reviews for: listing #33077 - Cashiers, North Carolina House rental

Black Dog Cabin -- A 5 Bedroom Luxury Log Home
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sapphire Valley
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $350 - $460 /nt
    $1,750 - $2,300 /wk

sort by:

Wow!

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

This is truly a fantastic cabin/home! Can't say enough about the owner, they were great to work with, always answered our questions in a timely manner.
The house is absolutely stunning and immaculate. We arrived before the scheduled check-in time and the housekeeper was still working. Thus, we ventured to the grocery store to stock up for the week. When we returned we were amazed at how beautiful and how well kept this home is. The kitchen was well stocked with all the necessary utensils and plates and misc items. Loved the super large dining room table where we could all gather together for meals. Lots of deck space to be outside, and also a grill which was great for steaks and burgers. The house was large enough for everyone to find a quiet spot to "get away" when needed, but also seemed warm and cozy when we wanted to be together playing games or watching tv. The kids loved the downstairs area with the tv and the pool table. Lots to do in the area. We went horseback riding (about a 20 minute drive), went on a zip line course over near Scaly Mountain, and of course the girls went shopping in Highland's! On a scale of 1-10 this place is a 15, and one we hope to go back and visit again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply Marvelous!

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

I stayed at Black Dog Cabin for ten days with my family. There were nine of us (which included two toddlers). Black Dog Cabin is not a cabin; it is a lovely mountain home more similar to a lodge. The knotty pine and high ceilings are stunning. It is spacious enough to be able to go off into one of the bedrooms and get some alone time, which I needed! The kitchen is fully stocked and the dining room table easily accommodated all of us at mealtime. We spent a lot of time at this table, talking, playing cards, eating, etc.
We lounged in the living room on leather sofas and occasionally watched the large flat screen TV, which came in really handy when we needed to occupy the toddlers' for a little bit. The downstairs playroom and adult seating area (with another flat screen) was used quite a bit too. This home is great when you have kids with you!
The two master bedrooms, one upstairs and one downstairs were used by my children and their child. They were large enough to accommodate the two adults and a pack and play for each child.
This was my third stay at Black Dog Cabin and I will return as soon as I possibly can. It is just right for my family and we feel like royalty when we stay there. The house is immaculate, well maintained and just beautiful. The setting is stunning and the quiet peace of the North Carolina Mountains cannot be beat. The owner is easy to talk to yet very professional. We were lucky to find this place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A "little bit of heaven" mountain retreat

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

The property was named The Black Dog Cabin but it was more of a lodge than a cabin. Most of the vacation rentals I have stayed in were small and everyone is on top of each other, but this rental was spacious and we had plenty of room for 10-12 people. The entire house was filled with natural light and stunning views of the woods and mountains surrounding the property. There are 5 large bedrooms and 3 full baths and 2 half bathrooms an a a jaccuzzi in the en-suite. This rental was clean, well maintained and beautifully decorated. The dining room to seated 12 people at one long table. The kitchen had state-of-the-art appliances and plenty of dishes and pots and pans to meet all of our needs. We had Wi-Fi and three large flat screen televisions with cable and a smaller television in one of the bedrooms. There was a cozy gas double sided fireplace with a reading area in the living room and a sitting area on the other side in the dining room where there was a desk and two easy chairs. There was also a bookcase filled with books and videos for all ages. The back of the house had a large deck on the main and lower levels of the house that ran the entire length of the home and overlooked the wooded area surrounding the property. There were seating areas on each level and an eating area off the dining room. Three of the bedrooms, living room and game room had double doors leading to the decks. There is a fire pit and log seats carved out in the wooded area below the decks. There was also a laundry room, plenty of linens, and beach toys. The game room was equipped with a game table, children's toys, an air hockey table and a sitting area for viewing television. There was a grocery store close by and menus, brochures and directions to hiking, swimming, (indoor and outdoor,), a lake, clubhouse with workout room, shopping, several waterfalls and sightseeing in the area. This is the perfect quiet, relaxing getaway for people of all ages. Pets are welcome and there are accommodations for the pets. There are safety gates on the stairways and a highchair and pack-n-play for small children . The photos of the property accurately reflected the rental's appearance and amenities. I would absolutely recommend this property to friends and relatives. We have already booked another week next year as we did not have enough time to see and do everything that was available to us. We look forward to spending another week in this "little bit of heaven" mountain retreat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

BLACK DOG CABIN

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 12, 2012

The listing description was very accurate regarding the location. The listing photos were accurate. The property was very clean and well maintained. The owner was more than helpful with all questions & concerns. We will definatley recommend to friends & relatives.. We do suggest folks bring their own coffee pot.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay Darryl. And you will be pleased to know that we did upgrade the coffee pot to one with a larger carafe -- a Cuisnart Brew & Grind so no need to bring your coffee pot!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful place to stay!

