa but were reassigned to Villa Margarita, which is 2-bedroom.

Pre-arrival experience was good; the pre-arrival letter helped with directions and told us exactly what to expect. On arrival, we were met by Alex, the on-site manager, right at the villa. He showed us around the complex and villa and gave us some ideas for things to do while we stayed. We called and texted him with a few questions as well and he was quite responsive and always friendly.

Lakeside was fairly easy to find and when we had some trouble, a call to Alex set us back on our path. The complex is walled, there's an access gate and security patrols the area on foot and on golf cart. This may sound like a lot, but it provides for a very safe feeling. The complex is clean and well-maintained; pool and clubhouse are both very nice.

Beach access is through a locked gate. Beach is wide enough for a short walk and really quite pretty. Even though we were next to the Hyatt, the beach was never crowded or noisy.

The villa was really nice as well. Short walk to the beach and pool, nice covered porch for morning coffee that overlooked a pond. Villa is well-appointed and clean.

We really enjoyed our stay and will return to Lakeside when we return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Christmas Vacation

Review submitted: February 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

We stayed in this villa with another family during the Christmas break, we had a beautiful time on the beach and in the villa. The restaurant recommendations were excellent and the community was very well maintained. These include the pool and the tennis courts. The villa was fantastic, it was very well prepared for when we came. This was definitely one of the most memorable family vacations we've had. Thank you Alma for helping us with this reservation.

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted that you had a nice stay at Villa Ileana. We are so glad we were able to accommodate you during that very busy time of the year- you were very wise to book early enough!! It was a pleasure to work with you and your family. Alma

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful location with laid back feeling!

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

We recently came back from our stay at Villa Gardenia at Lakeside. From the moment we arrived we were very pleased. The community was very clean, secure and quiet. The villa itself was everything we had hoped for and more. The owners had everything we needed from dishes down to beach toys my children were able to use at the private beach. The day we decided to walk down to the beach we were the only ones there, it was awesome. We also used the pool a couple of times, which my family and I also enjoyed very much.

The area where the villa was located had a good balance of island feel and the feeling of being back in the states. It was very charming and provided many options from chains you would find here in the states to places that served typical Puerto Rican food and located only 30-40 minutes from San Juan. Alma wonderful with checking in and making sure everything was going ok with our stay, she also provided may different options for dining and activities in the area.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful location and perfect for families

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

The villa is in a secure, gated community with a pool, tennis courts, and ping pong table but our favorite spot was on the deck where we had a view of the ocean and a nice breeze. We enjoyed a couple of days at the beach and access to the Plantation Village waterpark is a nice plus!

Owners response: So glad you had a nice time in our community in Villa Flamboyan! Many of our guests enjoy the ocean views from Flamboyan and Villa Ileana as well. Our community is located centrally on the Island, so easy to get to many of the great day trips, which perhaps you might explore on your next visit. We look forward to accommodating you and your family again.
Thanks for taking the time to write! Alma

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful condo!

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

We spent a week over Christmas - my husband, two daughters, two sons-in-law and two grandchildren, 15 months and 13 months. The condo was very spacious and had every thing you could want. Everything from the towels to the bath supplies were first rate. We requested that they leave us a tank of gas for the grill, which they did.

Lakeside Villas is a very nice condo/villa complex with one very nice pool and two smaller ones.

There is a wonderful wrap around porch that was always breezy and pleasant. It was like having an extra room.

Both the owner and the management responded quickly to any concerns ( which were few) and made sure everything went as smoothly as possible.

I think this is a perfect spot for a family vacation and recommend it highly.

One note of advice - it is important to make sure you can get the Dorado Beach Club passes if you have small children with you. The beach at Lakeside is fine for adults but not easy for young children.

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write this review - we are so pleased you recommend the experience highly!! A comment on the Lakeside Beach~ we are adjacent to the beach at the Hyatt resort and the surf varies a lot based on weather patterns. I believe you were there right after a few rainy days and that does have an impact on the surf. Mostly the beach is very appropriate for families- but of course we always recommend keeping a close eye on the children. We look forward to accommodating your lovely family again soon!

Alma and the Paradise Villas and Vacations team

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay in Dorado, PR!

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

We stayed at this Villa in Dorado during Thanksgiving week and the weather was perfect! We traveled from Atlanta with friends that have never visited the Island and they were very impressed. The location is very convenient and close enough to the different tourist attractions. The Villa is very spacious and with lots of windows which allowed us to enjoy the ocean breeze. The surrounding areas are beautifuly maintained and everyone (including security guards)was extremely friendly. Alex was very responsive to all of our needs and even took the time to give us directions to the local grocery store. Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Paradise

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 23, 2013

We stayed as a part of a wedding party for a wedding that was being held not so far from the stay. We had about 10-12 people with us and the stay was wonderful. We were able to accommodate everyone with comfort. Would highly recommend for group and family travel. We felt very safe, relaxed and would have loved to spend more time during the stay. It would have been a huge plus if a BBQ grill would have been provided but unfortunately it was not available

Owners response: Hello Daisha,

Thanks so much for your thoughtful and warm review. We are so pleased you had a good time and enjoyed the Lakeside Community. I wanted to let you know that we recently purchased a propane grille along with new patio furniture - so next time you come that will be waiting for you! We are pleased to now offer over 12 different villas in the community, similar to the one you stayed in, so we can now accommodate even a large family or group of 100!!

