reviews for: listing #32970 - Galveston, Texas House rental

Grand Victorian with Private Pool and Waterfall
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $550 /nt
    $2,600 - $3,000 /wk

sort by:

Fabulous Place to Stay

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

This house is so nice. We have stayed a few times and love the place. We lived on the porch in the back and the heated pool is super. I would recommend this house to anyone. The rooms are large and the beds are nice. Great place and the owners are great!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Victorian Home & Pool

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

We had a mothers/daughters weekend in Galvey. When we arrived at the Grand Victorian we were impressed with how beautiful it was. However, the caretaker had failed to re-program the code before our arrival so we were locked out of the house for about 15 minutes while we attempted the code we were given. The caretaker did not answer his phone and his voice mailbox was full so we couldn't even leave a message for him. Thankfully, Mike the owner, got our message and was able to give us the prior renters code so we could get in, unpack and start our vacation! That was an unnecessary inconvenience and very frustrating! We considered the home to be a true 3 bedroom and not a 4 bedrm as advertised (even though there was a twin/trundle combo downstairs) because that room wasn't completely private nor did it have a closet or anywhere to hang clothes. The other thing that we were surprised about (as it is not stated in the description) was the fact that there was only one shower. The master bath had a clawfoot tub with a handheld shower that was impractical to use as a shower without making a complete mess. All 4 girls took turns using the shower in the other full bath upstairs.

Beware of the large TX water bugs as we were on constant alert for them inside the home. Several guests had written notes about ghosts in the home in the guest book which seemed strange to us - there was extra noise on windy nights (the shutters on the outside of the windows move in the wind) and the old floors creak, but we knew to expect noises in a vintage home. While it was stated in the contract we signed we really didn't like having to wash all the towels and take out the trash before departing.

The positives about the Grand Victorian are the three porch sitting areas and the lush and beautifully landscaped gardens and pool with waterfall. We enjoyed a day in the pool and it felt private and like an oasis during the hot Texas weekend. The kitchen and one of the upstairs baths were both nicely updated. This grand home was one of the more attractive ones in the area.

The house is in a very cute neighborhood with other similar victorian homes and is within walking distance to several great restaurants like the Mosquito Cafe and Sunflower Cafe and retail shopping. We drove a short distance to Stewart Beach for a day of sun and sand and ate at several of the restaurants on Seawall Blvd.

Overall it was a very nice weekend in a beautiful historic home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Outstanding

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

We were all so pleased with the home and all the amenities. Everything was so clean and the beds were all comfortable, the linens were of such good quality.... we loved the deck/s and the pool was always so inviting and a big hit. Pictures are good, but in person experiencing is better Sitting outside was the best - weather was so good for 4 days. Everything it says is there, is really there. I can tell others left behind supplies, so we did as well. Mike was always so helpful and accomodating. it was a wonderful family get together to make new memories. You can tell the owners take pride and love this wonderful old home and provide so much to make you feel right at home when you are there. . A delicious step back in time Hope to visit again

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

My new home in Galveston!! (loved it)

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

Charming house, very livable and well stocked with everything you would need to prepare a meal and feed a crowd. Loved the outdoor space and the upstairs bedrooms and double balcony. Close to the beach, strand and places to eat; there is a Mexican restaurant on the same block so that was a wonderful surprise. Wish we had booked earlier for a longer stay but we will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Family Vacation at the Grand Victorian

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

My husband and I with our three adult children and their spouses, four grandkids and one infant granddaughter stayed in the Grand Victorian for our annual family vacation. We had a fabulous time and in the words of our 7 year old granddaughter - "This place is awesome!" The rooms are quite large, the bedrooms are comfy, the kitchen/dining is plenty big enough for all of us and since the Olympics were in full swing the TV in the breakfast area was a real plus. All the kids, big and small, loved the pool. It was perfect. The ceiling fans on the back porch made even the July heat tolerable. The location can’t be beat. We enjoyed just walking the neighborhood and taking advantage of the restaurants close by. I can’t say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful home but dirty

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Positive: convenient access to many quaint restaurants and shops. Not a long drive to beach or shopping on the strand. Our kids loved swimming in the pool and the treasure trove of pool toys supplied.

Negative: Our first impression after entering the home was that it was dusty and dirty. The rugs in the bathroom were filled with hair from previous guests, corners were filled with dust and the refrigerator was molded on bottom shelf. Fruit flies swarmed the kitchen to the point where you never left your cup or plate unguarded making it difficult to cook a meal. When we called the owner, he was responsive but the suggestion of bleach down the drain did not solve the problem. We spent the first couple of hours cleaning the kitchen, refrigerator, and pool. Not an enjoyable start to a short vacation.

Overall, the home is well appointed. But we would recommend to the owners a professional cleaning between guests.

Owners response: Our 1887 Victorian home is our "baby". Dealing with an older home definitely requires additional work but we think that it is worth it for the unique vacation experience it provides.

I'm sorry that your initial impression was not a great one. Unfortunately fruit flies have been a problem in Galveston this spring. We contacted our pest control service and they said there was nothing they could do but suggested the bleach approach. We also sent over our in-town property manager and he reported back to me from the house that the problem was handled and that you were happy with results.

