reviews for: listing #32751 - New Paltz, New York House rental

Modern, Eclectic, Tranquil Mountain Retreat (Gardiner)
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Gardiner
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,000 - $2,000 /wk

sort by:

Incredible Vacation Home

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

This house and spot is incredible. Everything has been newly renovated and the decor and flow in the house is amazing, as it is all open and free flowing! The modern design feels like a Soho loft out in the country, on the edge of a beautiful state park with serene views and just the perfect amount of seclusion, (10-15 mins into town and only 2 hours from NYC!) The landscape and wrap-around porch are also amazing for grilling, tanning or just hanging out as they are on level with the rest of the house and really feel like a part of the living room and kitchen! The porch really gives the house it's full charm with the incredible out door views and the flowing fresh water pond in the back yard. ***We also actually had our wedding here on this property and we also have to say that the owner of the house was so super helpful and available whenever we needed them. There were a ton of details and logistics for months leading up to the event and tons more once we got there and he was completely helpful and responsive every step of the way. Just can't say enough good things about the house and owner. 5 out of 5.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bliss

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

After the beautiful windy drive full of mountain views and horses, we arrived to this peacefully warm modern home. The house is beautifully tucked in yards of landscape and nature. The backyard is what we saw first on our arrival – the pond is so beautiful, I couldn’t wait to sunbathe on the deck with that peaceful view. I noticed there was a very healthy sized area for outdoor seating with a full table. I couldn’t wait to cook dinner and serve it out there! The house itself looks like one of those houses you see in an art and design magazine. Its modern with splashes of warmth such as Indian and Moroccan inspired décor. There’s so much attention to detail, every room has a wonderful but unique mood and color scheme – yet all comes together. The master room upstairs is where we slept – the second you walk up you find yourself saying “WOW!”. I even had my own sink ;) Downstairs there is a bar room – just beautiful for intimate entertaining with all the essentials you would need to make any cocktail! I also noticed there were beautiful paintings throughout the house that I was interested in buying for my gallery. My favorite piece in particular was actually painted directly on the wall in the bar. We are looking forward to go back for the foliage – I cant even imagine how beautiful it must be when all the leaves change color.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Family Trip of 2010

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

My wife and our 2 grown children and I had an amazing week in this modern and lofty home. The outdoor dinning deck was great for dinners and breakfasts with a fantastic view of the pond and manicured lawn and garden. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. Its really close to town and all the trails and the working farms. Its located on a super quiet street with no traffic. The enormous outdoor fire pit will surely keep you warm.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Bug Infestation

Review submitted: July 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

This property was infested with ladybugs for our entire stay. I normally wouldn't complain as I love ladybugs but they began to land on my son and bite him, creating welts on his skin. There were over a dozen welts from ladybug bites on his body and the entire house had several hundred ladybugs when you add all of the hordes and nests in every single room of the house. I emailed the owner to notify him and his response was basically that ladybugs are peaceful creatures and that if we left them alone they would leave us alone. He never offered to remove them over the weekend we were there and refused to offer an partial refund for the inconvenience.

Owners response: I apologize one more time that your stay was not a pleasant one. Unfortunately this situation could have been easily resolved if you had called me or any of the other 3 emergency contacts on the spot instead of after the weekend. That would have given us a chance to improve or resolve the issue.
It is quit common to have ladybugs in late winter in the Northeast but they don't harm nor "bite" anyone as a simple internet search will show you. In this situation, simple vacuuming would have been the easiest way to get rid of the problem & we do have a very convenient central vacuum at the house. Finally, as you are aware the rate for your stay was already highly discounted.
We always want our guests comfort and enjoyment while staying at the house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 5

 

Unique and amazing custom home

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

What a great and unique property. The landscaping is breathtaking and the custom work and decor of the entire house is amazing!!! I have stayed here on MANY occasions and never tire of the views and coziness this property affords. Very close to plenty of hiking as well as New Paltz and surrounding shopping for supplies or antiquing or just getting some .

This house really blossoms in the summer, but I find it to be a serene and peaceful getaway any time of year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review