We wish you and your family FELIZ NAVIDAD and a Happy and Healthy New Year! Alma

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fun with my family in PR

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

Our family had a great vaca together at this place. It was comfortable and convienent. We would go back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ideal location. Perfect for a family vacation

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

The property was ideal for our needs. 3 large bedrooms and a huge great room. The complex was very quiet with easy access to Dorado and about 30 mins from Old San Juan. The villa was a 2 minute walk from a very secluded beach. On the days we were there we practically had the beach to ourselves. lots to do in the local area with some really nice restaurants - I'd recommend Grappa in Dorado. Alma was great to deal with and was always available to answer any questions we had. I would recommend the villa to a family looking for a great base where they can explore the wonders of Puerto Rico from.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful 25th Anniversary Celebration!

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

I located this property via the HomeAway website. This is a fantastic location to spend time with family and friends.

Let me begin by saying how impressed we were with the entire property and with Alma’s desire to assist and accommodate. Alma has been very professional and responsive. We chose this location; among the many we researched, to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and we were glad we did! Our adult children and two of their friends joined in the celebration/trip. My mother-in-law joined us for a few days and before she left she realized she did not plan a long enough stay. The villa accommodated the seven of us quite comfortably. We loved that the swimming pool was feet from the villa and the beach was within five minutes (if that). The security within the compound is second to none; we always felt safe with their continual presence. This property is spotless and groomed frequently. It was also a great neutral location for the many day trips we took.

Alma provided us with detailed information to assist us in booking excursions and planning our trip before we arrived in Puerto Rico. Liz from Dorado Tours was as attentive as Alma and always ready to please. John from Dorado Tours was a fantastic driver for our trip to El Yunque and Luquillo Beach. He provided us with numerous, informative details about the island; resulting in much smoother independent travels for us.

Our independent travels were pleasant. If you visit the Bacardi distillery we recommend going early afternoon because they close the bar where you can purchase Mojitos prior to closing the actual distillery. We recommend you take the Ferry to Old San Juan; it is most enjoyable and stress-free. The Bioluminescent Bay did not meet our expectations because the water did not illuminate as we expected; perhaps the late tour would be better. There was a great restaurant, “Costa Linda”, in Fajardo, near the gathering place for the Bioluminescent Bay. The Zip-lining tour provided by Toro Verde was amazing! In Dorado, eat at “Made in Puerto Rico” on Sunday, for the buffet! Try the small pizza wagon outside of the CRV, it is great! Compared to the other beaches we visited, the beach accessed from the villa is the best.

Alma continues to be responsive and committed; as we received our security deposit in a timely manner. We enjoyed this location and and particularly the villa so much that we plan to return. We had a fantastic time and recommend this villa without hesitation!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Excellent Villa for 10 people

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

6 adults and 4 children under the age of 4 stayed at the O3 villa from 4/26 to 5/1 and we had a fabulous time. The Villa is fully furnished and equipped, so we were very comfortable on arrival. The main pool and kid’s pool are directly in front of the Villa. The private beach (shared with the Hyatt) is only a 3 minute walk from the Villa. Most of the time we were the only ones on the beach! The Lake Side Villas are located in a private community with security.

Alma helps out with any questions you may have and when you are in Dorado she has a care taker who will help you out as well.

If you are planning on driving east towards the San Juan area or further please keep in mind that traffic can be pretty bad during the day so it may take up to 1 hour to get to San Juan during rush hour.

A very good restaurant with local food near the Vila is Metropol located at the Plaza Dorado Shopping Center.

There is a local beach side food hut located on the east end of Calle A (near Calle D) in Dorado and they serve some really good fried Red Snapper and typical local food!

If you want to snorkel contact Alma and go with her friend Wende at the Ritz Reserve.

If you want to do water sports go to Isla Verde Beach in Carolina for Jet Skiing, Para-sailing and Banana boat rides. You can bargain.

All in all this is a great place to stay and enjoy a good vacation.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Lakeside Villas

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

I am a Project Manager who has had a project running in Barceloneta for a period of 8 months and had chosen Lakeside Villas as our nesting place for the duration. The service that Alma provided in setting up the rentals as well as the service from the different landlords, Jeanette, Sandra, & Frank has been great. We have found the property quite comfortable and very luxurious, should we require further housing in the area we wont hesitate to inquire at Lakeside.
Thanks again,
Joseph

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great and spacious base camp for PR adventure

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Excellent base camp for 7 of us on a week-long trip to PR. Close to beach, convenient location, very spacious, let us relax, do our own cooking, highly secure. Manager extremely nice and accomodating.

Would definitely choose this again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful condo next to Hyatt Haciendas

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

We didn't stay in this condo, but another one at Lakeside Villas. It overlooks the lagoon and is right next to the pool, playground and tennis courts and has one of the shortest walks to the beach. The condo is well furnished and has plenty of room with 3 full bathrooms. Kitchen was also well stocked with all needed appliances and accessories. Loved feeding the ducks each morning. Alma was a pleasure to work with and very prompt. Entire process was extremely easy. Also, there is a great binder with restaurant recommendations and things to do that was very helpful!! Thanks so much for sharing your condo with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lakeside Villas

