reviews for: listing #328493vb - Holualoa, Hawaii rental

Hale Huna Kai - 4 BR / 3 BA Oceanfront Home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 454 - $ 574 / night
    $ 4,018 / week
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Our wonderful family holiday at Hale Huna Kai

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: February 6, 2014

Our stay at Hale Huna Kai was wonderful. The house was great, lots of room for the nine of us. It was well maintained, could use some maintenance in the kitchen, the place was very clean.We spent a lot of time on the patio, which ran the length of the house, enjoying the beautiful view. We enjoyed our morning coffee watching whales and dolphins and just enjoying the unfolding activity on the ocean. In the evening the sunset was amazing. Hale Huna Kai is a 15 minute walk to town with has lots of great restaurants and shopping. We fell in love with Kona and the Big Island of Hawaii. We did a lot of site seeing and found some wonderful beaches. The weather was the same every day perfect. We would go back to Kona and Hale Huna Kal in a heart beat.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ironman world championship 2013

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

There were 8 adults that joined us for our two weeks at this beautiful house. This was the 4th time I have rented this house since 2003. The newer owners have taken good care of it. The view is what sells it. Amazing. Lots of room and three of the bedrooms are on the water. Love the locatio to town. You can walk in or to the Alii Garden Market. . Note to owner. Dishwasher and rugs need replacing only because of being on the water. Everything is open to the water so that's what we love. We will be back for the 5th time for sure.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ocean surf sounds are amazing at night!

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

Right on main road, but surf sounds drown out most traffic noise. Stunning views, ocean front, nicely furnished, close to beaches, we had a great stay. Older appliances, but worked well.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Parents escape from MN deep freeze

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

I gave my parents a 10 day vacation at the Hale Huna Kai to escape the MN cold 1/24-2/3/2013. They are both in their mid 70's and still quite active. They both loved the place. The property was in great shape and spotless. The location was awesome-beautiful view of ocean, including whales, and the sound of the ocean at your door. A few short steps to the "Queen's Bath", which my dad was in almost every day, gave him his salt water fix. The hot tub was also nice. Mr. Twitchell was easy to work with and made checking in & out easier than anyplace I've ever stayed. There, of course, was much more space than my folks needed, but their "scouting trip" has me looking to stay there next year with 6 or 7 people, which my folks say would be quite comfortable. The proximity to Kona made it nice for eating out and getting to/from airport. The kitchen has everything you need if you decide to eat in. There is a new gas grill on the deck-my dad couldn't get himself to use it and "get it dirty". The only minor inconvenience is the parking in that part of the island--it's hard to find. I would definitely recommend this property to my friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family celebration

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

Our family rented this property for 5 days in January. We celebrated "Mom's 90th birthday- (she flew in from Houston for this occasion). There were 6 adults and one 20 month old baby. The house was perfect for all of us- plenty of room to have privacy and wonderful lanais and decks to enjoy each other. The dining table on the living room lanai was the hub of activity from meals to games - to just "talk story". This place is truly amazing! The Queen's bath was a great place to cool off. The views were spectacular-from watching the early morning surfers and boogie boarders to the beautiful Kona sunsets. On the "special Birthday" itself, family and friends were treated to a Whale extravaganza - they breached, slapped their tales and paraded by as if especially for her birthday for over an hour. We live here and have never seen such a show in over 30 years! It was pure delight. The grass area was a nice place to stroll back and forth and the hot tub was perfect in the evenings to watch the stars. Location was ideal to run to the store - everything within 10 minutes of town - yet you feel as though you are secluded miles from civilization and just in your own "little piece of paradise". The kitchen has everything anyone could possibly need and the beds were superb. It was truly a memorable family celebration for all of us. Wayne was gracious enough to allow a late checkout on her final day- which enabled us to drive directly to the airport when we closed the door for the final time. I hope we will repeat future family gatherings at Hale Huna Kai- its a magical place we all fell in love with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great House

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

I would love to give bad ratings because I am afraid that it will become so popular that we might not be able to get it again. It was so perfect for us. We were traveling with our kids and grandkids. It was private despite being right in town. Each family had their own private area. It was so incredibly comfortable. We had whales and surfers to watch from the grass. We loved it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas with Family

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We loved our home away from home with our kids and grandkids. The location and view were fantastic. Location very convenient for food shopping, downtown, and close to Jacks Dive Shop which we use for scuba diving. Dining al fresco for every meal while listening to the surf was a special treat. The rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious and the kitchen beautifully equipped. My family and I enthusiastically recommend this beautiful home for a family vacation. We definitely hope to return in the coming year when my grandson and I hope to get certified for scuba diving.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Fantastic Week in Paradise!

