reviews for: listing #33169 - Yachats, Oregon House rental

Big Oceanfront, Barefoot Sands, Sleeps 16 , Panoramic View
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Newport
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $440 /nt

sort by:

The Shaws

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

What a wonderful house and beach! Had a wonderful vacation due to the beach being at the back door and easy access, The stairs made it so easy to have our early morning coffee on the beach. The house is wonderful and fully stocked with every thing we could need. Thank you.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind remarks, we are glad you had a great time!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome everything!!!

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

My Family,my Mother and my Sister-in-law all had a great time while at the Barefoot Sands house. and Steve and Sharon were not exagerating when they said Oceanfront! there was a review i had read concerning the appliances and furniture being outdated....not true. the only thing we found wrong in the entire house was coffee grounds in the coffee maker, and if that was our biggest problem i'll take that anyday. otherwise a perfect beachhouse for any event. we will return. Thank you Steve and Sharon.

Monte and Erin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Monte and Erin, Thank you for your kind comments! We are glad you had a good time!
Steve and Sharon

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Love this House

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

This was the first time we stayed at the Barefoot Sands house for our annual womens retreat and we loved it! The house is well stocked with pots and pans, which is a plus for a group of women!
We are hoping to get again next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect for kids and adults too!!!

Review submitted: January 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 20, 2010

We stayed too brief of a time, just a weekend for my birthday, but it was spectacular. I was looking for a comfortable house ON THE BEACH, and this house was perfect! The back deck is just feet from the sand that kept the kids entertained for hours! A very relaxing time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Pics don't do justice to the beauty

Review submitted: January 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2010

This home and beach access are wonderful. It is just a great place to stay and relax. The home was well supplied with all needed kitchen utensils. I wish I could have stayed longer. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a Spectacular View & Fun Beach !!!

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

Thank you for the hospitality. The way this house is prepared shows the love and care you have for people. Everything was wonderful. We celebrated my mom's 60th birthday. We flew kites, made sand castles, had a barbeque, ate oysters, surfed, took pictures, ate birthday cake, honored our mother with speeches of love and memories, cooked salmon, and pizza. Watched the sunset on the ocean. Sunny and warm both days -- hardly enough wind to fly the kites. The house is warm, comfortable, and well kept. A great place for kids to run around and play. We will be back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

What a wonderful place to welcome the new century. 4 generations and dear friends. I can tell you are very caring, considerate people just by the way this house is furnished and stocked. Our family thanks you for sharing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2000

What a wonderful place to welcome the new century. 4 generations and dear friends. I can tell that you are very caring, considerate people just by the way this house is furnished and stocked. Our family thanks you for your sharing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful home and view!

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

Pros: Our extended family of 16 folks stayed here over the Christmas holiday. It is nicely located and a beautiful property. Being able to walk right out the back door and onto the beach was convenient and easy. The home itself is nicely laid out with beautiful views out the entire west side. Living room, dining room, 3 bedrooms all boast amazing views of the ocean which provided us with stormy scenery, including a lightening storm one night!

We cooked an entire turkey dinner for Christmas and all of the amenities were provided. There were plenty of kitchen items and even more than we were able to use.

A nice large garage was great for packing and unpacking our cars in the rain and there were extra tables and chairs stored there.

Cons: I was disappointed that the ice maker and garbage disposal were not working. The kitchen could use an update of appliances and the dryer was very squeaky when we first turned it on. Bedrooms were quiet and comfy although there was no ceiling light in one of them. The couch in the living room could be replaced as it was not very comfortable. The porch light was not operational and it was very dark when taking a night stroll out to the beach.

Overall, we were pleased with our stay and would return again. Thanks so much to the Arnold's for providing us with a beautiful place to celebrate the birth of Christ and to reconnect with our extended family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: WOW... we have owned this home for 12 years and this is the first negative comment we have ever had. While we appreciate the positive comments this guest has made, I do feel it necessary to comment on some of the negatives mentioned.

"The ice maker did not work". This is because the guest had the little up and down bar inside the ice maker put in the wrong position. When I put the bar in the correct down position it immediately started making ice.

"The garbage disposal does not work". The guest must of plugged it up with something and it quit working. The following guests had already dislodged something from the garbage disposal and it was working just fine when I arrived to repair it.

"The kitchen needs updated appliances". The oven is a modern self-cleaning oven that has four burners on top. It was bought brand new and put it in this house 13 months ago. The microwave is modern and up to date. The refrigerator is a GE, is large, side by side, with an icemaker that puts the ice into your glass for you. The dishwasher is almost new, less than 12 months old, and there is very good quality electric can opener installed on the bottom of the upper cabinet. I do not know how much more modern the appliances could be.

"The back porch light did not work". The guest was right about this. We have discovered that because of how close this house is to the oceanfront that the salt air apparently corroded a connection inside the light fixture. We have now replaced it and it works fine. I wish the guest would have called us and we would have come right away and replaced it.

"One of the bedrooms did not have a ceiling light." This was news to us. We check regularly for any burned out light bulbs and replace them without delay. For all we know the light bulb could have blown out at the time he turned the light on. This home has 74 light bulbs in it.

As far as the comfort of the couch goes, I guess it depends on your own back and rear. It is comfortable to me when I sit in it and we have never had a complaint about it from any of our other guests.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review