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

My wife and three adult kids stayed at Lakeside Villas for a week of vacation in March 2013. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The vacation was arranged by Alma, who could not have been more accommodating. She was extremely helpful prior to the trip answering questions and coordinating the arrangements. The weather was gorgeous. There is direct access to a very nice soft sand beach at the nearby Hyatt. The complex facilities are attractive and clean, with a very nice pool facility. Our villa was 3 BR and 3 baths, with a nice sized living area and excellent kitchen. We rented a car through Dorado Tours, which worked out very well. There are a number of very good restaurants nearby. I would highly recommend Lakeside Villas.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Villa over Thanksgiving week with our 4 boys (ages 15-23). The location was very centrally located and the villa was beautiful. It was perfect for our family. Everyone had their own space. The beach was within walking distance and was beautiful. The water was absolutely gorgeous while we were there. The villa complex was a little "quiet" for my boys taste but it made for memorable family time. The only thing missing was a jacuzzi! The patio was wonderful for eating breakfast in the morning or after the beach. We could have used 1 extra week to just relax after we did all our excursions around Puerto Rico. We went surfing in Rincon, snorkeling in Culebra, toured the forts in Old San Juan, went on a biobay electric boat tour (amazing!), hiked the rain forest, visited El Cuevo del Indio (breathtaking views).
I would highly recommend this villa and Dorado. Puerto Rico is amazing! Many thanks to Alma for her hospitality and to Rosa for helping us out while we were in Puerto Rico.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful place for a family vacation

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

Three generations of my family spent spring break at Alma's villa. We had a great time. The swimming pool is just behind the house and the beach is two short blocks away. My grandkids loved having both available and the adults enjoyed not having to pack up and drive.

Lakeside villas is centrally located on the island so we were able to do easy day trips to visit beaches and caves to the west and El Yunque and a bioluminescent bay in the east. Some of us were even brave enough to try the Trapeze School of New York which has opened a venue in San Juan.

Alma's villa is great place for a relaxing family vacation!

Charlie

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted that you had a good time and look forward to accommodating you and your family again soon. Dorado is indeed a wonderful resort town with easy access to so many of the attractions Puerto Rico has to offer. Thanks also for sharing the information about the Trapeze school- we definitely will need to check that out!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 12, 2013

We had a great week in Dorado, PR and stayed at Alma's villa. The house is very spacious, well equiped, and ethnically decorated. Pool just outside the back door patio is great for kids and for sun worshippers. The tennis courts are in great shape! Would definitely return again in the future as time permits!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

In Villa withdrawal.

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 30, 2013

The biggest problem with our stay at Paradise Villa was it was too d*mn short! The villa was perfect for our 2 couples, child and nanny. The home is literally steps away from the community pool and a short walk to the beach. Lakeside Villas is a quiet and safe community and the pool and beach seemed like our very own.
There is plenty of space in the villa and the large patio lured us outside most of the time. Having 2 master bedrooms, 1 on the ground level was very helpful as one of us has an impairment that would make stair climbing difficult. So, that worked out great for our party.
We opted not to be tourists and to spend our time relaxing, reading, and absorbing Vitamin D. This was the perfect place for that.
The villa had everything we needed; OK, we identified 1 item that we missed – a BBQ grill. Other than that, the villa had it all.
Alma is a pleasure to work with, and Rosa was extremely helpful. We emailed Rosa our provisions list and the kitchen was stocked with everything we needed for our first dinner and breakfast. Most importantly, she obtained the rum and mint leaves for our mojitos, which we wanted STAT upon arrival.
We loved the property and we will not make the same mistake of spending only 5 days at Paradise Villa. Thank you Alma & Rosa!
Your Syracuse & Westport friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Vacation Retreat!

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 25, 2012

We recently returned from a blissful Christmas week stay at Lakeside Villas -- a total treat! Two parents and three boys -- ages 10, 15 and 17 and this place had something for each of us. Beautiful accommodations, pristine beaches and LOTS of nearby attractions. The villa itself and the small community are spotless and serene. The owner, Alma, was warm, welcoming and extremely knowledgeable about what to do, where to go & what to see. It's rare to meet someone so genuinely enthusiastic and helpful! Cannot recommend more highly!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful location and Terrific Hospitality

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 25, 2012

Alma and her husband, Allan, are wonderful people and really added a special "value added" touch to our vacation. This is our first time to Puerto Rico and they were very helpful arranging a unit here at Lakeside Villa and providing us with all kinds of tips. We have a family of 3 teenagers so we were looking for a 3BR unit close to the water. Their unit was taken and we made reservations late, so Alma used her extensive network to find a big 2BR unit at Lakeside. The 2nd BR slept 4 and the unit was close to the beach gate, pools and tennis courts so everything worked out great. Since Alma and her family were here at the same time, they took us on a really neat jungle hike along the ocean to a beautiful beach. It was one of the highlights of our trip. Lakeside Villas is a serene, safe and well manicured location. You can certainly relax here your entire vacation and use this as a launching point for tours to Camuy Caves, Arecibo radio telescope, Old San Juan and El Yunque. Lots to do! We definitely be back! Thank you Alma and Allanl!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful location and Terrific Hospitality

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

Alma and her husband, Al, are wonderful people and really added a special "value added" touch to our vacation. This is our first time to Puerto Rico and they were very helpful arranging a unit here at Lakeside Villa and providing us with all kinds of tips.

We have a family of 3 teenagers so we were looking for a 3BR unit close to the water. Their unit was taken and we made reservations late, so Alma used her extensive network to find a big 2BR unit at Lakeside. The 2nd BR slept 4 and the unit was close to the beach gate, pools and tennis courts so everything worked out great.

Since Alma and her family were here at the same time, they took us on a really neat jungle hike along the ocean to a beautiful beach. It was one of the highlights of our trip.

Lakeside Villas is a serene, safe and well manicured location. You can certainly relax here your entire vacation and use this as a launching point for tours to Camuy Caves, Arecibo radio telescope, Old San Juan and El Yunque. Lots to do! We definitely be back! Thank you Alma and Al!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Puerto Rico is wonderful!