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

First off, the location is fantastic. So close to town, and right on the water. We were impressed with the layout of the house, and that it had plenty of room for the kids to spread out and play. We loved the fact that the entire back of the house opened up with screen doors to the lovely little backyard, and that the main dining area was out on the patio outside. The furniture was clean and well maintained, and everyone got great nights' sleep on the beds. We were particularly impressed with how well stocked the kitchen was with cooking utensils and small appliances. We cooked meals everyday and it was a dream.

Two areas of criticism, and they are very light. The screen doors were quite hard to open and close, but I think they just needed to be lubricated because of the weather, and the Queen's Bath is not something for kids to be in without a supervising adult - and even then, only at low tide. It was very cool, however, to see all the fish and crabs that were washed into the bath daily by the waves!

Overall, we were extremely happy with this house and would not only recommend it to friends, but we would rent it again in a heartbeat! Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Comfortable

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

We were looking for accommodations that would provide a relaxing low key environment for our vacation. We found it. Beautiful view from the lanai. We could enjoy just "being" in Hawaii. Walked just past the house next door for snorkeling. Could walk to town. Very private.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A clsssic Kialua-Kona experience

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

Tranquil, large waterfront home that provides a front row seat for a beautiful surf, whales, dolphins, as well as close enough to walk to town. We look forward to returning soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

January 2012 Adult Vacation

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at Hale Huna Kai! We were concerned as I missed that the home wasn't air conditioned, but except for a few hours during mid day, that wasn't an issue. The breeze from the ocean was actually on the cool side a few nights. The view was amazing! The picture provided doesn't do it justice. We saw a whale and dolphins almost every day. Beds were very comfortable and private for 7 adults. The back bedroom with twin beds that doesn't front the ocean was very warm. The kitchen is well stocked. Thank you Wayne for providing a wonderful home for us to lay back after long days of family activities.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ohana at Hale Huna Kai June 2011

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

The Hale Huna Kai is a perfect place to gather with ohana(family)and enjoy a vacation together. The scenery is beautiful, cool ocean breeze, spacious, accommodating with all the amenities of home. The Queen's bath or what I refer to as the Ali'i Pond is so refreshing with the cool water constantly replenished by the ocean waves pounding on the rocks spraying the ocean water into the salt water pool. We are lucky we live in Hawaii.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow! This house is fabulous!

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 11, 2011

You can't get any closer to the water and it's private! The write-up doesn't talk enough about the private lava pool called the queen's bath. It's wonderful and protective and deep enough to really cool off. The management was very responsive. We would rent there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved this house!

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2010

Awesome view, very inviting home. We lived out on the deck!!
Great home for a large family! We had us, my in-laws, our daughter and our other daughter along with her husband. It got a little stuffy at night but we just used the ceiling fans and found other fans thru out the home. Great separation of space. The kitchen is fully loaded so you can cook dinners, breakfast etc..We appreciated that a lot! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We absolutely loved Hale Huna Kai!

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We stayed for a week in this beautiful home. It had every amenity you could think of-nothing was missed in this vacation rental. We had the sliders open all day and night and loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves just outside the doors. The bedrooms were spacious and so "Hawaii"! Every morning we ate breakfast on the lanai and enjoyed watching the surfers and dolphins from there. It was very comfortable and the location was perfect. We could easily walk to the "downtown" area with loads of wonderful restaurants. We can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

I don't want to share how cool this place is

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We stayed in this home both in 2007 and just returned from our visit in June/July 2011. We love this place! It feels like a home, not a rental property. Three of the bedrooms open to the yard overlooking the ocean and you hear the waves and see the ocean from inside the house. When we rent, we like to eat in and the kitchen is small but has great ocean views and opens to the dining on the lanai. (They also have great pots and pans if you like to cook.)
The pictures posted for this property do a good job, but it's a little bit cooler than you think it will be once you get there. Most important to me is being so close to the ocean and having the house open to the ocean. We didn't spend much time in the jacuzzi or tidal pool (although it was really cool to watch the waves crashing into the tidal pool.)
Although the house is peaceful, the location is right on Ali drive and convenient to everything. The house has screens throughout, so you can enjoy the ocean without all the bugs. :)
If you want to relax, this is the place for you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Home

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2010

We had a great time at Hale Huna Kai..The house has a wonderful layout..great for family. We absolutely loved the outside living space. Great job on keeping this house up. We would definitely come back to this house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review