reviews for: listing #325653vb - Punta Uva, Costa Rica rental

Casa Del Caribe for Rent in Cocles, Close to the Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2.75
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  5
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Fabulous Experience!

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

We were 3 adults, a 7 year old and a 9 month old. We stayed at Casa del Caribe for 4 nights in June. What an amazing experience! The house is rustic and charming. The lot is surrounded by flowers, fruit, birds, bugs, howler monkeys and vegetation. The neighbors are very close and nice, but they didn't feel close because of the vegetation. The hot water was never used for showers, but it was nice to have to clean the kitchen, etc. The kitchen is well stocked, but we didn't cook. Just used the fridge and coffee pot. I actually slept on the air mattress outside on the upper deck, it was amazing (I had my own mosquito net, recommended if you do this). We felt very safe, the gate to the house locks, the kitchen locks and there is a lockable gate up to the bedrooms. Plenty of lighting throughout the house, including outside. We used the washing machine and spin dryer. Nothing ever really dries in June it's so humid but it was necessary to clean out your swim suits, PJ's and other items. It was a nice perk to have. The water was turned off one night when we got back from our outings and we easily found the breaker box and it was all good. The neighbors were nice. Oscar responded to our questions, however he isn't in town a lot. The cell phone was a nice touch. Our rental car gave us one too so we essentially could have used both to communicate with each other, but we didn't. We couldn't get the Wifi to work, we found the modem and the lights were on. That is all I did to try to get it working, I didn't want internet anyway! The bikes were AWESOME and the stereo was a really nice touch! We were hot, sticky, happy, relaxed and utterly in paradise! Johanna's Soda was very close, we ate there twice. The beach was beautiful and close. Puerto Viejo (2 miles away) proved to be an awesome little town also with a nice beach and plenty of restaurants, shops, etc. We walked to Punta Uva and enjoyed that beach as well. The little store down the road was actually a good size. There is also a place to dump your garbage in between the house and the store. All so convenient. I definitely recommend this experience to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house in Cocles

Review submitted: March 9, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

We were at Casa del Caribe for two weeks and enjoyed our stay in the town of Cocles. It was excellent having the use of the bicycles as that is the best way to get around. Cocles is very, very quiet and if you spend your time at the beaches you will have experienced a paradise! The house itself is well appointed for travellers. The kitchen is small but you can make meals there with no problem. Listen for the loudspeakers which announce a fruit and vegetable vendor coming around. Stop them and you will get an amazing selection of food. The Mercado at the end of the street is convenient but quite expensive. Joanne's Soda is good. Our favourite was the Argentinian place right beside the Mercado, awesome food!! We enjoyed being in the jungle with the birds and armadillos all around us. Good place to stay if you like to be outside in nature and dial it back. If you don't like quiet and beaches, Cocles is NOT the place to go.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Owners response: I am very happy you liked the house and that you enjoyed Cocles and Costa Rica's Caribbean. Cocles, by local standards, is an area with properties that are a little more upscale than Puerto Viejo, which has some "rough areas". For example, the only 4 star hotel in the area is a short distance from my home. The beaches nearby are pristine, with the jungle/forest right at the water's edge, and there is an abundance of wildlife here as well. This is Costa Rica's most natural and most unspoiled part of this beautiful, little country. As you pointed out, at times Cocles is not crowded (most people like that). But when you want a little different activity during the day or evening, Puerto Viejo is only 2 miles away, or a short 15 to 20 minute bike ride. Bicycles are very popular here; and for the convenience of my clients, I try to have several available at the house for use at about half the cost of renting them in Puerto Viejo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Del Caribe.

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

This is a handsome, well built house nestled in a cluster of small houses in Miss Winnie town neighborhood of Cocles. The bedrooms were comfortable and we felt very secure sleeping there. There is a heavy door with a dead bolt at the bottom of the bedroom stairs, I don't think we ever even closed it at night. The bathrooms were clean and spacious, one upstairs one down with an outdoor shower and tub. The kitchen is small but well appointed with a full size fridge and gas stove/oven, we were able to cook in most of our meals.
This is a great base camp, weather you're going out to explore the area, or just hanging at the beach, it's a comfortable house to come home to. We are very private people and there were times when the neighbors felt a little to close, but over all I would recommend this property to anyone. The market is very near by, and fresh seafood can be found in town for pretty reasonable prices. I didn't meet the owner, but he was very responsive via email.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for the very positive review of the house; and I am very pleased that it served as an attractive, comfortable, and safe base camp to explore this country's beautiful, Caribbean coast. The house is in a small neighborhood within 300 meters of Cocles beach to the East, with the Jungle just to the West of the property. The client is exactly correct about the closeness of other homes. There are 5 homes very close, within a hundred meters, 2 of which belong to my property manger and his mother, Miss Winnie (the neighborhood is named after her), and the 3rd house in front belongs to my assistant property manager who moved here from California. The closeness is very typical of neighborhoods in Costa Rica; and as the property owner, I take comfort in knowing there are 3 families close by who look after your welfare during your stay in Costa Rica.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing month in a beautiful Tico home