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

My family of 6 rented this beautiful villa over Thanksgiving week. It was very spacious and a serene setting. There was enough room for everyone to spread out. Breakfast on the patio was wonderful! My boys ages 15, 17, 21 and 23 all loved it. The only thing they would have liked is a hot tub and some night life. The property was very well maintained both inside and out. We chose Dorado because of the central location. We did so many wonderful excursions including, surfing in Rincon, Thanksgiving Dinner in Rincon, a trip to La Cuevo del Indio (highly recommended) near Arecibo (off the beaten track but the views are breathtaking), snorkeling trip to Culebra Island, Biobay electric boat tour, rain forest hiking, Old San Juan and the forts. We did stay by the beach a couple of mornings and it was amazing. The water was so warm and beautiful. We had amazing meals wherever we were. Alma was a pleasure to deal with. We will definetly be back to Puerto Rico! Would highly recommend this villa.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Would definitely recommend

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

Very nice villa in a secure gated community. Centrally located on the island making day trips to both ends of the island easy. Access to decent private beach with many nice local beaches nearby. Villa itself is tastefully decorated with many amenities. One drawback is local dining options are geared towards tourists and kind of expensive. There are some authentic local places around and a nice grocery store nearby. Community itself is secluded and you definitely need a car. Owner and her team of property managers are very nice people and a pleasure to deal with.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your thoughtful review. We appreciate the time you took! Our area is continuously evolving and with the Ritz Carlton reserve opening next door, we can expect many more dining venues to become available. We love Grapa in town, very reasonable Italian restaurant, but you will need reservations. Chop House is also excellent and we enjoy their Hibachi grille. On our site paradisevillapr we recommend a variety of places and perhaps we will add $$'s to the recommendations so everyone can find a place they will enjoy.

Please note that we also offer Personal Chef services in our home. This service is particularly cost effective for larger groups (6 or more) but also for folks with dietary restrictions that want to sample local cuisine or enjoy their favorite dis from home. We customize every meal!

Thanks again for your review and we hope to host you and your family in the near future!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely family retreat

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2012

We stayed at Lakeside villa in August 2012 with our family of 6 - it was a perfect retreat and a wonderfully located base to explore Puerto Rico. The villa is very clean and beautifully appointed, with comfortable beds and a very well equipped kitchen. We loved the large dining table and the shady and cool veranda. We also loved the location adjacent to the pool and a very short walk to the beach. Dorado has some lovely public beaches and San Juan is only about 30 - 45 minutes away. The villa is just a short drive from supermarkets and other shopping, so we enjoyed cooking at the villa and relaxing with the family. A truly peaceful retreat!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional Accomodation and Added Value Services.

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

With all of the amentities, convenience within reach this Villa has to offer, our group of families did enjoyed our vacation together.

Appreciation to Alma, Owner and Sigfredo, the knowlegeable, pleasant Tour Operator for making this a memorable momnent in P.R. from all of us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family place

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

My family (grandmother, mother/father, two kids, uncle) all took a week-long vacation in the villa. It was lovely -- the house was very spacious and homey, good TV/wi-fi, very nice veranda looking over the pond and the pool, and a two minute walk to a very lovely beach with warm water and very nice views. Couldn't have asked more for a week's vacation away from the Northeast. You will want to rent a car from the San Juan airport. Get a GPS, buy groceries from the local Amigo Supermarket; check out Old San Juan and the Arecibo space observatory -- not to be missed! This house is a lovely place to stay. Very clean, and the owner/landlord is a pleasure to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vaction Home

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

We stayed in this very Beautiful Vacation home around spring break. The grounds were very nice and it was an easy walk to the ocean. Aluma was great to work with and she was very kind enough to let us extend our stay for another night. We enjoyed our stay very much in this beautiful home. Thanks so much for sharing your home. Bill and Cathy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

Our family stayed at this lovely Villa over the Easter holiday. Our group included five adults and four children, ages 7 - 11. The Villa was clean and well maintained and the setting was beautiful. The pool was a stone throw from the back patio and the beach was a five minute walk through the secure, gated community. The Hilton Hotel was a short walk down the beach, so we took advantage of their outdoor cafe for lunch while we were enjoying our lazy days on the beach. The water was perfect for swimming - and since the beach on a large cove, the waves were very manageable for our group of young kids.

The town of Dorado is a short drive away. We stocked the kitchen with food for breakfast and lunch, as well as snacks and fresh fruit. We went out for dinner each evening in Dorado and went to Old San Juan for one afternoon/evening. Each dinner was delicious and reasonably priced. For Easter, the owner, Alma and caretaker, Rosa arranged for a chef to come into the Villa to prepare dinner. That was a really nice treat. Chef Juan was wonderful - incredibly enthusiastic and a big hit with the kids and the adults. Alma and Rosa were incredibly responsive both before and during our stay in Dorado. It was a wonderful vacation and I highly recommend this Villa and Dorado. My kids said that they want to move to Puerto Rico!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spacious Getaway

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

We booked this villa for our annual 'girls getaway', and had a great time. One of the highlights was arranging for a personal chef to come in and prepare a meal for us on the property. Chef Karla prepared a delicious garlic salmon, appetizer (stuffed plaintain) and dessert(fresh fruit) as we relaxed and sipped wine. Definitely a treat to be served (by Rosa and Karla), and not to have to clean up!
We spent most of our time on the patio, poolside, or nearby beach. We did discover some interesting places to dine that were within 10 or 15 minutes driving distance.
A great place to chill and get away from it all! The property was very quiet and secure, and Alma was very responsive and resourceful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review. We are striving to develop a full service approach for our guests so they can really kick back and enjoy Paradise!! In addition to home made meals being served in the villa, we also can offer food shopping services, daily maid service and spa services right on the patio overlooking the lake and gardens! We are currently hosting a large family with four children who were served Easter dinner by Chef Juan, another graduate of the local Culinary Institute. I look forward to their review as well. Louise, we hope we can accommodate you and your family & friends in the near future!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful quiet villa

