reviews for: listing #3266 - Venice Beach, California Apartment rental

Craftsman Style 2 BR, 1 Block from the Beach and Boardwalk
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $200 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,250 /wk
    $3,500 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

Not quite as expected

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

Not to be negative since everything really is subjective and a matter of taste and expectation. I will start with the positive first .
The owner was very cooperative and receptive and tried to take care of things when I arrived.
The location was very convenient to everything that was needed . ( Near the beach, stores, restaurants and grocery) I would not recommend a single woman coming home at night after 9 pm walking in this area alone. Although it is generally safe, there are a few "unsavory characters," that might cause you some anxiety.
As far as the space, there was plenty of storage, closets and cabinets. However, the condition of some of the furniture, lights and appliances need some attention. ( Loose or missing bulbs, dripping faucet when shower was on,broken refrigerator shelf, lamp chains broken, needed caulking in the bath/, repairs in the closet area and poor reading lights) The so called sofa bed was a velour, dirty uncomfortable futon. The "European linens" were just one duvet and sham cover with no top sheet or pillow cases and no extra. The pillows were small, soft and soggy.They are in a dark red ( not as pictured), which makes the apartment seem even darker.
This is not a TWO bedroom but as "described," an open space. There's a bed near the front door in the living area and a bed near the kitchen/ bath area. Someone staying in the front "bed" has to pass the second bed to the bathroom.The front bed is against a door to the entrance of the apartment so you hear every sound on the steps.There are no defining walls separating anything except in the closet/bath area from the rest of the space.During my stay, there was a family of four (and baby) above me although they sounded more like an elephant stampede starting at 6 am to about 2 am..walking up and down the stairs,slamming doors and banging. There are only thin area coverings on the floor. I got no sleep for about 2 1/2 weeks. Although they offered to move me into a 500 sq ft apt in Santa Monica, I could not because I had guest come and there would not have been any room. There was no compensation made for their disturbance.
You can hear every sound from above or the stairs, on the street ( front and back) and next door so if you are a light sleeper this is not a good situation for you.
All in all, the location is great, the space quite adequate but as mentioned there are many things that need to be attended to in order to make this a "quality" experience.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: The unit is extremely demanded, comfortable, nicely decorated,very well maintained, located on a quiet walk street 1 block to the beach
Excellent location
Guest had all her comments or remarks attended to asap in real time
There is no logical reason for the guest to place such a confusing review, more than a month after she left. It appears that she wants a refund that she is not entitled to
In the first place she paid a reduced rate
The units in this fouplex have beautiful hardwood flooring and area rugs
It appears that the guest is sensitive to any noise
It is the first complaint we got regarding noise
We offered the guest to move her to a 800 sf 2 bedroom suite on the Santa Monica beach across from the Pier
Although the charge is double what she paid we offered her the alternative space for no additional charge
Guest refused to move, did not even bother to come and view
We also offered to refund her remaining nights fully if she chooses to move out
Now she claims that we offered to move her to a 500 sf unit
It seems like all her guests that came to stay with her for days, like her daughter and out of town friend, wanted to stay
In addition, the location is a very safe one
Her claim about some "unsavory characters" shows that she obviously should not have stayed in the first place in Venice but should have rented in "clean" areas like Beverly Hills

Regards
Tovi
Owner

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

Apartment in a building of four. Very well situated: 5 minutes walk to the beach or to Abbot Kinney boulevard with shops and very nice and lively restaurants. Also, several shops and cafés on the seaside, but rather noisy and many tramps.

Comfortable apartment well-equipped for two persons. The owner friendly allowed us to use the private parking spot behind the appartment; otherwise, it is possible to park on the street nearby. As the owner recommended us, make sure that the car does not overtake in the alley, which is very narrow. One morning, we found a note from the neighbours on the windshield to this effect. Sorry...

Unfortunately, there was no recycling bin (glass, paper or plastic).

Owners response: We welcome any guest who stays with us,and any positive review that depicts the features of the rental like excellent location, very nice and properly equipped unit and our hospitality

Unfortunately, since the alleys in this specific location (the walk streets by the beach) are very narrow, the City is forced to use a narrow and much smalled vehicle for the trash and does not do recycling

Tovi
Owner

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Take me back!

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

Had such an amazing stay here! The flats are beautifully designed, great neighbours, friendly neighbourhood, perfect location... I would say that they are actually better than they look in the photos.

We rented both units in this building for 6 people and there was more than enough room for everyone.

Thanks

xA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great location, inaccurate descrip of floor plan

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

The house is charming, clean, well-maintained, and the location is perfect a block from the beach and boardwalk. We had the beach to ourselves for most of the week.