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

We had a family vacation here in July, and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The house, decks, and view are gorgeous. We were happily surprised to find that our group of 8 adults, 4 teens and 1 preschooler both had plenty of space to be separate and also fit comfortable around the dinner table. The game room was a big hit! We spent a lot time on the deck taking in the natural setting. The owners of the home keep it so well-stocked with amenities that you basically just need to bring your clothes and food! There are businesses such as a grocery store, post office, coffee shop, bistro, etc. within a very short drive. At the end of our stay, everyone agreed we should come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

perfect family vacation home!

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

We had an amazing time at Black Dog Cabin. The house is not only clean and beautiful but huge - perfect for several couples or families giving everyone enough space and privacy. The owners have everything you could possibly need and are very well organized. It was a relief to not have to pack all of my kids' supplies and toys as everything we needed (except diapers!) was there - highchairs, bed rails, monitors, strollers, even a sand box in the back! I would highly recommend this house to anyone and will surely come back ourselves!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 5, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

My family, consisting of six adults and two kids, has just enjoyed a fabulous week at Black Dog Cabin.

Right from the start, it was a most enjoyable experience:

i. The owners were a pleasure to deal with and extremely helpful in organising the rental.


ii. The house is everything and more than we expected - it's refreshing to stay in a house that feels like a home and not just another 'rental property'.

In particular:

a) The layout of the house is perfect. It is ideally suited for use by either one big family or for those needing a separation of accommodation.

b) The house has everything you would have in your own home and all you could possibly need to enjoy your stay


iii. Access to the Community Clubhouse facilities, e.g. indoor swimming, table tennis, etc. was a nice plus for the rainy days


iv. The Sapphire/Cashiers and surrounding areas are just full of wonderful scenic opportunities as well as adventurous things to do.


All in all, I could not be more delighted that we chose this geographic area, and Black Dog Cabin in particular, to experience our first visit to North Carolina.

I have no hesitation in highly recommending this property.

If you go, I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Brian Green

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Look no further...

Review submitted: January 15, 2009   Date of arrival: December 23, 2008

After years of looking for "the right place", we finally found it. So many places are loaded with misleading camera angles and glorified descriptions. Not Black Dog Cabin!

We had a small "family reunion" (5 adults and 4 kids under 9 years old) during Christmas 2008. We never ran out of things to do even though it rained 3 of the 4 days we were there. From the game room to the kitchen, everything we needed was there!

The roads in the area are good. The house is secluded yet close enough to get what you need. There is even a resort that you can access as a guest about four miles away. The resort has ski slopes and a tube run. There is also golf within 3 miles.

The owner are some of the nicest and most accomodating people that I have ever dealt with.

Look no further... you have found "the right place"!


Chuck
Lakeland, FL

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 12, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

After years of looking for the "right place" we finally found it at Black Dog Cabin!

So many places will fool you with camera angles and overblown descriptions but not here.

From the gameroom to the kitchen the owners have thought of everything. We had 5 adults and 4 kids (all of the kids under 8) and never ran out of things to do! Even though it rained for 3 of the 4 days we were there!


The house is secluded but close enough to get what you need. The roads are good and there is a resort that you can access as a guest. We all went snow tubing and even my mother went down the run!

The owners are some of the nicest and most accommodating people that I have ever dealt with.

Do not look any further... You have found the "right place"!

Thanks again.

Chuck Flagler

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 9, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

Week of July 21 28, 2008. Our family enjoyed your home very much. Could not have asked for a more comfortable and well equipped home for the week. Enjoyed relaxing on the porches and just taking in the scenery. Family trips to local waterfalls and the guys played golf. Also went fishing. An excellent week of rest and relaxation while being treated to the amenities of your home. We will be back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 17, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Had a lovely reunion with grandkids and their parents, NJ, SC and CA. The ten of us enjoyed decorating a tree, many meals cooked and eaten together, board games galore, and even a surprise flash snowstorm that interrupted our outdoor marshmallow roasting. What a great place to enjoy the kids and yet have room to retreat and refresh. Everything was first class; we wanted for nothing...and the kid-friendliness extended to age-appropriate books! How great is that!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review