reviews for: listing #32916 - Gaylord, Michigan Cottage rental

Rohrkemper's Lakefront Family Resort Fish Swim Bonfires!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lake Arrowhead
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $285 /nt
    $1,400 - $2,200 /wk

sort by:

Just what we were looking for!

Review submitted: August 2, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

Our week on this private lake was just wonderful. We were looking for a week of complete downtime, but this location is great for day trips to Macinaw, Traverse City, Petosky, etc. The cottage is very clean and roomy. We only had the four of us, but could easily have accomodated 10. The owner was prompt in answering any questions and following up on our stay. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this cottage - would even consider renting again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We appreciate good family renters like the Sunbathers! Thank you for staying with us. Anyone can post pictures on facebook. If you have some I would love to see them.
Cheryl and John

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Golf Trip Getaway

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

Our stay at the home was excellent and the amenities were exactly as stated online and then some. The owner was great to work with and very helpful in providing tips on local attractions and restaurants, as well as directions for accessing the home and facilities. The house was very clean and well-maintained and the view of the lakefront was incredible from the deck on the back of the house. We would recommend this house to anyone for a nice relaxing getaway, family vacation, or golf trip as there are plenty of courses nearby.

Owners response: We are looking forward to seeing you back for a few more rounds of great golf and a relaxing vacation!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Lakefront Property

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

This is an awesome lakefront property located on a small private lake with minimal traffic and congestion on the water. There was plenty of room for 10 people - we had 7 adults and 3 children in our party. Downstairs area offers a separate living space for people tp spread out in. Traverse City and Petoskey are about an hour drive away for day trips and there are plently of golf courses in the surrounding area. Plenty of activities and restauarants in downown Gaylord as well. The house is very well-maintained and clean and there is no need to bring a lot of clothing since there is a state-of-the-art washing machine and dryer available for use in the home. I would highly recommend this property to a large family or several small groups. We had a great time!

Owners response: We are working on a great family and friends experience. Glad you enjoyed! Thank you for sharing your experience.
Cheryl

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

New Year vacation

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time to stay on.Thank you so mush!We now we'll be back soon.Good place for winter.Clean cottage,every thing you need,great place to relax.

Owners response: So glad your family enjoyed their stay. Our goal is to "keep it clean" all the time!
We are looking forward to having you back.
Cheryl

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family visiting Gaylord

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

We had a wonderful time! Everything we might have wanted or needed was here -- including extra pillows and bedding. Owners were easy to work with. Still waiting for deposit to be returned. Otherwise no problems or concerns of any kind. Thank you for a wonderful trip!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: So glad to hear you had a good time! This is looking like a good snowy winter! We are looking forward to the winter season. We hope to see you back again.
This security deposit was refunded 1 hour before this review was posted, only 4 days after departure. Security deposits are refunded after we hear from the MaidPro staff and within 10 days of departure.
Thanks again, Cheryl

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Howell Group from Georgia

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2012

This was a wonderful place. All information we received was accurate and we did not lack for one single thing. The setting was serene and tranquil and ideal for really relaxing. We would HIGHLY recommend for any group. TV;s in each bedroom, plus upstairs and downstairs so if you didn't like what was on in one place, just go to another!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: I have to say the last sentence describes how I feel. Plenty of room for everyone! Family and friends fun is our goal!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rohrkemper's Resort

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

My sons, their families and I spent a week at this cottage on Lake Arrowhead. The cottage was very clean and had everything one could want. The layout was perfect for the 9 of us. The boys especially enjoyed the fishing boat, kayaks and paddle boat. We visited some of the State Park beaches and also a few enjoyed the horseback riding which was close by. Everyone voted that we should do this again! The owners were exceptional in assisting in any way they could. Thanks Cheryl!

Owners response: We welcome more families to be our guests! Hope to see you all back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Second time a charm

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

This was our second time staying. Enjoyed every minute- very comfortable there.
Thanks for sharing.

The Whaleys

Owners response: Return trips are more fun! See you next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional Vacation Rental

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

This vacation home is spacious, clean, and comfortable. It was well-furnished and contained so many amenities, we realized immediately we had brought too much stuff -- beach toys and other comforts of home. Our 3 year old grandson was delighted with the toys he found in the house, and never played with those he brought from home. The kayaks, row boat, and paddle boat were so fun, and we all loved the pool. We never ventured off the property, except to the pool and park, and still found so much to do. I would highly recommend this vacation home for all ages, although an older member of our party was unable to traverse the many steps to the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are catering to families and doing improvements each year! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Reunion Vacation