The downside is the rental is advertised as a two bedroom and there is, in fact, no separate bedrooms! You occupy one half of the first floor of the house. One bed is in the dining area next to the open kitchen. The remainder of the floor is separated by a set of sliding doors...so there is really no privacy, especially as in my case, when you have kids. The beds in the open area are a hard futon and a roll out bed, which were not very comfortable. My kids chose to use an air mattress instead. Also, bear in mind that you do not have any parking, so you have to cruise the sorrounding streets to find a spot and then note when you have to move the car for street cleaning or school hours.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: The unit is about 800 sf and has 2 bedrooms
One bedroom is next to the kitchen area and one is next to the outside attached patio
We had a long conversation with the guest before he booked
He knew that the layout is a flexible open one
He forgot to mention in his review that they were 6 people
He knew in advance that the unit will not be that comftable with 6 staying there
The unit has a queen bed, a Europen queen sofa/bed and a daybed futon
We also supplied 2 mattresses and a futon
As to parking-there is paid on site parking
The guest chose not to take it when he booked
There is also sufficient street parking

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Misleading Discription

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

We were disappointed with this unit. We had expected two bedrooms but this was an open plan unit that did not meet the needs of our family. The pictures are misleading - on the site where it shows the dining room beside the front door this is in fact the second bedroom. The other bedroom is in the kitchen/dining area and is the through access to the bathroom. We reported our concerns to Vacation Rentals but they are unable to take any action- they reported our concerns to the owner but we have received no response or compensation. I believe we were strongly mislead regarding the layout of this property.

Owners response: This is our reply to the traveler's review:

The traveler keeps placing bad reviews of the same rental unit covering the same rental period
A few days ago we received from VRBO a claim by her numbered case # 02921174 and responded to it immediately
She should not be allowed to multiply her review on each of your related web sites as if it were a new one

Unfortunately misleading statements can be attributed only to the traveler herself
Her inquiry was for 4 adults total in 2 separate units in the same building
Her booking was for 4 adults total in 2 separate units
When the traveler reserved the units we asked her why she needed 2 units since 4 adults can stay in one unit
She answered that this is the way they want it
Upon check in we were suddenly informed by her husband that they were 4 adults plus a few adult children and had 3 cars
We chose not to confront her with the extra people and did not charge her for them either
However we suspect that many more people, who came to the wedding, stayed in our units
The traveler did not complain while she was there although we asked if they had any comments or concerns
The only reason that the traveler did not complain in real time appears to be her not wanting us to go into the units during the time she stayed there

Each unit can sleep at least 4 adults comfortably
The photos on the web site of the lower unit, she is complaining about, correctly depict the open and flexible floor plan of the unit
Had she asked we would have rearranged the furniture to her liking.

It is hard to understand what the traveler is really complaining about, especially since the unit was supposed to accommodate 2 adults only
Also, she admits that there were 2 bedrooms in the unit

Both units she rented are located in a beautiful vintage 1920's craftsman building completely restored and updated with many original period details.

Regards

Tovi

Tomi Associates

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Girls get away

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

The location of this rustic rental was ideal and the charming decor was perfect. The patio is located along one of Venice's unique alleyways. The owner was helpful and accommodating. The place was very clean. This rental is perfect for a couple with one small child. The two bedrooms listed is misleading, because it is really one large open space, with the option of closing off a bedroom. The only problem with closing off the bedroom is that no one can get to the kitchen or the one bathroom. We were a group of 5 women. Two of us slept on the floor on futons that needed to be rolled up each morning and rolled out each night. One slept on the couch, and two shared the one bed. The beach is literally one block away. The boardwalk is a good 20 minutes walk away and a $1.00 bus ride will get you to the famous 3rd St. promenade in Santa Monica.Parking is limited, but owner is helpful in places to park. Plenty of restaurants, coffee houses, art galleries, and shops located within walking distance.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: The unit is a flexible plan 2 bedrooms
There is a bedroom on each side of the living room
The one bath and kitchen are on the end of the unit
When you close off one of the the bedrooms you can enter the bathroom and kitchen either from this bedroom or from the back door
There is one queen bed, one queen sofa/bed, one full roll out bed
We also supply a futon mattress if needed

The boardwalk and water are one short block away-ABOUT 2 MINUTES WALK
Not sure which boardwalk is the guest referring to by mistake
The unit does not come automatically with on site parking
There is one assigned parking that is shared between the 2 vacation units
In order to park on site you need to pay
The guest knew she did not have on site parking and that she did not pay for it
We let her park, and did not charge her, when the space was free

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very cute little apartment.

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

We stayed for four nights and had a wonderful time. The unit was very clean and comfortable. It was charming with a mix of older woodwork and newer additions. We spent some pleasent quiet time on the shaded porch and found it to be a very easy walk to Venice Beach or the little shops in the other direction. The floor plan was a little more open than I expected but worked perfect for us, my girlfriend and me along with her adult daughter. The owners were very pleasent and easy to work with. We would definately stay there again if we go back to Venice Beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review