Review submitted: March 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

We traveled to Puerto Rico with wife and 5 kids aged 14-20. A 'Wow' when we opened the door. It was as advertised. Clean, spacious, open and inviting. Modern kitchen with all the amenities needed - we cooked several meals during our stay. The master bedroom was wonderful - huge walk in closet, huge walk - in shower and large bathroom. The girls stayed in the bedroom with 2 beds and a pull out couch, while the boys stayed across the hall in a room with a large bed. I noticed an aerobed in in the closet if needed. There were 3 french door openings out to the balcony - with a few loung chairs and a table with 4 bar height stools. We loved the balcony in the evenings and mornings. The condo we stayed at (Greens 32) was literally 30 seconds to the pool and tennis court. a 10 minute walk / 1 minute drive down the path to West Beach - gorgeous beach area. Chairs are out all day. and you can walk further down the beach (construction of the Ritz condos underway further down the beach) it was beautiful and no one around. They have placed stone breakers a hundred yards out so the water was great for swimming. It is a gated community, and we saw security outside all day and night. One night we arrived home after dark and the security guy followed us around the corner to our home and turned on the outside lights for us. A very safe place. We hita few nice restaurants in town. I would recommend staying here - it is incredibly quiet, safe, clean and with beach and pool readily handy. There is construction going on throughout the gated comunity - you see it driving in and fenced in areas all over - but we did not see nor hear anything that impeded the visit in any way.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at The Dorado Beach property on the Greens. We wish our home was available for your stay, but we are so glad we were able to accommodate you at another neighboring villa. The grand opening for the resort at the Ritz is scheduled for December 2012- so that location will be pristine and we hope to accommodate you and your family again at this location or at our villa at Lakeside. All the best!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Something for everyone

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

We really liked the place as soon as we opened the door. The floor plan on the first floor was excellent. The kitchen has every comfort of home, dishes, glassware, blender, pots and pans, etc. Loved having a washer and dryer. The only item we would have liked to have is a grill. Loved the patio area and the easy access to the pool. The grounds are very well maintained and clean. The beach was very accessible, just a short walk away. The home is a short drive from San Juan and we found it was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle, yet liked the fact of having restaurants and grocery stores within a five minute drive.

Alma and Rosa provided excellent customer service and were easy to work with and accessbile both before and during our vacation. We would definitely recommend this property to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter Break 2012

Review submitted: March 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

This is a wonderful Villa! So spacious, clean and charming! We had the resort pool to ourselves the entire week! We spent time on the Hyatt beach when we wanted to be round other people! The drive to San Juan wasn't very far, but we enjoyed Dorado very, very much! Everyone that works at Lakeside Villas was very friendly and helpful! This is the perfect place to stay for a restful and relaxing vacation! Thank you again!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your warm and thoughtful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Lakeside villas is a very serene location inside a vibrant town and we also enjoy the best of all worlds when we have a chance to come down to Paradise! Enjoy the fresh snow in Vermont and we look forward to accommodating you and your family again.
All the best, Alma

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A dream vacation

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

We rented this villa for a week, and none of us wanted to leave on that last day. Before we even got there, working with Alma was a peace of mind. She had all the details covered, and her expertise doing this type of rentals showed through the process. I had some last minute questions, and she was always prompt to response - it didn't matter the time of the year (since it was during the Holidays).
The Villa was very clean, and Rosa was very attentive and always available for anything that we might have needed.
Our group was a total of 5 adults and 3 children, and this villa had more than enough space for all of us.
The surrounding area is very quiet and peaceful; the area is very well kept. All the amenities are really close by - especially the pool! The beach is just a short walk away.
We went to downtown Dorado for dinner a couple of times, and the food was fresh and delicious!
I have already recommended this villa to all my friends and family, and I can't wait to plan our next trip to PR. After staying in this villa I don't want to visit the island and stay in a hotel ever again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place for Young Kids

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

Our kids, ages 1 and 4, were never happier than when they were in this house. With the pool and duck pond so close by, and the beach and playground a short walk away, they had the time of their lives. The home is clean and the owners are super-responsive. The only drawback is that the kitchen and cookware are out of date and this makes cooking for a family more challenging. But that problem was minor and not enough to detract from an otherwise amazing vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: We certainly appreciate your honest and constructive review! We loved hearing that you had an AMAZING VACATION and are very pleased that you had a good time with your family. We are working on updating the kitchen and cookware. A new dishwasher has recently been installed and we have added more cookware to make things easier. We hope to accommodate you and your family and friends in the future.

Warm regards, Alma

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 9, 2007

My wife and I rented this villa for a few months. We absolutely loved the layout with easy access to the pool (behind the house) and beach (just a short walk in the complex to the beach, maybe 2 minutes). The privacy of the villa was great, 24 hour security at the front of the complex really made us feel safe.

The villa is a great place to relax and enjoy Puerto Rico. Downtown Dorado is only a 5 minute drive and being where Dorado is located; it is accessible to all of the major tourist locations.

I highly recommend this villa.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

My wife and I rented this villa for a few months. We absolutely loved the layout with easy access to the pool (behind the house) and beach (just a short walk in the complex to the beach, maybe 2 minutes). The privacy of the villa was great, 24 hour security at the front of the complex really made us feel safe.

