reviews for: listing #33210 - Whidbey Island, Washington House rental

OceanFront - Best Sunset Views - Over 3000 sq ft.
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $300 /nt
    $1,500 - $1,800 /wk
    $4,500 - $6,500 /mth

sort by:

A new Thankgiving tradition

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

This is a very clean property. The rooms were big with plenty of available storage. We had a blast teaching Mom how to play pool in the smaller of the two living rooms. The kitchen is huge and had everything we needed to prepare Thanksgiving dinner. The big LCD in the living room has two open HDMI ports if you need to bring a blue ray player for any reason. We set the Xbox up in the living room and I got to play drums without having to worry about waking anyone up in the rest of the house, it's that big.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sunrise, Sunset!!

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

What a perfect place for us to stay! We didn't want to leave to go out for dinner because the beautiful sunsets were stunning. We didn't want to leave in the morning because sitting on the balcony, watching the ocean, the ships....it was all just too perfect! We were there with adults & teenagers and it fit everyone's needs -- space outside for lots of movement, a pool table and board games, great comfortable couches for watching a movie or reading. The house is spacious, impeccably clean, and perfectly outfitted for meal preparation should one want to do that. We had day trips to Deception Pass, Coupeville, hiked Ebey Landing and could have easily taken the ferry to Port Townsend had we wanted to leave the island. Jason is a perfect host -- prompt in his replies and was willing to work on our very short notice. Thank you so much for opening your home to us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couples Retreat

Review submitted: December 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 27, 2011

This house was the perfect re-treat for a trip to the Seattle area and islands. The owner was great to work with and was very flexible.

We rented to house for three couples in the Mid-30's. We spent the week traveling to the surrounding islands for shopping, walking on the beaches, hiking the Deception Pass Park area, and charting a very productive Salmon trip.

One night the boys caught 20 Salmon. We picked up some fresh(local) mussels and selected some local wines from a Whidbey Island winery. We put all this together to make a memorable evening meal back at the house just in time for sunset.

The house is extremly clean, spacious, and well maintained. It has everything you need for a couples or family gettaway.

Next time we come back we are staying here... We miss the sunset views from the deck.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Week in the Northwest

Review submitted: December 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 27, 2011

This house was the perfect re-treat for a trip to the Seattle area and islands. The owner was great to work with and was very flexible.

We rented to house for three couples in the Mid-30's. We spent the week traveling to the surrounding islands for shopping, walking on the beaches, hiking the Deception Pass Park area, and charting a very productive Salmon trip.

One night the boys caught 20 Salmon. We picked up some fresh(local) mussels and selected some local wines from a Whidbey Island winery. We put all this together to make a memorable evening meal back at the house just in time for sunset.

The house is extremly clean, spacious, and well maintained. It has everything you need for a couples or family gettaway.

Next time we come back we are staying here... We miss the sunset views from the deck.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Terrific Place to Stay

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

This is a terrific, big, house to stay at. It was very clean and well-maintained. The master bathroom is bigger than our bedroom at home. There's a beautiful kitchen, living room, and den with a pool table. There's a dining room by the front door, which is nice but you will ignore it because it doesn't have a view. The internet is very fast. The neighborhood is absolutely silent at night. The rooms are well insulated from sound and you won't hear your traveling companions snore unless you're sharing a room with them.

The views were absolutely incredible. It's situated on the Strait of Juan de Fuca looking straight out at the sunset, with the Olympic Mountains on the left. The beach and hiking trails are only a few minutes away and you are literally right next to the Lavender Farm. This is not a beach house. Somehow I had gotten that impression, maybe mixing it up with other listings. It's actually a cliff house, and unlike the neighboring properties, the brambles at the edge of the cliff have been cleared so as not to obstruct the view, which means there is absolutely nothing between you and the precipice. Google Maps in elevation mode shows the cliff is about 150 feet high. It is definitely a real cliff. I wouldn't bring young children or dogs with me. Or sleepwalkers, or heavy drinkers. But assuming you are in possession of all your faculties and don't have suicidal tendencies I don't think you can go wrong by renting this place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful view and relaxing atmosphere

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

What a wonderful and relaxing vacation spot. I took three of my nieces on a girls trip and not only did the house provided plenty of space but the atmosphere was warm and inviting. We felt comfortable from the time we walked in the door and immediately started planning on when we could return.

I gotta tell ya, the sunsets...AMAZING!!!! And when we saw the boats sailing by while we were cooking in the kitchen or enjoying a movie in the family room, we'd look at one another and say how wonderful this was. Jason was great to work with and made sure to respond to our question in a timely manner. I can't thank him enough for opening up his home. It’s a great spot and I can't wait to enjoy it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Whidbey retreat

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

This was the absolute perfect getaway for me and my 3 kids aged 14 thru 5.
After an extremely hectic spring we needed a place to disconnect and just hangout as a family. Jason's house allowed us to do this with amazing comfort and security. This truly felt like a home away from home. Huge kitchen, fully stocked for everything a family needs. Big, comfy bedrooms! The family room was great to wind down at night watching a movie and the remnants of a perfect sunset at the same time. The home office came in handy to take care of some early morning business before the kids woke up. With all of the amenities of an amazing State Park next door, you can't ask for a better vacation retreat. We plan to come back soon...Thanks Jason!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredibly peaceful oceanfront property

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

What an awesome house! The views from the expansive yard and from inside the house are simply spectacular. We looked at over 100 houses when planning our trip to the Seattle area and had a very difficult time deciding between several houses to rent. We are so thrilled we chose this one, I can’t imagine a better place to stay. Jason’s house is very spacious, clean, and comfortable. The back yard was a hit with plenty of room to throw a Frisbee or just hang out and watch the eagles fly by. The photos and description of this house are very accurate but just can't capture the sheer beauty of this place. Jason is very accommodating and easy to work with. We would definitely recommend this house to friends and relatives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

OMG - Absolutely outstanding vacation home!

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

What an outstanding vacation home! I ran across this rental on the internet and at first glance thought it looked like a rather modest home. Boy was I wrong, it's absolutely stunning! I should have paid attention to the numbers people---it’s over 3,000 sq ft. of immaculate living space. It’s bright & tastefully decorated with beautiful layout designed to take full advantage of the incredible sunsets that make the west beach area of Whidbey Island so famous.

Living room & family rooms were both quite comfortable & inviting. Large kitchen is part of the great room so it made preparing meals on vacation fun. Beds were dressed with lush linens and the master suite was incredible! Office and formal dining room gave us plenty of space to spread out. What a plus to have a washer & dryer on site. There were plenty of extra blankets for cuddling up on the deck and enjoying the cool nights. The home, especially the kitchen, was well stocked and had everything you would need for a lovely respite.

Jason was very accommodating and even allowed us to host a family reunion on July 4th. We'd go sightseeing during the day but race back to enjoy the beautiful sunset each night from the deck. With all the fireplaces and fire pits it was so fun to cozy up and enjoy the property. There were a lot of eagles, deer and other wildlife to watch on the property and it was a short walk to get down to the beach but everyone knows the best views of the water & sunsets are from up on a cliff so that makes this property location the best. Rest assured though, there is plenty of room between the home and the cliff. We played volleyball, badminton and football without ever coming close to the edge. The lavender and strawberry farms are just around the block from this home.

We've stayed in many upscale homes on the island but without a doubt, this home exceeded them all. Despite this home’s modest appearance, it is an absolute dream. It definitely hit a home run in my book and I can’t imagine wanting to stay anywhere else!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review