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the beautiful Casa del Caribe. It was easy to find and the gentlemen driving us had no problem finding the nearby supermarket and Robert's directions from there are very clear.

We arrived and Joanna, who has a soda next door, helped us find Oscar and his family.

We were set up with keys, bikes, boogie boards and beds in no time and we were all set. The travel safe was perfect for keeping travel documents and cameras, etc. safe while out and about, giving us peace of mind that our things were always safe. The closets were also stocked with towels and bedding which was great, we didn't need to bring our own.

The neigbours are all great, friendly and helpful. Freddie, next door, has his own little tour operation and he is a fantastic guide. Very friendly and quite knowledgeable. He took us on a tour of a nearby cocoa farm, then took us over to the Panamanian border before stopping by a waterfall for a quick dip. We learned a lot from him and he also checked in with us throughout our stay to ensure we were doing alright and didn't have questions.

The kitchen in the house is fully stocked with everything you need to cook and is a great way to help keep costs lowere on a longer stay. We often cooked from home and were able to make great meals.

Other great local spots to hit: Punta UVA for snorkelling (if you have your own gear you don't need the tour here to see some great fish), Playa Cocles for surfing/boogie boarding (great waves), CariBeans for some great coffee and chocolate, Tasty Waves for some great tacos and more partying scene and the Jaguar rescue centre is a must see when you're in the area.

We had some minor issues on our stay (that are bound to happen in a month long stay) such as running out of gas for the stove, but a quick e-mail and the tank was replaced in a couple of hours. Oscar and his family are so great and were always quick to respond if we ever had any problems. He came over many times to ensure everything was going well.

The neighbourhood seemed quite safe and the whole town, for that matter, is as well. Certainly take the standard precautions to avoid pick pockets, etc. but we didn't have any issue at all with suspicious behaviour.

The blue cord for internet was down while we were there, but the wifi worked quite well from the back porch or the hammock area. The signal was usually strong enough for Skype calls home which was great!

You certainly won't be disappointed here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful house

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

Casa Del Caribe is a work of art with all the local woods and interesting furnishing. The art in the house is very pleasant and done by local artists. Beware however, the jungle is loud at nite and earplugs would really help those who are not used to it like me. The people in miss Winnie town, Oscar, Fred and Miss Winnie herself are very nice and helpful. There is so much to see and do in the local area that 7 days just isnt enough time. The trip to and from San Jose airport can be trying, so give yourself time if you are driving.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It was a nice place to stay

Review submitted: December 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

Casa Del Caribe is a nice and clean home in a quite neighborhood. It's near the beach, and a short walk to the grocery store. When we arrived, late at night, no one was at the house as promised. Even though we are very familiar with Costa Rica, and have a Costa Rican cell phone and number, when we called the owner we never received an answer. Thank goodness we were able to find a family member at the local grocery store who took us to the house. He went and received the key from another family member to let us in (typical stuff to deal with in Costa). The electricity was not working (don't be alarmed, this is also typical in Costa Rica because of storms and bad wiring). Although we never delt with the owner - other than for payment and questions via email - we were thankful for the family member whom we found. Most importantly, we were thankful for Fred, the next door neighbor. He came over to the house, got the electricity working, helped us get settled, turned off the alarms, that were going off, gave us keys to the house and then showed us around the property. He came by the next morning to double check on us as he knew we had never been to this part of Costa Rica before and the property manager still never showed up. He gave us awesome insider tips about the area, restaurants, tours and more. The house, more like a tree house, is nice, and most days we had hot water. The only bummer is that it rained the entire time we were there. Literally three days straight. We didn't get to do many things other than surf. The roads were too muddy to ride the bikes we rented (which we paid $4 per person, per day for - and the owner never reimbursed us for). But, overall we were happy with the comfort of the beds, kitchen appliances and safety of the home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: I am very pleased my guests enjoyed the home and the friendly, safe neighborhood. I also am pleased they found Fred, my assistant property manager and neighbor (I always recommend his guide service and taxi service to my clients in my instructions email). He is very helpful, especially when things do not go smoothly as in this case. However, it is unfortunate the clients did not follow my written instructions to call the primary property manager so that he could meet them at the house upon arrival. All clients are provided 2 telephone numbers for this purpose. Further, this is the first time ever the maid complained about clients! She advised me the clients "trashed the house" during their stay. Also, they broke a shelf on the inside of the refrigerator.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Muy agradable casa, a buen precio, en la costa Caribe de Costa Rica