The villa is a great place to relax and enjoy Puerto Rico. Downtown Dorado is only a 5 minute drive and being where Dorado is located; it is accessible to all of the major tourist locations.

I highly recommend this villa.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

Thank you soo much for letting us share your villa!  The kids had a
wonderful time!  I thought the drive to and from San Juan was going to
be a pain, but it was so easy and we did it everyday we were there! We
love that the pool was right behind the house because we were able to
keep our eyes on the kids.  The beach is so calming and we loved that
we were able to walk a few minutes to watch the sunrises and sunsets.

We were able to drive to el yunque.  It is so gorgeous!  We hiked all
day!  Hopefully when we come back we can enjoy the other excursions
Puerto Rico has to offer!

Thanks again for everything and we hope to contact you again for future
visits!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

I want to heartily recommend Alma Bair’s Beach Villa house if you are looking at renting a place in Puerto Rico. I did an extensive search of homes that would accommodate my family for a Puerto Rican vacation. I contacted 50 different available places and narrowed my selection down to five. I then made a trip to Puerto Rico to check out each of the rental homes. By far, Alma’s property stood head and shoulders above the rest of the places that I saw. That was five years ago. We have rented Alma's place every year since then.

Let me tell you why we continue to stay here. First, the house is located in the beautiful Dorado Beach area which is a half hour drive from the Luis Munoz Marin Airport. The house is beautifully architected in the Spanish styling. It is a gated and guarded community and the guards walk around not only during the day but also at night. We felt very secure. The guards were also very friendly.

There is one large master bedroom and two good sized bedrooms each with their own full bathroom. This was perfect for my family as it allowed everyone the privacy they needed and sufficient space to get ready for a night out or a walk to the beach. I enjoyed my early mornings on the patio with a cup of coffee and local pastry while I watched the sun rise and just spent quiet time reflecting. This is how a vacation should be.

The patio of house is right in front of the pool where we spent time every day. A short walk down a path and through a keyed gate and you are on the beach. The beaches in the Condado and Isla Verde areas can be rough but the beach that is accessible from the house was much calmer. Having access to the Dorado Beach Hyatt facilities was also very nice as it is right next door to the housing complex. We also had time to use the properties tennis court which is nice and we were the only ones playing. There also is a ping pong table but we did not have time to use it.

The dining room is large and the table seats 12 people. My wife is from Puerto Rico so every year we have a family reunion which has become and will remain an annual event. The spacious kitchen comes in handy and allows you to save money by cooking if you prefer. Mostly it gives us more time to chat around the kitchen.

Site seeing is convenient as you are between the Caverns of Camuy and Arecibo Observatory and San Juan and El Morro. El Yunque is a nice day trip followed by the phosphorscent bay in Fajardo, a must see at night.

In all, this is the pace to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2010

Alma and Allan
Thank you for sharing your lovely home. We had a fantastic time here. Wish we could stay forever. Your home is so peaceful and beautiful. We felt secure at all times. This is paradise, again we thank you.
PS: Baby London, loved feeding the ducks and swimming in the pool
Ivan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2011

Alma, Allan and Family

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your wonderful home/ It is just as amazing as I ever remember it. We had a great time; went to El Mono, El Yunque, the Bacardi factory, spent quality time at the beach and pools and went to Old San Juan a few times. Grappa and Chop house were great, especially Grappa (asparagus risotto… yum!). We also went to an authentic Puerto Rican restaurant in San Juan called Jose Enrique (176 Duffault Street)- Yellow Tailed snapper, unbelievable. This couldn’t be more picturesque or perfect for our group- thank you again so much!

Meredith

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

Alma and Allan,
Thank you for letting my family and I stay at your wonderful home. I had so much fun and enjoyed myself greatly. We went to lots of fun places and restaurants. We also enjoyed the pool. We met some nice people at the pool too. My mom and I went to the spa. She got a hot stone massage and I got an amazing chocolate back rub. Thanks again, Lauren

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: February 2, 2011

Thank you for sharing your Puerto Rican home with us- we enjoyed it so much! The first few days we had the entire complex to ourselves- just a few people around- and the pool all for us. It was heavenly and a nice surprise. We ventured out this week- to Old San Juan, to Arecibo (interesting drive but attractions were closed, so not really worth it) and to Fajardo for a catamaran/snorkeling trip (great!). We also ate out most of the week avoiding the “American restaurants. We particularly loved Grappas in Dorado Centro, Sweet Ann Cakes and the roadside stand across the street from the Hyatt (fantastic empanadas). Overall it was a wonderful week and we were all enchanted with the PR people and culture. Thanks again- we will be back! Kathy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

Dear Alma and Allan
Your location was beautiful, we all decided you had the best location on the whole property. We admired the view every meal during our week here. Our 1 and a half year old loved the pool, playground and rearranging the flags on the putting green. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful home with us! Prospero año Nuevo!
Sincerely, Jen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2011

Alma and Allan,
Thank you so much for letting us stay at your villa, its wonderful here. We all had such a good time and are sad to leave today. We all really enjoyed sitting out on the patio in the mornings and evenings. It’s so relaxing listening to the coquis. We enjoyed having visits from the iguanas, anoies, birds and ducks. For anyone visiting the villa we highly recommend having Yolanda come and cook some dinners for you. She came and cooked five times for us and each dinner was more amazing than the last. We were able to have an opportunity to sample home cooked Puerto Rican meals most tourists don’t have the chance to have. Yolanda’s coconut pudding is a slice of heaven! Yolanda is a wonderful cook and so friendly. She taught us a lot about life in Puerto Rico, and answered all of our questions. Things we think are worth a visit: Old San Juan, El Yunque, a kayak trip at night to one of the bioluminescent bays. We went to the one in Fajardo. We also went to a great restaurant in town called El Capitan. They have great seafood. Thanks so much,

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 18, 2011

When the temperature is 14 below zero at home, ANY PLACE warm would seem ideal, but we hit the jackpot. Our two weeks plus two days (we were stranded 48 hours because of bad weather stateside) was a delightful taste of paradise. Alma’s three bedroom villa is nicely appointed, the beds are very comfortable, and having a separate bathrooms for each bedroom is definitely a plus! The location is ideal, just minutes from Dorado and some terrific restaurants, very close to beautiful golf courses, and grocery stores also close by.