As far as the pool, I understand there was a storm before your arrival which led to some debris in the pool. We had our pool cleaner come over the day you arrived to clean everything - I'm sorry if it had not been cleaned upon your arrival.

We do have the house professionally cleaned between each of our guests. Had you mentioned the house was not clean when we spoke I would have sent them back immediately. This is completely unacceptable to us and we will certainly discuss your concerns with them.

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 

When momma's happy.....

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

We rented the Grand Victorian for our mom's 80th birthday, and could not have found a better choice. The property was exactly as described on the website, with attention to the history of the house and at the same time modern convenience and comfort. Kitchen was great, having stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, and a good supply of cooking and eating utensils. Bedrooms were large with very comfortable beds and good linens. Plenty of towels. Don't be afraid of trundle in the library. It makes up into a very comfortable king size bed. Formal dining room was the perfect atmosphere for that Saturday night birthday dinner. Galveston has much to offer and you are not far from any of it on Market Street. (Miller's Seawall Cafe has the BEST Key Lime Pie. Sunday Brunch at the Galvez, pricey but a feast. Original Mexican Restaurant on corner has good tamales. Arlen's Grocery, seven blocks away on Market, has everything you need to stock the kitchen.) Fabulous porches! Always a heavenly breeze. Upstairs porch with 4 chaise lounges and hammock was perfect place for a nap. Local agent was prompt in returning call over small maintenance issue. Conversations with the owner prior to booking, quick response to follow up emails, and his helpful information sheet all indicated this was a first-rate rental, and we were so right! Could not connect to wi-fi on any device, TV in bedroom 2 did not work. Clothes dryer works but takes a long time. Otherwise, everything perfect. Mom says it was her best birthday ever and wants to come back for her 90th! Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

We rented the Grand Victorian for our weekend wedding at Bishop's Palace. We could not have been more pleased. Absolutely gorgeous and truly a step back into time with all of the modern conveniences. Very clean and well maintained and the owners are very helpful and flexible. We plan to come back as soon as we can! Everything is within walking distance which is a plus! Thanks Mike!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GMB

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

The house was very nice and me and my family enjoyed our stay here. We only wish it could have been longer. Having a pool available made it even better. The porch was enjoyed by everyone as there was a nice breeze all the time. The Mexican restaurant down the street had good food and Margaritas. Just wanted to also say thank you to Mike for being so helpful. There was a mix up with the dates we had scheduled and he went above and beyond in getting that resolved. We will definitely stay here again and will highly recommend this to my friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Grand Victorian

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

Our family decided on a Galveston rental this summer. We choose the Grand Victorian in Galveston. We really enjoyed the pool and porches. The convience to all the hot spots we a plus as well. We did not have to drive far at all for the shops, eateries, beach ect. We where able to invite our Texas family down for a cookout and had plenty of room for everyone. The pool and water fall was very relaxing in the evening as well. We really loved the decor of the house. Infact we are building a new home and the kitchen helped us with an idea. The mexican resterant 2 doors down is very good as well. I would recommend this home to my friends as well. Thanks Mike and Sandy for allowing us to spend a nice 4th of July in your beautiful home.

Ellen & Kevin

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect girls weekend!

Review submitted: June 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

We stayed at the house for a girls weekend getaway in June, and it was perfect! I lived in Galveston for several years, so it was almost a dream to stay in a 1900 storm survivor house! I had driven/walked past this house many many times, and couldn't have been happier! The house was beautiful, and amazed everyone! It slept 12 comfortably (with the use of a couple of air mattresses), but the house was so big, there were plenty of places for air mattresses. The location was perfect! Within walking distance of several of my favorite restaurants, and UTMB. We had no issues with parking, as we were able to easily fit 2 compact cars on the parking spot in the back, and the street parking as no problem either!! The pool was great to have!! It was very nice sitting on the two porches in the evenings, sitting in the gulf breeze! The kitchen didn't have "bar accessories"... so I would be sure to bring your own shaker, jigger, etc... if you plan on mixing up some drinks! Although you are able to sleep so many, there are only 2 showers for use, and one is in the clawfoot tub. But if 12 ladies are able to shower and get ready in 1 hour, it shouldn't be a problem for other large groups! I sure hope we can come back again soon! If we had to make a complaint, it would only be it was warmer upstairs, but that is to be expected! Especially in a larger old home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Galveston Paradise East End with pool! in the Historic East End of the island

Review submitted: November 23, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

My two companions and I stayed at this 3 story historic house in September of 2010 and were truly delighted by what the owners had done in restoring it to it's original splendor. It even has a commemorative plaque attesting to it's provenance. The furnishings are beautiful and the master bath is terrific. Wrap around porches, both upstairs and down add to the southern hospitality feel of this grand home. The pool area with waterfall is something that is rare in private homes in Galveston and I should know I'm a native although long since gone. In fact I grew up in a house similar to this one although admittedly not so grand. The kitchen is modern and fully equipped for casual to haute cuisine affairs. We did both as good supermarkets are abundant and close by. The owners could not have been more accommodating as were their agents here on the island. After years of staying in hotels in Galveston( we go at least twice a year), I can honestly say this place has our undying support and gratitude for a week of sheer splendor in Galveston, in other words we highly recommend it. And it's close to some great restaurants like The Saltwater and Rudy and Paco's, walking distance. We love this house and look forward to returning soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review