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2012

Somos una familia de 2 adultos con niñas y la casa del Caribe estuvo perfecta para nosotros. Nos sentimos como en casa. La casa tiene una decoración personalizada y cada cuarto tiene su estilo. Las camas son muy confortables y en la cocina hay lo necesario. La terrazita de arriba, junto a los cuartos, esta muy agradable. El vecindario esta amable (la seguridad me pareció muy buena porque todo el mundo se conoce ahí) y el vecino de la par es chofer de taxi y ofrece tours. Además el precio es muy razonable y el super "Piripli" dónde uno encuentra todo esta muy cerca caminando. Para terminar debo añadir que la casa esta idealmente ubicada entre las playas de Cocles y Playa chiquita así que hay muchas opciones para disfrutar del mar !

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This one is JUST RIGHT!

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

I have been traveling to the Cocles area for 8 years now and even lived there for nearly a year. The Miss Winnie section of Cocles is a wonderful neighborhood. I have stayed in 6 houses in that neighborhood, and, as Goldie locks would say, Casa Del Caribe is JUST RIGHT! Its location allows for easy access to the beach, grocery store and, there is even a fantastic family run restaurant just steps away. It is perfectly tucked in a tropical park like setting providing visitors with comfort and privacy while remaining close to friendly neighbors and resources. The home is beautifully decorated and little touches such at candles, books and music encourage you to feel at home. The beds are very comfortable and the linins are high quality. If you like to cook, the kitchen is fully equipped with everything you will need to prepare your meals. The caretakers are helpful and kind. When we arrived Oscar met us at the house. Soft music was playing as he gave us the tour and helped us get settled in. Freddy, who lives next door, came by the next morning to greet us and brought us some delicious bananas and hand picked limes. There are many things to do near by but, since in the house, Humming birds fly freely, birds sing, the Howler monkeys howl s and nature really happens- you might not want to leave!
While I did not have the pleasure of meeting the owner, Robert, I did deal with him via the internet. His responses to my questions were friendly, prompt and helpful. I felt very comfortable dealing with him. I have already recommended his home to some friends and will certainly stay there again in the near future. Pura Vida!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: March 3, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

Beautiful house-- the pictures don't do it justice! My husband and I stayed with another couple and it was very comfortable. An open air type design with many cool architectural details. Walk to the Jaguar rescue and see tons of animals (including howler monkeys- you can go in a rrom with them and they climb all over you!). The boogie boards that come with the house were great fun at the beach!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing vacation spot!

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a week-long stay at Casa del Caribe. The only bad part was having to tear ourselves away from this beautiful place! We thoroughly enjoyed the location and amenities the house offered. From reading in the hammock to sipping drinks on the balcony to the bikes and boogie boards; it was all wonderful. You are both in the jungle and in a neighborhood here. There were toucans and howler monkeys and friendly neighbors more than willing to answer questions. We went everywhere we wanted to go on the bikes and found everything conveniently close at hand. Between the Saturday farmer's market and the nearby grocery store we were able to prepare most of our own meals. There is also a new "soda," a family-run restaurant, located on the side road toward the house. We had delicious and pleasant meals there as well. They even gave me a special pineapple and ice cream treat on my birthday! The beaches are close and simply gorgeous; we went at least once a day for sun and surf. Anyone from the freezing days of February in Maine or other cold climes would appreciate a week such as we had! Although we went as a couple this time, we fully intend to return with our daughters another time. Very often we remarked at the fun they would have sharing our Costa Rican getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house! Perfect Location!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: April 28, 2011

Look no further. Puerto Viejo is the perfect vacation spot in Costa Rica and Casa Del Caribe is amazing. I stayed here with some friends for 1 month for most of May and we loved it. The house is close to Cocles beach (about a 5 minute walk), and there are many other beaches nearby that are easy to get to by bike. Robert provides some bikes for a much lower price than in town (you'll save about $2 a day) and I highly recommend getting a bike. The roads are easy to ride, with no hills, and you can get just about everywhere on bike. And town is only about a 20 minute bike ride away. There is also a market that is less than a 5 minute walk away which was very convenient. We were able to buy groceries and cook most of our food at the house, but make sure you go out to some of the restaurants too because the food is amazing!