The villa community is completely gated, so we always felt safe. Alma’s property has a premier location. Her patio faces a lovely lagoon and is literally steps from the pool. The beach, a five minute trek, is absolutely beautiful- sandy bottom, fun waves, delightful in every way. The water was close to 80 degrees –like velvet!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything was great

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

The villa was very nice and it was convenient to the beach and pool. The tennis courts on site were very well maintained . In the unit we had 8 adults which we comfortably slept in the three bedrooms. I would recommend this unit to anyone.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

10 day stay

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: February 8, 2011

Enjoyed our 10 day stay at Lakeside Villas. House was very functional for 3 couples. Short walk to the beach but waves were always quite strong so not much swimming, spent most of our time at the pool, not many people there and could do with out the ducks.
Hired Sifredo to pick us up and return us to the airport which worked well, also had him take us to San Juan and Bicardi distillary.
Dined at 2 resturants in Dorado but had our best meal at Applebys.
Weather was great.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Family Getaway

Review submitted: March 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 27, 2011

We only spent two nights at this property and would definitely come back. The property is well taken care of, the condo itself is huge and accommodating for more than the 8 of us. We loved the oversized distressed furniture, the openness of the complex, the close proximity to the pool and the ocean. We really enjoyed the ducks, turtles, birds, fish in the outside ponds. It wasn't hard to find once we got off the freeway and is a beautiful drive as well.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: February 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 25, 2011

When the temperature is 14 below zero at home, ANY PLACE warm would seem ideal, but we hit the jackpot. Our two weeks plus two days (we were stranded 48 hours because of bad weather stateside) was a delightful taste of paradise. Alma’s three bedroom villa is nicely appointed, the beds are very comfortable, and having a separate bathrooms for each bedroom is definitely a plus! The location is ideal, just minutes from Dorado and some terrific restaurants, very close to beautiful golf courses, and grocery stores also close by. The villa community is completely gated, so we always felt safe. Alma’s property has a premier location. Her patio faces a lovely lagoon and is literally steps from the pool. The beach, a five minute trek, is absolutely beautiful- sandy bottom, fun waves, delightful in every way. The water was close to 80 degrees –like velvet!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome in August

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 12, 2010

This was our second time as guests and we'd go again and again. Plenty of room in the villa and the weather couldnt have been better. The nearby beach is a 5 min walk away, and one of the best we've ever seen!

Lots to do. We played golf and tennis. Swimming too in the pool -- just off the patio - and at the beach. And had to do the rain forest again.

The kitchen in the villa has everything we needed for stay-at-home cooking, and when we wanted to go out but not go too far we saw that in Dorado a Starbucks and a few new restaurants opened since our first visit.

We had a blast!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely beautiful-well worth the money spent.

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2010

This property is absolutely beautiful, well kept, and was well worth the money spent. We had a total of 9 individuals (3 of which were children under 10) that stayed at this Villa and we were all able to sleep comfortably, and still had plenty of room in the Villa to lounge around freely. One of the best features that we liked was that when you walked out to the patio you had a clear view of the main pool, which made it very convenient for the kids to swim without us having to sit at the poolside. The beach is also conveniently located right off the property of this lovely gated community. Though we brought our own games and pool/beach supplies, the Villa also had some of the items onsite for your use. The grocery stores and pharmacies are all within close proximity to the Villa and are very easy to get to. All the bedrooms were spacious and had their own bathroom, which is a big plus for a family our size. Additionally, Alma who owns this property was a jewel. She made herself readily available and was more than willing to address any questions and/or concerns that we may have had. She is absolutely the greatest, and her main concern is for your comfort and for you to be pleased with the unit. The only drawback to this Villa is that they only had one DVD player, which was located in the living room. None of the bedrooms were equipped with a DVD player, which made it difficult to watch something different from the children. Other than that, on a scale of 1 – 10, I would give this Villa a Big Fat 10. I would highly recommend this unit and plan on coming back again in the near future. Thank you Alma, and it was great working with you.

The Scott’s, Maryland

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location and Beautiful Villa

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 3, 2010

I highly recommend to anyone looking for a vacation to visit Lakeside Villas in Dorado, Puerto Rico. The place was immaculate and steps from the pool. The kitchen was equipped with everything you need for your stay. It had 3 large bedrooms with each having their own bathroom which was convenient.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

excellent condo

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 21, 2010

My wife & myself recently rented this beautiflul condo. We've been to Puerto Rico several times & have many varied rentals, usually smaller condo's but this was certainly the finest. Every aspect was exceptional. The pictures do not do the unit justice! Certainly much larger than the two of us needed but the grounds, pool, duck pond & beach were all right there. This unit would be perfect for several couples or a large family. We certainly felt secure as this gated community is a high notch above the norm. Communication with the owner was outstanding & everything went as smooth as possible. Dorado is a very nice town in P.R. We played several rounds of golf @ courses close by, romped on the beach, sat by pool, and had some lunch & dinners to take in the local fare. Driving & getting around is quite easy (you drive on the same side of the road as home in the states) . Old San Juan, a must see, is 30 minutes away, as is the airport. We took a tour of the Bacardi' distillery (20 minutes away), rain forest was probably an hour's drive. Kitchen, sleeping arrangements & bathrooms were all well appointed & your every need was present. All & all fantastic! Ted & Bev, Norfolk, Ma.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our stay at the villa...

