reviews for: listing #32854 - San Diego, California Condo rental

Awesome Ocean Beach Condo! Great price and steps to Beach!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Beach House
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $295 /nt
    $950 - $1,990 /wk

sort by:

Great get away

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2013

I don't have a lot to add to the other reviews other than to say that the condo is still a great place to stay in 2013. I travelled with my 2 teenaged daughters and we had a great time. There was plenty of space for the three of us, though I did give up the comfy master bed to them to keep the peace. There is no air conditioning, but the ceiling fans keep the place pleasantly comfortable (and this from someone who always has the AC running in Virginia - I guess it's the lower humidity that helps). The kitchen had everything you need, though we really didn't do anything more than make coffee and store leftovers. It was great to be able to run a laundry mid-week. The little complex is spotless and felt very safe with its locked courtyard entrance. I'm not sure how well it would have worked with a bunch of little kids and lots of beach paraphenalia, because the HOA is picky about wet towels and toys and the condo is carpeted, so we were a bit paranoid about dirt and sand.

We loved Ocean Beach - loved walking on the pier at sunset - loved having breakfast at either the New Break Cafe or Jungle Java. We felt very at home and though we know there were plenty of tourists, we felt very welcomed by the community. The girls loved their surfing lesson at Ocean Beach sports. Three hour lesson in the morning includes boards and wet suits, and they were able to surf all afternoon for free. Do not miss the Wednesday market. It's crowded but worth it.

We were happy to find some restaurants NOT on Newport Street (the OB Noodle house was one) to get away from the crowds a bit. Also, despite all the signs about Nati's being so wonderful, we preferred Ortega's for Mexican food.

Be prepared: if you are not a dog lover, you will not love Ocean Beach. If you are, you will have plenty of friends and might miss your pooches less. Also, it's a very live and let live community - lots of hippie types with associated body art and alternative realities. The only thing that made us a bit uncomfortable was the high number of vagrants and dumpster divers. Most were fairly polite and not in your face. One guy asked us for a dollar for a nice cold beer - at least he was honest! We never felt unsafe walking around however.

Other recommendation: Therapie Day Spa - we had a lovely spa day there with mani/pedi, massages and facials, and it didn't break the bank.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Beach House

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

We stayed in this condo last July and it was very nice. The only complaint was its near the airport and airplanes are constantly flying over, but by the third day you don't even notice it anymore. It has a great location near Sea World and San Diego Zoo. and you can walk to most places. We highly suggest you go to the farmers market on Wednesdays. We had a blast and plan on making another trip soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home away from Home for the Holidays!

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 22, 2010

It was such a treat to stay in this beautiful and well equipped condo for the Thanksgiving holiday. Everything was as described and better. The kitchen was most impressive to me and had great appliances.

The gated complex the condo is a part of is so nice and immaculately maintained. The NO Smoking policy adopted by the complex was great for us with allergies and asthma. We particularly enjoyed being so close to the pier and beach. What a fabulous thing to walk 100 steps and have the ocean right there. Being able to walk to resteraunts, shops and groceries was so fun. Ocean Beach is easy access to the rest of the San Diego area as well.

All correspondence was prompt. I hope to rent here again.

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

Lovely Condo+Wonderful Location=Awesome Vacation

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

This was a beautiful condo. We always vacation using vacation condos and this was among the best we've used. Everything was provided, linens, kitchen goods, soaps; we could just relax and enjoy our trip. The owners were very helpful when we had a issue with the wi-fi but is was quickly resolved with no other issues to report. The condo has a lovely courtyard that is quiet and beautifully landscaped with a grill and table and chairs. We liked to sit there and eat ice cream from the Lighthouse Ice Cream Shop. The condo is on the second floor, which we found very quiet. On Wednesdays, the Farmers' Market CANNOT BE MISSED! We "skipped" dinner that night and opted to walk among the vendors, sampling their foods, while listening to live entertainment. Leave the car at the condo because they really will tow cars off the street at 2:30 on Wednesdays for the Market. The condo is literally steps from the pier and beach...that is NOT an exaggeration...steps. The beach at the condo's doorstep is a surfing beach with the swimming beach about 100 yards down the walk. The cliffs are right next to the surfing beach. If you are able, you should grab a sturdy pairs of shoes, a camera and walk the cliffs. The waves come right to your feet and the view and landscape are breath-taking. This was my favorite part. Some young people hang out and play music around the cliffs but, honestly, they were an important part of the beach scenery. The main street with shops and restaurants are a short block away. We were within 5 miles of Sea World, Belmont Park, Mission Beach and only about 15 minutes from the Gaslamp Quarter. The only this I would have changes is the bed in the second bedroom is more firm than we preferred. But, we put our teenager in there and he slept fine. The master bedroom and even the pull-out bed were comfy and well appointed. Do not pass up this property. Do not. You will have a fabulous time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 41 / 41

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review