reviews for: listing #33239 - Cashiers, North Carolina House rental

Mom's Place: Cozy Cabin in the Woods with a World-Class View
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $180 /nt
    $800 - $800 /wk
    $2,700 - $2,700 /mth

sort by:

My Fourth Time Here !

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

I have stayed at "Mom's Place" now for the Fourth time over a 20 year period- and something always calls me back !We go to the NC mountains every fall to enjoy the leaves and weather- and try and stay somewhere different each time. I don't know if it is the view, or the solitude and quietness of the place or the quaintness of the home or the owners' friendliness - but I always seem to want to return there. The house is very well accommodated with all the necessary amenities - just bring your food and you are set ! there is so much to do in the Cashiers - Highlands area that it is almost unfair to only spend a week there though! Even with all there is to do - we planned two days at the house - doing nothing but enjoying being there - and what a joy that was ! Some light music and cooking aromas wafting through the house and trees made for such a wonderful experience ! Thank you Lisa again for keeping this place available !!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a great place to stay

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Mom's place is private with an excellent view of the lake/mountain area. It was perfect.It was clean/well-maintained...it had everything we needed from kitchen utensils to bathroom towels...even odds and ends like flashlights and umbrellas. There were also games, videos, and a book of 'things to do'(very helpful). We will definitely stay there again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

we had a great vacation.

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Our family loved mom’s place. First what a great location.. top of a mountain overlooking lake Glenville. We were amazed at the view from the deck.

Mom’s place was a great place for a family vacation. The house was comfortable for 4 adults and a 10 year old and a 9 year old and our 7 year old Lab. The house was comfortable with a nice kitchen, great dining and family area. The bedrooms were spacious and having two twins in the back bedroom for the kids was great. Two baths sure made morning and evening easy. The tv and games in the family allowed us to enjoy the Olympics during family time.

This was our third trip to the Cashiers Ares and Mom’s Place location gave us a lot of options for fun and shopping. We enjoyed “Slippery Rock Falls”, rented a boat on Lake Glenville and went tubing, what a thrill for us older folks; went to Cherokee – less than a hour away…and shopped downtown Cashiers.
We always felt at home in “Mom’s Place.” The house has everything you need including a washer and dryer. We had all the privacy you could want. From sun up to sun down we enjoyed ”Mom’s Place.”

Lisa was great with ideas for our adventures and the “Big White Book” made finding local business and sites so easy. We recommend “Mom’s Place” to everyone, you will not be disappointed.

Thank you Lisa for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

we had agreat vacation.

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Our family loved mom’s place. First what a great location.. top of a mountain overlooking lake Glenville. We were amazed at the view from the deck.

Mom’s place was a great place for a family vacation. The house was comfortable for 4 adults and a 10 year old and a 9 year old and our 7 year old Lab. The house was comfortable with a nice kitchen, great dining and family area. The bedrooms were spacious and having two twins in the back bedroom for the kids was great. Two baths sure made morning and evening easy. The tv and games in the family allowed us to enjoy the Olympics during family time.

This was our third trip to the Cashiers Ares and Mom’s Place location gave us a lot of options for fun and shopping. We enjoyed “Slippery Rock Falls”, rented a boat on Lake Glenville and went tubing, what a thrill for us older folks; went to Cherokee – less than a hour away…and shopped downtown Cashiers.
We always felt at home in “Mom’s Place.” The house has everything you need including a washer and dryer. We had all the privacy you could want. From sun up to sun down we enjoyed ”Mom’s Place.”

Lisa was great with ideas for our adventures and the “Big White Book” made finding local business and sites so easy. We recommend “Mom’s Place” to everyone, you will not be disappointed.

Thank you Lisa for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

close, yet far away

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

Mom's Place was fantastic for our small family. We are two adults and a ten year old. Our son really enjoyed having the whole upstairs to himself, while we really enjoyed the privacy of the downstairs master. The cabin itself is easily accessed, and is not too far from town to cause any inconvenience. Lisa was EXTREMELY helpful on providing insight into all there is to see and do in the area. If there's one thing I learned, it's that it all CANNOT be done in a week! Our schedule was packed with adventures, and there's so much we missed out on!
Regarding the cabin and its amenities: I concur with the previous reviewer. The beds were comfortable, the washer/dryer was fantastic, the kitchen was well-appointed. The board games and puzzle were a fantastic perk (we enjoyed both immensivesly). The water pressure was good in the bathrooms and kitchen, the view from the deck was spectacular!
Over all, we COMPLETELY enjoyed our stay in the Cashiers/Highlands area and Mom's Place absolutely made our entire vacation more comfortable, relaxing, and fantastic!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PeacefulHouse in the Woods w/a Beautiful Lake View

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Our family loved it - 2 seniors, 2 grown children and a spouse, and 2 grandchildren (5&7). This home in the woods was obviously created for the owners' family not renters. It has been toughtfully and lovingly decorated with a fascinating variety of memorabilia. It is well appointed with all necessities and was immaculate! It has ... tub w/shower, fullsize washer&dryer, large indoor dining table and large picnic table with benches on the wide, spacious deck, Weber charcoal grill, comforable beds, good storage, plenty of nice towels, wash clother, placemats; the house, stairs, deck, and rails are well built and there is ample parking and turn-a-round space (as it is at the end of the road). The house is private, surrounded with woods, but with a spectacular view of Lake Glenville/Thorpe reservoir. Although the property does not have lake access, the owner has toughtfully prepared a notebook of a wide variety of destinations and activities in the area. In nearby Cashiers, the supermarket is large, modern, and stocked w/a very complete and diverse list of groceries.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review