reviews for: listing #32785 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii Condo rental

Kona Pacific - overlooks pool- quiet complex- block to town
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kona Pacific Condo
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $89 - $89 /nt

sort by:

Our Family Getaway

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

Having moved back to Oahu after living many years in the Bay Area, I wanted to show my family (three of us in total) more of the islands (while they are not local, we all love diving in the warm waters of the islands). We settled on this rental because of the inexpensive price, and the assumption that we only needed a place to stay and sleep when we weren't out doing what tourists do.
I am happy to report that we were very satisfied with this rental. While not a 5 star hotel, the unit throughout was clean, i.e: we never saw any cockroaches - usually common to the islands. The location was very quiet at night, yet only a 5 minute walk to the South Kona seashore (and tourist walk). There were actually 2 full baths instead of one. We used the kitchen stove, microwave, coffee maker, toaster oven, etc, much more than we had anticipated we would. Air conditioning and overhead fans were adequate when we needed them. The TV set was a bit small, but was adequate for watching rented DVDs'. We made use of the included cooler, beach umbrella, body board, etc. We never swam in the otherwise clean and well kept appearing pool since we were always diving various parts of the island. Parking was under the building, and adequately fit our Jeep SUV (not for ultra raised bodies).
If and when we ever return to this island (still have a number of other ones to show my family), we will try to stay at this place again. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our stay in Kona was AMAZING!!!!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Aloha. Our stay in Kona was AMAZING!!!! The condo soon felt like our home-away-from-home :D We were within easy walking distance of wonderful shops and activities ~ the people were nice and the view spectacular! It was nice having the pool option, especially in the evening when we just wanted to relax from hiking the rainforests of Hilo all day. I will DEFINITELY share your information with both colleagues and friends ~ and plan on a return trip ~ we miss Kona already! Thank you again for EVERYTHING!!!! Mahalo, Dorothy and the girls Enjoy Life :o) - Dorothy R.,Mesa AZ, July 2011

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This condo was great

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 21, 2011

This condo was great. It was close enough to restaurants and shopping to walk, yet far enough that the nightlife noise didn't reach us. From our unit, there was a nice view of the pool and the ocean. It was well equiped - beach chairs and float boards, as well as a TV, CD player and Wifi. The kitchen was small but efficient and well stocked with basic appliances - we were able to cook meals easily. The lanai was deep enough that we were in the shade, even in mid-day, so it was comfortable for any meals. The two beds were separated by a wardrobe, giving us each some privacy. Two bathrooms means we could spread out our things and not get in each others' way. The whole complex was clean and well maintained, and the rules were observed by the residents. We would stay here, in this complex and this unit, again. Very nice. -- Judy B., Springfield, OR, February 2011

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We truly enjoyed our stay at Kona Pacific

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 5, 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay at Kona Pacific. Every day was wonderful...especially with the extra items available for use with the condo, like the beach towels, noodle, boogie board etc. that we wouldn't have tried otherwise. All of your instruction, especially about the paving and parking were great. The pool area was kept so clean and pleasant, we enjoyed just sitting around and watching, even with the warm tropical downpour! We got the best gecko picture ever, and we may forward it to you later. It seemed so quiet, even though so close to town. For the price, I felt we had great value. Thanks again/Mahalo for a lovely location for one of the best holidays yet! I think we really could learn to relax and hang loose there! -- Marilyn and Don, Victoria B.C., January 2011

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The condo exceeded our expectations

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

The condo exceeded our expectations. It was within walking distance to downtown along the water. We had everything we needed to enjoy the ocean. It was a great location to experience all the best beaches on the island. It was also nice having two bathrooms to accommodate everyone. We used the pool quite often in the evening. I liked that it wasn't too chlorinated; it was very nice and clean. Our view from the balcony was spectacular. We especially enjoyed having breakfast out here and enjoying the great view of the ocean. Great value for the price and we will definitely stay here again. – Mahalo, Jim E., Olympia WA March 2010

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Close to Town and Beaches

Review submitted: March 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

The condo was in a great location and had everything we needed and more. The only thing we could think of was a larger pot to cook spaghetti in. It had so many things that made it feel like home and allowed us to cook when we wanted to. The location was great! Close to town and beaches. We walked downtown several of the nights we were there. It was also a short walk to the beach. The condo has a lot more amenities and is cheaper or comparable to several hotels I looked at. Having the kitchen and the baby equipment plus boogie boards and other useful items made it very worth it. Looking forward to a return trip someday. -- Amy and John R, Grant's Pass OR, December 2009

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We were Surprised at all the extras

Review submitted: March 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2009

Our stay was very good. We were surprised at all the extras supplied including laundry detergent, dish washing detergent, plastic bags for storage and on and on. The pool and outside BBQ grounds were super as was having private underground parking. The condo was walking distance to the down town. The kitchen was furnished very well with everything you need including coffee filters and paper towels. The lanai was very nice with ocean view and overlooking the pool. Overall, we were very happy with the condo. -- John, Morro Bay CA July 2009

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Location was Great

Review submitted: March 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2009

The location was great. The condo had everything we needed and more. We had a great time visiting the shops, going to the beach, especially the cute little beach within walking distance, we walked up and down Alii Dr always finding something new to look at. There was a variety of food places to eat, more than we could take advantage of. We would want to stay there again. In fact, we would like to be in Hawaii right this minute as it has been raining and cool ever since we returned. -- Mahalo, Steve & Dana, Milwaukie OR April 09 

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review