Cocles is a great location because it is close to town but far enough away that you're not in the tourist crowds (not that the crowds are that big anyway in the area, but it's still nice). The house is also in a neighborhood so I didn't feel completely secluded and unsafe, but there are so many trees around and wildlife that I still felt like I was in the jungle. I loved waking up to the sound of howler monkeys in the morning and seeing all of the beautiful bright colored birds in the yard.

The owner, Robert, was so great to work with. I feel that he is honest and treated us with fairness and respect. He checked in with us by email several times both before our trip and during our stay to see if we had any questions and to see if there was anything that he could do for us. His property manager, Oscar, lives next door and was also very helpful. He gave us a cell phone to have at the house for emergencies which was so great. We called Oscar a couple of times when we had questions and he was extremely helpful.

I can't say enough about this place. While in Puerto Viejo/Cocles we went river rafting, hiking, surfing, kayaking, zip lining, snorkeling, took a day trip to Panama, rappelled down waterfalls, and spent many hours laying on the beach reading books, (Gecko Trails is a good place to book activities; it's in Puerto Viejo or online). This place truly is paradise and Casa Del Caribe is definitely the perfect place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

Beautiful home, we had a great time. Our baby boy enjoyed the hammock. See Mateo's hand print, 3 years old. We will be back another time, lovely place. From Costa Rica and Australia.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home! Our time here has been so much fun and a great introduction to Costa Rica. We hesitate to leave and can't wait to see what's ahead. Feliz Navidad. Gracias!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home! Our time here has been so much fun and a great introduction to Costa Rica. We hesitate to leave and can't wait to see what's ahead. Feliz Navidad. Gracias!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

Wow! What a beautiful place! I believe every now and again life gives us a little taste of heaven. I got a very strong sense of that staying here the past four days. Well, thanks a billion.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: December 20, 2010

I can't think of a better place to leave the cold Pacific Northwest for. Four days seemed like four hours, I should have booked for four weeks in this beautiful part of the world. The house is wonderful--nature is in the living room!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

The perfect stay for a much needed getaway

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 8, 2011

This unit was clearly designed with the vacationer in mind. It has all the amenities a family or two couples would like. It is located smack between the rain forest and the ocean. I strongly recommend renting the bikes. They were perfect for getting around. By bike it was 15 minutes into town plus we saw many animals and found some great eateries. There is a convenience store close to the rental.
We were provided with a cell phone in case any problems arose.
My only complaint is that there really should be some kind of netting on the portion of the walls that consist only of lattice to keep the bugs out. Insects including mosquitos were a frequent and unwelcome bedtime companion.
Also, the two bedrooms share a wall of which the top half is lattice also so there is virtually no "noise" privacy between the rooms.
I really enjoyed sitting in the garden and bird/butterfly watching.
Lastly, I can say I would definitely stay here again as well as recommend it to my friends/family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I want to thank my guest from Vallejo, Ca, for the 5/5 star rating and the kind words, including the recommendation/statement that "I would definitely stay here again as well as recommend it to my friends/family". In addition, we must be on the same wave link as I have purchased netting and I am currently covering the lattice to keep out insects, which only have been a minor nuisance. Also, I will continue to encourage vacationers to use the insect repellent cartridges provided at the house; and to use personal repellent as one should any time he visits the beach.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic place

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

My husband, I and our 10 year old twin boys stayed at Casa Del Caribe in February and enjoyed the property thouroughly. On day 1, the boys spotted a sloth in a tree next to the house and spent the remaining days tracking it's movement. The house and it's amenities are beautiful and spotless. The location was perfect for us as we did not want to be too near Puerto Viejo, but were within biking distance easily. The rental bikes that Mr. Hudson makes available are a must. A nice grocery story lies approximately 250 yards from the house which made it convenient for us to cook many of our own meals. Lastly, the neighboring property owners, Oscar and Miss Winnie were super helpful which made us feel very safe. LOVED IT!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review