Review submitted: August 9, 2009   Date of arrival: June 24, 2009

The home was on beautifully kept grounds and the beach was absolutely stunning.

Our stay in the villa was outstanding and we THOUGHT everything was great until we heard from the owner 2 weeks after we returned, informing us that we would not receive our deposit back.

We were wrongly accused of breaking into several owners closets and breaking the washing machine (which was broken for the duration of our stay and was a huge inconvenience). We were also accused of several other "damages", although we left the villa exactly as the owner instructed. It was very frustrating because there was absolutely nothing we could do, even though we know we did nothing wrong. We feel as if we have been scammed, whether by the owner or the cleaning service we are not sure.

A side note to anyone considering a stay at this villa: The water pressure in the downstairs shower is extremely poor and it was impossible for anyone to shower in it.

Owners response: This was the first time we ever held anything back on a deposit. We pride ourselves in offering a wonderful luxury experience with outstanding honesty and respect for our guests. On reports from our housecleaner (confirmed by the property manager office) some guests were not respectful of the property. After several discussions with these guests, in which we strived to reach common ground, we made an adjustment and returned the amount of money that we believe was fair (based on the cost of the repairs incurred to us.) It is unfortunate there was a disagreement. We were not sure it was a good idea to rent to 10 college students. It is very possible our contact among them was not aware of the breakage done by others, but we felt we had to go with the reports from the local service providers we know and trust for years.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our PR Vacation

Review submitted: August 5, 2009   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

Our family had a wonderful time from 7/28-8/4/09. The accommodations were perfect. The scenery was awesome. We had the pool to ourselves. The location was convenient to all the places we went to. Overall, I recommend this house to everyone. All my friends have the site so you will get many calls. Some of the members of my family loved a silver kitten that I noticed the previous renters named Sprite but some of my members named it Mimi Bella. Thank you for renting us the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Rental

Review submitted: June 30, 2009   Date of arrival: June 18, 2009

Everything was just as described. The property was beautiful and so was the beach. Definitely recommend to other potential guests. A++++

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My family loved our stay

Review submitted: June 18, 2009   Date of arrival: May 2, 2009

Imagine…sitting on a chaise in an open air porch facing a tranquil small pond, with a big decision – should I take a dip in the warm pool – only steps away? Or should I take a walk on the beach as the gated entrance is so close? Or perhaps, I should just stay put and enjoy the lovely warm breeze and my book.

Our family loved our stay at Lakeside Villa. This charming three bedroom vacation home reflect the love of a family who clearly like to share their bit of paradise with others…hence the extra mattresses and three pull-out couches. We were pleasantly pleased with the very practical and lovely use of space…easy to use kitchen, lots of dishes and cooking equipment (should you want this); plenty of table, counter and outdoor eating room, and Alma’s special touches everywhere that connected us to the art and craft of Puerto Rico.

The beach villa is on a quiet part of the island, close to the town of Dorado where food and other essentials can be found. San Juan is an easy drive to the east and several tourist spots like the Camuy caves are close-by. If you have teens like us, a car is a must as the more active beaches, sailing, fishing, and the rain forest are a day trip. But, nothing is that far – and after a fun tourist outing, there is something very special about returning to the villa where peace and quiet can be found.

For me, Lakeside Villa offered a respite from a busy life where reading and reflection so rarely happen. So although I have fond memories of swimming in the pool with our kids, walking on the beach and an all day sail and snorkeling trip…I found the time on the porch, reading a good book (one that I found at the villa)…and just hanging with my family the most precious. A bit of paradise indeed.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location

Review submitted: May 26, 2009   Date of arrival: January 23, 2009

This condo is perfectly located for a relaxing vacation - or an activity-filled one. Our biggest decision each morning was whether to lounge on the patio, sit by the pool, walk 5 minutes to the beach or go exploring. The room/bath configuration makes it a great choice for couples vacationing together - each generously-sized bedroom has its own bathroom.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Villa, Great Location, Great Vacation

Review submitted: May 26, 2009   Date of arrival: February 14, 2008

Our family (including two young teenaged girls) spent a fantastic week at the villa, which we found to be airy, spacious and perfectly relaxing. The community was beautiful and safe, the location close to nearby hotels and their services was a big plus, the community services (pool, etc.) were well-maintained. Everything about it screamed relaxaton. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

thank you

Review submitted: May 20, 2009   Date of arrival: May 5, 2008

simply put our vacation was extraordinary.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Defintely reccommend this

Review submitted: May 20, 2009   Date of arrival: November 17, 2008

I have traveled to Puerto Rico on business and on vacation no less than a dozen times and I would have to say that this past vacation was the best by far thanks in great part to the wonderful accommodations available at Alma’s house. We will utilize this again in future trips to Puerto Rico and I highly recommend it to you, except for the week that we would use it. Enjoy.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Must Stay

Review submitted: April 17, 2009   Date of arrival: August 11, 2008

My two teenage girls and I (dad) spent a week at the Villa. What a great time. We went in August and the weather was surprisingly beautiful for that time of year. The Villa itself is absolutely lovely. Spacious, elegant and right next to not only the pool area but a 5 minute walk to the beach. We can't wait to go again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review