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

The home is the perfect lake house! The view from the balcony is unbelievable. The main floor has 2 bedrooms, a bathroom, kitchen and very spacious living room with a comfortable leather sectional. The lower floor has 2 bedrooms, a bathroom with a shower, large vanity area, living area and wet bar with a fridge. There is a cement stairway that leads down to the beach. The dock is very sturdy and provides a great place to fish. There is a mat in the sand that makes walking in the lake easy for small children (no weeds or growth). The only thing you need to bring is food. The home is very clean and is exactly like the pics in the ad. We used the pool a lot. It was a great place for our kids to meet other kids and they even spontaneously played football in the park. I kayaked around the lake and even saw a bald eagle in flight, land and grab a fish, and resume to the tree on the island no less than 20 yards from me. The kids caught tiny turtles, lots of fish and the men caught some great big bass! There is even an outdoor shower. Things to consider: it is not a good choice for someone with difficulty walking. The stairs can be a little challenging down to the lake. That said - my disabled mother stayed with us and loved her vacation remaining on the main floor and main floor balcony. We went to Macinac Island, ate fresh strawberries, saw a movie and had dinner in Gaylord besides just relaxing at the home. Excellent Trip!!!!! John or Cheryl were VERY available for all of our questions. They returned all our calls promptly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks Michelle and Rob! Hope to see you back again! The bald eagle is amazing! Sounds like all had a wonderful time!
John and Cheryl

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rohrkemper Resort

Review submitted: June 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

We loved the resort! We have been back many times, very serene.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! We are looking forward to having you back soon.
John and Cheryl Rohrkemper

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rohrkemper's lakefront family resort

Review submitted: July 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

The house was as described - very clean - enjoyed all the amenities - my family, especially grand children enjoyed the lake and fishing. Saw the elk at feeding time (thats a must see), ate at the restaurants recommended by owner - All in all I would highly recommend a stay here. Took a side trip to Sleeping Bear Dune - great if you've never been.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks Ellie!
It was a pleasure having you and your family as guests and hope you can make a return visit. A special thank you for taking care of our paddle! To the renter with a great sense of humor, enjoy the rest of the summer! Next year Bozo the Clown visits instead of Long John Silver.
Cheryl

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2010

Have stayed at the cottage many times; what a great place to relax! Everything you need for a weekend or a week (or more!)... if you bring your groceries you never even have to leave the property to have a great vacation. You can turn off your phone and never have to drive anywhere the whole week, just cook and read and sit on the beach, kayak the lake, and take walks and hikes. Plus, in the winter the lake is beautiful all ice and snow!

Owners response: We just came home from the cottage, where we walked in the snow 2 miles each day. It was beautiful! We hope to go back before winter ends. Thanks for the positive feedback, Nicole.
Cheryl

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation at Gaylord Mi.- 1009

Review submitted: August 3, 2009   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

We vacation at Rohrkemper's Resort for the first time this year. It was a great experience!! The house was very clean. It was supplied with everything you need except our personal items and food. The beach was perfect. We had four little girls and they loved being in the water. The heated pool near by was nice for cool days, We also enjoyed the paddle boat and kayaks which were furnished for our use. We enjoy the local restaurants, our favorite was The Sugar Bowl- very good! Hope to return....


one

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 23, 2009   Date of arrival: July 23, 2009

I would highly recommend this cottage. The views of the lake are amazing! We stayed with 8 adults and two children and there was a lot of room. There are plenty of activities in the area to keep you busy. The cottage is in great shape and is set up to help you relax!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 6, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We can't even begin to list all of the wonderful things about this cabin. The pictures do no justice and we truly can't express how happy we are to have been able to stay here. It is extremely well situated on Lake Arrowhead with an open setting on both floors. Personally we thought we had the nicest most open view. The house is generously furnished with everything you need other than your own food to make for a relaxing retreat from reality. We all feel it was the best vacation we have ever had. Top notch really from the fishing to the golfing to the many friendly little shops in downtown Gaylord. The kids really enjoyed playing in the water and fishing off of the dock. The kayaks added to the relaxing nature of the week, the dogs loved playing and swimming in the water. We all hope to be able to stay here again. Very clean and well equipped with paddle boats, intertubes, and lifejackets. Plenty of room for everyone whether you were inside or outside. The brick paver patio is a beautiful area to get some sun while watching the little ones play. Our extended family and friends would like to thank the Rohrkemper's for having us and we would recommend this for anyone.

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed yourself! We felt the same 10 years ago when we visited this property. Now we own it! Hope to see you back again next year.
Cheryl Rohrkemper
Just a post note: Due to allergies we do not accept pets at this time.Jan. 2011

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 23, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

This a wonderful cottage located in a great area. Well maintained with paddle boats and kayaks. We have stayed here both in summer and winter and enjoyed our stays greatly. Very nice for families or large groups of friends that want time together but still want privacy. Two separate living areas on both floors. You will enjoy the stay.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review